paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park / Predator Paintball Park

Predator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 20590 Bandera Rd.
San Antonio / Helotes, Texas 78023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
knight-owls Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar / Krossfire / Knights and soon ( MVP Sports Park )
Review: This field needs a complete overhaul in customer service. I'm talking about the owners/refs/and rules. I got yelled at for bunkering this other kid, but the refs had allowed us to bunker. I was pissed that because the kid said it hurt, I got yelled at. I'm not a mean guy, I know bunkering hurts but the refs let us. I'm just tired of having to drive to the southside in order to play decent fields with decent reffing. I want good customer service and I want it on the northside. I haven't been to predator in 2 months and counting. I am going to try my best never to go there again and hopefully MVP sports park will open soon.

There were some guys at Paintball Mart talking about how great the new place is going to be and that they will be 10x better than predator. I hope they are right. It will be located inside lopp 1604 near lockhill-selma (i think)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

murdermonkey Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar, knights, kross fire,
Review: This is a cool park. It has a carwash feild made of tubes, a tire feild, an X-ball, a triangle lego feild, and two speed balls and a woods ball couse. all of the feilds are massive compared to some of the ones i've been to before. entry is 20 bucks = entry and all day air, pretty expensive compared to other places. There is one flaw though. The refs suck, exept for this 14 yr old whos cool, but other than him there a bunch of fckn idiots. they just sit there and talk amongst themselves and get po'd if u ask them something cause for some reason they think they're better than you, which really pisses me off :(

I HATE THEM

but other than the refs who also by the way make unequal the teams to make the newbs get hurt, i've seen it from the side lines before. any way i give the feilds a 10, the refs a 0 and the entry fee a 3 cause i'm glad its not a million dollars all though its pretty close
Last edited on Thursday, June 16th, 2005 at 8:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

stupid1992 Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire and Knights
Review: I can't believe Predator is only open on saturdays!!

I took my son there a couple of times and the refs made us wait about 20 minutes before we got on the field and then they actually asked us if we wanted to play with bunkering! for those of you that don't know, that means point blank shooting. I've been to Krossfire and Knights and they don't allow any close range shooting ever. When we said no and others said yes, they tried to get us to be ok with it. I couldn't believe it and when we told the person in the office, she acted like she didn't care. I won't be taking my son and his friends there anymore.

3 times was enough to see that if we want to play good rec-ball with more than just 20 people, i'll go to Krossfire. they are also open on both saturday and sunday. I agree with the other guy that the fields are sometimes a long walk, but when there are twice as many fields, does it really matter? You get more of a variety and the 2 story fort is awsome! Why isn't there a field review for Krossfire on this board? I'd give them an 8 and predator a 4.
Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 7:42 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

jthmdude2000 Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire, I love this place. Good refs and staff, nice feilds and fun woodsball.
Review: Well I went there once and didn't think too much. I liked the closeness off the feilds which was a pleasant change from the long walks at Krossfire. They sometime s use a couple of feilds together and it is fun. Alot of newbish people there. One one feild a kid messed up and broke his leg but that was an acciedent. I didn't have much confrontation with the refs. There is a 15 foot rule.
Paint is a bit overcosted but hey, it's feild paint.

EDIT: I went there recently and it has changed. They put in a feild called "carwash" which is very fun. I also played the "Bahgdad" scenerio at the woodsball feild and it was the most fun i have had paintballling ever.

If the owners read this, what if we don't need the all day air?I am planning on getting a Phantom and it uses 12 grams, ciould I pay less since I will not need to have any tanks filled?

I am raising the rating I gave Predator to an 8.
Last edited on Sunday, January 16th, 2005 at 2:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aeae2 Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Ive played at the field several times and each times it has been great overall, with some minor issues. The fields are awesome, to say the least. Well thats just my humble opinion becuase I havent played at that many fields, but its in the Texas Hill Country, north of San Antonio, and its just beautiful in the fall. Now for the minor issues. As many people have said before me, the staff isnt the best. They are often rude, and they dont always help you with your problems. Whats also true is the kids that ref there arent always very mature. Basically the whole park is family owned. (I know this because I tried to get a job there.) Well i think they also hire some family friends, but anyways, one time the gun i rented jammed, and i had to wait a while (about 30 minutes - no lie) for the owner to finish talking to one of her friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

z28pwr Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
LoneStar Paintball
Paintball Knights
Review:
I had read the reviews, but wanted to give it a try for myself and the fields is very nice compared to some of the other fields but the refs are what really brings this field down.

