paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
lahc34 Wednesday, July 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played anywhere else
Directions
to the Field:
Just call the place or mapquest it. the website is www.hollywoodsports.com
Review: Where do I start. I'm still getting started playing paintball and this field seems to meet all of my expectations and exceeds some. The prices aren't extremely high. Kinda sucks that you can't bring your own paint any day. Although, the admission (normally $20) + all day air ($10) + food ($10-20) + paint ($40 for SC Green) adds up. I can only go, on average, one time per month.

The refs are great. Everyone seems to know what he is doing, but they are definitely sticklers to the safety video. At first when my gun had problems shooting, a ref showed me how to field strip my marker and cleaned it all up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeanChad Thursday, May 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC VILLAGE, Giant paintball, ALL GIANTS.
Review: Well I have been playing here at hsp for a long time If i were to try and remember I believe 10 years old 15 now. And this field is always nice and the refs are always doing there job. Some people might rag on the stadium field but that field gets so many players more then everybody that plays at sc village's speedball fields. The rec fields are a blast and very fun to go if you have friends or just want to go and have a good time.

You do have to buy there paint but in all honestly its not that bad of paint and dont mind paying for how much it costs also on holidays I believe the paint goes for like 28 bucks a case for some good paint cant argue.

Everybody at hsp and all of there parks is very friendly. If you go you will enjoy it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

asiantay Tuesday, May 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest Paintball Park
Review: Hollywood Sports is a mixed bag.

The good:
It's conveniently located and it has four large scenario fields and some speedball fields. The fields are pretty diverse and it's a quick walk to any field. That's all there is that is good about HSP.

The bad:
Fields aren't well kept. Most of the time there are weeds all over the place and the props are falling apart. They have fields where run down cars act as bunkers, but overall things are pretty run down.

The prices are stupid too. On weekends it's 20-25 bucks for entry, and that doesn't include air. On weekdays its cheaper but only because it's open 4-10pm (except Tuesdays and Thursdays). Field paint only, except on amnesty days. Their SC paint sucks... it's usually oily and doesn't fly too straight. Horrible for the $40 you pay, you could easily get Nelsplats for the same price and they'd be a hundred times better.

Because it's so conveniently located, the place gets PACKED on weekends and especially on holidays where there are specials. Games take forever to start and they last way too long. Ever play a 45 minute scenario game? I have and it sucks. Sometimes if there are over a hundred people there they'll put two fields together and play one huge free for all. It's gotten to the point where they start calling the games at 30 minutes. This brings up another point: horrible management. Rather than have four games going at the same time, they decide to merge fields together or just let people go nuts. It's stupid.

They always seem under staffed... and you know it when there's two referees for a 50 person game on a large scenario field.

Misc:
Referees are ok. Sometimes they are nice, a few are douches and some just want to get their 9-5 in. They go over a few rules before each game which is REALLY annoying after the second or third game. This is AFTER they make you watch a safety video, too, so it's redundant and a waste of time.

They have a staging area and a few other places to sit down, so that's nice. Lockers are provided, but bring your own locks to use em. They have running water to clean off your gear and whatnot.

Overall, there are better fields then HSP, it's just that this one is convenient. Otherwise, drive the extra fifteen miles somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SUICIDAL TJT Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None near it really but sc i guess
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest it off somerset
Review: I go to hollywood sports to paintball of corse yet you dont do much paintballing becuase in like 2 hours you get to go 2 twice 3 times if your lucky and you have to hear the rules that are not enforced every game they say you have to chrono well i have never choroned and they let me i never saw the hsp saftey video i just walk up to a ref and ask them to sign me off they what is one rule you tell them and your good to go you can only use house paint only and that is so much money it is about $40 bucks for sc paint that SUCKS and is horrible and also i went last night and why do i say the rules are not enforced becuase the refs say no overshooting 3 breaks max ya i got shot about 20-25 times even after dead on the side and then people fire their markers all the time out of the game in the parking lot and during the breifing and the refs they dont do anything and when i got overshot we told the ref after the game he said you have to tell the refs in the game well guess what there was no stupid usless ref and most of the people at the shop and rental thing and also the refs dont know much about paintball there is about 2 guys that actully know about paintball there and you know what i loved hollywood sporst but it is literally a rundown dump and the refs dont do anything and i am tired of it so bye bye hollywood sports your rules that no one follows but you have so many they think that you would enforce them yet you are probaly to tired telling people all of the stupid rules you are to tired to enforce them if anyone who works at hollywood sports is reading this this is what i have to say before you can call yourself a paintball park maybe you can get realpaint and also some new refs also clean it up a little and actually do something other than just standing there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Eugene123 Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
California paintball Park
Directions
to the Field:
Location
--------------------------------
9030 somerset Blvd. Bellflower, CA 90706

