paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
WiccanBaller Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Im from AL and this is the only field in california that i've played at.
Review: for me, this place was heaven. 4 or 5 scenario fields and about 4 airball fields. I only played one of the scenario fields. It was fun but way too easy. It was pretty much all newbs or old guys that like to play in the woods. I spent the rest of th day playing at the astroturf field which is where all the tourney style players were. Really nice field, 5 or 7 man size, great layout, nice astroturf. Im pretty sure that california is packed with high end fields so there is probably a higher standard of paintball fields than in other places like alabama. So if your from out of state and have never played in california, you have no idea what your missing out on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Master-Duo Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I live in MN, so while i was down in Cali, I decided to try out Hollywood Sports.
So none in local area as far as Cali goes.
Review: Definately a field for both the pro player and the noob. I went on a tuesday night, because it was one of the few days I had free, so the amount of people there is being left out. One of the pros about this field is some of the prices. For a case of paint it was $57 (field paint only), not bad, but also not the best quality paint there is out there. Admission during the summer is Mon-Thurs $15, Fri $20, Sat-Sun $25. I found that the admission prices were a bit higher than average, seeing that their two peak days are rated at $25 for entrance. Air costs for a 48/3000 tank to be filled ONCE, was $5, so I decided to buy unlimited for $10...its air, honestly. Now, I had my own equipment, so I didnt have to rent, but If I'm right, players had to pay about $18 for a Tippman pro-Carbine and Mask.

Enough with the prices, now lets get to the fields: Fields are opened until 10 PM, but for some reason the refs kicked us out at 9. They have a good amount of fields, ranging from scenario-speedball to X-ball. I played in their speedball stadium the whole time, I met some very nice players during that time, even a team straight from Europe. The staff was nice (for the three that I had met), and helpful with whatever skills and equipment they had had. The stadium had some type of ground that I'm not so sure of, but cleats dont help at all on it.. They kept the bunkers well maintained, filled, and very spacious.

Others: They have volleyball courts, kids corners, mini-go carts for kiddies, the works.

Overall: I'm extremely impressed with Hollywood Sports, One of the biggest plusses in my book is that they had a lot of space on the fields, equaly spread bunkers with good angles for both sides. Fields in MN are small and you feel cramped. I think that they should remove the air costs, because honestly, you turn on the compresser, and you turn it off....

I definately say that anyone headed to Cali with some fun in mind, definately give Hollywood Sports a try, you'll meet interesting people, be treated well and fairly and will even learn a thing or two.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

DANTE A-5 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Camp Pendalton ( Best) , TombStone , Backyard, Park ,
Review: I used to play here years back, well anyway, I went during spring break so we playd 9 am -11 pm for 25 bux !! pretty good !! But the slow staff didn't get games going until nearly 12... the refs are very VERY VERY bad, I shot a guy in the mask, he whiped, my pump friends totally shot him, and he was covered in Yellow Paint, finally I rush him and bunker him, after I bunker him, he finally gets out as do I. He had 12 huge splats and the ref was telling me to STFU... shiity refs.. cheaters... then during night games, the refs make me and pump friends play advanced, so my pump friends got lit by Angels until they finally combinded beginer and advanced... the prices are bad... its like Canadian prices in CA.. if ur a bargin baller.. dont go here... if ur a rich person with no expirience.. come here.. Good Maps ... Nice Paint .... Nice places to unpack and hang inbetween games ....

****EDIT*** I'm giving "Ref Revival 101" HSP another try july 13th with my new gun. I hope the ref's are better !!!! and I forgot to mention they went over EVERY SINGLE noob rule inbetween every other game which took like 15 minutes. what the heck is the video for ??!?

6 10
it was better here when I used to play there.. now it sucks ...
Last edited on Monday, July 4th, 2005 at 2:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Radioman Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone
SC Village
Jungle Island
Review: Ok after reading the most recent reviews I am more than a little confused about Hollywood Sports Park ladies and gentlemen. They complained in the last three reviews about how bad the staff was. How they (the staff) just wanted to sit around talking and that games took forever to start.

