paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
mauiandcali Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
havent played since the 90s usually played in big open private land - things have changed a lot -players are kidda wimpy now and no one seems to bunker any more or advance as a team - lots of cheaters
Directions
to the Field:
dont go
Review: crap crap crap = unorganised takes for ever to play - i played from 9 to 5 and got one really good tatical game in - the rest was just chaos - refs were jerks = fields werent bad could be really fun wit the right orginazation - i am old school real aggressive and was bunkering guys like crazy - guy said he was going to kick my ass for bunkering him - i shot 3 of them with 2 center body shots each and he was like "WTF" - i dont know whats wrong with some players - oho and I got kicked of the field for bunkering -- paint was crap bouncing off of guys all the time - so you had to put 5 shot on them to get it to brake - so ya looking for some where elso to go
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Prefix Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village way better by far

Jungle Island also better by far
Directions
to the Field:
You don't need them go somewhere else
Review: Hollywood sports has to be one of the most unkept paintball fields in California. This park is basically falling apart more and more everyday. It has gotten to the point where the fields are no longer seperated by a fence. The park smells so bad at time of arrival it makes you wonder if there is a pig slop somewhere in there. The refs or can I call them that have some of the worst attitudes. These guys seem to think they own the park. There is way too much yelling. I think if you pay for fun and entertainment that is what you should get. Not a ref in a mask on screaming at the group about what not to climb on. Also they put way too many people on the field at once. They brag about six fields but stick everyone in the park on one field at a time. This has to be the biggest down fall. The staff is awful no one seems to know what the heck is going on. Don't take my word for it see it for you self, and you will understand where I'm coming from. Also it's a house paint only park. The paint sucks and is way over priced. hollywood Sport Park if you can read this please clean and fix your park.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Sunday, February 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone reball
Conquest
Camp Pendleton Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
9030 Somerset Bellflower
Review: Well...i've been playing here for 3 years now and i think its time i write a review. Half of the time its awsome and you can fit in 12 games in 4 hours, but when i went yesterday oh jeeez.........i went to go get tacos at this awsome taco shop across the street, and went to eat and went back to play again, other than the horrible refs you deal with every time you go, this time i waited about 35 minutes before a game even started. Then an additional 20 minutes before the refs even started the game. To top it off the refs pulled me out when someone shot me through a hole in the wall, even though they said that you cant shoot through the holes. Some refs are awsome but some are just there to yell at peolpe and get their 4 dollars an hour. The fields are awsome, but filthy and muddy. The paint they sell is crap, 42.50 for 2000. overall 5/10
Last edited on Tuesday, September 8th, 2009 at 5:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amika Monday, January 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village - Huge! Full of players as opposed to Hollywood Sports.
Review: I'm a concerned mother who is writing on behalf of my teenage boys... what they have experienced & what I have personally witnessed. Safety = Pretty safe if rules are followed. Fields = Dirty, caked-on paint, not kept up. Spectator area looks like a field, full of paint, holes all over the nets which are poorly repaired. Lockers = Poor condition. Hours = OK. Prices = Expensive, but average compared to others. Location = Convenient & local. Rules = Good, if they were enforced. I witnessed players initialing their own wrist bands to get in with high power guns. Staff is not alert & does not verify initials. Players = Most follow the rules but there's a lot who don't. There's a lot of bullies who enjoy cheating & hurting the younger kids or nubes (as they say). During one incident, a big kid sneaked up to my son & put the barrel on his head. My son surrendered & raised his gun. After he did this, the guy pulled the trigger directly on his head (excution style) & laughed. When my son complained to one of the refs he was told to shut up & stop complaining or he would get thrown out of the game. My son had a headache for about 3 days. Refs = Few enforce the rules, are approachable & fun to be around. Then there's a few who are there to kill time, get a paycheck & don't give a damn who gets hurt.
Last edited on Monday, January 26th, 2009 at 2:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dvxman72 Saturday, November 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Directions
to the Field:
use the website
Review: This field is terribly unorganized from the employees to the appearance of the park itself.