---------------------------------------------
Hollywood sports phone number
---------------------------------------------
(562)867-9600
Review: Should I take the extra time to drive somewhere further? This was the question I would ask myself CONSTANTLY! Hollywood sports is a great place, but the prices at the pro shop, and their SC paint is just insane! Many fields have the B.Y.O.P policy, but Hollywood sports only has them on a couple of days in a year. I like Hollywood Sports, because it is clean, and organized, but I would rather go to C.P.P. The reason for this is because Hollywood Sports cost a LOT more. on average I would spend 20 bucks at C.P.P, but at Hollywood Sports, I would be spending on average about 50 or 60 dollars.
In my opinion, I would take the extra time to drive somewhere a little bit further. Though Hollywood sports has great fields, and is a clean place, it should also have a B.Y.O.P policy), so people wouldn't have to be spending 60 dollars every time they go there. Also the prices at the proshop should be a lowered, because they are honestly ripping many people off.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crims0nknight5 Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA (a little far away but they have the BEST customer service)
SC Village (The field is ok. Registration takes a while though).
Directions
to the Field:
Bellflower, CA mapquest is your friend
Review: I admit, I am relatively new to the world of paintball. When we first got there, registration took long time. This was expected considering the field was not going to be open on the following day. After watching the safety video, I went to the shop to buy paint. One of the refs told me that the reason HSP is field paint only was because they worked out a deal with the city. Since the park is located in a metropolitan type area, the only they could open a field was if they would give 10% of the paint sales to the city. I still don't think it justifies $43 (after tax) for the cheapest box of inconsistent paint. Everything in the proshop was ludicrously over priced. You don't even have all day air with admission.
My biggest complaint is about the customer service. On of the guys at the compressed air station broke the fill nipple on the tank that I had purchased the day before. I had started out the day with a full tank. Since there wasn't a whip for a 3000psi tank, I gave my equipment to the kid behind the counter and unfortunately, I assumed the guy new what he was doing. I heard a loud thud and a hissing noise. He quickly went to the back and tried to give me a similar looking tank. I asked him where my tank was and he acted oblivious. He told me that the fill nipple on the rental I handed him was broken. I told him that they didn't rent out Proto SLG's and that I didn't have a pure energy tank.
After trying to track down a ref or manager who would help me, I found a big fat white guy who told me that it wasn't their problem. They weren't responsible for any damage to any equipment. He didn't apologize or try to work things out with me. He just said there was nothing he would do for me. That right there just ruined the entire day for me. What kind of manger doesn't care about his customers and just tells them to buzz off when incompetent employees break personal property? Heck, he could have at least apologized for his employees misconduct. Needless to say, neither me nor my family will come to HSP again. If you like rude mangers, incompetent employees, high prices, and horrible customer service, then HSP is for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wankel Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Fields of Fury
Fury Paintball
Paintball USA
Review: NOT a good time!

First of all, we made reservations for a private group, wait did I say private group? no such thing here. We were assured a large area for our group of 20+ people, and to our surprise there was no such thing waiting for us, apparently they were all taken and we were pushed off to the side.

Secondly, either the employees don't know how to read or they don't know how to fill an air tank because they broke the burst disc by using the wrong fill station on a players tank and refused to fix it or give him anything in return. The employee even admitted to breaking it but as soon as we had time to talk to someone he is no where to be found, and the manager is in denial that his employee would ever say that.
If you take your car to your mechanic and it doesn't run when you get it back, don't you think they would be obligated to fix it and return it in the condition it was given to them? NOT HERE!
Regardless of this analogy, I expect some customer service, as im sure most of you will as well. If you want friendly people that are willing to bend over backwards to help you, DON'T look for them here.

