paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
pepsi4all Wednesday, January 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC village, Eureka paintball field, SC by Magic Mountain
Directions
to the Field:
From LA go to 91E exit Lakewood towards North West, Right on Somerstreet, or mapquest it
Review: Here it goes... the DOWNS, you have to hear the rules over and over again. It takes a lot of time, but I guess it is just for safety.
Do not go on holidays, the place is pack, it will be the worst nightmare.
Go somewhere else if your a group package, I suggest SC by Magic mountain.
There is this little fat Referee that thinks he is all that.... He is a cocky fat chode. - I need to get his name and post it here, because he is so short and chubby and mean, he can't get a girl, so he gets a little power, he goes on POWER TRIP. hate that ref.
Sometimes there are thieves, do not buy the stores padlock, bring a thick padlock.
My backup marker usually cost 1000 dollars... and I am always on the lookout.
I have seen twice people get stolen their stuff.

The UPS -
The Speedball is awesome, Rules is not conducted over and over again.
People play very honest. i can play in speedball 5 games in an hour.
Referee's are great, I am almost friends and play with all of them. except the fat chode.
Julian is a cool guy. He helps the young people in there.
Locker is close to playing field, except in the Stadium.
The first DYNASTY DVD was filmed in HSP.
I usually go on weekdays, cause I spent my time with my wife on weekends.
The staff on the proshop and the store are very friendly.
Bring your Pump paintball, all the pump players will get to know you really fast.
Most open all week paintball field out there, I think...
There are a lot of friendly people, you get to know so much.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 23rd, 2008 at 6:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eli_Dunne Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I usually play at Conquest, a field that is hands-down better organized and more fun to play at than HSP...
Review: I've 'balled at HSP four or five times now. Each time we go, my buddy and I swear it's the last time we'll ever play there. Well, we mean it this time.

We went there on New Year's Eve after family/work obligations sabotaged our Sunday routine. I have never been so disappointed. It started with a phone call to the girls in the pro-shop. I asked them what kind of paint they had for sale, and they rattled off a few; including Zap Chronic. Since HSP is usually field paint only, and I play with a medium/large bore fixed barrel gun, paint size is really important to me. Chronic and Marbs are about the only quality paints that won't roll out my barrel.

When we got there, all they had was some tiny, poor quality field paint. After a long drive and an erroneous tailgating ticket, I just wanted to play some effin' paintball. I bought some paint, loaded up, and went onto the field. The beauty of larger fields really stood out when I was eliminated right off the break on my first game. Rec-ball wasn't meant to be played on a speedball sized field.

The atmosphere there is lacking the community vibe you get at other fields. A lot of players there wear obnoxious tourney apparel, pink headbands, and shoot fast guns they don't know how to maintain. Ordinarily, these guys don't bother me. Their metrosexual garb and bad attitudes do little to disguise the fact they're hiding in the back, shooting a thousand rounds in a ten minute game. It's when their 'win at all costs' dogma influences the renters that I get mad. If you're one of those "I won't call myself out until someone does it for me" types, you'll fit right in. The staging areas are the worst I have ever seen at a mainstream paintball field. Barrel plug rules are not rigorously enforced, and players dry-fire their markers wherever they please.

While there are unethical players and refs at a lot of fields, HSP's apathetic staff has created a zero accountability haven where thieves and cheaters call the shots.

Unacceptable.

Edit: My opinions are based on my cumulative experience playing at Hollywood Sports.
Last edited on Thursday, January 3rd, 2008 at 4:05 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vubonic Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Tombstone, Jungle Island
Review: I first started playing at this field when they started and it was a great experience, however, as the time pass I notice the field has gotton really crappy. The refs there are horrible, it literally takes about 30 minutes to get a game going because they make you listen to the same rules every game before it gets started. Not only that, the games get ridiculous sometimes as the teams get to be as big as 40 on 40 and paint is flying everywhere. You get shot in the back by your teammates constantly if you are a front runner like me and like to move up quick once the whistle blows. I am really sad to give this field such a low rating but unless they clean up their act, I am staying away from this place and going to better fields like SC and Jungle Island.

