paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc.

Tank's Paintball Park Inc.

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281.492.2301
Address: 899 Westgreen Blvd
Katy, Texas 77450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
RighteousRage Wednesday, November 24th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is NOT a safe place for minors.

PARENTS: you are forewarned - do not come here unless you have a reserved field for a private party. Beware of effiminate thugs in full body armour and automatic rifles who pounce on nine year olds and pummel them until they are covered in welps while the dim-witted ref makes out with his girlfiend at the entrance.

Rating: definitely a bunch of Zeroes, in more ways than one.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

billybobmod Friday, November 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
twisted
bg
tanks
other things like d-day
Review: Great field refs are nice pro shop is nice every thing is good. there is a concern for safty Which is excellent i rate this field a nine. only thing i do not like is the mean lady at the Gas station across the street
I rate this field a 9
Compared to bg its a 15
Compared to twisted its on par
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yo mama pb Saturday, October 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This field is very good. I've played here 4 times and love it every time.

Good: The refs are great. very helpful and quick to respond out on the field.
Free air. You pay your entry fee and if you need to rent a gun (only $25, so price is a good thing too, very cheap) and you get free air all day.
good rental guns. They use Tipmann 98.
Fun fields, though not a whole lot of variety

Bad: Not a ton of variety. All fields are spools or wooden frames. They are fun though. Tank's is building an inflatable field, can't wait to try it out.
Field's are somewhat slippery. Don't go right after it rains a bunch. When the ground gets covered in paint you can slip easily, but normally its covered in dirt or grass, so not always a huge deal.

Overall: Best field i've ever played at, enjoy it alot everytime!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protodeika Tuesday, September 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1 Paintball: In my oppinion, better fields, but horrible facilities.
Review: I was extremely happy with my experience at Tank's Paintball. Their facilities are some of the best I've ever seen, including an awesome proshop, an enormous covered seating area, complete with security and fans, as well as self-serve air. The refs were very friendly and helpful, they did their job well and were quick to react to paint checks during matches.-(important in my oppinion) They stressed safety in a firm, but not in-your-face way. Pricing is very decent, about 25 dollars a day including all day air.

The only negative thing I have to say about Tank's Paintball are there is not enough field variety, (5 fields all pipes and spools, though the ref told me they were putting in an airball field), and the fields are very muddy and slippery. They have some kind of artificial turf(putting green style) under all their fields, and when plastered with paint, it is extremely easy to slip and fall. But, most of this turf is covered with dirt or grass, so it is only in certain areas that slipping is a hazard.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

behtypa Tuesday, April 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1 Paintball - Willowchase
#1 Paintball - Grant Rd Park
Urban War Zone
Paintball Bonanza
Review: For long I have heard good things about Tank's Katy Paintball and Twisted Texas in Conroe. Finally I have tried Katy.

I am impressed. So far this is the best field I have played in in Houston area. The field is based on an abandoned golf club area (LOL) with an office building, a players cover for rest and last-minute repairs. I am used to a last-century air bottles standing in the corner, where you get your refills. Here there is a table air station with self-serve outlets. How cool is that!

The area has 3 recreational fields: 1 is normally for parties and/or small children, 2 (1 large and 1 medium) for average 16-30 y.o. players. And there is 1 speedball field with inflatables.

It was Sunday and the place was crowded. (!) There were 50% recreational players between 14 and 30. 30% of players were professional teams training on the speedball field. And 20% players were 8-14 y.o. children accompanied by their parents.

The staff is very helpful. The amenities are great. The field is wonderful.
My only complain would be a little higher field fees ($15 against $10), BYOP (bring your own paint) fees of $5 and - SOME NETTING BETWEEN FIELDS WAS LOOSE! Guys, fix it ASAP! it's not fun getting paint from the neighboring field at your back!

All in all this is THE BEST field I have used so far. Highly recommended.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kyle74 Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
1PB, PAINTBALL ZONE AND OTHERS
Directions
to the Field:
I-10
Review: I had a great time sorry for doing these review so late but when i was there i had a great time the only thing that i didnt like was the refs werent there when u called paint check they would be hanging out with there friends.
Then in the staging area some friends and i were eating and some of the refs and a team that was there were throwing paintballs and i do remember there being a sign in big red letters "DON'T THROW PAINTBALLS" AND IT HIT MY FRIEND AND SPALTERED ON HIS FOOD but other than that i had a great time

