paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jungle Island Paintball Field / Jungle Island Paintball Field / Jungle Island Paintball Field / Jungle Island Paintball Field

Jungle Island Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
118Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 951-775-9316
Address: 14881 Temescal Canyon Road
Lake Elsinore, California 92530
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Adam22418 Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I just played in the big game on the 7th. Pickle and one of the other refs (Matt or Mack I think, bald guy, looks and sounds like the Rock) were the only ones that I personally had contact with and were both excellent. If they called you out for a hit, they were very nice about it, no bad attitudes. Although some of the other refs I've dealt with during regular walk-on games were not so easy to deal with. Most seem to be younger guys that don't seem to do much. I have seen alot people talking about people shooting over posted chrono limits, which in my opinion is happening, but I don't think that you can judge that accurately just from a hit. A couple of my friends were re-chrono'd on the field during the big game, so they were checking as best as they could. They definitely need a second window for registration during the big games as the line was quite long. Overall I have always had good times there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer4412 Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tombstone{R.I.P]
Review: I did not like it.It had drity bathrooms.Refs did not care.Long lines.I missed 3 games standing in line.They only had one ticket both.They had to stop 5 games there becuse some 7 years got injured.Why did they have kids under 10 there?? They need to clean up there act!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

WhoPhlungPoo Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The Good: The Playing Fields at Jungle Island are AWESOME!!!, they have small fields, large fields some that are flat, some with hills, bushes, dead vehicles, buildings, etc. They have put a lot of effort into creating interesting and exciting playing fields.

The Bad:
Safety – Jungle Island has to be the least safe paintball field I have ever played on. It was painfully obvious, and I literally mean PAINFULL; a good 70% of the players on the field had re-adjusted their markers muzzle velocity after being chronographed. The referees appeared to be oblivious or just not care, as no one was pulled aside and hand chronoed. At any other field, these players would have been escorted off the premises.

In addition to being continuously blasted with paint traveling in excess of 350feet/second at the end of each game you have to wait just outside the boundaries of the playing field. Due to the close proximity of the playing fields you are continuously being bombarded from all directions while waiting for the next game. At one point I witnessed a bystander attacked by 4 other players from an adjacent field.

Lines – There is only one window that everyone who attends this field must pass through to purchase your game play wrist band, air refills and equipment. If you go to this field, be prepared to stand in a never ending painfully slow moving line. You will most probably miss the first few games as a result of these lines. In addition to waiting close to an hour to pay your way on to the field, expect another equally long line to get your gun chronographed.

Confusion – Signs are far and few between at this field, if you are a first time attendee at this field, you will most likely become lost and frustrated attempting to find the field where your group is playing. The paging system is also inadequate, forcing some of the referees to roam the countryside with bull horns making announcements.

Conclusion:
The fields at Jungle Island are excellent; however under no circumstances should you go to this field as a “walk on” player. It’s a never ending arms escalation, in response to the players on the opposing side turning up their muzzle velocity; you will in turn have to do the same in order to survive. This continues through out the day until everyone there is shooting at maximum velocity. The referees will do NOTHING to stop this type of behavior.

If you have enough players to hold your own private game then Jungle Island would be an excellent field. Just remember to show up early to avoid the long lines and be prepared to be SHOT over and over again while waiting for the next game.

All in all, Jungle Island has the potential to be a remarkable and enjoyable place to play if some modifications are made. As it currently stands I’m confident that Jungle Islands lawyers have already or at some point will have the opportunity to put their indemnification waver to the test as the potential for serious injuries due to over velocity markers runs rampant.


Recommendations for the proprietors of Jungle Island:
1) Strictly enforce the 285fps limit for walk on games and start escorting players from the premises for excessive violations. >300fps = go stand in the long crono line. >350fps = go home!!!
2) Add 1 or 2 more cash register windows to move your customers through the lines faster.
3) Install some signs to help new players find there way easer.
4) Install a better paging system throughout the playing fields and parking lots and continuously announce what games are taking place where.


GOOD LUCK AND STAY SAFE!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

40Cent Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The good...