Every time I've been there the refs were clowning around throwing paintballs at each other and being immature. Nothing wrong with having some 11 year old refs if they are mature enough to understand what their role is at the field.

Like I said the field is nice but the refs are terrible and the staff is not very friendly and regarding them being the best in San Antonio, I would say they are second best field after Paintball Knights.

For my part I will make the longer drive to LoneStar or Paintball Knights where the staff is friendlier and more mature.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jazkal Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All fields in San Antonio
Review: Let me start off by saying, I gave this field a number of chances to redeem themselves, but it never happened.

Our group went there about 6 times total, mainly because we were told, it was "THE BEST" field in SA. And it is true, I like the field layouts (still needs work on some of the boundaries, though). But the people running the field, the refs, and the overall way they run the business, all rate on the low end of whatever scale your using.

Yes, yes, I know they get some celebrities into their field. So what, you want to know why they go there, it's because they live nearby, it's the closest field to them, plus they get the "royal" treatment. Unlike all the other paying customers.

When problems were brought to the managements attention (multiple times), they where totally disregarded, dismissed, and RUDE.

Example: When you have some noob with his $1000 daddy bought marker, set to ungodly bounce, lighting up other players (major overshooting), because he likes his new toy. You shouldn't be told to "deal with it". The Refs or Management should have a talk to the punk kid. IMHO.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rshipp Monday, November 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Knights, Krossfire, Converse
Review: I did not like it at all. One of the Ref's (probably 15 years old) noticed my Dye DM4 and said that if he caught me over-firing someone that did not have a gun as good as mine, that he would take my gun away for thirty minutes. This was my first game at this place, so he had no reason to warn me of anything. I felt like telling him that he would have to pull it out of his%&$ if he tried, but I did not. I witnessed the owners telling off a player that was trying to get his tank filled and assumed his dad had already paid. They acted like he was trying to steal. They were yelling at him and making other comments. They seem like "hotheads". I hated being coached by kids that had no business coaching. They were horsing around and making us wait to play everytime. Most of the fields are too small. You can't even tell where the bounderies are on the forest and tire field. All in all, I will probably not go there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Edgar the great Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestr, knights
Review: I just can't believe that they decide to close/shut down whenever they want. I wish there was a better business association to complain to. My bro and I went there and they decided to shut down in the middle of hte day. It wasn't cloudy/rainy at all. we had only been there a few hours and were forced to pay $18.00. most fields charge $10 and give the option of all day air. not to mention, most fields stick to their regular hours of operation.

I wish lonestar was still around, live and kicking, but knights has a good setup too. I don't want to rain on all these positive comments about predater, but i'd rather drive 30 minutes out my way to have a good time than go to them, who are about 10 minutes from my house.

*disclaimer*- they did refund my brother and I the $8 each and it then only cost us $10, but they still made money and we got shafted. I would like to play all day for 10 rather than 3 hours!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SAballer2004 Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knights, Lonestar, Krossfire, Petty's, Paintball Factory
Review: First off, I'd like to say the fields are nice. That is really the only thing this park has going for it.

Secondly and finally. My team and I will no longer support any events or even practice at Predator. We have been disrespected by the owners on almost every occasion. I personally was yelled at for having a slow filling nipple on my MacDev tank, which most people know, actually has a slow filling nipple already installed on it. Also, on a local message board, the owners of predator have openly chastized other paintballers in the area. They have called them "jerks," "pimp faced midgets," and have told the local community that there is only a certain kind of paintballer they want at their field and a kind they don't want. All of this can be found on a local message board. PM me for details if you don't believe me.

oh and to the board moderators, this is ALL FACT! Please do not lower the integrity of this review message board by deleting my message because they are afraid of the truth. Again, please leave my review or we will know that this board is not a truthfull board. If it stays, we will promote it across the land. My team is now partially sponsored by Empire/NPS for paint and the rest is covered by a local company.
Last edited on Friday, October 29th, 2004 at 11:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media