paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skinny Joes Paintball Field / Skinny Joes Paintball Field / Skinny Joes Paintball Field / Skinny Joes Paintball Field

Skinny Joes Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (866) 784-5100
Address: 17022 Burn Road
Arlington, Washington 98223
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
buschtall Sunday, August 5th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 19th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Station, Forrest Fire, Doodle Bug, STP, westside, eastside,Cousins...ect.
Review: Got invited to go with a group of buddies. Private group. Ive been playing paintball for about 18yrs now and had never been to this place, and will never be back. The fields are overgrown with brush, The fields are made up of garbage. Just old pallets, and those ugly blue barrels. The crew was seemly nice and helpful. Thats about all this place has going for itself. When I go to a field I expect it to have ample parking, be clean, and most of all be safe! This place failed at all of those. This is by far the unsafest place I have personally ever been too. Here is a pic on their own Facebook page showing a group with barrel covers off, fingers on triggers, and masks off. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=395651053825317&
set=a.395643117159444.89068.118031288253963&type=1&p
ermPage=1 For the inability to follow simple safety rules I gave them this rating, and will never be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adam78K Sunday, July 18th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Station, Forrest Fire.
Review: Well the day had a bad start to it because I rode in my buddies car to Skinny Joes, only to find out that it wasn't open on 7/18/2010. I was so confused because the website said it was open Sundays from 9am-4pm. Also the gate was closed blocking the entrance to get into Skinny Joes. It had a huge white sign on it and it said, "Open Sat-Sun 9am-4pm."
Update the website before you make people waste money on gas to go out to a paintball field that is falsely advertised. Later we called a staff member and he told us to drive out to another field, just very unprofessional. Gave them a 4 rating strictly because the staff, the website and the contradicting sign on the gate that said open Sunday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

N0va Friday, August 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
Follow the directions on their site, Google directions are wrong!
Review: Safety: Really good for making sure everyone keeps their masks and barrel covers on at all times. However they could check more people on the chrono.

Hours: Open 7 Days a Week for Private Groups or Open Saturdays from 10 am to 4 pm for Non-Private Players (they let us play till 5)

Prices: 25$ field fee is pretty high but worth it. Rental package comes with a Tippmann 98 and 500 paintballs. You get air/c02 all day for free.

Staff and Refs were friendly, young but seem to be well experienced. The owner will lend any tools needed for your gun.

The field has 6 fields, a maze of bushes and paths, a forest field, 3 plywood bunker fields, and an alamo. It is HUGE and very fun and diverse.

field has a large covered zone with tables and a smaller one on the other side of the park.

Plenty of seating and space for everyone. They do have one honeybucket. Parking is one large lot which usually has enough parking. Snacks/drinks are available.

Overall: Expensive but well worth it for the service and fields

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jolleygreen Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Danger Zone, Forestfire, and back yard fields
Review: I recently had the chance to play at a field i'd heard about near me in Lake Stevens, Skinny Joes. I'd heard they did not chrono, and was apprehensive about getting myself and my 5 friends to go there, but after i called the field, they assured me they do chrono.

The field:
When we arrived at the field, parking was fine. I drive a long truck, but was able to find a spot to squeeze into. On a busy day i'm not sure if i'd be able to do the same as it seemed to only be the one lot. The appearance of the place is by far one of the nicest. Plenty of seating with tables under cover, paper towels and goggle cleaner were provided, and bark chips to soften the blow if you drop something.

The staff were friendly enough. While young, they seemed to have experience and were willing to help answer any questions, and get us moving quickly to meet up with the other teams in ongoing rounds. The Chrono issue was somewhat answered as there is a chromo table at the entrance to one half of the fields, BUT the ref taking us in did not oversee things to make sure all of us did chrono. I did see him randomly check a couple of people throughout the day, but not as thourough as say DZ where every gun is initially checked before going in.