Jungle Island is affordable. $20 all day pass; $10 all day comp. air; $5 CO2 fills, $15 marker/mask rental (Tippman Custom Pro; or ??? electronic marker), and most importantly it's BRING YOUR OWN PAINT.

Jungle Island has some of the best fields in So. Cal. Realistic bunkers (vehicles, helicopters, sandbags, etc.) help make the rec ball fields a blast. There is quite a variety of fields from urban to speedball to woodsball. For those that like to play airball they have walk-on games for you.

Jungle Island is easy to get to. It's right off the I-15 freeway between Lake Elsinore and Corona. If you can't find this place then you're blind.

Jungle Island offers night games on Friday and Saturday. Starting at 6pm going until 11pm you can play under floodlights that light up the fields enough to play. It's still dark and the game changes significantly at night on fields like The City (urban style combat). Your cornhole will definitely shrink up waiting for the enemy to come out of the shadows at close range during night games.


The mediocre...

The refs at Jungle Island are a mixed bunch. Some are fantastic. The lead ref (forgot his name; skinny guy with mustache) is awesome. He is fair and consistent in his paint checks and safety enforcement. I have seen him sit people out for two games when they take their mask off on the playing field.

Unfortunately, not all the refs are like him. Not to say that they're not nice. Most all the refs are friendly, but many of them have different sets of rules (i.e. one ref will call you out for getting hit on your marker and others will tell you marker hits don't count). Plus, most of them are young kids doing it for free access to the field. They can be unorganized at times when trying to get people into teams (it can get very lopsided with either a bad separation of numbers like 40 on 25 or one team will have all the little kids and the other has all the good players). This problem has more to do with the crowd situation at Jungle Island but the refs sometimes make it worse. I was a walk on a couple weeks ago and got put on a team of about 40 people and 25 of them were 11 or 12 years old. It just wasn't fair. The other team overwhelmed us every game. It's not fun getting pinned down for 15 minutes because your entire team is afraid to move up out of fear of getting hit with paintballs.


The bad...

Jungle Island can get crowded. This is what happens when you have good fields and you are located in a good spot. They try to do the best they can with the amount of players they get. If it is a nice day, get there early or you may have to park far away. There were almost 200 walk ons last time I was there. In the morning it was beginners and advanced. After lunch they smartened up and made a third group, an intermediate group. Dropping the amount of players on each field from 100 to 60-70 made a big difference. I usually like games with lots of players. It's more chaotic and there are more people to shoot at. However, when fields aren't big enough to handle the amount of people playing, it can get silly. There's nothing like sharing a bunker that is 3' by 3' with six other guys!

If you can organize a private group (20 or more players) you can pick the fields you want to play and they give you a ref. You can also get in more games. I highly suggest this if you can make it happen because then you don't have to worry about the crowds.

Another downer is how long it takes to get games going sometimes. They are usually good at getting games going but sometimes trying to organize all the walk-ons is a nightmare. By being a walk-on you lose at least 2 or 3 games in comparison to privates.

Also, they have chrono checks first thing in the a.m. and then they re-check after lunch. The only problem is that you can watch guys chrono, then go to their car or to a bench and up their speeds after they get their approved check. Obviously, most everyone obeys the rules but you always get a couple clowns that want to shoot hot. Unfortunately, if they shoot you it can hurt at 300fps+.


Overall, I like Jungle Island. I think it is run pretty well and they make a decent effort to please the customer considering how crowded they can get. There are obviously things I'd do a little different but hey, it's not my business so what can I do? I will continue to go there and recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable place to play with a variety of fields. If those two things are what you are looking for then this is your place.
Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 9:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

animal control Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC VILLAGE: bigger,a little more organized
Review: safety:quick saftey talk at beginning of day, chronoed everyone but only verification of chrono was to put a inked X on my wristband...i had 3 markers with me that day and the refs only chronoed the one i used first(yes i chronoed my other mrkers myself...)
fields:nice set ups, fox holes, bunkers, brushball(as opposed to woods ball), urban, vehicles. decent fields
hours of operation:8-4?
prices:20 bucks for all day, 10 bucks for compressed air all day
rules:general safety rules, inforced fairly well
services: air, tech(i think, didnt have to use them)
proshop: didnt see one
staff:helpful, kept games running, answered questions
refs:helpful, kept games running, answered questions
players:from 9 years olds to 30 ish, nobody was out right obnoxious
facilities:some form of portapotty,not terrible.
food:pizza delivery at lunch time
etc:not to bad, will play here again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

