paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Land Paintball Field / Land Paintball Field / Land Paintball Field / Land Paintball Field

Land Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 614-321-5263
Address: 4999 Old Rathmell Court
Columbus, Ohio 43207
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Taste_Me Sunday, November 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I worked at three different paintball fields during and immediately after high school, then a store and website for a couple years. Haven't worked in the industry for about 5 years but I still play.
I've played for 10 years at many fields all over the the US and once in Europe.

Directions
to the Field:
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=4999+Old+Rathmell+Court+Columbus%2C+Ohi
o+43207
Review: When I arrived at The Land Paintball I walked into the shop to find a cop grilling the manger about an incident the week before, apparently someone had filed a complaint about severe welts and the owner was not responding to phone calls from the police. This was the first red flag and I should I have left then before paying.

When it came time to pay admission and purchase my paint none of the prices quoted to me where the same as those advertised, mostly lower, but still annoying when trying to plan ahead and figure out how to spend your money. The paint was good and appeared to have been properly stored, they do have 4500 psi fills and plenty of M98 rentals for those who need them.

Once I was geared up and ready to play I followed signs to the chrono but it was not there. I asked two different employees three times for access to a chrono and each time I was told to someone else would chrono me. I was never chronographed, which lends some credence to the police complaint I overheard. I also never was asked to sign a waiver so I suspect the field is uninsured.

So now I've given up on finding a usable chrono (they had 3 of them in the shop but no one would let me use one, I checked myself with my handheld) and I make my way to the woods ball field. When I walk into the safe area someone who 10min earlier told me he was an off duty ref is walking around with no barrel cover, carelessly pointing his at barrel face level while cleaning and loading paint.

About twenty minutes later, while playing my 1st game I made my way up a fifteen foot hill that forms the north boundary only to find a freeway with no netting, or boundary markings.. I was later told you are only allowed to go 5ft up the hill but there are no boundary markings and this rule isn't written anywhere. Now I'm beginning to wonder if this area is zoned to allow this.

I was there for a total of about four hours but only managed to get three games in. This was mainly because while there where 4-5 self-proclaimed refs there, only one was working. I use them working loosely too, he really didn't seem to care about getting people on the field, or much of anything else and was wearing nothing to indicate he was a ref. Then about half way through the day a private group showed up... When you run a field with one woods field that's built for long games, you can't run two groups, especially with only one ref.

I should mention this was an account of my second visit, my 1st visit was a few months ago, There was only a handful of people playing then and I didn't stay for very long so I couldn't get a good feel for the field. That time I was chrono'd by a ref with a hand held.


Too Long/Didn't Read

Website advertises 5-man Speedball Field, 3-man Plastic Field and a Woodsball Field that supports over 100 players. But there is only one field, it's a woods field that could support 20-30 people tops.

The field is close to the city but the games take too long and there is only one field so you'd be better off traveling and hour or so to a good field. Even with the extra hour of travel you'll still get a lot more play time.

Poor safety, don't send or take children to this field. Experienced, safe, adult players only. .

+ You can bring your own paint
+ Close to Columbus
---------------------------
- Poor service, not rude, just clueless.
- Poor safety standards.
- Amateur/bad referees/guides.
- Website advertises 3 fields but there is only 1
- Little to no proshop


The field would be an 8 easily if they get their advertised speedball fields up and hire two or three proper refs to keep an eye on safety and keep games moving. It's sad that such simple things can completely ruin a potentiality good field. Maybe if the owner realizes that more people playing more games with less down-time means more money then they'll fix it. Until then it's a 3

Edited for grammar
Last edited on Sunday, November 21st, 2010 at 8:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MASSdestruction Sunday, March 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fran Bar, Splatterpark, Seek & Destroy, Paintball Valley
Directions
to the Field:
4999 Old Rathmell Court
Columbus, Ohio 43207
Review: Overview,

11 am- 5pm
1 Five Man Airball Field
1 Hyperball Field
Woodsball Field
Cash or Credit/Debt Card
Sheltered Staging Area
Netted Chrono Station
Great Staff

So apparently I went on the first day of the season yesterday. Showed up at 11:30 with only a couple of ballers there. Spent $32 on fields fees and all day air. Its BYOP but they have field paint available for sale. Paint sales vary between $13 for 500 to $55 for a case.