Let's start from the beginning shall we. Once you pay to get in (have your release form already filled out, it saves time) you have to go wait in another line to pick up rental gear (which my buddy had to do) and fill out another form which really took a while because the 8 other people infront of him had to do it too. That probably should be done when you pay to rent the gear (it just makes sense and it would save time). So after that fiasco we went to the proshop to buy paintballs and rent a locker which was another long wait because the employees behind the counter were clueless. "Just give me 2000 cheap balls for 35 bucks and a locker key so I can get out onto the field." Nope that didn't happen, we had to go back to the rental line TO PICK UP THE LOCKER KEY.
I wish we could have just paid for that key when we paid to get in, that way we could have picked up the locker key when we were in that darn line the first time. So now we have blow at least a little over an hour with all of this back and forth. Oh we have to go watch the safety video which we already saw on the website, so that was a waste of time, but in all fairness I do agree that safety is important however; they should just have a tv set up at the staging areas with the safety video playing that way it would save time. The fields are cool looking but very well used. I did notice that not all fields were being used, which annoyed me because the wait to get on was way too long. Some of the refs were cool but there were a couple that would be better off sweeping than interacting with the customers. All in all it took almost 2 hours from the time we got in to the time I shot a paintball out of my marker and boy was I ready to unload.
If anyone from Hollywood sports reads this, there are some really good suggestions for improvement here not just pointless complaining.
If you are an experienced player with your own gear then you could probably shave 20 minutes off of your wait. My buddy complained that price was more than he expected for what he experienced and I agree. I expect more from Hollywood sports. I rate it a 4 because it is close to my house and that's about it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spiceweasel Wednesday, October 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
hollywood sports, Paintball USA, SC village, Paintball USA, Urban Quest
Review: alright, i have to admit, great fields, almost the best ones ive ever played on, including 3 scenerio/woodsball field, and 1 geto ass speedball field. ok, so the refs there are awsome, they with help you with any dispute or problem you have, but theres this 1 ref whos a straight up B****!! she doesnt even let ou watch a private party game if your out. there is no pro shop, yeah its pretty geto over there but that doesnt bother me. no bathroom, only a small porto potty that smells like s***. and if you have to make a cell phone call, you have to go up a hill to get a cell phone reception.

Overall, i would give this paintball park an 8 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

dkfa Tuesday, October 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Our own fields in woods
Review: Hollywood sports park was a decent paintball park. The place was BIG. It was the first paintball field I ever went to. They have a few speedball zones, and 4 large scenario fields! THE REFS: some were the people who just needed their 10 bucks a day money and didn't give a crap about what you did. Some of the refs were hardcore paintball players them selfs and cracked jokes, did everything right, were awesome. When we got there,me and my 4 other buddies used these tickets from the O.C fair for giant paintball parks or Hollywood.(Ive been to Giant paintballs parks and do not go there! its a waste of your time) so we gave the register person our discount tickets and got $10 basic SC paintballs(you can only use house paint except on fridays) free rental guns, all day free air or CO2, and $15 entry fee. Then we went target practicing to test out the guns and painballs. The guns were ok becz they were tippmann PRO/Carbine's with stock barrels with HPA tanks. The balls were ok, they never broke in the barrel, the guns did chop a few balls in the day . They have a 275 FPS only rule. Which is pretty weak but the SC paintballs have very hard shells so they do hurt.

The cons of this place were that a bunch of noobs and little kids were there when we went, so you would here them crying or whining about how scared they were, some get pissed off and when they got hit, walked off the field while shooting 5 other opponents. There were alot of nice pros there too. They helped you out when your paintballs ran out, or helped you when something went wrong, or gave you cover fire while you run to the other side to take some hell. My favorite guy was this man who had all the good stuff and let us use his markers. Some of the people I really hate are the rich people, they have everything, shoot with like 20bps at little kids, tell you to stand back when you get to close to their gear.THE CLEANINGNESS:the bathrooms were clean with announcements for events you would like to check out, the bad thing was that in all the fields, they never clean the place, paint shells building up to your knee, the hangers and pillboxes were looking like you can just tap on them and they would fall on you, and weeds and annoying tall grass was everywere. But Hollywood paintball fields is a good choice for everyone. I give the place a 9.

EDIT: New paintballs are stocked in their proshop. Evil, Big Balls, Smoken Dragon, SC paint, and whitebox paint.
Last edited on Monday, February 23rd, 2009 at 12:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cupcakelovers Wednesday, October 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc village (good)
Giants (ok)
Review: The field is very convenient to those who live in the Lakewood, Downey area. It's about the only local field available during a weekday (itís closed only Tuesday and Wednesday). I attended HSP on Monday and the prices were ok, about $25 for entrance. They have a bunch of passes and tickets going around now so I have hardly ever pay full price for entrance and air. Plus they have specials every week or so, so there is always a way to get in cheaper.

I went to HSP a couple days ago. I paid my fees and there was a line almost out to the door (it was a Saturday). I see there was one person working collecting the waivers, and fees. Next, was chronoing the marker. At HSP, after you chrono you get a tag indicating that your marker was within the limits at HSP. It was kinda slowÖ I suppose thatís because of all the people that were there. But they got to everyone eventually.