Julian is a good ref there, he is really dedicated to the sport so that helps this field's rating somewhat. They need to run the games back to back since they take FOREVER to get a game going.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ketchup Friday, September 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr.Paintball USA - San Diego, CA
Directions
to the Field:
http://maps.google.com/maps?tab=wl
Review: Proshop is a joke and everything is expensive. You would think that such a large field that gets so much business would be able to offer lower prices.

I guess I'm spoiled with having "all day air" included with my admission at other fields. $10 "all day air" + $25 admission AND you can only use field paint?! another $37.89. I guess this was better than their older prices, $50+ all access admission? I think that was at a discounted rate also. I only play at this field when admission is free.

I was also refused free admission (had a VIP PASS) on an "event" day. It did not say anywhere on the VIP PASS or their website that the pass would have blackout days or be turned down on event days.

Staff isn't much help but they are pretty efficient when it comes to stopping a game and checking everyones paint to make sure it's field paint. Also when some pansie cries about getting hurt, they will chrono as many people as they can. Go home and play with waterguns if you can't tolerate a paintball hit.

Players in scenario games are a bunch of little pansies, well at least a handful. I snuck up on a player and shot him right in the leg and he kept yelling "you're out!! you're out!! I got you!!" I didn't even have any broken paint on me, the idiot completely missed me. It seems like he was playing the "whoever yells out 'you're out' first game" ~ with himself. Me? I just shot him again to make sure he got the point.

If you want to get serious, goto their speedball field.

Be careful in the parking lot, when I was there a few weekends ago someone had their truck stolen. I saw the idiot thief speeding out of the parking lot in the truck, he could have made roadkill of some poor kid that got in the way.



You get a 6 Hollywood, because you're just a good sized park.
Last edited on Friday, September 28th, 2007 at 10:57 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

skandalous_MF Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Hollywood Sports is the first and only paintball park I've ever been to. There are no paintball fields in my town. My dad lives in Bellflower, and every time I visit him he borrows some of my gear and we mosey on down to Hollywood.

Safety: HSP is big on safety. This may seem excessive at first, but I think it's justified. There are "Goggles On" signs everywhere and they are strict about keeping you barrel plug in. Violation of either may possibly get you kicked out.

Fields: The killing grounds of HSP are impressive. I never play speedball, but the scenario fields all have their own themes. Lunar Wars is a hi-tech field featuring tents, metal and plastic bunkers, and a mock-up dropship in the center of the field. Forbidden City is Egyptian-themed and has props made accordingly. Mad Max World is built of junk and features a sniper tower, and Apocalypse is themed after a bombed-out (post-nuclear?) city with stone walls. The fields are adjacent to one another. For games with 100+ players, two fields are used. (It gets insane!!!)

Hours: The hours could be better. They open at noon on weekdays and close early on weekends.

Prices: Reasonable. $15 field entry, $38 case, $10 all-day air. Not bad.

Rules: Pretty standard, goggles on, barrel plugs in, don't shoot the ref, etc. All markers are chrono'd at 275 fps and are given a tag. No full-auto is allowed on the scenario fields.

Pro shop: Lacking. They need more inexpensive accesories. Last time I was there the clerk had no idea what a microfiber cloth was.

Staff / Refs: Nice people. The refs are usually pretty laid-back unless you break the rules intentionally. The staff is for the most part very helpful.

Players: A good crowd. I don't think I've ever seen anyone cheat there. Everyone I met was honest and didn't take the game too seriously. I like that, I mean it is just a game after all. I make new friends every time I go.

Food: HSP needs a snack bar. There are vending machines and a liquor store across the street, but no actual food-type food.

