paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Camp X Paintball Field / Camp X Paintball Field / Camp X Paintball Field / Camp X Paintball Field

Camp X Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 905-439-2679
Address: Maple Grove Road
Bowmanville, Ontario L1M 1N6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
em1sniper Monday, July 4th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Defcon Indoor & Outdoor, Cameron Indoor & Outdoor, Soldier Gear field (Barrie ON)
Directions
to the Field:
We are located in north Bowmanville.
From Hwy 401, Take Holt Rd. north to Taunton Rd.
Take Taunton Road east to Maple Grove Road.
Turn south on Maple Grove Road.
Once the paved road ends and the gravel road begins, we are
the first driveway on the west side aprox. 1km south of Taunton Rd.
Look for the Camp X Paintball sign on the side of the road.
Review: Camp X paintball is facility is better than some of the fields that I have gone too. It was a warm day with great sunshine and a nice breeze. I thought it was going to be crowded but it wasn't. First, I would have to say that they kept the games going on. The refs would call out to everyone and say there is a game in 2 mins which was very impressive. Some fields I have attended they took forever to set up a game. This particular field, the turn around time for a game took probably around 10-12 mins depending on what they were doing. There were enough benches & cover to put your paintball gear. There was food, unlimited air, and paintball prices were not that bad. I went when there was BYOP. The refs would mix up the games by either capture the flag, attack/defend, or basic elimination. There was no true pro shop in the area. They had people taking care of their rentals which was great! Some fields I have gone too, the rentals wouldn't shoot anything. It would be one shot, and nothing. A lot of players had their own guns and were shooting anything from EGOs - DMs, or Milsim Tippmans. The only thing I did not like were the fields. I guess you could consider these fields bush ball. A lot of brush, trees, bushes, and berms (a level space, shelf, or raised barrier separating two areas). I was running from one bunker to the next and they did have a few ditches that were covered by a lot of brush. I was running and when I took the next step I fell into a ditch which was full of mud. I went into it about ankle deep. Luckily now sprain ankles or serious injuries for the day. They did have one sniper tower, small buildings (bunkers), and a helicopter made out of particle board. While standing in one of the buildings, someone kept shooting their marker and the paint balls were breaking through the particle board/fence. I was surprise because I thought the refs chronograph all the guns. I guess I was wrong. I am big into safety but no one was checking how fast the guns were shooting. The attendant said the speed of the guns were 280fps. A player said they have a lot of cheaters at this field. I didn't believe it until someone I shot was hit 2 or 3 times didn't come out. I saw the paint break and the ref didn't say anything. After the game was over I could see the paint break on his left arm. The place was not hard to find. I almost passed it because when you arrive there is a small sign sitting on the ground and you better drive slow otherwise you'll miss if you have never been in the area.

I would say if your looking for decent play this is a great choice. The rental markers were working, and the "pro shop" would help out with whatever guns you borrowed. There was food, water, and adequate wash room facilities. There were unlimited air stations that were filling 3000 psi. Fields were okay. They weren't great but okay. If your looking for a field to play just woods ball this would be the place. Make sure to bring liquids, snacks, and extra clothes to change after. I THINK they had a place to change and take a short shower. No speed ball/inflatables. There were a mix of milsim players and speedball players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

emily089 Monday, December 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Check there website www.campxpaintballfields.com for directions
Review: Well first off being a mother of 3 boys its hard to find things for them to do other then just sit around and play video games, so it came to my mind how about paintball! so I went on the web looking for a place that is open and that could accommodate us and came across Camp X Paintball there web site was advertising they always welcome walk-ons so I still called ahead to make sure and the owner of was more then happy for us to come on up and have a day of fun so I packed them in the van and off we headed for the day, once we got there I was greeted by a younger gentlemen who was very helpful and explained a little further on how everything works up there I then looked at the price bored and was so glad after seeing the pricing ONLY $20.00 BUCKS for everything they needed plus 100 paintballs... paintball is cheap after all , now I am no paintball enthusiast but one of my girlfriends was saying her son was right into it and it was costing her a ton! I guess she never heard of camp x anyways the boys where given everything they needed and the same gentleman went over a full safety instruction witch really made me feel that much more comfortable with them playing he also explained that they will be giving wristbands and they use these bands for safety infractions. basically like baseball with a 3 strikes and your out policy now after all this they went into a big heated building where they clamed a picnic table and waited for the first game shortly after words the game was called and off they went! and then about 15 mins later they came back full of paint and so eager for the next game and this went on for about 3 hours where finally there were tired and we headed back home! defiantly will be coming back! great customer service and awesome prices Thank-You Camp X Paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Linkmadman Saturday, August 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
It's been a while, but I've played at Sgt. Splatters, Wilderness Games, Area 51, Newcastle Outback and a few others. The staff here is the biggest difference here.
Review: Most important thing bring CASH! There is no debit available, no cash machine nearby. Tons of parking, free compressed air fills, paint prices are average, lots of covered tables for staging, there is a snackbar.

