paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field

Fox 4 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
143Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 159 Milford Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
bobcat5050 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hoops, R.I paint, Boston paintball
Review: 1) Staff is the most professional there is kind and eager to help

2) Safety says it all there #1 concern

3) Fields 2 big speedball 1huge outdoor broken into many little fields depending on the amount of players

4) No matter the weather always players

5) All players (i have met) very friendly and don't down talk your Equipment

6) Cheap to get in have all sorts of passes and special games

7) Reasonable food cost and they have alot on the menu

8) BYOP it says it all bring your own paint and they don't charge extra to get in

there is nothing i don't like about this place absolutely top notch I cant see anyone coming even close. there is so much more to say but I will leave you with this if you go here you will be disappointed with every where else check out there forums
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamDynasty41 Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ff\riedly fire
playboyz field
Directions
to the Field:
140 in upton

i think...at least thats what my mum said
Review: First offits BYOP so that is a big plus! I speedball and there refs are awsome i have never had a problem with them also all the other staff is really nice.If u have ever thought of playing hear DO NOT HESITATE(think i spelled that wrong)

10/10 !!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

djj1973 Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, I live in NVA where I have played at Pev's and Powerline Paintball and OA in Bowie, MD
Review: I give this field a five for a few reasons. I would first like to accent some positive things the field has done correctly. 1. They have a good size pro-shop and an air smith that seems pretty knowledgeable. They have a decent selection of products and the prices are reasonable. 2. They have self-serve all day air. 3. They are very safety conscience. 4 They have nice air-ball fields (good layout and well staffed).

Now for the things that they can do better: 1. They need more staff. Running one rec group is not enough. They need to run at least two groups. There was a lot of hurry up and wait at this field. As an example, we had to wait one hour to play our first game and when you have only five hours to play in a day, waiting that long becomes unnerving. 2. The staff that does work there should have a better understanding of the rules of the game and what the boundaries are. 3. The woodball fields must be better maintained. The brush is so thick; you have a hard time getting your shots through to hit your opponent. 4 Since when do gun hits not count? Who thought of this? They should be shot (and not in the gun).

On the surface, Fox 4 seems to be the place to go for a day of paintball, but they need some serious improvement before I would go there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chris_Dad Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire Paintball, Maynard Paintball. As far as facilities go, I would rate Fox4, Maynard, and Friendly Fire equal in terms of speed ball fields. However, Maynard only has a limited rec ball field. I would rate Friendly Fire's staff superior to both Maynard and Fox4 in terms of being helpful and accomodating.
Review: I sponsored my son's team in a 5 man tournament on 4/30/06. Although parking was a problem, FOX4 was very organized in terms of handing out schedules, filling air tanks, chronographing guns, captains meetings, etc. That is where the organization ended. There was a big difference between how the refs ran the games and interpreted the rules on Filed 1 and Field 2; some of the rules aren't even PSP rules. As i was allowed to video some of the games, I heard a couple of refs remark, "I can't wait for this to be over, I am hot and want to get out of here." Its disconcerting when as a sponsor I spent over $600 on hotel, food, transportation, and paint to have some bonehead ref make questionable calls and totally demoralize young kids faith in fairness and integrity. Youth paintballers are the future of the sport. I saw some rookie teams carved up 24 year olds in the first 30 seconds. You should have a "young guns" division for these type of tournaments. The bottom line was there was plenty of sandbagging going on. No wonder the registration was 2 to 1on rookie teams vs novice teams. I think the main problem was FOX4 used outside refs at this tournament. If tournaments had video replay, I would have to say more than 50% of the calls when have been reversed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

delta 1 Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire , West End , The Hab , Maynard Paintball Park , Canobie , @ NH , OSG Paintball @ NH , EMR@ PA , and Splatter Park @ Ohio .
Directions
to the Field:
Route 140 in upton
Review: This places is run top notch . Its so well organized . The fields are fantastic , plenty of structuers and bunkers through out each field . I cant say a whole lot about the speedball there , because I dont play it . When they have a senerio games there . you have to go . its a blast . Prices are below the average . Paint is about 55 for marbelizer , so thats a plus . Pro shop is super . The gunsmith at the pro shop is very smart and is very fast at fixing any problem on any type of gun . The refs are right on the ball and are very nice to everyone . Cheaters, you are better off staying at home . I watched these refs during a game and they dont miss a thing . The places is very family oriented . Many parents are there watching or even playing with their kids . Its a mix bag of players there . Young kids to old 40 somethings like myself . Overall , its well worth the trip out there to Fox 4 . BYOP is O.K.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

holman21 Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, Planet, Playboyz, Mill City, Granite State, CCPB, Birch Hill and a few others I think.
Review: This field is just amazing... what can I say.

The refs catch everything... dont try to cheat here.
Dave and Kurt (main owners of the field) are usually there and are really friendly along with all of the ref staff and regular players there.
The 7 man rotation they have is really good if you want to step up your game.
Entry is $25 on normal days and $10 on discount days (atleast once per month)
Paint ranges from $40 for stingers to $58 for Marbs/Evil I think.

