paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / General Quarters Paintball Field / General Quarters Paintball Field / General Quarters Paintball Field / General Quarters Paintball Field

General Quarters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
11Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 360-257-2074
Address: NAS Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Washington 98278
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Kabefelriy Sunday, August 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 31st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR Oak harbor is mainly for speedballers, thier woodsball field is kind of small with a lots of covers.
Directions
to the Field:
Right outside the bowling alley on NAS Whidbey Island
Review: Good size speed ball field and the woodsball is outstanding, they dont have a pro shop yet but they are planing on opening one. the refs and staff are mostly active duty sailor who take time out of thier weekend to ref and help out on the field. Lots of knowledge people who can help out with marker problem. Prices are great too, 40 dollars for a case of DXS and if you bring your own gear its only 10 dollars for field and air. Outside paint is allowed too.Field is only open on Saturday from 10-6 during the summer. Kids friendly on both speedball and woods ball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

west coast kid Wednesday, June 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area, but many on the east coast such as hogback mountain pb in Leesburg, Va or OA Paintball in Bowie, MD
Directions
to the Field:
Drive to the bowling alley on base, park, get out of the car, right there. Not a real facility, however on weekends you can't miss it.
Review: Good field. It was set up by a bunch of sailors who do all the work on the field and sacrafice time to ref and keep it in good shape. There is no proshop. It doesn't have a a big, seperate piece of land, but there is some space used for a speedball field and a pretty good woodsball field-actually best i've ever been on. It's not big, but set up perfectly. They play fun games there and since it's not a huge field there's a nice small, family feeling to it. Once you play a few times, you are part of the family. The best games are president, where you have a few terrorists hiding in the woodsball field and you have to escort the president throught the field and back out the way you came in, and attack/defend the fort. The field is perfect for these types of games because it is not too big or small. The fort in the middle is awesome. Lots of cover and is camouflaged well. It's more of an earthworks then a fort. I've only seen the fort taken once-it's almost impossible, however it's always very close- great play. A con is safety(so many regulations like no full auto or no shooting at someone after you hit them) but i guess it is better than having lax rules. If you get hungry, you can go eat in the pizza place at the bowling alley (but you aren't allowed in the alley because the staff hates us lowlife paintballers:)) Really the only major con is that it's on base and civilians can't get on unless they carpool with someone in the military. But, this isn't a real problem since Oak Harbor is a military town and everyone knows someone in the military. Staff is very knowledgable and mostly very friendly. All are quite experienced.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 10th, 2009 at 7:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rowesc Monday, October 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SVP - Great Place to play
CDR - Not as good
Directions
to the Field:
The field is on Whideby Island Naval Air Station, so you have to be Navy or know someone to take you on base.
Review: Our church youth group reserved the field for 3 hours Sunday afternoon. It took a while to get checked in and equiped, but it always does no matter where you play. The field was really fun to play on, lots of brush and barriers. The refs did a really good job handling the mix of newbies and experienced players. Overall, everyone in the group had a great time and wants to go back. A couple of newbies are going to start looking for paintball equipment because of this outing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

esplodingseal Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR
DBS
Semper Fi
Review: When this field first opened it was one of the better fields I had played at, Now about a year later, it has detirierated in to a quite sub par field with the exception of some days being significintly better then others. The man responsible for starting this field will no longer even come out on a reguler day of play because people complain about things. Woodsball is conducted in a very half assed fashion with a group "Scenario" players making up the majority of the usual crowed. The constant whine of players being overshot seeps out of the woods. The staff with few exceptions are single minded, some of them very new to paintball. In the speedball field things are controled to a minimal point aswell. Recently, players new to the field have started ramping, and at a field with a semi only policy ramping 20BPS with 3-4 guns on the same team is hard to miss. The staff is convinced that they just have fast fingers. I think not.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JuniorShocker Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR-was fun but the staff at this field was lousy compared to gq so i stopped going to cdr
SVP-very fun, very clean, and very competitive and is an indoor field with good lighting but it gets a little hot later in the day but at least your out of the nw rain. Not a field for beginners though
Doodle Bug-fun indoor facility but the lighting was pretty poor and was very dirty in the upper area for watching the game. Good for all around players because this field was very beginner friendly as well as having competition for the more advanced players
Review: Pros
-friendly staff
-beginner player friendly
-decent price
-decent speedball field- field layout doesn't change much if any...
-decent staging area
Cons
-if under 18 you have to have a parent with you at all times
-not very competitive-this field is ok for beginner speedball players but for the more advanced players it's not that great. This field was ok when i was with my team, bk (what happend to u guys?), so we could set up games between our own team but on the days i would go without my team i would have to bring a parent and the competition would be absolutely horrible because there were mostly woodsball players playing with the occassional speedballer thrown in
-people who run the air/paint shop don't know much about paintball but i suspect are employees of the bowling alley instead
-parking-sometimes if you show up later in the day it can be very hard to find parking because of the bowling alley customers share the same parking lot with the paintballers
Because of the inexperienced people,poor parking, 18 year old rule, no competition, and just that there are much better fields out there close to whidbey island i would have to give this field a 5(average)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Megabret Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, woodsball with my kids.
Directions
to the Field:
On NAS Whidbey Island, Ault Field, behind bowling alley. Must have Military ID or be escorted by someone with Military ID.
Review: Refs: All volunteer crews are fair and conservative. All rules are driven by fair play and safety.