The woods field is big with log bunkers. There is a small section of a marsh which is easily avoidable. The second field is bunker field of a fair size with tons of palettes and other bunkers to hide behind. It also has a two story tower. There is a speedball field in the works!

The staff is very knowledgable and experienced. Everyone is friendly, nice and helpful. During the big game I played the ref was helpful, but didn't hint to the spies that where in our base....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BT4 ERC Wednesday, July 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Maple Grove off of Courtice road
Review: This is a good field overall.

It has a nice owner... and SOME nice employees
One good thing is that it has two fields, a scenario (upper field) and a bushball (lower field)

It is very strict and it can get a little muddy and buggy.

It is pretty expensive though....

I prefer the upper field because there is amazing bunkers and a good size.

The lower field, or forest, has too much mud and mosquitos but the camo is amazing because the trees are all full and there are really cool bunkers.


P.S. CHRIS IS THE NICEST!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ClawInFace Wednesday, May 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Next
Defcon
CQB
Paintball City
Directions
to the Field:
Maple Grove off Courtice Road on the highway... Mapquest it.
Review: Well when I first went there, I didn't know what to expect; It was my first time going paintballing and I wasn't fond of going to a woodsball place for my first time. I'm a speedballer, i wear a blue Angel jersey and whatever pants i have at home, shoot an ion and really don't fit in at all, but that didn't matter when I got to the field.

The people there are really kind. There was about 4 - 6 Staff members there at any given time. The two older guys, a younger kid, and a ref.

So let me break down my experience into little sections so you can see what you want too.

PAINT/PRICING:

I had my own gear so for me to get in was only $10, my father on the other hand was renting and had to pay ABOUT $30 for a Tippmann 98 with a shake-n-shoot loader, CO2 tank, etc. Pretty reasonable. The paint costs $20 for 500 rounds. Seeing how this is woodsball, that's a good price because you WILL NOT be shooting as much paint as in Speedball.

Ultimately pricing isn't something you have to worry about. Make sure to bring a spare $10 if you're under 16, 'cause you NEED to wear a neck-guard.

Also, the paint they use is pretty damn good quality.

FIELDS:

There are 2 fields to my knowledge. A scenario field with hill and sandbag bunkers, wood bunkers and a tower. Then there's the bushball field with loads of skinny trees, fallen trees, a base in the middle, LOTS of mud and enough mosquitoes to infect a continent. Lets talk about the scenario field.

We played the scenario field about 4 out of the 5 games that were played during my time there. It is a great field with great bunkers. There's the "american" side, and some native, run down side with small wood bunkers, sand and grass bunkers, and tall grass on the right side. The American side is well pampered with tall wooden bunkers, sandbag bunkers with netting (which may I add, makes you almost invisible), a wooden helicopter (don't get excited, it hardly resembles a real one), and a tall wooden tower which equals your death.

It's a nice field, very fun and well spread out. Had great fun there.


Now the other field. The bushball field. Keep in mind it rained a few days before and the tree cover makes it dark so that sun can't dry up the moisture from the field but DAMN it is SO MUDDY. Unless you're bringing paintball boots, stay away from that field. Also, the mosquitoes are BROODING in there, so make sure to wear a long sleeved jersey or something. I only played here once, and this was the last game I played here before I had to leave. Never again will I play there until the mud goes away. Not recommended.

STAFF:

The staff are nice people, willing to answer your questions and help out.

OVERALL:

It's a great field. I recommend a membership. I met alot of cool people that day and am going back. Don't miss your chance to go here, even you speedballers. ^_^
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JCH2112 Monday, April 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just out on a friend's property
Camp X
Review: the owners are pretty strict when it comes to safety.
The punishments for breaking a safety rule are as follows:
just a warning
sit out of a game
have to leave

The fields are great.
The boundaries are marked clearly.
Both fields Are fun to play on.

The prices are as follows:
RENTERS $30.00
(includes Tippmann 98 custom, a mask, neckgaurd, hopper, 100 free paintballs, and a HPA tank)

OWNERS
$10.00

Unlimited free air fills.

STANDARD FIELD PAINT
100-$5.00
500-$20.00
2000-$80.00

UPGRADED FIELD PAINT
500-$30.00
2000-$100.00

The refs ands staff are friendly. The refs do paint check

So overall this is a great field

For more information go to www.campxpaintballfields.com
Last edited on Thursday, July 9th, 2009 at 4:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

canadian camo Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt.Splatters in Toronto
Area 51
Paintball City
Next Paintball
Outback Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Located North of Bowmanville Ontario, Take Taunton Road to Maple Grove Road. Turn South on Maple Grove Road. Once the Paved Road Ends and the Gravel Road Begins, They are the First Driveway on Your West (Right Hand) Side of the Road. Look for the Camp X Sign on the Side of the Road.