I'LL GIVE IT A 7/10 BECAUSE OF THE REFS
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

unwanted03 Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
off I-10 in katy
Review: There are two airball/speedball fields in the front, two fields with the pipe-like things and a field that is set up to resemble a old town of some sort. The prices are very fair for the play quality. It is about 25 for entry fee but 35 if you brought your own paint. A box of paint will go for 50-60 dollars. Compressed air and CO2 are free with entry fee.There is always a good amount of refs ready to handle the games. They even let you play by yourself if they can see that you have been playing the gamne for awhile. We played on the x-ball field a few times with out a ref and no one told us anything. the people that play there are pretty cool to. there where alot of teams out there when i went so i didnt get to play with to many of the tourny people but there where about 10 other guys out there that played tourny style like me that i got to play with. and the refs did a good job of spliting people up when there were new people on the field playing with us. The staff was very friendly and ready to help. for my first time being there i had a few questions on how things where ran. i didnt have a problem getting any answers for any of my questions. The staging area is covered outside with dozens of tables and chairs to put equipment on. They also allow you to bring food and drinks or going to the gas station nextdoor is very convenent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryan3022 Friday, January 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: January 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bonanza-overpriced and speedball fields are not as good
Directions
to the Field:
From I-10, exit Westgreen. Go south on Westgreen. After the second light, the field is on the left sharing a parking lot with a gas station.
Review: Safety: The safety of the field is very good. They require that you wear barrel socks not the old barrel plugs. You also must wear the barrel socks until you are on the field. Masks must be worn as soon as you enter walkway to fields. Chrono is not 100% enforced unless someone complains about another players gun speed.

Fields: There are two airball/speedball fields in the front, two fields with the pipe-like things and a field that is set up to resemble a old town of some sort.

Prices: The prices are very fair for the play quality. It is about 25 for entry fee but 35 if you brought your own paint. A box of paint will go for 50-60 dollars. Compressed air and CO2 are free with entry fee.

Service: There is always a good amount of refs ready to oversee games although some of them are rather young.

Proshop: There is a good selection of guns going from a tippmann up to a DM9 or PM9. There is also a good selction of gun upgrades such as barrels, boards and feednecks etc.

Staff: They are always very friendly and ready to help. The owner of the field is there many times. No problems in 4 years.

Players: Sometimes there are teams there but they will normally not play with the recball group. People don't normally take the games too seriously and most games are fair and most players are good sports about everything.

Facilities: It used to be a driving range at the location so from a distance it looks like a dump from the old beams that used to hold the golf nets up. It couldn't be further from this. The staging are is covered but outside with dozens of tables and chairs to put equipment on. The fields are in a lower area so after a rainstorm the fields can get very muddy but staging area stays dry unless there is a rare case of a hurricane or major flood.

Food: They allow you to order pizza but i would recommend bringing food or going to the gas station nextdoor to eat.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IoN.BaLLeR225 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Survival Game of Texas , fields in alabama
Directions
to the Field:
check the website www.katypaintball.com
Review: Tanks Katy Paintball has given me my most enjoyable paintball experiences ever. I believe that Tanks success with there customers comes from three main reasons.

3 reasons to keep people coming back to Tanks:

1. Tanks flat out has the best field setups in houston and the surrounding areas. There Xball field is my personal favorite, but they also have a new chronic field as well one more airball field....they also have a large hyperball field in the back that can actually be section off into three different fields. The one thing i am sad about is that they got rid of the Xbox 360 airball field =[ .

2. They have the best Pro shop in houston, which has the greatest variety of guns on the back wall. The pro shop also carries reasonable priced paint like the paint that i get...Cryptic for $50 a case. The staff that work in the shop are very helpful especially the guy that works there on Saturday's...he knows everything there is to know about paintball and fixing paintball guns.

3. The amount of refs ready to ref games is actually quite astonishing. All the times ive gone there has been at least 5-10 refs ready to go out and ref some games. this keeps u continually playing and getting more bang for your buck!

I would most definently have to say that Tanks katy paintball is the best field i have ever been to and i give it a 10 out of 10 because no other field i have been to allows me to play paintball with such ease and pleasure. Thanks Tanks! keep up the good work!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fergie Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Directions
to the Field:
899 Westgreen Blvd
Katy, Texas 77450
USA
Review: My experience wasn't the greatest, but it will not effect my review.

To start off, safety was so so. They were good about socks on the guns and mask safety, but they lack in the chrono department. It's kinda chrono if you want to.

The field was set up nicely. 3 airball fields and a recball in the back. They also have another one, but I'm not sure. It took them over an hour to blow up the bunkers. No biggie. I did get there about 30 minutes after they opened.

Hours on the day I went was 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. on Sunday. Not bad, but it got hot quick so the hours they were open was perfect.

Refs were kinda thin that day. I really didn't see too many of them. I don't know if they were short handed that day. There was always a ref there when I was playing so they were doing their job. Refs were also very kind.

Parking sucks big ones.

Proshop is off the chain. Very nice setup. Lots of stuff in stock.

The only problem that I had with my experience is that I didn't get very many game in. I was mainly watching Tank's tourney team practice on two of the three speedball fields. Guess which field they were blowing up. Since they would much rather let the tourney team practice than let me the paying customer play, I probably will not be going back.

But like I said at the top, my experience will not effect the rating. 8/10.
Last edited on Thursday, June 14th, 2007 at 12:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media