paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DFW Pro Paintball Park / DFW Pro Paintball Park / DFW Pro Paintball Park / DFW Pro Paintball Park

DFW Pro Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
32Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 817-790-3831
Address: 2940 FM 2738
Alvarado, Texas 76009
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
slobber Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun on the Run
four other small fields in small towns
Review: SAFETY: This field did a great job of promoting safety the entire time I was there. They have clearly marked areas that you must have goggles and barrel bags on and off.

Unlike some of the other fields that I have been to they had large nets up to protect anyone in the staging area as well as in the parking lot. From behind these nets you could safely watch a lot of the action.

The refs did a great job of explaining all the rules especially to the younger players (10 -13 years old). They also did a great job helping this young guns out with any problems or questions they might of had as well as making sure they kept there masks on when they needed to. If I were a parent I would have no problem letting my kid come play at this park. While I was at the park two different groups of young guns were out playing and they all seemed to be having a great time.

FIELDS: I was able to play on 2 of the 3 fields at the park. The first field had real bunkers protected by sandbags and a roof as well as trenches deep enough to have complet cover while crouched for adults. These fields were well maintained and very well thought out. I have been to several fields that seem like they were built by an ADD child. This was not the case at all here.

The second field that I played on was a WWI trench style field. Also well thought out. This field was completely open with a maze of trenches and bunkers to hide in. This field also had flags that could be raised to show who controlled the bunker.

With these 2 fields alone, you have endless possibilities of games to play. I thought that I would get bored of playing on the same field most games, but the way they set of each game changed a lot of the dynamics of the game making it an almost new experience every time.

Hours of operation: This field has a great website that can answer all of your questions about when they are open. When I went it was from 9 am to 4 pm on Saturday.
One thing that I hate about other fields (especially ones in the small towns) is that you never know if your 45 min drive will be worth it. You don't know if you will get there and it will be closed or if they will only have 5 guys playing. AGAIN, this is not the case here. This fields web site lets you register to show that you are planing on coming and how many you plan to bring. You can check to see who is going to be there and how many or even if they will be open at all. They have completely eliminated the guess work.

PRICES: while looking at all the fields to go play at I was checking the prices to see where I could get the most bang for my buck. This was one of the main factors of why I went here. After adding up the costs they were one of the cheapest. If you don't believe me then check the prices yourself on the website.

Field paint only: When I saw this I thought to myself they were going to clean out my wallet for some horrible paint that was not worth putting into any gun. Once again this was not the case. My brother and I both agreed that the paint we were using was good and very well priced. I do not remember the name but I do remember that it was a name brand paint that has a good reputation. I spoke with them and they said they had it made just for this field and shipped in. This paint was better then the paint you could buy at wal-mart and about the same cost.

One nice thing is that if you go and buy 2000 rounds and find you still have plenty left over at the end they said just bring it with you next time and you won't have to buy more. This was proof to me that they were not just after money and cared about what the players thought.

Rules: The rules seemed pretty standard to me and nothing stood out as good or bad. Just the rules. These also can be found on the website.

Proshop: I did not really spend anytime looking at what they had to sell but I did see a ref helping several kids by fixing the guns they brought with them and also learning how to use them.

Staff: WONDERFUL Any time we had a problem or question they were right there ready to help. This field is a family field with I think 3 generation running it. All of them were excited to be there and would do what they could to make sure you were having a good time.

Refs: the refs were great. They would always let me know how much time was left in the game and if they did not know they would find out. They also did a great job on paint checks even if it ment getting in the line of fire to see. They did a good job of making sure you knew who was out and getting them off the field. This was no small task with about 18 kids under 13 years old still learning that you needed to raise you gun to show you were out. Most of the kids seemed to just want to hide once they got shot and the refs would hurry over to make sure they did not get shot more then needed. (Parents! These refs will look out for your kids and they will not get abused by older players!)
The refs also did a good job of trying to keep the teams balanced. They would adjust after each game to try to make the teams more even. After winning 2 games in a row my team lost about 5 players to the other team but it was still a close match.