Well, my son and I along with two major Scenario teams (Psycho Clown Posse and Knuckle Draggers) showed up their Saturday April 30th, 2005 for a day of fun. The first game started at around 9am and didn't stop. I finally left at 5pm and people where still showing up. As for it being 20 minutes between the games that was not true. When our walk on group (Group A) came off the field they loud speaker would call "All walk-on group A players you have 5 minutes till next game" that was a quote for all of you players. Then I would hear "All walk-on group A players 3 minutes" Then "All walk-on group A players you have 1 Minute to make it to the tunnel for you next game"

I never got to sit down for more than 10 minutes to rest, they were always calling out groups to the tunnel for the next game! I finally went and ate and watched several games from the observation deck and rested for 45 minutes while the other groups played.

Now as for not checking paint and safty, WRONG!!!!!!!!! Everytime we entered the field I had to open my hopper and prove I was using house paint. They made me watch a video and at every single game before it would start the reffs would ask "What's the #1 rule" and then they would go over the rules real fast.

Someone must be reading these reviews from HSP, because it was nothing like what they said in the three previous reviews. Guys, maybe all your complaining finally got to the right person. Oh and as for the refs being lazy? I saw them walking around picking up loose papers and trash when they were not reffing a game.

Now I'm not saying they are lying, because I didn't go with them on those days, but when I went on Saturday I was very impressed with HSP. The paints a little high I grant you that. But they have real showers, free lockers (big lockers that you could put one of the young players in), and as for the smell of the fields, hey drive out to SC Village near Chino, you have no idea what bad smells like. Oh and before you start, I live in Ontario, so I smell Chino all the time.

The only reason I gave the field an 8 was because of the paint prices, and guys stopping giving 10's, there are not 10's out there. A 10 would be free paint, free play and every ball hits someone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

worknorm Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest
Field of Fire
Tombstone
Review: This is a very cool paintball facility with just about everything you could want within a convenient location. Visually, the park is very interesting and captures the imagination of young and the not so young. The potential for a unique playing experience is obvious. This could easily be the best of all the paintball parks...but it isn't.

Why? It's not the high price cause I don't mind paying a top price for a top grade experience. It's not the stinky water or the bee hives...all that environmental stuff makes it more fun. In my opinion, it's the management and it's operating philosophy that needs some serious re-engineering.

We try to play every weekend except when it gets unbearably hot. Last year my friends and I played here virtually every weekend or a week night for six months straight...we even had two company private group events. But as time went on it was hard to overlook the frustratingly negative experiences we were having. Our complaints fell on deaf ears. Eventually we couldn't take it anymore and stopped going to this park. So we found a less fancy park where we were treated fairly and respectfully. Unfortunately we can't easily get to that park now due to some road damage from the recent rain storms so we returned th Hollywood Sports Park this spring to see if there was some improvement. (Edited on 5/25/05: The road is now open.)

I played at HSP four consecutive weekends. It's worse then last year. My friends won't play there anymore.

From a paying guest's point of view, the consistent lack of operating efficiency is so great that virtually everyone who plays here (or drops their kids off) ends up complaining about one thing or another. I hear the complaining everywhere. Don't get me wrong the staff is made up of some very nice people but unfortunately the majority of them manage to treat us paying guests like we are in some boot camp in some third world country they control. In my opinion they simply don't know how to properly service a client who is there for the entertainment experience. You can be strict without being abusive. Wherever you go to play paintball there is a certain brotherhood between players. Respect is gained on the field and that is hard to do here when you're waiting around for that one game each hour.

This lack of respect towards the paying customer prevails in virtually all customer transactions...the performance of the refs, some of the slowest moving staff I've seen in any business, long lines for paint and air refills, the inexcusable long waits between games, the triple and quadruple recitation of the rules before every game. Even when the staff is friendly...they are still making people mad because they are following directions that are laid down by the management.

The last weekend I played there it took an hour and a half just to start the first game. This is devastatingly bad if you intend to play only a half a day.

I'm writing this review in hopes that Hollywood Sports Park seriously considers these and the other comments made in reviews here. Maybe they can take a stab at making some improvements. If they can only do one thing I hope they invest in an efficiency expert.

On the upside...this could be a very special park one day. I'll try it again next year.



