paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ft. Campbell Paintball Field / Ft. Campbell Paintball Field / Ft. Campbell Paintball Field / Ft. Campbell Paintball Field

Ft. Campbell Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 270-956-3118
Address: 6644 Jordan Springs Road
Fort Campbell, Kentucky 42223
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Tenchi_My Friday, May 31st, 2013
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 15th, 2013
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red Leg Action Sports (Only other field in the area)
Directions
to the Field:
It's right outside gate 10 of Fort Campbell. Go out the gate, make your first right and follow the road about 1/2 mile. It's on the left hand side.
Review: This field IS open to the public.

Fort Campbell Paintball field is definitely not the biggest field I've ever played at, but they work with what they have. It's owned and operated by the Army's MWR (Morale, Welfare, and Recreation) program. It seems like they sometimes have trouble getting funds for field maintenance and such, but the staff do everything they can to keep it in good running order and do a pretty good job at it. They just got a new airball field, but it's a little rocky in some areas so make sure you wear your pads, unless it's been raining, then have a ball in the mud. The layout is usually the same, they could probably change it up a bit, but I bet that's partially due to the limited number of speedball players that are regulars at this field.

The staff is super friendly and will help you in any way they can. The biggest problem is the ref's they have. Most of them are teenagers that get sent there to work for some school work-and-stay-out-of-trouble program. Most of them have little to no experience reffing or even playing paintball, and mostly kind of just stand around hoping they don't get hit. They are good kids, just not the best paintball refs in the world. Usually at least one of the actual staff members will be on the field to kind of delegate the games and keep an eye out for safety violations. They do have some strict rules, but often they aren't enforced as well as they could be. Not saying they aren't safe, just following through with punishments on continuous rule breakers is where they seem to lack.

Most of the people that play at this field are your average rec-ballers and the majority of them are stationed at Ft. Campbell or are sons/daughters of soldiers stationed there. Occasionally you get a few hot-heads and tempers will get a bit flared, but everything is usually settled after a hand shake and a cigarette. I've never witnessed any kind of physical threats or any kind of fighting whatsoever. Language and smack-talk can get a bit harsh, but people tend to tone it down when there are children around. If you're that concerned about it, I would just make sure you set up away from the main tables. There are a few other tables around and you can always bring your own chairs and fold out tables to put in the shade.

The biggest asset this field has is their volunteers. Many soldiers from Fort Campbell, and civilians from the Clarksville area who are avid paintball players will show up and help with reffing occasionally and try to help out with gun repairs and organization of teams and games as well. They make everything run alot smoother when they are around, but since they are not employees, they aren't always there.

They have two woodsball fields. Both are pretty decent size fields. One is kind of open with lots of trees and small bunkers and an "Alamo" type fort on one side. The other has two large forts and a bridge/tower type thing in the middle that goes across a dry creek bed. Both are lots of fun to play and although they don't have many different fields, they don't mind letting the players choose different game types to kind of change things up a bit so the fields don't get so old.

Prices are great considering everything is tax free. Paint choice is pretty limited, but they usually have good paint so it's not really anything to complain about. You can also bring your own paint at no extra charge. $25 will get any newcomer a full setup, all day air, and 500rds of paint. That's the best rental prices I've EVER seen at ANY paintball field.

They do not have a pro-shop. The only pro-shop in the area is Riverside Pro Archery and Paintball and that place is a joke (I'll save the details for a different review). If you play in the Clarksville area, expect to do most of your paintball shopping online or in Nashville.

All in all, I give this field an 8 out of 10. There are a few things that could use improvement, but overall, if you come here with a positive attitude, you can expect to have a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eyes Saturday, September 1st, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
red leg action paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Located on fort campbell
Review: A speed ball field and two LARGE woods fields. Refs are happy to play whatever game you come up with and the staff is quite helpful and polite. Lots of tables and shaded areas and priced to have fun.

Safety is their highest priority so it is a very good place to bring younger players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_RGNL_Kanman Thursday, July 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played in any other fields in area. Previously played at Michigan's Crossfire Creek, miscelanious fields, and friends' fields.
Directions
to the Field:
Just outside Gate 10, hang a right, follow the road and the bend to the left and it should be off to the left near the top of the hill.
Review: Definitely one of the better woodsball fields I have played at, and not even the largest. The staff was very friendly and safety oriented. Even in the hot summer days they made sure to make players take longer breaks in between games and they had free water. Can't say much about their rentals as I was always using my own Tippmann A5.

They have two woodsball fields with forts and walls everywhere, along with plenty of natural cover (dried out riverbeds, trees, etc). They had a speedball course as well. Now I'm not a speedballer, but I think I've got enough paintball experience to say it isn't really that great. But the two woodsball courses are nicely designed and well balanced for the most part. Definitely stop by this field if you get a chance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nonamejones Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 1st, 2001
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
red river
Review: ive played at a lot of places all over the country but this is the Field i compare everywhere else too its not the biggest or fanciest but there is just something about the place that makes you want to go every weekend (i thing sue puts something in the free water she keeps pushing)you never have to worry about your gear being stolen which is a huge plus and your playing against veterans of the 101 airborne that to me is like the highest honor in the world.go there try it you'll like it and ask sue to get the bud girls to come fill tanks
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

killdoc Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River Paintball games
Review: Ok if u love speedball this is NOT the place u wanna go.....the "speedball" field is made out of ammo boxes and have 1/2 inch gaps in between them. cost to much they only fill a maximum of 3000psi for 4 bucks i have a 45/45 so i could only play about 1 game then i would have to refill 4 bucks a game for air gets expinsive.......but i you use c02 and like to play wood then i geuss this would be ok for you......
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vermil420 Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River
Review: This isnt the best field out there. By far.