Players: While I was there I saw players as young as 10 and as old as around 45 (this is a guess as I did not pole the players and ask how old they all are).
When I first got there I was meet by several of the regular players who seemed excited to have some new people out to join in the fun. They all seemed friendly and enjoyed swapping stories between the games with you.
In every game the adults played with the kids. I thought this would be a huge mess and the kids would be run down the whole game but that was not the case. In my first game I ran across the field only to be confronted by a mob of 7 or 8 kids who had no problem shooting me. Yes I got owned by a group of kids. It got better though. Some of the regulars at the fields wanted to take on all the kids so the refs set it up and the kids (about 16) with 3 older players overran the adults and regulars.
I saw several father son teams out there as well. They all had smiles the whole time and they got to play with each other and against.

Facilities:
This place had plenty of tables and chairs for everyone to put there gear and rest between games.
It was not as important while I was there but I noticed PLENTY of shade to hide under while resting which will be very nice during the summer.
They had porta potties for the restroom breaks.
They had water placed out where you could stay hydrated.
They had a first aid kit accessible to players.
They had a timer running between games to help the players know how much time tell the next game and to get the paint reloaded and the air. THIS WAS HUGE!! I did not just sit around wondering if anyone was going to start a new game. I could look up and know. When the timer went off, everyone headed to the fields.
They have HPA tanks for all rental guns.
They have an HPA fill station that anyone can use which means no lines to get your tank filled. This was much better then CO2 and I think cheaper and easier as well.
They do have CO2 if you want to use it while playing. It will just not be as easy to fill and you can't really top off between every game like with HPA.
They have a rent to own policy. If you rent an HPA tank (my brother did), they will put that money towards the purchase of a tank for yourself. I do not know the details of the program but it seems like a great idea.
If you rent an HPA tank you get free air for the whole day.

Overall, this is a field worth playing at. If you like woods ball style of play you need to come check this place out. I drove from over an hour away and I will drive an hour back! They have some players come from south of Waco. Do you think they would come if the field was bad?

THE ONLY THING THIS FIELD NEEDS IS YOU TO COME PLAY.

TO THE PARENTS: If your kids want to play for the first time or want to play again this is a great environment to send them. The refs strongly discourage bad language and encourage teamwork and fun in general. They will look out for you kids while they are there. They strongly encourage and practice safety the entire time. The older players seemed to help keep an eye out on them as well. I saw several time an older player helping a younger player by tightening there masks even during games to help keep them safe. They were also giving tips on how to play better and safer. If you are going to drive your kids to any field make it this one. This is a family friendly place. Even if they don't win it seemed like they were having a good time. I talked to one of the youngest kids and he said that he enjoyed just taking cover and shooting back. I know he did not win every game but after play stopped, he seemed to be telling his war stories to all his friends.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 2nd, 2007 at 10:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bruno1822 Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at several place in Texas and Louisiana.
Directions
to the Field:
Go to their web site. They have put plenty of time into and it shows.
Review: There is not enough room here to list the GREAT things about this field. One of the best is "built for players by players" . DFW PRO has the potential to be one of the best in Texas. I consider this my new home field.

Lets start as you walk up to sign in. I am from a big cajun family when you show up to my mother or my Maw Maw's (Grandmother) home you are received with open arms. Same here. You feel so welcome to be here, The Pyles are just down to earth folks. That is something you don't get at other fields.

Safety is big here. Again it is a way they work it and not just because the insurance requires them to, they are concerned for your safety because they want it to be fun. You will check your speed on your gun here and I like that.

The field is AWSOME. 3 big fields and the games move with good speed. You get advanced players and beginners and everyone helps as you go along. As said before in other posts even though you just were hit if it was a great shot you just feel compelled to say "nice job" after the games it is like one big happy get together talking about the game that was just played.

I could go on and on. Here is the basics. If you a great field, great host, and a GREAT time Come to DFW PRO and join the Family. The slogan is true come here to "Play with Honor"

Thanks to the Pyles for are new paintball home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

captursus Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mad Ivan's - Less organized, more "intense" players. A different type of game all together. Still a good field though.
Hit and Run - More geared towards "outdoor" speedballers in some aspects. Friendly staff, but some of my team mates have had issues with players over shooting and the refs not doing much about it. Also still a good field.
Directions
to the Field:
A little tip, if you're coming from the East, heading down 917 West, don't take the first FM 2738 you come to. Go a little further down and you'll come to a second 2738 (South bound), and take a left.
Review: Wow! What an excellent day of paintball! The family owned and operated DFW Pro is one of the best experiences I've had in the 2 years I've been playing. The staff is friendly, the refs are excellent, and a day of play for 3 of us came out to a little over $150, including paint, field fee, air, and food (we didn't do rentals though).

