paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park

Predator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 20590 Bandera Rd.
San Antonio / Helotes, Texas 78023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ibeatu85x Monday, March 14th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 12th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Theres a lot to be said about this field, so i think i'll break it up into small parts.

1) Safety - 9 Mostly everything in the park is incredibly safe. no tank in the marker when not on the field, no dry firing unless your in the field, and a barrel sock must be on when there is a barrel on the marker. however, they dont always check what paint your using.

2) Games/Fields - 8 there is not a lot of different fields, and the woodsball field is small and mostly unnatural. but the hyperball field is very well made. its one of the best hyperball fields ive ever played. also, they have games every 2-5 minutes, so they are very efficient on time.

3) Staff - 8.5 most of the staff is very helpful, but there are a few guys out there who are mostly critical. but those are sparse. they also hold ref tryouts, where they choose a ref based on anger management, politeness, and paintball knowledge.

4) Facilities/Snack Bar - 7 the restroom area is very clean, although i still try to avoid it. also, the staging area is just a bunch of wooden tables. not really a bad thing, other than the fact that people can easily steal your equipment. but maybe its my opinion, im paranoid. also, the snack bar has a lot to choose from. kind of expensive though. they also usually have a guy to work on guns if yours is having trouble.

5) Pricing - 6.5 the paint is slightly over priced. not by much, only about 5-10 dollars. however, the rental price is absolutely ridiculous. $40 for a rental pack! other fields in the area are half that. but if you have your own gear, the price is fair. about $20 per player with their own gear.

6) Hours of Operation - 9 they have great hours, 10am-5pm on the weekends. i think its pretty great.

7) Local Players - 8 most of the locals are great to play with. they use team play and are mindful of new players. you will see the occasional jerk, but thats an inevitable part of any paintball field.

I think that just about covers it. i think its an outstanding field that i would recommend to anyone, new or seasoned, its a great field with friendly staff and local players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoaTxOnAxSticK Saturday, June 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: The park and its fields were very nice, however the staff and refs were not. Ask any of the staff a question concerning paintball, and all you'll get is a resentful look, no answer. The refs were jerks, for lack of a better word. However, despite the rude staff and referees, the field is definitely concerned with your safety and is very strict about their rules.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

asdfghjkll Sunday, May 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Predator is a good field with honest staff to some extent, however i have noticed on several occasions blatant bigotry and lies spoken to customers; not to mention the referees stealing, I have actually caught two separate refs on different occasions taking or trying to sell my gear.

What really bothers me about the safety of this park though, is rather than actually fixing a safety violation refs will debate over who must go fix it for the sake of being lazy.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eclipse014 Wednesday, September 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Safety: This is one of the safest fields i know of they are extremely safe with barrel plugs, goggles, Etc.

Fields: I liked the airball field they had set up it was pretty nice and so were some of the hyperball fields. The woodsball fields i can say were not that good really its just a bunch of unatural material thrown in with a couple of trees here and there. All together the fields are ok.

Hours of Operation: Amazing!! They had games going every minute i was there i had to take a break because of the number of games we got in by the middle of the day.

Prices: I can say that they were alright just go by the proshop and by paint there and you will get 10 dollars off every time you do.

Rules: The rules were pretty fair.

Services: Pretty good

Proshop: The proshop is amazing!! The staff is so helpful. If you are looking to buy something for paintball buy it from their proshop.

Staff: The staff was very friendly.

Refs: The refs are probably the worst and only bad thing i can say about this field. They are bad because well i was playing a game and one refused to check another player. The refs are very unfair.

Players: The players are very nice that i met over there they dont brag about things like how they got you out or if they have nicer gear than you do. And they play fairly and follow the rules.

Facilities: The restrooms were very clean and enclosed. The snack bar is good they have a lot to choose from.

All together this is a pretty good field to go to its a very nice and friendly environment for all ages.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobbybo10 Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire - Much safer
Directions
to the Field:
about 10 miles past 1604 heading towards bandera. On the right
Review: Safety - The safety aspect was by far the most disappointing. The refs were good about making sure barrel socks were in place and masks were worn when warranted. The problem was that the very instant that players entered the playing fields everyone took off the barrel socks and started shooting at anything and everything in sight. Players were shooting past other players in front of them by shooting over them or around them. The refs never said a word so i assumed it was just fine by everyone. Not me! There was not organization by the refs. A total cluster is the only way to put it.

Fields - The fields were okay. I didn't like the woods much, field was a combination of half wood and regular bunkers. The airball field was much better.

Staff - I met the owner right when i got there and he was really nice aswell as all the staff. The owner was informative about all the rules.

Refs - They need to seriously think more about the safety of the players and not let their buddies and regulars run around like a bunch of unethical above the law renegades.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hopin4dyesumday Sunday, January 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played at Predator but I know from talking to friends that other paintball parks in the area don't hold a candle to Predator. Predator has the nicest staff, the best games, and some of the nicest players in San Antonio.
Directions
to the Field:
If coming from San Antonio, head to Helotes and get on Bandera road for about 12 miles. The park is rather discreet so we missed it when we went, even though we had people that had already been there.. There is a big yellow arrow under a sign and when you see that you need to slow down the park will be immediately on your right.
Review: Safety: The safety is great and very strict. There are refs checking your barrel socks when you leave the fields so if you don't have your barrel sock they'll remind you and you won't have a penalty. I rate the safety 10.