First thing I noticed about this place, was the great staff. Naaman behind the counter was really cool. Had a good talk with him. He said they're getting a new airball field soon which is cool. After paying my fees and what not I headed down to the staging area. Really liked this sheltered staging are. Ample counter space for a lot of ballers and all their gear, plus another room with some tables and chairs for gear too.

I met a couple of really cool guys gearing up for the day, and pretty much played with them all day. There were not a lot of people there on this particular Saturday, except for a couple of private groups who wanted nothing to do with the "speedballers with their fancy jerseys". So we just broke it up and played 2 on 2 and ran drills and what not.

Overall, although I didn't get a lot of games in, I had a great time at The Land and WILL be returning. I think once they're fully set up for season, possibly add another speedball field and what not, it's going to be even better. I recommend anyone looking for a good day of paintball to check out The Land. I'm giving The Land a 9 out 10 because nothing is perfect...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

drsmith2002 Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Had a great time. Me and about 15-20 buddies of different levels played woodsball for about 4 hours on a Sunday afternoon. We played on an open field and some of the speedballers and a couple other players joined in. Game was great, very laidback and fun for people of all levels.
Can't comment on speedball field because didn't play there, but looked good maybe a little small but not bad overall. The woodsball field was great. Well spread out with a good mix of cover and obstacles. A river bounds the right side of the field and thick brush and woods bound the left. (Great Sniper cover)
Staff was great and helpful especially since 20 of us arrived at once and about 15 needed to markers. Marker were Tippmann 98 Customs that worked well. Overall was a lot of fun and would definetely play there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulljaxx Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: my son talked me into trying paintball. We looked around and found land paintball.
We had the most fun we have had in a long time. The people we very nice to us from the refs ,to the nice girls in the office,to the other players.They all took the time to answer all our questions about paintball.They got us hooked we are now looking into buying our own equipment.We were very impressed by this field and we will be going back soon and often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

VAN1007 Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fran Bar and Splatter Park
Directions
to the Field:
Town of Obetz
Review: Ok, Iv'e played at this field two times. Both were pretty fun. I know the field owner personally and he's a cool dude. Although the park only has two fields, there is a lot of potential with the area. The field owner spends a lot of time and money on constant improvements for the park. The paint is fairly priced and more importantly, it's fresh. If you get hungry or whatnot, the park is within walking distance of various places to eat. The rental equipment is above average, tippmann 98's and such. The rules are fair and the refs try to enforce as much safety as possible. This park is great for playing with your buddies so I would recommend it to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Danni Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Just wanted to say that my son turned 13 in October and wanted to take friends to play paint ball for his party. Keep in mind, I'm giving them a rating as I have nothing to compare them to but our experience was overall a good one.
.
Minuses: Play started late, had to entertain 10 twelve and thirteen year old while they set up the field. Probably took an hour. This should have been done prior to opening time. Seemed to take them forever to set up and for the refs to get ready. (The refs were young but didn't seem to influence game play)

Pluses: Very helpful in planning the outing and they did have all the boys equipment ready when we arrived. Once everything was set up and everyone was ready to go, the refs were VERY helpful to the boys. Of the 10 boys we bought, only two had played before. The other players were there that day were all very friendly and eager to help out all the boys. Even playing our boys for extra paintballs when they had run out. although it didn't seem very organized or structured, everyone played when they were ready to play and the boys got in plenty of games.

Overall, it was a great day and the boys, especially by son had a great time. He now has his own equipment and will be back out as soon as the reopen for the season.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirdy Monday, December 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: My team came here to play and we all had a great time playing at this field. With one woodsball course it was still a fun field to play at for being so close to home. Has aot of potential to do more with the field but from being new it might have no expanded yet.

We came on the closing weekend and was a decent number, mostly from our team and maybe 8-12 other players.

Not much to review about the field becuase its so new, is defintly worth coming for the cost its at for a day of paintball, hopfully in the future it can grow.

Speedball field was kinda small for my style of speedball but other than that a nice setup.

Staff and Refing was the worst I have seen in my paintball career. I don't mean to hurt anyones feels but the Refs were about 8-12 years old and i think only one or two accualy was above the age of 14. Like stated before they were short and couldnt see the entire field, wernt very agressive in reffing the entire field, also didn't enforce any type of games to be played in a timly manner. We had about a group of 16-20 and the entire day we waited at least 30 minutes in between games for people to refill paint, air and pods or just to take a break. We could of easily got in 5 more games inbetween that if the Refs played. Instead they just sat there like they didn't know what to do until we said we were ready to play.