I'm a new player and have only been hit by HOT guns a few times, but there were a couple guys playing that perhaps out of ignorance, perhaps intentionally, were playing with HOT guns, but with only one ref, who wasn't always around, it's difficult. In the fields defense, they are a REC ball field and self policeing is key inorder to assure safety. I just think these refs need to be more ontop of that particular issue since it carries the most risk of causing injury.

As far as the fields go. I only enjoyed "the jungle" as it 's a true woodsball field with very dence growth and lots of paths to get lost on. Played a CTF round and elimination, and you never knew where the shots were coming from at times. Learned my lesson about volunteering to be the TERMINATOR where only a headshot kills you. I was asking my wife to count my welts from all the shots i took. It took me 2 hours to clean my gun and visor. Fun regardless. The rest of the fields are small and are basically a few thousand pallets stood up on their sides and nailed together, which offers little cover due to the open design of the pallets. Regarding the nails. CHECK YOUR BUNKERS FOR NAILS. Both myself and 2 of my friends told me just how close they came to needing tetanus shots due to rusty nails sticking out the top of a bunker or short wall, or at knee level for me once. I didn't tell the refs at the time, but plan to call them to recommend they check.

Over all we all had fun. I'm an outta shape 35 year old and was worn out after 5 hours of play, and running low on paint, but i MAY go back. I'd give it a 9 or a 10 even, but the chrono thing and the rusty nails lower my score.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkrex Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forrest Fire, Pure Adrenaline (RIP), Sultan Basin (RIP).
Directions
to the Field:
On their website via Mapquest.
Review: This was my first time at Skinny Joes. My group usually brings a popup tent, tables and chairs but they were not needed because they have a huge covered seating area at the main staging area and also at another field on site—this is really a nice surprise.
The biggest plus, this place is HUGE! There are something like 6 different fields ranging from a very large wooded area to a skinny but long gauntlet. There are many different fields to suite different groups which is a big plus. But all this land needs to be played more because it is pretty thick in some places.
Field Fees at $25 with all day air or CO2-ok…
Staff was real friendly, and very concerned with safety; anal about barrel bags and masks. Not to mention that chrono was enforced to all non rental markers.
I cannot comment about the field paint because I use my own. I do know that rentals are Tippmans and not some Spyder knock-off and rentals come with 500 balls of paint.

The only bad thing about this field is that there is a lot of up hill in areas so if your out of shape and packing extra weight like most long ballers, you limited to only a couple of fields. But I am somewhat in shape and it was a good workout going from field to field.

Oh and you wont find inflatables here so if you’re a speed baller, your better off playin in the Doodle Juice.

My biggest question is… why didn’t I know about this place earlier???? It is a very fun field and I plan to go there as much as possible.

This place gets an eight but could easily become a 9 and possibly a 10 with some work but perfection is not an easy thing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShocktechSFL Friday, June 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Semper Fi, STP, AS,CD
Review: I recently heard about this field and decided to give it a shot. Upon arriving the first thing I noticed was there was a covered staging area, which is a big plus. Having to stand under a blazing sun or rain is a big pain, and I was glad to see they had a place for players to relax and get out of the elements. After parking I walked up to the large shipping container that is their HQ, and thats when the first sting hit. $25 for the field fee! Ouch.. I have been playing since '98 and this has to be one of the most expensive field fee's i've encountered. The $25 covers all day air as well, but considering this is a strict recball field I don't exactly burn through 5 pods everygame.

Ok so there was a $25 field fee, I can get over it, we all know paintball is expensive..but what do you get for that $25? Air, and access to the field. That is it. The "reffing" at this field consists of a guy who starts the game, and then stands in the same spot until the game is over, or the time limit runs out for the game. Paint checks were non-existant, the ref never moved to do anything. He simply stood around, and not once did I see him paint check a single person. For a entry fee of $25 I at least expect a ref to do a paint check if called.