The place is pretty big for being right in the middle of everything. Usually paintball parks are kind of out of the way. So Iím glad this one is closer. The fields are pretty cool too. They are all movie themed in one way or another and I heard a few of the cars even worked at one point. So itís pretty cool. There are also a bunch of places to sit down if you came just to watch a game. The only draw back to the scenario fields are that they are... well usedÖ There is old paint and stuff everywhere but if youíre getting dirty already I donít think this is really a big deal. It doesnít bother me anyway. Well after I watched the safety video they called out the first game. After a bit of waiting we walked down the long walkway to the entrance of the four scenario fields. We proceeded to play a rather longish game before they ended it. I played a few more times that day before I decided to call it quits. I had a lot of fun, never mind Iím a bit of a noob. The refs were pretty cool. One of them was cracking jokes the whole time. But they were very attentive and seemed to enjoy their jobs.

All in all I think it was a pretty good experience. I am planning to go again soon.

I give it 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OmgSpeedballhax Tuesday, September 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Bellflower.
www.hollywoodsports.com
Review: Ok. I dont even wanna get into it too much so im going to just list stuff.

Pros:
Speedball runs at the players pace. games usually take a couple seconds to get players set up.
Fill stations are nicely located.
Convenient location of park.
The refs who do care are very nice.
Most of the players ive played with are really chill.

Cons:
-Pricing(40 bucks for SC paint that doesnt shoot well at all)
-Lack of lockers/Lack of working lockers(on labor day i saw like more than 10 dudes walking around looking for lockers and just used broken ones)[APPLYS TO NON RENTAL LOCKERS]
-More than half of the refs dont care, and most of the time they make sure you know it. Also, they have too few refs everywhere. there are like 2 per walk on game, 1 at each speedball IF the turf stadium for speed ball is even open. ive only seen it open once.
-Lack of food. They just recently started selling Hot dogs n burgers which is a good change from their old nasty pizza.
-Lack of shaded seating.
-Place is in TERRIBLE condition, rust, weeds, bunkers barly hanging on, and the scenario feild is just a hazard for tetinus(sp?)
-The entire park is not cleaned well enough. The netting has holes which have bad attempts to fix. Old paint and grafitti everywhere. Vending machines that i dont expect to run that have drinks in them(near the stadium)

Bad Experience: So on Labor day they sold "event paint" for $23. Of course i hit that up. its usually 40 for bad paint, so i got it. It was fishy when the cashier didnt check the paint, but i didnt care, took it and went to...my table because i could not get a locker. I open it up, and guess what i find? SC paint. Except this time, they are in big ziplock bags. The paint had dirt all over it, two bags had popped paint, and it was CLEARLY, used paint that had been gathered into a box. After that, i noticed someone else had bought the "Event paint". His situation was worse. there were no bags for the paint. it was literally paint off of the floor. There were about 20 different brands of paint that were in the box. This disgusted me.

Conclusion: I mean....you can shoot paint there..but since its house paint dont expect it to actually mark players. Its paintballing for the sake of making money. The entire place is run as if they do not care for the players, and more for our money. Ive tried to find someway of contacting them but they have no email or contact information on their site. I would suggest to come here only if you dont want to go further to somewhere else and you are willing to accept the bare minimum to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coup Friday, August 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc village, Conquest, Jungle Island, CPP, Las Vegas Sports Park,Field of Fire, Paintball USA (simi-valley)
Directions
to the Field:
they do have a website
Review: okay here we go......The fields ROCK! and thats about it. I dont like how the park operates, everytime the Walk-Ons get on the fields, the Referee will wait until everyone is quite and then the ref's will lay-down the rules ( by all means this is for safety reasons and i do understand that ). The Ref keep doing this on every fields and it becomes VERY annoying, even if we go onto same field twice or three times the Ref will make you wait under the HOT sun.
The park requires you to buy their paintballs ( which they suck ) however on Thursday you are allowed to bring your OWN paintballs ( why can't it be on a Saturday or Sunday ) The price of admission is normal - $20 - for the entrance and $10 for all day air. Sorry i dont know how much they charge for CO2.
The last time i went the Ref were not good and lazy. I ask for a paint check and they didn't even go up to the player instead they just looked at them and say " he's clean " ( after the game was over i checked that player and sure enough my paint was on him ) Most of the Ref wont help you if you have gun problems. They just look at the marker and tell you to see this person and that person will tell you to see another person and so on......
The turn-around between games is TOO long. its takes about 30 min to 1 hr for the next game and not to mentioned another 15 to 30 min before you actually play. ( yup its the rule lecture...feels like i'm at school ) One thing that is kewl they do seperate the Advance and the Biginners.
They do have full bathrooms and music playing ( thats a plus ) and across the street is this Mexican Resturaunt that kick butt.
If you want to experience this park - GO FOR IT but don't be surprise if you're only getting 6 to 8 games before the day ends. At least at Conquest Paintball Park get you 18+ games by the end of the day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media