Staff in the main office also didn't exaclty have the best service. One member of my team got his HPA tank filled with Co2. Another had one of his Co2 tanks frozen to the fill station and had to wait for it to thaw out to get it back, and his other Co2 tank the girl dropped and dented making the tank usless. He did get one free tank from the field but it took about 3 guys 1 hour to get airfills which really made the games lag also. We did feel sorry for her becuase it looked like she had no clue what she was doing and the manager or field owner wasnt their. She did get of the phone with her and he talked it over with her about getting our teammate a free Co2 Tank back and later his frozen co2 tank.

Other than the staff it was a decent field to play at if you know the group your playing at. Lots of improvment needed but with the location given hopfuly they can pull threw with a little help of a few teams maybe and improvments made in the staff. Wish i could give it a better rating than this...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jgewirtz Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 8th, 2001
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter park
Directions
to the Field:
alum creek
Review: This is a great filed they have a great 5 on 5 air ball filed and a good woods ball filed thier paint is cheep to you can also bring your own but no marbalizzers:)! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! the games go fast and the refs and owners are nice and fair. so I ould go back if i could especial for the price! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

saefkow Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SplatterPark, Fran Bar, Paintball Valley. This is the closest to Columbus.
Directions
to the Field:
Thier map online is pretty accurate, watch that gravel road down there, it's deeply pitted, you may want to use a truck. Some people just dropped their kids off at the top of the hill.
Review: Well, this field is very close to Columbus. It's only open on Saturdays, and when we went, it was pretty packed. I'd say 24 woods ballers, 16 speed ballers.

Not much effort has been made yet, but it's a pretty new field. The staging area was crowded, and there were very few places to sit. Only two sides of the speedball field have netting, and the netting isn't very high. The cashier and air fill station is in the cellar of a building on the hill over the fields, and we almost got shot walking back from stray fire on the speedball course!

Prices were OK, not the cheapest field. But it's proximity to Columbus was a definite draw. They advertise Draxxus paint, but they were "sold out" so they gave us "Tomahawk" paint for the same price. This was fresh paint, even the tape on the box smelled new, but it was horrible quality, I used 2 different guns and 3 different barrels and had multiple breaks each time. Other players who had been there before brought their own paint, a wise move. Also, 3 of the refs looked to be 12-13 years old, and because the were shorter than some bunkers on the speedball course, they had trouble calling people out, this resulted in many players being shot continuosly after calling themselves out. Also, they had one handheld chrono that they used sparingly. I watched as new players arrived, suited up and walked past the refs out to the field without chrono.

The Woods field is OK. I was small, I got a headshot kill off the start with my flatline. I could reach either starting area off the break. They have more room to work with, and could clear up some branches that caused nasty trips.

On the plus side. People do come here to play. We got in a ton of games compared to Splatterpark. And it's a lot closer to home. I will be going again. But when I do, it will be with my own paint. Do not buy the Tomahawk brown box stuff from them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

boostmonkey Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cannon Paintball, Splatterpark, ASI, Seek 'N Destroy, Elite Challenge,
Directions
to the Field:
There isn't much of a sign, but turn behind BP where is says "paintball" on Groveport Rd. and then immediately turn down the gravelly hill.
Review: I played here today and had a really good time. No one was playing on the woodsball field and about 7 of us were playing speedball. It is a 3 on 3 field, and everyone wanted to get some action in (not just sit around and drool over their guns like at some places), so even though there weren't many people, it worked pretty good.

Best thing about field: The way the owner/refs run the field, top notch.
Worst thing about field: Small field, not many people.
Will I go back? Definitely.

This field is so much better than other small fields I have played because the owner/refs keep the action happening. I hate it when no one organizes any games and everyone sits around. I was able to keep getting in games as fast as I could keep my pods loaded.

The reffing was fast and fair and all the other players were friendly and competitive. Good sportsmanship was emphasized which kept the games fun. It was like playing at a lot of the church paintball fields I've played at, but it isn't a church paintball field. Swearing is not allowed, but bunkering is. :)

Paint and field prices were great and they sell Draxxus paints which made me very happy. RPS brands' paint quality does not seem to be what it was several years ago.

With a bigger 5 on 5 or 7 on 7 airball field and some more players this field would be perfect.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media