Facilities: No pro's or shop. Rentals, paint, gas and air are available and the nearby bowling alley has pizza and burgers. You can bring your own paint unless it has red fill (have to be able to spot blood in event of an injury).

Speedball: Net around inflatable bunkers. Bleachers for mom. Quick games for newbies thru beginners. Bunkers are moved every couple weeks to vary play. Sometimes will have runs with small talented team against large team of newbies, lots of fun.

Woodsball: Large field with varied terain, all wooded. Some is open woods and some with lots of brush. Bunkers are improvised and being gradually improved. There are several scenarios played and players of all different skill levels.

Given my limited paintball experience, great place to play and you won't find a better price if you have access to the base.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silverino Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR
Directions
to the Field:
On NAS Whidbey behind Bowling alley, by auto hobbie shop
Review: I have only been playing since December and in this short time i have been playing i must say that you Definitely cant beat the prices to play down at GQ. Extremely friendly and helpful staff / staff is made up of volunteers. Great woods ball and Speed ball courses (beginner friendly). Just held a all day scenario game for the first time today and it was great i must say, still a few little things to work out, Has no proshop but you are able to rent 98customs, compressed air tanks, masks, pods, harnesses, also able to buy paint fairly cheap.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

62Tempest Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outlaw Ball
Directions
to the Field:
It's located by the bowling alley on NAS Whidbey (Ault Field).
Review: NOTE: This was the first time I have played at any 'real' field (not a friend's backyard) in several years, and therefore, my views and opinions may be somewhat biased due to the sudden change in atmosphere. Additionally, on the day that I played, the Airball field was down due to the recent storms. With that in mind, on to the review.

Pros:
- Friendly Refs and staff
- Good rental gear (98C+Crossfire HPA)
- Cheap prices ($5 field fee, $5 all day air, $15 rental package, $40 or $50 for a full case of X-Ball Bronze or Gold)
- Not a 'field paint only' field
- Plenty of targets
- Positive atmosphere, very newbie friendly
- Fast game turn-over rate (play more, pay less)
- Both fields change constantly
- Emphasizes fair, safe play
- Food is avaliable from the bowling alley

Cons:
- No Proshop
- Limited knowledge of various guns (the field is staffed by volunteers, so I can't be too hard on them)
- On wet days, the staging area holds a lot of water and gets very muddy

Conclusion:
It is the only field that is truly local, and thankfully it is a good one that I plan on returning to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smitty62592 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR, paintamania
Directions
to the Field:
its on NAS Whidbey base
Review: I have played at this field a number of times and participated in one of their tournamnets. Every time i played their i found the refs to be very professional and also quite knowledgeble. There is a medium sized speedball field and they change the set up every know and then so its never the same field which keeps it interesting. There is also a nice sized woodsball field and from what i hear is also very fun ( i only speedball ) The tournament was nice but there was a very small number of teams which could be a good thing. THey also gave out a ton of prizes not just for the 1 2 and 3 teams but they also had raffles.

All in all, i would say this field beats cdr any day!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MQTNavyAE Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR Park, DoodleBugz sports.
Directions
to the Field:
Located on the Ault Field base on NAS Whidbey Island in Oak Harbor
Review: First time I attended this field it was for their beginners tourney. The tourny was well organized from the actual playing point of view. The administrative/behind the scenes stuff needed some work, such as not carrying enough paint, not having trophies on hand for the presentation, and the big one saying that the entry fee was a typo and raised it an additional $10. Doing that actually cause a team to withdraw because they couldn't afford enough paint.

The officiating was very professional and very few calls were disputed.

Overall the tourney was very enjoyable.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media