Review: Camp X is a great feild for Woodsball and Scenario. The staff is very nice and will even tell you how to get your buddy out in the next round :P . They have built a new shelter for all the paintballers to stay nice and cool and dry. One of the best outdoor feilds I have ever been to.

Scenario Feild:

The scenario feild is set up amazingly!!! It is constructed like the outskirts of a small village in WW2. They have an elevated bunker with firing slots in the sandbags at one end. At the other end they have a small shed that you stary from. There are numerous trenches and quaters that you can hide in as you get going. There are even duck boards across some areas that are filled with water. The trenches provide great cover for head on attacks. Along the sides of the feild you can go about 20 feet into the forest and come around and flank. But dont think that you are going to be safe from the cover of the trees. At the opening where you have to come out is just a slaughter house if the other team has somebody waiting for you. On the other side of the feild they have a crashed helicopter that you can hide. Never bunch up in the helicopter because you will all be taken out. Once again, the helicopter is opening up to the bunker. Its a great field to play on either way because it just so much fun. Unless your a sniper sitting in the forest your going to use alot of paint. You will often get into 1 on 1 fire fights with somebody which is tons of fun.

Woodsball Feild:

The Woodsball feild is great to play on. There is tons of natural cover and bunkers. The feild is real big so you can flank people like no tomorow. Just watch your back because you can never tell when their team is going to come up from behind. The bunkers on the feild are set upo very nicely. instead of having the classic flat 1 sided bunker, the have turned them in to V shapes for more defense and strategie. The feild has 3 main trails that you can take. The quick one, the stealth one and the flanking one. All 3 trails work really well depending on what you are doing for your team. What I suggest you do is run about halfway on the feild, ly down wait 5 minutes and go back to your base. You will single handidly get at least 3 kills before your out. The feild is set up really nice for woodsball.

Safety:

The feild is very safe. It is mandatory if you are a gun owner to get your FPS checked at the beginning at their shooting range. In between games you can go and shoot targets and practice. Their is mesh to protect stray paintballs from hitting you in the stagging area. There are very strict about having your gun on safety and having your barrel condom on while in the safe zone. This is a good thing for obvious reasons. The staff there are committed to everyones safety.

Prices:

There prices are decent. You can upgrade your paint if your gun requires it. The normal paint is I think $7.50 per hundred which isnt bad compared to other feilds. Air refills are free and Co2 is the normal price that you would pay at your local surplus or paintball store. So it isnt a big shock when you get there to discover that they are ripping you off on the price of paint. They also have BYOP Sundays now. Which is really good for gun owners. Im pretty sure that as long as your not freezing your paintballs and using them they wont care. There rental price is decent as well. You get a Tippmann 98 Custom, mask 9oz tank and 100 paintballs for a good price.

Food:

They always have a Barbeque going so if you want to buy burgers or hot dogs while your there. Aswell as pop and water and maybe gatorade but i cant remember. They also got picknik tables where you can go and sit to have lunch. I learned the hard way that you shouldnt keep your sandwich in the front pouch of your tac vest. The food is great and gives you a great vibe of the feild.

Conclusion:

I would recomend this feild to anyone who likes to play Woodsball and Scenario. The feild is set up really nice, the food is great and the staff are really nice and freindly. Everyone has a great time and it is defenitly a great way to spend a nice day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

joker2675 Sunday, October 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 51 at downsview park last year and it was indoor, so there's really no comparison. smaller field but games are more frequent.
Review: this is a good place to play, the people were friendly, the variety of games to play were good. the washroom is literally an out house, just remember that. the price of the game was very fair for people who have their own gear versus renting it. if you plan on bringing a big group there to play, i would strongly suggest to tell them to get there AT LEAST 30 minutes before game time as it takes a long to get paperwork organized, collecting money from your players, etc. and we were shorted by 30minutes.

you have to bring an extra set of clothes after the game is done as you are covered in mud, dirt, whatever else you can think of. what they don't tell you but you need to consider is bring a pair of gloves AND something to cover your neck as the coveralls don't cover your neck and those neck shots do hurt a lot. wearing running shoes in a muddy field doesn't cut it, you gotta wear boots that have a thick, grippy sole and you're okay getting them dirty.

all in all, the variety of fields to play in with the staff around us made the games fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

valiante Thursday, August 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 - slightly messy but nice and big for an indoor field, expensive paint.
Outback Paintballing - great field, nice set-up, well priced rentals and ammo.
Review: The prices for camp x is by far the best price i've had so far. The refs were very friendly and were very accomidating. They even went as far as to help me out when i couldn't figure out what went wrong with my marker. All rules were clearly stated every game and there were no problems what-so-ever. Great well rounded field. Highly Reccomended
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dert18 Saturday, April 26th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
next paintball
Review: They had very good prices on paint comapre to other palces. the only problem i hd here was there field was way to big like it would take 20 minutes to get to final get to see the other team. The smalll field was very good if you go there and paly the smallfield bring a small shovel to paly in the sand lol.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media