Last edited on Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 at 11:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Striker511 Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
On Target - NJ
CP Paintball - CA
Review: After going to different fields and seeing how things went, I thought I knew what to expect from another field - and wow was I wrong. Hollywood sportspark was the best experience I have had at a field in a long time. Let me break it down.

Plusses:
+++ Organization: This was the first thing I noticed when I walked in the gate. The staff wears red and yellow shirts; everyone has a handset radio and there is a central stand with a guy on a mic that makes announcements. If you have a question, go ask. They will find you an answer. Alot of fields can learn from this as a good model to follow.
++ For a $10 coupon, I was able to get into the park, get a rental and full-head goggle. A friend that lives there got us this coupon when I visited and it saved me a ton of cash. That is a great deal anywhere. Another $10 for the all-day air and I was set. If you need to rent anything from a harness to a jumpsuit, get it all at the front. All financial transactions are done at the entrance, so get it when you first get there.
+ People have been complaining about the costs of paint, but after seeing the $50 for 2000 rounds in most stores, I do not know what they were thinking. Between 3 people, we split a case and it lasted us all day. That's about $18 a person. ($38 total for you math whizzes)
+ They also have rental lockers on the site: A good place to stash your gear when you head to lunch. If you want one, get it when you pay at the entrance. (see above)
+ There is an observation deck above the main area - good place to watch games and NOT have a mask on. I like this because you can still watch a game if you are in some down time and not need to wear a mask.
+ 4 fields: one is a village, one is something out of Starship troopers, a third has some good obstacles in a rolling field (dirt mounds and tunnels) and a 4th is their 'Mad Max' set. All fields are well spaced that the games last about 10-20 minutes at most. They played CTF, Center Flag (like football), and Elimination. All the fields were accessed by waiting in an assemble area and walking to the field down an enclosed walk way.
+ Refs: Minus one game, all the refs were very professional. Unfortunately, there was ALOT of overshooting, but not so much as getting shot while walking off. Most of the time, the kiddies would shoot their new Angels at you even after you took a hit. I expected that, especially in southern California. Refs called shots and were good at getting people off. The rules were reinforced every game.

Too issues people complained about in other comments:
- Field paint only! At least give me an option of mixing my paint with yours.. I understand why HSP does this, but then again: I dont have to play at their field if I dont want to.
- Movie: yea yea, another 'dont do this' film, but along with the paint issue, I understand why they have this too. This covers their tail if something happens - " You did watch the movie so there is no excuse for you to NOT know the rules". I dont have to like it, just have to do it. Besides, its only 5 minutes long..no big deal.

Now my Negatives:
- No signs at the field entrance: Put a sign over each entrance to the field area so when you get to the 4 way split you know what field you are going to. Number them or something, but alot of times there were two groups walking to and from the fields and I didnt know which field was what. Its cool you name the fields, but give me a number so I know which field is what.
- Post rain periods, the fields were stinky. Stagnet water on every field made for interesting games. If there is a way to get the water off the field, please do it.
- Some long waits: As the day progressed, the waiting was longer. When the announcement was made "5 minutes for A players" and its 15 minutes later and still waiting, something went wrong. Maybe I was on a busy day..
- Small fields?: After the 2nd game, I took my harness off. I found no need to carry 500 paintballs in my cans when I didnt go thru half of my paint in the hopper. I do shoot alot during a game and even so never ran out of hopper paint. For you Autococker types, you need your stuff. If you shoot a Semi marker, top off up and go. Compared to CP Paintball, the fields are more square and have less terrain. If you like the Close Quarter Battle (CQB for the pros) this is your place. If you like the hilly/grassy type stuff, goto somewhere else. no sniping here.

Overall, I will definitely head back there whenever I travel to SoCal. Between good games, Decent prices and good organization, HSP is the place I will play at. I give a 9, only because of the signs.

