paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban War Zone Paintball Field / Urban War Zone Paintball Field / Urban War Zone Paintball Field / Urban War Zone Paintball Field

Urban War Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
11Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281-831-3236
Address: 2315 Telephone Rd
Houston, Texas 77023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
aznballa Tuesday, June 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball zone, Command post, Choo Choos, Tanks, #1 Pb
Directions
to the Field:
I-45 exit telephone
Review: i have played a course of maybe 3 month at urban, I was there when they did not have nitro and c02 was the only option. The owners are nice and helpful along with the staff.
The reason i stopped playing there is one time i went i got bonus balled( i was already out and was still shot ) on a constant basis and the refs didn nothing about. it. This was no friendly fire , these were intentional. This is ok for the older guys but for kids this is a big no no. That day I left the field and never came back, i even left my marker there. When i go play paintball i wanna have fun like anyone else and not come hit with about 100 welts from overkill on the shooting. Till this day i will not ever return. There is only 2 fields and it kinda get repetative over time. They talked about expanding but when i drove by last week still the same old place. The location is great but the fields are not too hot. If i were you i would take the time and shop around somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

behtypa Wednesday, April 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1 Paintball - Willowchase
#1 Paintball - Grant Rd Park
Paintball Bonanza
Review: I am not sure what the previous reviewer has experiences. man, it was back in 2007. Not it is 2009 and things have obviously changed.
Urban War Zone is not that bad! I have played there a few times for recent few months. The owner is friendly, the staff organized, many of the boys are big paintball fanatics themselves. This helps to keep the spirit and the field going. Saturday is normally packed with people, 50% rookies and 50% pro-am players with their own markers (just like myself). So it's fun.

The whole area is a small square of approximately 150x150 feet (40x40 meters). It makes 2 mesh-divided paintball fields. 1st has more bunks and the 2nd a bit less (cable coils and other obstacles). There is no woods, there is no inflatables.

The crowd is 50% adults and 50% late teens (18+). It is not friendly for kids (Paintball Bonanza would be a better place), however it is fun for teens and us adults because the formalities are reduced to a minimum and guys like mingling with each other.

The field fee is just $10, the Nitro fee is around $10. So the prices are competitive.
Also, check stubdog.com for 50% off coupons. They post them there frequently.

The field parking is small, just for 10 cars, however curbs nearby can accomodate 30 cars easily.

I give the Urban War Zone 7 points because they are downtown which is easily reachable and because the field is small but fun to play at. 10 points would go to huge multi-field professional fields like Tank's Katy Paintball or Twisted Texas in Conroe.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

goCOOGs Friday, November 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: These guys claim to be "located in the heart of downtown Houston." To make it clear, your paintball field is located near South 45 and 610. How is that the HEART of Downtown Houston?

Second, only two fields. It's very repetitive. Not worth the money. Was bored after an hour.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tido_29 Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Ultimate paintball of texas, Survival Games of Texas, Tank's Katy Paintball, Paintball Zone, #1 Paintball, Paintball Bonanzaa, Paintball USA, and Twisted Paintball. Urban-warzone is the newest paintball field to Houston.
Review: EDIT (5/21/07)- Fields and rest areas

As you can see: I have played at almost every field in and around Houston. Now it would be unfair to try and compare Urban-Warzone to these fields that probably have over 10yrs of operation (each) already under their belts. So I will not do so in this review but will try to highlight what I feel is helpful to describe Urban-Warzone.

Safety: Both owners are real big on safety. Mask, chrono, barrel socks are all talked about in the safety meeting before play. They are also not jerks about reminding you to put you mask on when entering the field. They know people forget (especially people who are new to paintball). This helps in maintaining a friendly environment.

Atmosphere: once you arrive at there, the owners are real POLITE and willing to help you get started. This is what I feel makes a great paintball field!!!!! They are known for being great guys and easy to talk to. They have 3 large tables and 2 large canopies to help with the hot sun during summer time.

Fields: They have 2 fields-- 1 air ball field and a barrels field. Both fields are great but being a speed ball player..I kinda just play in the air-ball field. The barrels field is great field for rec-ballers and people who are just now starting to play. It offers a lot of cover and prevents any short distance shots (which is great when small kids are playing or people who are just now trying paintball for the first time).

There are plans to build about 4+ more fields but that is in the future. Can't wait!! It will be more air-ball fields and more of the "Urban-warzone" theme (barrels, ect.) fields.

Reffs: the reffs are great and practice safety. They are willing to jump in and play to even up teams so that everyone can have a good time. They are still fairly new to paintball but definitely do a good job.

Price: The price is very competitive which is even better since they are located inside the 610 loop.. no more including gas money in the total. They now offer compressed air at their field which is a huge plus!!! I used to have to take my scuba tanks (which wasn’t so bad) but now I can just show up w/ my gear. They now carry three different grades of paint which is great and give the players more options. Prices can be seen on their site. The monthly VIP pass is the best!!! For only 29.99, you get unlimited play and discounts on items (such as paint). I have been getting the pass for the past 3 months.

Rest Areas: The field has tents, tables, and chairs all set up for its customers!!!! So no sitting out in the sun during the summer break. As far as food..they sometimes fire up the grill. I have been told by the owners that anyone is welcome to bring their own grill and cook.