Overall, Hollywood is affordable, well-maintained, and worth your while. Go there for some crazy military-stlye shootouts.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slashfan78 Thursday, July 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc Village
Review: Its a Great place a ltttle bit pricey but its not to to much. Field paint for 2000 rounds is 50 bucks i just go on bring your own paint every friday. They make u get chronoed and u cant be shooting more than 275. They also make u wacth a saftey video it isnt so bad. The lockers are ok. No one really steals ur stuff. Alot of peopl on weekends. Great astroturf speedball field i like playin 4 on 4 with my friends and stuff.Their is like 5 speedball fields. And their is 4 big senerio fiels. I like the senerio fiels because they are all futuristic and stuff like the forbiden city and all that stuff. They isnt alot of foos. I usally just go to in n out after. Monsters are sold there so thats what keeps us alive lol. Shop is ok they do sell all the acserriors like gloves barrel condoms andsome guns like the spyder pilot acs. And stuff. Also tank covers. And t shirts and jerseys. The whole park is kinda big. Parking is good alot of it. And refs do theyre job. And people there are great. Rentals r tippmans a-5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

splatomatc Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
website
Review: this place rocks


pros

saftey
good rentals
speed ball

cons
pricey
crappy paint


over all I love this place

you should definetly
come here

if you like really big teams this is the place for you


blah blah blah I just need more words to post this review




this is way better than sc village
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintman2000 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: when i first arrived i was surprised of the facility it was great i felt like i was at a amusement park. it was a bit pricey but i didn't care much then i thought it was time to play but they make you watch a safety video which take up some time then on top of that the ref re explained them after the video. finally it was time to play the fields were big and fun but not big enough for all of the players playing that day.

the games went by quick and they made you start the next game in like 5-10 Min's they didn't move quickly or just simply turn it around and play back to back. so that was pretty annoying. another thing is they don't let you shoot over 275 not to bad but still kind of annoying. Field paint was not to good but wasn't bad 35 for the white box good enough for me.

the hours are great they are open late from 9am to 10pm which is really good.
refs where good doing there job and very into there jobs.

at the end of the day i was happy with the place and the field and had fun i give it a 8.5/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

you_got_facered Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC, Splat Factory, OC Asylum
Directions
to the Field:
www.hollywoodsports.com
Review: This is my home field and I think that it's pretty nice. They have 3 speed ball fields, 1 turf stadium, and 4 themed fields.
Pros:
-Nice faculty
-Fun fields
-Very Safety conscious
-All ages
-Not in the middle of no where( food places near by)
-Fridays is BYOP (bring your own paint)
-Air ball fields are fun, stadium is a little slick though
-Pro shop is full of what ever you need to play
-It's in California (usually nice weather)

Cons:
-Field Paint only (except on Fridays)
-Refs can be dicks(not all the time though)
-You can't shoot your marker over 275 fps
-fields are dirty (a little mud don't hurt anyone though)
-Not very many refs during games( 2 max)
-Field paint is expensive for what you get
-Entrance is $25 on weekends
-Overall kind of expensive


I give HSP an average rating. It has it's ups and downs but overall its a pretty nice place to go hang out, chill, and shoot your friends have fun. [:


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Z0MBIE Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've never played on other fields before.
Directions
to the Field:
The park's website has great directions.
Review: Being new to the sport I appreciated how easy it was to jump into games.

I played more than 5 that day. They were fast and fun. There were 2-3 refs all day and they went over the rules before every game (annoying to some peopIe know, but everytime we stood and listened there was someone pulling off goggles while on the field so I understand why the rules were repeated so much).

My one complaint is that some of the counter staff took too long to process either the rental tickets, or they didnt seem to know what they were doing. The real experts were out on the field reffing and willing to help and answer questions.

This is a great place for beginners as the fields werent too big or too small. We had other beginners and experienced players on the field. We only waited about 15-20 minutes between games which is just enough time to get new air, grab a water, or adjust your gun.

I've heard many complaints about the field from too many rules to having to buy the House Paint. As I stated before though, the rules are a necessary annoyance.
(Someone took of her face mask RIGHT when the ref was telling us never to do this, and then when he had her leave as a penalty, another guy did the same thing).

The House Paint thing is something that many avid paintballers dont like, because i've heard the paint isnt that good at this park. I dont have any experience in that department, but I can say that there were several groups in many of our games who came armed to the teeth with their own equipment, and they didnt seem to mind that they had to use the paint.

I had a blast, and if your a beginner, or just want to try it once I'd highly suggest HSP. Its made me a fan of the sport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media