Fields: There are only about 6 fields but they are all very good. The staff is always coming up with new games to make your experience at predator better. In fact, this weekend they were testing a new game called Pokemon 4x4 which included all of the public and took place on 4 fields. Great fields very fun. I rate the fields 9 (not very many tho)

Refs: The refs are very cool and nice and patient with new players. The atmosphere is like a big group of friends and everyone at the park is nice. The refs ref a fair game and don't pick favorites. The refs have conversations with the players and everyone is friendly making your experience even better. I rate the refs 9.
Last edited on Monday, January 12th, 2009 at 2:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ArmyGuy1 Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New to San Antonio area.
Review: I am in the military and have spent countless hours on a paintball field playing and training. This facility is refereed by local high school kids, which in itself is not a bad thing. My issue is that the local high school kids are biased to the regulars (kids that play every week) and the locals that obviously are out there a lot feel they run the place and do not practice etiquette. This creates an unsafe environment. I saw one local regular with a high end paintball gun bunker another kid that was completely turned away with a rental from 10 feet, firing 10 rounds in his side and his back and the young girl referee watching the action laughed and stated "Ha Ha, that wasn't right (name of kid)." Not a correction or penalty, but ha ha that was funny. A few games later I saw another of the local kids with a high end gun bunker two players yelling "Surrender" as you are supposed to inside 10 feet. The problem is that he then proceeded to unload several rounds into one players face, and several more into the back of the other player. This isn't proper etiquette or safe. One of those individuals became very upset, spoke with the management and left. I left soon after because I didnít feel the public play was safe at that point.
After witnessing this, I will be attending another facility.
To be fair, if you are planning a private party where only your guest will be playing on the fields with no regular local player involvement, you will probably be ok. The rental equipment was decent, and the prices were not bad. The facilities are decent and management and service staff were nice, but the execution of the public and private games by the referees has to be cleaned up before someone gets hurt.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer.x7 Tuesday, August 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
krossfire knights
Directions
to the Field:
helotas map quest it
Review: i always play there just recently got a new owner and the feild has gotten alot better since then, the refs uesed to be tariable and played favorits to there friends but now theres none of that EXTREMLY safe and they have alot of tables to stage good prices if you have your own gear, lots of refs, nice feilds better then krossfire for sure
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jss2590 Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
many others
Directions
to the Field:
between, Helotes, and Bandarea.
Review: THE GOOD- The Workers are really friendly, and nice. Very helpful, A lot of fields. Most games Refs call only Simi auto fire, so there no ropes of paint.

THE BAD- All the fields feel the same. No real woods ball. The fields that they call woods ball fields are really small, and is full of unnatural cover such as tires, and barricades, and there every where so it just feels like all the others courses.

The Refs normally only have one game going at a time. It becomes over crowded on the fields, you have 3 people trying to take cover on a one person bunker and gets really frustrating.

I give it a 6's, Because i'm sick of the fields. I am a woodsball player, but if you like speedball types then this is the place for you. Its not the worst field I have been to but its over crowded matches, and the only field that does not feel the same is the Xball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dronepilot Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Knights - Predator is a better rec-ball field, Knights is better for tourney level.
Lackland AFB - Predator is better, but more expensive.
Directions
to the Field:
Use the website....they do need to post a sign about 500 yds before the turn. I went with friends who had never been there either and they too drove by the entrance and had to turn around.
Review: Safety: Very good....I did not see any instances of masks or barrel bags off and they almost always had somebody stationed near the entrance to ensure barrel bags were on before leaving the field. Only minor issue that I saw was the chrono - they briefed 280 fps, but as long as you were under 300FPS, they let it go. The ref at the chrono was consistent and did not play favorites. Kudos for ensuring everyone chrono'd throughout the day.
Fields: variety of fields, but WAY too many players per field. 25 v 25 on a 7 man field??? They had plenty of ref's available to run multiple games/multiple fields...not sure why they didn't....could turn games faster, sell more paint!
Prices: Field fee is about average, rental cost was high for the quality of the gear. Rental gear was in poor shape, one person in our group couldn't get above 233 fps and the velocity adjustment screw wasn't even in the gun. Paint prices are high, but if you have your own equipment, can bring yor own paint. I saved about $15 by not using their paint. Air fills are only to 3000 psi, though they have higher capability and the air line can get quite long.
Staff: Very friendly. Older gentleman running around (assume the owner) asking how things are going, and very engaged in the operation....kudos again...a rare thing today! One of the younger referees was a bit annoying, but overall, the referees were capable.
Skill Level: Large range of players present and the ref's did a good job of dividing up the teams trying to keep it fair. Thankfully, didn't see any newbie bashing going on.
Facilities: Lots of tables, very few with overhead protection. Lots of trees so, some protection from the sun while staging. Could use a second chrono for when doing mass checks....really slowed the day down with lots of standing around waiting. There was a bathroom, but didn't use it...so not sure on cleanliness, etc. Parking is limited.
Games: pretty much just simple elimination. Not a big problem with that...but the fields wouldn't allow much else. As stated earlier, too many players per team for the field size. Big games are fun once in while, but every game is too much
Overall: Bottom line, I had fun....was only over shot once. I will be coming back again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media