Thank you for your time.
Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 10:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tasa Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
proving grounds ...ok
sc village.....fun but i dislike the relation to hsp
tombstone ...fun good for stock class
Review: worst field ever do not go here have to i warn you. you will be out a hundred dollars before the day is done and the service suck most likely you will only play 6 games the whole day unless you play speed ball at which point your knee deep in the smelliest poo water in the whole world. The refs dont care for safety and are always letting BEAR and friends get away with non house paint and hot markers even when you bring your concerns to them they will ignore you i have been shot from balls going through the net at least 10 times one time right above the eye some times i fear for my safety. Dont be fooled by the web HSP web site those pictures are 100 years old. they do not have grass all fields are flooded and the new turf field is small and I think anyone who falls for the coupon days will soon see that they have made a big mistake. that money will be right back in there pocket when you need 1 of their 2 dollar orings or the guy at the fill station fills your 3000 psi tank to 5000 because the gauge goes to 5000 they are complete morons. You have to use House paintballs which are blaze. What they dont ell you is that the ball youre spending $60 on are actually defective balss that have been taken from the good balls during the sorting process at the factory!!!! I think that HSP is not a paintball field but a money hole a massive pot of scam and deception i believe that HSP is all about making money no money is put into the safety or upkeep of the field they are to cheap to buy bunkers for all of the speed ball field the new turf field is made from old bunkers one speed ball field isnt even open because all of the bunkers are in the turf field. All i got to say is that it is a shame that a paintball field has lost its way.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigT19 Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Tombstone
Adrenaline
Review: I have been to Hollywood Sports Park about 7 times since it opened. The first time I played there the staff was great and helpful and I thought that this place was going to be great for our sport. After my first experience everything changed.

Good: I don't have to drive the terrible 91 Freeway to play paintball. The fields are different and make you change your game a bit. It's open during the week. The staging area is very nice and they have lockers to store your paint. It's nice not having to walk out to the car to reload!

Bad: The Parks management must not treat their emploees very well or they enjoy hiring people that really do not care about the safety of it's customers. The Refs would rather sit around and have personal conversations then get the games going. A goup plays one game and then has to leave the field. The Refs make an announcement saying the next game starts in 5 minutes. 20 minutes later the group is finally walking out to the field. It will cost you about $100 to play if you pay full admission ($25), all day air ($10), and paint ($55). I think it's fair to request they get off their butts and help us enjoy ourselves.

The staff at the air fill station and rental counter are worthless. They do not care about you the customer and use the worst language possible. I could not believe what they were saying, especially with all the 10 year olds waiting to get their rental equipment standing right in front of them.

Everyone comments on the field paint only rule. I know that paint is expensive, but the quality of the paint they sell there at extremely high price is ridiculous. The junk sold at Wall-Mart is in better shape and is a lot cheaper!

Overall I would give this park at 3 out of 10. The park is very well done, but all of the people that run the place make it the worst place to enjoy a day of paintball. I hope that someday I can review my rating and make some positive changes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Joel GZ Wednesday, February 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Tombstone, Camp Pendelton, & Hollywood Sports
Review: I finally got to play at this field last month to see for myself all the good & bad things I've been hearing about this place. (plus I really wanted to play that day but didn't want to have to drive that far.) Ok the pros: it's like 10 mins. from my house ( from da L.B.C.!), I use Blaze paint anyway, they've got Speedball, they've got specials on admission-days, and their Rec. ball fields were not that bad. And for the cons: I know you've heard it before- their paint prices are ridiculous, got only 4 rec. ball fields (only 3 were being utilized that day), that video sucks-ass, their chrono policy sucks ( there was mad people shooting hot! Still got the welts to prove it!!), thieir lighting sucks-ass (I played @ night), the refs weren't really into it (as far as helping you out, paintchecks, other ref duties that they're suppose to do), and it took a long -ass time for the next game to start. Overall, I'd only play there again to just play Speedball, that's it! My score: 5 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProSccrPlayer Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Adrenaline Games
Proving Grounds
Friendly Fire
Review: Ive been to HS a few times since i started paintballing. In fact HS is where i first went paintballing. I used there rec fields and had a rental :) Well ive been back about 8-10 times now and play speedball with my own marker. While i was the bear and his friends were playing also. What pissed me off was that they were shooting hot and the refs didnt do anything about it. They were also shooting other paint than the house paint. Just because hes the owners son doesnt mean they can completely ignore the rules... Also I hate how you have to buy the house paint, it is way to overpriced for the cheap stuff we get there. Ive got bounces of my mask for crying out loud! If they make you use house paint they should atleast sell it for cheaper or start selling better paint. Overall my experince there was ok, but i would much rather go somewhere else to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media