Another thing that really impressed me was the quality of the players. Someone referred to people telling each other "good shot" after being hit by another player, and I'm here to tell you that's absolutely true! I even saw 2 guys,who had previously been in a fire fight against each other, laughing and giving each other a high 5 after getting each other out at the same time. Very cool!

The proshop is still in development, but if they're putting the kind of effort into the proshop as they have in the comfortable staging area, their gonna have a great little place on their hands.

As for the fields, what a great layout. There's an open field with 5 foot deep trenches and lots of bunkers. The bunkers are not choose trash somebody found lying around in a junk yard, but actual sand bags that are well placed and well thought out. There's also a good wooded area with a creek bed and decent trails to get around.

We will definitely come out to DFW Pro again. All in all, it was one of the best days of play I've had since I started playing 2 years ago.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

vhammer Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
a few, but have not been to them.
Review: I have been to this field every weekend since I have found it in the area, and when they were open. I have played paint ball off and on for a few years now and most every field I have been to were mediocre at best. DFW Pro, however, has been an absolute blast. The Pyles and all associated with the field have been great, helpful, and fun to paintball with. If your into woodsball, or milsim, you owe it to yourself to check this field out. You won't be disappointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

atomicbiscuit Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: Let me first state that I have been in the paintball sport for about 15 years now. I have played many fields in many states, even played a field just outside of Zurich, Switzerland. I have never been to a field where I had more fun. There is no doubt that this establishment is geared towards the Military simulation and at least for now is not for the speed ballers. The owners are absoulutely amazing folks. It doesn't matter if its your first time or 100th time, you are treated like a friend and not just dollars. They now have 3 fields in operation and each is wonderful. Lots of time has been spent developing bunkers and trenches, and obviously there is plenty of natural woods cover.

My son (10) decided that he wanted to get into the sport so we have been making the trip as often as possible. This is a very family friendly enviornment. I can't say enough about the whole setup. Try this one out and you won't be let down. My son and I are hooked and we make about a 90 minute drive to get there. Super, great, you name it. I really look forward to watching this establishment grow. Thanks for all the great times.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr hand Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played any other fields.
Directions
to the Field:
take 67 from Dallas, it is pretty easy and takes me about 45 minutes while doing the speed limit. There is a Whataburger on the way which makes a great stop for a pre-fragging meal. It isn't on the website, but there is a way to get there from 360.
Review: I had never played paintball before coming to this field and being introduced to the game by some friends. I must say that I am a little hooked. I only know about this mil-sim, woods-ball type of paintball, and must say that I really enjoy it.

When I first went to this field, they were barely even open. Then and now, they maintain an amazingly high degree of professionalism, and have been able to keep the experience very personable. I have seen them go from CO2 to Compressed Air which makes it so much easier to refill and get back to playing. The refs are always concerned with my safety, and experience as a player. Most of the individuals that are involved in the park are either friends or family, and they all rarely forget a name or face. They are very creative with their game-play and events. I heard that their scenario day was a major hit, so I can't wait for them to have another one so I can go.

The hours of operation are usually 9am to 4pm. The days they are open are a little unpredictable. They aren't really open every weekend, but all you have to do is keep track of their website www.dfwpro.com, and you are easily informed. Also, if you get on their Customer list they send you really cool emails that are informative, invite you to special events, and DO NOT spam you with special offers or non-informative crap.

The fields are large. They have real trenches that are a blast to shoot from, crouch over to a new position, and shoot again. Sometimes you will swear that there are 5 people in the trenches, but there is only one. I saw one guy in the trenches hold off 4 people from flushing him out for 5 minutes. They have a WW1 trench system that looks realistic with its fake barbed wire, and bombed out holes. This field doesn't have just trees, it has everything!

The food is good and reasonably priced. I don't know anybody Else's prices. If your gun breaks, and it isn't a Wal-mart gun they, or someone they know can fix it.

Just like the other review states, don't be surprised if a guy that you mark on the field congratulates you for a good shot, that is the atmosphere that they try to create.

I am giving this a 9 out of 10 because there is always room for improvement, and I don't know any other parks. I do however know that it is alot better than Lazer Tag.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 8:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wiseman Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun On the Run - Fort Worth
Hit and Run - Mansfield
Mad Ivan's - Fort Worth
Guru PB Park - Waco
Review: Location - The Paintball field is located just east of Alvarado and north of Hwy 67on FM 2738. It's only about 20-30 minutes off of I35W. The field was easy to find and had an informative sign easily visible from the road.