Lets see what else, walk ons trying to sneak into our games, some succeeded.

Refs are trying to hurry you so they can do something else. Want to take a break?

NOT on their time, refs breaks are your breaks so if you want to rest, they say no, not until its time for their break. Completely rude.

Oh and best of all, when the day is over and you get to your car you have paint all over it, because kids like to shoot over the net and play target practice with the parking lot, as well as litter in your bed (if you have a truck) or shoot/throw paintballs at the side of your car leaving the fill to slowly eat away at your paint.

I will never go here again, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and thats the full truth.
Last edited on Saturday, March 22nd, 2008 at 8:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

em1sniper Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC village, Tombstone, Jungle Island, Outlaw paintball, Fields of fury, Conquest.
Review: The field is very convenient to those who live in the lakewood, downey area. It's about the only local field available during a weekday. I attended HSP on Monday and the prices were great. They have a special on holidays from what I was told and read on the available flyers. For example, you can bring any paint you want on holidays except red fill and non staining. Also, on Mondays the admission fee is only $5.00. Tuesday & Wednesday its closed. I think the rest of the week its $15.00. There is a special coming up in April for Spring Breakers. The cost will be $15.00 again but you can bring your on paint. I would suggest to call HSP to verify the cost of fees and paint.

I went to HSP on St. Patrick's day and it was horrible. I've gone to HSP before and it was a lot better that it was that day. First off, when I arrived it was around 5pm. The sun was out and it was not crowded yet. I paid my fees and there was a line almost out to the door. I remember coming before and there was more than one cash register available. I see there was one person working collecting the waivers, fees, and distributing paint. Next, was chronoing the marker. I could not believe how ridiculous it was to chrono. At HSP, after you chrono your get a tag indicating that your marker was within the limits at HSP. The only problem I had was that we the players had to wait for the referre to come back from the game that was playing. When I use to come to HSP there was already a ref standing by to assist the players with their markers. That should never be a problem with having people chrono their marker. One of the problems with that day, there was a big party waiting to chrono their rentals. They already saw the video and now the group of 12 people had to chrono their markers along with the other players who were still waiting.

During the explanation of the rules of the game, it was mentioned that the players are not allowed to fire their markers until the refs says to take off the barrel condoms. After he separates the teams, players start shooting their markers at various objects. I couldn't believe the disregard of rules. Plus, I didn't want to get shot walking down to the end of the field. Other players were telling them not to shot but they kept doing it.

If safety was such a big issue, why does HSP have only 1 referree for a total of 20 guys? As the night went on more players starting coming and they still had only 1 referree. That is already an issue because I asked the ref if there was going to be another referee helping him with the game. The referre I spoke said there was but he wasn't sure. I hate to believe that we as players are suppose to comply with the rules. Yet the field we played at goes against the rules allowing for something to occur which could be harmful for the players.

I remember playing at different fields and you could run it back. You can use the field twice instead of using it once. At HSP, after one round at the field, you had to depart and take a break. I've played at different fields and they would usually run it back. I hate the fact that we play once and then take a break and then have to wait an additional 10 to 15 mins to begin a new game.

In conclusion, I believe that HSP use to be a lot better. The fields are falling apart because there was weeds everywhere. They need to hire someone to get a weed wacker and mowed down the brush and bushes that exist in each of the fields. Also, they need to have more refs and more games. Not just have people wait all day for the next game.

I remember when HSP use to be great to attend. Now's it just seems that they are more concern with money instead of helping out paintballers who want to have a great time.