Another issue that grabbed my attention was what appeared to be very lax goggle rules. I saw people take their masks off while on the field, in nearly every game. Even the ref did this once before a game started, and half the time he would walk out onto the playing field with his mask above his eyes. The ref looked to be in his 20's, so there is no excuse here. Half the people playing at this field appeared to be newbies, so some of them didn't know any better. Which is exactly the reason you have to have a responsible referree who knows what he is doing. If the kids see the ref do it, they will do it. Lead by example guys!

The last issue is the complete lack of a chronograph. Guns were never checked, ever. This is rediculous, if you have been playing even a short ammount of time you can tell when a paintball going 320-350 fps hits a peice of plywood by the sound it makes. There were plenty of these at this field, and made me angry not at the people with the hot markers but rather that they had no ability to even know they were shooting hot because there was no chronograph.


In conclusion, this field wasn't all negitives. The staff was friendly, but the way the field was operated was amature at best, and downright dangerous at worst. The two fields I played on were decent, but nothing amazing about them. Simply plywood all over the place, alot of room for improvement. Would be nice to see a structure or fort of some kind, or even barrels, the endless plywood gets a little redundent and old.

If this field was ran more professionaly, and the field fee was $15 or so, I would return here. But for the service I got for $25, I will not be back here anytime soon.




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hardwoodbeaver Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
100 Degrees Northwest
Doodle Bug Indoor
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest.....
Review: First off, I am a huge fan of wood play, so when I showed up at this place, I was stoked. The staff was awesome and got things done quickly to get you out to play. They let you play the games that you wanted to, but picked a few to start to get you into it.

The facilities were really nice, with a nice covered tents and goggle cleaners. The equipment was new and nice, and offered paint and food and drinks.

Fields were sweet, a little raw, but had amazing potential.

I would say this is the top field I have played at in a while because of the staff, the field and the variety of games that are a possibility to play.

OVERALL 9 out of 10, but will be a 9.5 when the field gets finished.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ktizzle Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forest Fire
Adrenaline Sports NW

also:
Whole in the wall
KC Crusaders
Directions
to the Field:
Google Maps

and stay left on Burn road cause it'll Y
Review: The good:
- they have a few different fields and are working on more.
- the ref seemed to be pretty professional and friendly
- the staging areas were nice, plenty of seats, spray bottles and paper toils.
- you can bring your own paint

The Bad:
- $25 field fee
- only one option for paint and it's $55 a case.

all in all i think when they are done it's going to be a really nice place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robnix Wednesday, October 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KC Crusaders
Splat Attack Indoor
ForestFire Paintball
Review: Played on a Saturday afternoon.

The Great - The staff is fantastic, they make a huge effort to make sure that you get to play the way YOU want to play, and not what they think is best. All of them are very nice and did a great job of making the day fun for everyone. There are covered rest areas at both the top and the bottom of the hill that they're on, with air, paint, snack, and drinks at both. That was a huge plus.

The Good - The fields are still in the process of being broken in, so they're a bit incomplete. Given that, there was great variety, and you could see how much potential there is. I'm looking forward to playing here in the future so I can see the changes. The prices were fair, and you can BYOP.

The Bad - Nothing was bad.

The Ugly - No chrono check done.

8 out of 10, but I'll give them a 9 since I know that the fields will get better as time goes on, and that they'll hopefully read this and start doing chrono checks.
Last edited on Wednesday, October 4th, 2006 at 1:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

85zr1VETTE Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat'em, Doodle Bugz
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it!!!
Review: Best damn field ever hella free prizes were given away over the weekend about 20 Tippmann A-5 tons and tons of cases of paint and loads of other things masks, air tanks, etc were given away FREE!!! Just for showing up!!! Great fields 2 speed ball and 4 Rec on over 30 acres of land, sweet woods play! R.D. you are the MAN!!!! Good luck this time... =)
Last edited on Monday, September 18th, 2006 at 12:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media