Upon pulling up I noticed netting running the full length of the grass parking area. There is plenty of room to park and watch the woodsball field, which I found to be very unique, and I will elaborate on this later. I'll say first that my paintball grading scale is split between Facilities, Staff, and Fields. I will cover this field from a walk-on's viewpoint. I would like to start by saying that if I can drive to a field within 2-3 hours I've been there. I have been playing since 1985, I watched paintball go from the woods to the soccer field airball tournaments and now slowly heading back into the woods. I have in the past owned and operated a paintball field, and have enjoyed both speedball and woodsball. On that note I'll begin.

The Facility is in an old livestock/hay barn which has been converted for use as a paintball store/concessions, while this may sound a bit odd believe me it's a breath of fresh air considering a lot of places I've played are a bunch of portable wooden shacks connected by plywood with trash everywhere. They have done an excellent job to make the place look clean and professional. There are plenty of tables and chairs for equipment as well as two player areas, both of which are covered. Three things I always look for in a field are restrooms, quick air refills and facilities that accept credit cards. The paintball field does have a portable restroom and I did note that it was kept regularly cleaned. The field does take credit cards (MC and Visa). I see this as a make or break issue for most paintball fields. I can easily say that of the fields I have been to, the more successful fields take credit cards.
The compressed air fills are 3000 psi and are available at the push of a button, which is becoming the norm for the places I visit. I'm sure as most of you will agree nothing is worse than de-gasing your gun and handing over your bottle to be refilled after each game. The later setup can ruin a good field, and I will rarely visit a field more than once that has this setup.
The walk-on fee is $15.00 dollars and all day air is $10. The pricing is on average with the other local fields. Paint per case is $45. The facility has a cash register and not just a "cash box". The food is on par with more professional fields that you might frequent these days. They offer a hot dog plate with two hotdogs a bag of chips and a cold drink for about $5.00.
One thing I was really impressed with was the game turn around. They have a monitor which counts down the time until the next game. I can truthfully say that out of all the fields I have visited, I played more games at this field than any other field I have been to. I was actually exhausted by 18:00. We played so many games I honestly lost count. The turn around has to be about 15-20 minutes, with a longer break for lunch.

The Staff were one of the most professional, pleasant and fun group of people I have ever dealt with at a paintball facility. They are eager to listen to suggestions and I find the laid back attitude very refreshing. Signing in, paying and filling my air was a breeze. The staff are all related and the way they all work together to get your money, waiver, and paint is flawless. Normally this whole process can be a beating at other fields I have visited. I actually had fun signing in and talking with the staff. They are like a well oiled machine, they treat it like a business and you are the customer. The staff is equipped with radios and they know how to use them. The Chrono station is easily accessible once entering the field and safety is strictly adhered to. Barrel bags are mandatory as is the norm at most places. I would also like to point out that my tank went down in the middle of the first game and they did not charge me to rent a tank to play with since I had already paid for all day air.

At this time there are two fields, the woodsball field is at the front and one entire side of this field is exposed to the netting side of the parking lot. I found this enjoyable at the end of the day when about 10 families came and sat to watch us play. It is a mixture of woodsball and milsim. The standard wood branch bunkers, lots of trees, and a section of trenches (yes, real trenches deep enough to stand in and shoot out off) there are also a couple of sand bag bunkers that you can enter, which add to the character of the field. This woodsball field is on the large scale. Although it is the only woodsball field right now, the variety of games we played never made for a dull moment. The refs are pleasant to deal with and were always in sight for a paintcheck. The skill level I would say is beginner to midrange and the markers reflect this. The guns range from the rentals to Tippmans with the occasional Ion but no highend electronic guns (which is not necessarily a bad thing). This just makes for a slower paced type of game. Let me just say that the type of players that the field has attracted are above average. Never before have I shot more people who stood up all by themselves and left the field, sometimes after a bounce. This led to some situations with me screaming for them to get behind their bunker and stay until I shoot them and it breaks. I could hear statements of "good shot" and "great move" during each game. I actually found myself congratulating someone for sneaking a shot through a bunker and taking me out. I saw only one event where a young player attempted to remove his goggles during play and a ref stepped in quickly to assist the young player. The second field is a wide open field with small trenches that can be knelt in, with bunkers, several flags and a tower on one side. This game was a paintfest and I had a great time. They allowed reinsertion every 5 players and I was thoroughly beat after this game. We played the field one time during the day, as it wasn't quite finished.