If you do decide to go remember that the # 1 rule is keep your mask on at all times while on the paintball field. This is the immedidate question they will ask while waiting to begin. Try not to go here unless you have too. I would suggest the other fields but I know that it is very convient to attend here.
Last edited on Friday, August 14th, 2009 at 2:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oldskulptball Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields of Honor, Conquest,Fields of Fury,SC Village,Tombstone,Jungle Island,Splat,Whittier Narrows(Pirate field),Pala or Pumpkins field
Review: HSP is very conveniently located , closer than any other fields that I have played on. The facility has all the important ammenities,pro shop, regular and clean rest rooms(not porta potties) and ample veriety of fields, scenarios and speedball arenas.Very kid and newbie friendly. Safety first is what I noticed with the emphasis of the rules being repeated before each game. Have to watch the safety video and wristband signed off and checked before going into the playing fields. Constant improvement is the key to HSP's success. The managers and staff are very helpfull to the players needs. If you are trying to organize a private game wether it's for a B-day,Work or friends and family paintball game HSP is the place to go.The venue is perfect for these types of occasions because of the close proximity of Air stations,Rentals,Chrono ,Food,rest rooms,Pro shop, etc..etc.. need I say more? Compared to the other fields that I have played on thru out the years the set up for HSP is not comparable, the only one that comes close is SC Village,at SC you still have to walk a long ways to the playing fields. The price to play is very reasonable but most of the time it's field paint only, they have on occassions special events(every other month or so) that you can shoot with outside paint. Check out their website,very informative. I rate it a 9 coz nobody is perfect and like I said HSP facility is on a constant improvement mode of operation.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aussieamanda87 Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest, California Paintball Park, Warped Sports Park, Tombstone and SC Village.
Directions
to the Field:
Great City-of-Bellflower location between the freeways of 91, 710, 105, and the 605 just east of Lakewood and Somerset. See HollywoodSports.Com for specific directions.
Review: This place rocks! They have six scenario fields (four main fields) with buildings and other props. And they have two speedball fields of which one is tournament grade with astro turf. The refs and players are friendly. I like the way the older players are typically willing to help the young newbies. There were about 200 players there this past President's Day holiday. With about 70% in the beginner to intermediate category.

House paint is required, but it's reasonably priced between $35 and $60 a case depending on grade. On certain event days, they have paint available for $23 per case. They also have BYOP days about once every other month. The event days are off-the-handle as everybody shows up, but not good if you don't like crowds. It's defiantly worth getting on the email listing or checking the website periodically for the special events.

The private groups are popular among the newcomers. It's a great way to control the environment until you can get some experience and skills going. It seems like everybody started paintball at somebody's birthday party.

Of all the fields, Hollywood Sports Park (HSP) is the most conscientious of the safety rules. They require a safety video viewing, and chrono check before players start the day. They also give a safety briefing before each game to warn players of rocks, ditches, and slippery areas. Hearing the safety briefing every game can be tough but most players understand that safety has to come first. Safety is so highly regarded at HSP that fellow players will remind you of the rules. This is a good thing when no player wants to see another player get hurt.

For the newbies, it's going to be expensive at any field to pay entry, air fee, rent a marker, rent a ammo belt, and purchase a case of paint. It seems as players get more experienced, they learn how to save money. Players that know the ropes learn to borrow equipment, look for discount coupons at the paintball tournaments, purchase used equipment at 50% off the original price, etc. I know of several honest experienced players that sell good used markers.

HSP is the only paintball park that serves the LA city area. It's less than 20 minutes from LAX airport on a Saturday or Sunday morning. The in-city location is a big sell to me. Many of the experienced kids are just dropped off by their parents. Due to the close location, I know many players that come out just to play a few hours. The in-city location is a big big plus. I live on the westside of LA, and don't care much for the hour plus drive to the other fields located in Valencia, Castaic, Elsinore, or Corona. Not to mention, most facilities can't match up to HSP.

HSP is a great facility and has advantages of the surrounding in-city businesses. They have video games, pizza, drinks and a pro shop on location. The also have great food in walking distance such Sky Burger, Mexican food, steak sandwiches, Taco Bell, etc. They have a real bathroom instead of those port-a-potties. And, they have a clean up area with running water and paper towels for the googed, etc.

The first game typically starts at 10am due to the set-up time, entry line, and pro shop lines. Don't bother rushing for the 9am gate time unless you're trying to get a free locker (just need a pad lock). Other keyed lockers are available for a fee.

Try HSP, learn the ropes, and you'll grow to appreciate the field, staff and players. I haven't seen the fat chode lately. (mentioned by pepsi4all in the review below.)
Last edited on Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 at 6:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media