But you will not find another family orientated staff and field in the country. Mrs. Sue is probably the nicest woman i have ever had the privelege of working with.

Even though im in Iraq right now and i should have written a review a long time ago, which i sincerely appologize for. I'll try to make up for it by writing a great review.

The field isnt the most highspeed field out there, they sure do try their best to make sure you enjoy yourself and are sure to come back. I have spent a lot of time reffing, playing and helping to build the Castle and Fort and everytime i hear someone say they had a blast playing those fields it put a smile on my face. The prices are extremly reasonable if you are alone or with a group. The ref's will make sure safety is number 1 and make sure you will still have fun. First thing you do when you get there is a thorough brief on the rules. They try to play different games for everyone switching between the woodsball and speedball field. Even running 2 games at once. Once again gotta reiterate that this field is the perfect place to go if you have small children or are looking for some tourni players to play against.

I also gotta give a shout out to my boys Roger and Donkey. And i cant forget the most charming woman in the world Mrs. Sue. I'll see you in November.

Target AKA Chris
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

zellthemedic Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River, I suppose.
Review: This place is GREAT! I went there last week (March 26th, 2005) and I fell in love with it. This is now my main field of choice! The field itself is huge, the games are fun, staff is great, the price is perfect, and there are MANY friendly players. Its perfect for beginners, since the older people can help you with marker problems and/or give you tips, AND pros, since there are alot of good people out here. There are 3 fields: 2 woodsball and 1 speedball.

The Games -- 10/10 -- A lot of fun games to keep you entertained for hours! Games include, but not limited to: The Alamo (Very small number of people defend while others attack), Speedball, Center flag, Capture the flag, elimination, doughnut (Where both teams use ALL of the fields to try and find a General (a 30 lbs stuffed dog) and bring him to the enemy base), and more!
The Field -- 9/10 -- Ammo crates can get quite boring after a while.
The Refs/Staff -- 10/10 -- THE FRIENDLIEST AND BEST STAFF EVER!
The Price -- 10/10 -- Woo! 5 bucks for entry, 4 bucks for 20oz CO2, and 18 bucks to rent it all!
Overall -- 10/10 -- Like I said above, great for Newbies and Pro's!

Also, if anyone here at pbreview.com wants to see me, I wear a yellow Evil jersey, I have a Tippmann Custom Pro (It also has a 20oz CO2 tank on it with a clear Java loader), JT goggles, and 32 Degrees pants. Call me by my real name, Phillip. Also, I'm a teenager, not an adult. I usually ride in a burgondy pickup truck or a green Chevy Tahoe. My mom also plays ("THERE'S MY MOM! GET HER!" <-- Might help some people remember me on Sunday, April 3rd if you were Yellow or Orange).
Last edited on Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 at 11:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Docstanga Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In Tennessee :Red River, Memphis paintball,
In Louisiana :LAXTEME, Paintball Command,
Review: This is by far the best field in the north TN south KY area. The field fee is only 5 bucks paint is cheap or bring your own. The staff is great. Its clear these folks are in it for the love of the sport. Most of the players are soldiers from the base so the level of play is high (hell these guys are pro's in the real scene of the word) the refs are good but spread a bit thin cause the field is so big. This isn't really a problem because wiping is really much of a problem.

The fields are huge (over 70 acres) and have plenty of open ground. The bunkers and bases are made from old ammo boxes that the field has an endless supply of. Some of the bases are huge. You could put 30 people in them easily.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CagedFreak77 Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: My first time at the Ft Campbell range was a great one!

Some might get turned off by only two fields, but they made the most of them. The speedball field was fun, and well built. The woods area was very large, not too dense, and covered with bunkers, hiding spots and the "Alamo" fort.

The staff there was more than helpful, and very friendly. The price was perfect, and they didn't drone on and on about the rules. They told you the rules, you signed the paper, and you were off. Some fields take over an hour to drill field rules into you, and you miss out on playing time.... not here, though!

I played all day, and had a great time. I'll go back whenever I get a chance.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MantaRay818 Saturday, July 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River (haven't played there yet)
Review: Fort Campbell field is something for everyone. They have two huge fields with plenty of bunkers and crates to hide behind, along with the woods that keeps the fields cool when it's game time. There speedball course is great and my hats off to how quick the folks there keep the games going all day long.
The new building that Ms. Sue has plenty of upgrades and other PB stuff for the people to buy. The prices are very reasonable and so is the equipment to rent. The hours are great. Thurs., Fri., Sat. and Sun. for the summer are awesome. If you haven't been out there yet, give it a try
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media