SoCalP8ntBall Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc tombstone
Review: Wow...I'm really shocked to read a review like that. I played there today and it was the first day the Airball park was opened for regular players. The last few times I've been there the Airball was only set up for teams because they(jungle) werent done with the construction of the airball park . I was told as a courtesy they let the teams set up their own airball fields, and weren't even charged to play there until the new fields were built. Anyway I played today and it was great. We got in a bunch of games the turn around was fast and the refs were on top of the games. No one shot my car and the toilet was pretty clean. I cant wait till the night games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer4U Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tombstone SC village
Review: Since tombstone closed I had to go here.
some fields are terrible, they have one field by the trees, where they're doing construction that is just a narrow passage way. It's just part of a larger field they had earlier. everybody agreed that it was a waste of time.
the airball fields they advertised is not available for use, no bunkers inflated when we went. I heard when they were up, it was only for private pros to practice on.
refs are newbees, young kids, they don't even know what the fields are.
the bathrooms are terrible, dirty.
long waits between games, refs spend too much time trying to get themselves organized and recounting the players on different sides. seems like you spend more time waiting than playing.
I couldn't park with my friends, they sent us to different parking lots. I saw some cars being shot in one lot.
seems like alot of disorganization, we spent alot of time standing and waiting around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Lil_Snipah Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village (cool place, but Jungle Island is better for private groups)
Review: Been reading a lot of the reviews on JI and here is the deal, I've been going to Jungle Island for about 5 years and have gotten a great look at how this place functions. Jungle Island is a great place to go if you are in a private party. Even if you are a couple of peops short of the minimum requirement for a private group, just pay the extra dough, it will be well worth it.
You play with your friends and you won't have to worry about others shooting too hot (JI is extremely lax about chronos, my friends and I usually shoot just under 300 fps just cuz they don't check and none of us mind the welts, but in a walk on, especially with noobs, this is a problem).
The maps are great assuming the conditions are permitting. Due to JI's location, several of the locations get flooded out after storms. Lots of great terrain and obstacles that keep things interesting, and because the refs are so lax, several times we get extended time on a field, get to combine multiple fields that are next to each other, and even once I played Congo 1v1 against a buddy, you'll never get that experience if you go walk on.
Service isn't great, but no terrible either. Get there early to register and avoid renting! Their rentals suck! Toilets aren't great, so drop a deuce before you show up or wait til you get home. Biggest gripe about JI is the HPA fills. They raised the price and cannot even squeeze enough air into a 4500 tank.
In conclusion, Jungle Islands biggest weakness is its biggest strength. Things are extremely lax, so if you are a safety freak, you may want to stay away, but if you get your homies together and form a private group, you will have a blast because 1: the refs will play less of a role and 2: the lack of rule enforcement opens the game and grants freedom that other parks cannot offer.

Moral of the story: PRIVATE GROUP IS THE ONLY WAY TO GO!
9/10 if you are in a private group
6/10 if you are walk-on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadManMarkDaddy Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
S C Village
Review: This was my first visit to J.I. and I can say that I enjoyed it. I did go on a week-day between Christmas and New Years, which made it less crowded (less than 100 players). The refs did a good job keeping our games and teams fair and did an outstanding jobs keeping the games clean. The fields were good and varied and lots of cover for the team. They are still working on a few of the fields next to the parking lot, which look to be fun when they open. Like the idea of having pizza delivered to the place for $10 I do play with CO2 and thought that $5 for any size refill was nice. An overall good experience for me, my boys and their friends. Will be going back there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

froggycruger Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
wild west
Review: This field was my first i played at but, it is not what it seems. From experince the refs don't do thier jobs they just stand around and don't do much but, i will give some refs a little credit for doing a better job. I haven't played at many fields but in my prespective there are better fields then this one.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media