Gave the field a 9/10... maybe just one more air ball field???
Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 7:02 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

knite2 Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Twisted Texas, Paintball Zone, I have played at numerous fields and this field is by far the best.
Review: I have been playing paintball for years now and I this field is the best. Not because of the fields but for the customers service. Yes the refs are little inexperienced but what refs around here are. Both the owners are real friendly guys and very open to critizism even if it is negative. The only thing is there isn't any NITRO. We (owners and I) have talked numerous times about what to improve on there field and with each conversation they agree. Both owners are willing to go the extra mile so everyone has fun in the game of paintball. I would recommend this field for begginers anytime. Places like the zone are awesome even the owners will tell you but not a place for newbies to learn. I would rather play here than travel just around the corner for paintball zone. Nothing against the zone but the customer service sells me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cougared Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
only one in the loop that i know of
Directions
to the Field:
telephone rd.
Review: these guys claim to be the official field of the Coogs and they even brag about our football team, but don't ask them "whose house" or if they bother to watch the biggest games in our history... or even if they know the score of said games, because they only use that as a marketing scheme. it's an ok field, but horribly overpriced. my own gun broke so i rented one of theirs, however i had already paid the $15 field fee and $8 for a mask, so the extra $12 brought my total to $35, a dollar shy of the rental price, but they wouldn't give me the 250 paintballs i was entitled to. the field is very small and the same games over and over are MUNDANE. no alamo, no "dragon balls", etc, etc. most of the staff were cool, a ref who played with us and the actual ref were really cool dudes, but one of the guys was pretty unimpressive. we were short, so the cool ref played with us, but when only 2 of us had balls left and wanted a 1 on 1, the unimpressive guy made some snide remark as to this preference, something like "all that for nothing?"... total jerk. all in all, you're much better off going to a field with some real games and variety... and real cougars.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kjclink Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area.
Directions
to the Field:
Sorry, don't have any.
Review: I have to say that this is a good field. I have only been to one other, and no offense to that field, I am probably going to play here from now on.

Safety: The ref who watched our games was always reminding me to put on my mask when I entered the field. It's my fault though. I'm very forgetful. But when ever he had to remind me, he was polite about it. Barrel plugs are always required unless you are in the field ( duh...) or you are cleaning. A large net is around the entire field, high enough so that stray paint won’t fly over and hit the freeway.

Weapons and Paint: I'm not sure what kind of guns they were, but my friend seemed pretty happy with the one he got. You can't use your own paint in the rentals, though. My friend never had any problems ( if he did, he didn't know ). Paint prices were very reasonable with 250 pbs at $9.00, 500 at $17.00, 1000 at $33.00, and 2000 at $60.00. The field is BYOP if you bring your own gun.

Fields and Field Condition: I came right after it had rained, so I can't really complain that it was muddy. But I love the way the field is set up. My friend and I were the only ones there, but we could still play an entire field by ourselves and have fun. There are two fields. Though they seem small, they are more than enough for a one on one game. Bunkers include sand bags, oil drums, trees, wooden shipping crates, and 3ft by 3ft squares of wood ( not exact measurement. taking an educated guess ). The owner said they would be getting and airball field soon. It should be pretty interesting.

Refs and Management: These guys are the best. Our ref was always making sure to stop the game immediately after someone was hit and would always remind us to put our barrel plugs in. During one of the last games, my Spyder started firing like crazy. Both of the refs stopped and helped me ( I forgot my wrench kit ). They held it together with some of those plastic fasteners and gave me advice on how to fix it. They chronoed both guns before play and were super friendly.

Over all I give the field a 10 out of 10. The owners are the kindest I'd ever met, and the gear and fields were very good ( though a bit wet ). I enjoyed every game I played and will hopefully return in the future. Bravo!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lazydemonz11 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball zone, paintball bonanza
Review: Urban war zone is a pretty cool field for being in the HOOD. I talk to the owner (Josh) and he said they are getting ready to put an air ball field i can't wait. They still don't have nitro but they will soon. They are a pretty cool group of guys and i can't wait for the better things to come from these guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fredman89 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sam and Dave's
Directions
to the Field:
45 S. make a left at Telephone Rd. within 1/4 mile of 45 on the right.
Review: been to War Zone about 8 times, everytime i've played i had fun. Owners and refs are all cool guys (most of which bilingual). If teams are uneven Refs are willing to jump in and play and even out the teams. Airball field and barrel field are both good. fallback is no netting to separate the two fields. As far as prices about the same as everywhere else. $15 flat rate for field use, $10 all day air. no fee's for byop. All of our guns have been chrono'd evertime we play and safety and rules are covered once release forms are received, everyone was required to have a mask before entering fields. Fields are small fut they are improving. Their VIP membership is very worth buying if you play normally. It was $30 last time i played and it included unlimited air and field entry for a month. like i said, it is worth the money. And the owners are always willing to take input from their players.

overall i'd rate the field 9 out of 10. Better scores will come with more fields/settings
Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 4:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

octoman Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Zone, Paintball Bonanza, Choo Choo's Family Fun Center, Texas Adventures, and pretty much everywhere else...
Review: Urban war zone is a cool field. They opened within the last month and I've been twice. It's nice to play on a field that is so close to downtown (I live near the heights) - it only takes me 10 minutes to get there.

They only have two fields, but I talked to the owner (juan) and he said he would be opening more soon. The guys who run the place are probably the most friendly out of all the places I have played at before. I think the best thing is that they are open at night - the website says 11pm is closing time, but I was playing with a group until almost 1 am and they didn't kick us off the field.

I have my own stuff, but I thought it was cool that my girlfriend got a thermal mask standard with her rental - no more upgrading! The prices are fair, a box of diablo heat is $60, field fee was $15 and there is no fee to byop. I'm not sure what all day air was, but $10 dollars rings a bell.

Downside, they told me they would have nitro but it wasn't working when I showed up with my crew. Upside, they comped me free C02 for the inconvenience... so on the whole I had a great time and am looking forward to the field having nitro and airball.

Based on service, price, and most of all location I'd give the field a 6.5 out of 10...probably a 7 out of 10 when they get the nitro system working.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 31st, 2006 at 3:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media