The Proshop -

The techs are amazing... they usually fix your gun on site very quickly, and theyre knowledgeable with just about every marker out there.
The guns and gear are very well priced.
I give it a 10, I go there about every week and I have yet to have buyers remorse of playing there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pblover69 Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 16th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, right downn the Street, it's $10 cheaper
Review: Ok, so the first field i ever went to was fox 4 back around 3 years from now. It's an awesome place, pretty good rental packages (98 Custom, 500 rounds, pod pack, 2 pods, mask), and all right self-equipped price. The refs all know what they are doing, just ask them, they're all really nice and hey, this field has it's own TV show! it's on at like 2:30 pm on weekends on NESN. The fields are awesome, the only problem is that the games can be either really quick, or really long. There are good objectives (capture the flag, Rip down the flag) and the courses are superb. The store is awesome too, the guys in there are what we call oldschool, so they know what they are doing. Plus, they'll fix your gun for free(if it's a minor problem) and the prices are superb.
I can't wait to go to the once yearly Scenario game, i'm waiting to replace my Brass Eagle first......All in all, fox 4 is defiantly worth the extra $10.
Oh, i also know the owner's Nephew, and i've been when he was there, he's a really nice guy, go to him if you have any problems


PS: The person behind me is either a kid trying to pose an adult, or a really immature jerk who doesn't even know what he's talking about
Last edited on Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 at 6:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

socom3player Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Freindly Fire and The Hab(Playboyz)
Review: ok so much like Pastor Jim i want a Bang for my Buck! so i lied a little, I actually have never played here but there was no option for that. my son however has played here about 5 or 6 times in 3 years.here's my deal with these guys. No Professionalism at all except once only cause the owner was there and he was the only nice person there. the refs..all A-Holes. rude to me and my son and not willing to help out anyone but thier buddies. i have gone here with my son everytime and still refuse to pay to play there because of the way my son is treated everytime he goes there, the refs they hire must think if a parent shows up but isnt playing that he/she doesnt play or post a review on here. the head ref, some pimple faced, fat high school kid has got a set on him to talk to the kids the way he does. I suggest go down the street less than 2 miles to friendly fire or go to the hab a couple towns over, only an extra 10 minutes drive and play there! oh yeah and no cover when its raining the tents are for private groups only.

Since last posting this review the field manager has made it a point to reach out to me and talk to me about the issues i had with his field. i appreciate that and respect that alot. i will say this after the professionalism that was shown to me by the field manager Geeze, i will be going to fox-4 to give thier field a fair try and see how things are there as a player and not just as a parent. I thank Geeze for his time, concern and professionalism so i figure i'd show the same respect in return. i gave them a 5 rating(average) only cause talk is one thing but actions speak louder plus i still have not played at the field yet so after that fact i will edit my rating again.
Last edited on Sunday, January 15th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

barnz Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire paintball. more expensive, less organized, not as fun
Review: Fox 4 paintball is great. Its very cheap to play there, plus it's bring your own paint.
The refs there are great, very fair, and care about the games. The techs are helpful when your gun isn't working. Great food too!

I mainly play woodsball, and they have a great woodsball field. Plenty of bunkers, forts, and even a small town. They also have great scenario games, i've been told.
T
hey even have a store. With very good prices i might add.
They also have special days where (for example) if you wear red its only $10 admission.

All in all, this is a great field. If you live near here and haven't come here yet, you should come.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PastorJim Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woodsball, EMR (PA)
Review: First off let me state that I am 33 and have high standards becuase I get to play so little and want bang for my buck. I read mags and stay on top of goings on in the industry via internet etc... My friends and I decided to take the next step this summer and do a few scenarios this summer after two summers of rec ball.

Our first was Castle Conquest at EMR and we had a blast-nothing compares to 700+ markers all firing at the same time in a 100 yard radius. Wow! Our second was Fox4 Fall scenario. Well, it topped my allready high expectations. We enjoyed ourselves so much we plan to go 3-4 times next summer.

What did I like. 1) More than ample and knowledgable refs who were always alert and made good calls. If you were doing something unsafe they were polite when they asked you to correct it. 2) They had it together-no long lines good techs-great communication and organazation. 3) Instead of soaking you for balls they were great for field paint (58 for case of marbs) you pay a little more in reg, but air and techs are included and you could byop. 4) Just good people-playing and running the event.

What could be better 1) Parking for this event had us wedged like sardined but was only about 50 yards to the staging area. 2) A bigger pavilion-we had a canopy as did others, but many didn't and we got some wet snow near the end. 3) Well this could be because I am comparing it to EMR but I would say a few larger structures. There were ample 2,3, and 4 sided bunkers-but a larger building would be great.

Overall I am going to give it a nine for proffesionalism, safety and fun. Do not be afraid to bring younger guys either-we did and they had a blast.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media