In all I would have to give this field a 9 out of 10 only because they still have room for improvement in the area of adding more playing fields. I believe they are close to perfection and the only thing needed is several other new fields, that are just as enjoyable as the main field. This I feel will be remedied as the field grows and the owners become more knowledgeable. The staff is very imaginative and I feel the fields will only get better as time passes. If you play anywhere near this field you owe it to yourself to come see this field and perhaps become involved in a field that is just starting up. They have already achieved so much with respect to facilities and customer relations and can only get better.

I have been playing at this field for several years now. This is a great place to play, you owe it to yourself to come play at this field. The attitude of the players and staff really makes a difference here. Once this year, I volunteered to go over to a group of players with rentals that wanted to stay together. They were such a large group that most of the regulars ended up on the other team. We lost every game that day despite the refs attempts to move more and more regulars over to our side. It didn't matter I had so much fun playing with all the kids and watching 10 of them pile into the same bunker that I really never noticed that we were losing every game. My own team shot me twice in the same day. The group of kids never even noticed they had lost every game. They came off every time and talked non-stop of what happened during the game. Like I told the owner even a bad day of paintball is still a great day.

I recently took my son for his first day of play. He loved it, that's all he talks about. He keeps asking when are we going back. I think you really will be impressed with this field and of the atmosphere. This field has something that none of the other fields in the area have.
Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2008 at 8:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FOTR - More Biased Toward SpeedBall Than Woodsball. Good Place for those who like to shoot a lot of paint
DFW AP - Bit more woodsball but tainted towards those who shoot a lot of paint
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest or google map: 12940 Fm 2738, Alvarado, TX 76009
Review: Family operated and oriented. All woodsball with a bias toward milsim. First time I have a played a whole day of fun enjoyable paintball and only used one bag of paint...

First field is a purely milsim based woodsball field with lots of brush cover sprinkled with sandbag bunkers and trenches. Second field is a capture multiple flags trench warfare field. Both fields reward tactical maneuvering vs paint spraying. Fields are setup to equalize markers, ei no difference if you game with a high end marker or a low end mechanical you will do good as long as you play as a coordinated team and use good tactics. Multiple game styles are played in both fields.

This is a field paint only field. Last couple of time playing there the paint was white box PMI Premiun medium bore paint. Shell is thick so there is less breakage/chopping in blowback mechanical markers. Paint consistancy is kinda mixed with some bags being very good round paint while others are hit and miss mix bore but same color... The paint is thick shell and does tend to suffer from the occasional bounce at medium and long range. Can be disheartening and can lead to a bit of overshooting but everyone is playing with the same handicap. Custom 98s and A5s, ei high pressure mech blowbacks seem to have no issue with this paint and players seem to really enjoy themselves. My "hihgly tuned" cocker hates this paint, but my A5 with a Lapco Bigshoot has no issues with it. My buddy with his Custom 98 has no issues with the paint.

Air refills are limited to 3000psi, all day air is available. Co2 is also available.

There is a good selection of snack and refreshements.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jneavin Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Great prices, awesome Mil-Sim fields, great people. World War I/II trench field and a woodsball field. They plan on expanding the fields and sticking with the Military style gameplay which is so much better then Speedball. If you havent been there yet, GO! I promise you, if you play there that will be the place you play from now on.
Last edited on Friday, September 7th, 2007 at 12:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SatNightSpecial Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFW Adventure Park
Review: I have to say, without question, this is the best paintball experience I have had to date. DFW Pro is run by the Pyles Family. Stephen was my main point of contact and he is great. They made us feel like guests, not customers, which is extremely rare in any business in these times. We had a private group, and by the end of the day they knew everyone in our group by name. In between games they were great to hang out with. Their staging area is great with big tents for shade and a ton of tables and chairs to set up on. They are well equipped with everything you might need. In regards to the fields, there are currently only two. However, there are a ton of different games that they have come up with. They are very imaginative. I give this place a 10 out ot 10 and I cannot stress enough how much you guys need to go check this place out. Get in touch with Stephen, and he will take care of you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media