paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Killer Paintball Indoor Park / Killer Paintball Indoor Park / Killer Paintball Indoor Park / Killer Paintball Indoor Park

Killer Paintball Indoor Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
48Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (734) 955-9456
Address: 29350 Northline Rd.
Romulus, Michigan 48174
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
zynknight Saturday, February 5th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: My friends and I had a great time at this field. The only complaint is that there was paint everywhere. It was really hard to run around. I slipped so many times trying to get to cover. I think if the field was cleaned up a bit and the cover rearranged (the defending team has a huge disadvantage) this place would be awesome. Paint being everywhere made it impossible to run without falling.

The signal to the end of the game could be better as well. When the whistle blows, usually only one side can hear it. As my friend and I were walking out, we got ambushed by a group who didn't know the game was over. I got shot like 5 times

It was a good deal when it was free rentals, but they recently started charging 10 dollars for rentals. They have 2 fields, but most people only play on barrelgrounds. 15 admission+rental for 1 field was good, but now 25 is kinda a lot. Other fields are 30 for admission and rentals but they have multiple fields
Last edited on Saturday, February 5th, 2011 at 7:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOINDEF Monday, September 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lone Wolf, Hell Survivors
Directions
to the Field:
the fastest and easiest way to get there is 75 south to 94 west, to middlebelt. the left on middlebelt for 2.5 miles, left on Northline and its right there on the left hand side.
Review: great place to play for indoor speedball and an inside bunker/ warehouse style setup.

The staff is great and does a good job at keeping things fair and is helpful with the knowledge they have.

Prices aren't too bad, plus they also have some deals going on and certain days of the week are deals as well.

The only outdoor field they have is outback behind the building, which it wasnt too bad, but if you play it later in the day, your kind of screwed to a disadvantage because the sun sets right down the field so one side CANNOT see anything when their attacking.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

USMC_V1.0 Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Metro Airport Area
Review: I am extremely new to paintballing but would like to share my thoughts in regards to my initial impression of Killer Paintballs facilities and employees. As with any new hobby, I was flying blind on where and how, to become immersed into the sport. I sought out advice from the shop where I purchased my equipment and they would not speak negatively about Killer Paintball, but didn’t have anything good to say about it either. I chose to go the since it was close to home and was indoors. Upon entering the facility, I was disgusted by the smell and conditions of the building. There was what seemed to be an oil slick on the carpeting from the front door to the lobby area. As I waited for over 20 minutes for someone to help me at the front counter, I could not help but realize that this operation was being run by a group of people who didn’t care about customer service or my patronage. As I tried to ask questions about fees, rules and general advice I was given the shortest and rudest answers I’ve ever received. I was actually more confused about the rules after asking, than when I had arrived. I proceeded to pay the entry fee and geared up to join my first game. The first game consisted of about 12 people who ran, slipped and slid around the “barrel grounds” trying to shoot at one another. I had absolutely no idea who was on my team and what the objective was. To say that it was anarchy is an understatement. A simple explanation and tour of the field by the referee (14 years old at most) would have prevented me from being shot by my own team. I have been involved in what I consider “high risk” hobbies most of my life, but this was the worst event I have been involved in by far. Taking into consideration that I am new to the sport and have nothing to compare it to, I would still give Killer Paintball a rating of 2/10. The facilities, employees and referees were the worst greeting into the sport that I could have imagined. I can only hope that there are other fields in Michigan that treat their CUSTOMERS with respect and admiration. I hope continue my paintball hobby at those establishments, as I will never go back to Killer Paintball again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

gows2dkw Monday, March 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
futureball outdoor, Hell Survivors, futureball (indoor re-ball)---- all are way better options, when the seasons come around
Directions
to the Field:
near middlebelt road... very close to DTW airport.. turn right on middlebelt; tan building with "killer" painted in white paint on the side
Review: well, its indoor... so it automatically gets +points for that.... but thats where the good news ends... I went on the BYOP wednesday evening session.. (the website doesn't give the field price, but they charge you 15$ (perfectly reasonable, most fields charge this) but for that kind of bankroll, you expect the place to be in amazing shape... nope. its in a old machine shop so I guess thats cool. they have two fields, a kind of rec-ball esqe one, which I thought this was unique and fun to play on. Their speedball field was garbage, they had (i counted 5 inflateable bunkers- the rest were made of plastic piping. The staff were very thorough, and obnoxious, but for safety this seems necessary. Both fields were in terrible shape, they threw down cheap astro-turf instead of rubber matting, so they never clean the fields. An inch of paint was on every surface, so not that great to play out the bunkers. also there was a small pond in the middle of the rec-ball field (perhaps installing some drains would help with this), so alot of vital bunkers were un-playable, giving an obscene advantage to the other side. poorly lit, poorly mainteniced, and overpriced.... one may ask, "why even play here?" well there aren't any MI indoor pb fields to my knowledge... my advice, if you got an itchy trigger finger during the dead of winter, go to futureball reball, their fields are at least clean, so you can get alot of practice w/o getting covered in filth and mold.
Last edited on Monday, March 15th, 2010 at 10:18 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cultfanA5 Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire Creak , Lonewolf East, Futureball, No Limits Action Park.

First indoor park ive played at so not much to compare it to. It has two fields inside. Less variety then im used to. But i like the fact that you can play day or night, rain/sleet/snow or shine. One field is speedball field the other is a barrels/pallets urban style field. Due to the fact that it is in a warehouse it gives it a pretty cool feel to it.
Directions
to the Field:
Corner of Northline and Middlebelt in Romulus. Right across the street from 7/11. Drove by it the first time but they have a decent sized sign in the window.
Review: The field had a nice sized staging area. Tons of tables/lockers to setup your gear and reload in between games on. The guy operating the front desk was putting on the "hardass" persona but was helpful with all my questions and very patient and clear explaining the rules of the field. Paint looked a bit pricey, but it was BYOP if you brought your own gear i had a few cases left over from the other day so i didnt buy any. The turnovers for the games were at a pretty decent rate. They were quick but not rushed. The reff sat amongst us and kept an eye on how long it was taking us to wipe off hits and refill our pods/hoppers. One thing i was a little discouraged about was that although the guy at the front desk said we were required to crono below 260 to play. There was no enforcement of it. A few guys walked right in and picked right up and played. The reff was very active in watching for hits, enforcing rules, and keeping the games running smoothly. The players were friendly. A younger crowd then im used to. But they played fair and worked together smoothly. I will definitely return to this field. Especially during the winter months. If you have a woman you want to play paintball with you or are a female yourself go on a friday night. Ladies play for free. Pretty cool deal.

Im giving this one a 7/10. It is what it is. Its a newer field and a work in progress. Definitely has potential to improve. It was a good experience but i know there's better fields out there for indoor play. Time will tell.
Last edited on Sunday, June 7th, 2009 at 4:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rzasbobdigital Thursday, June 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Futureball
Review: Killer Paintball offers great games on two fields: speed ball and barrel grounds. I believe they rotate the arrangment of the fields every two weeks. The games are fast paced and you get to play alot of them in a 3 hour session. The staging area is large with lockers and tables for setting up your gear and cleaning up after gameplay. It takes you less than a minute to get on the fields from the staging area which is awesome. They crono at 265fps. The refs are helpful and are always checking for barrel bags in the staging area and on the field after gameplay. Paint prices and air cards are priced fairly. Sometimes they have whitebox paint for budget ballers, but otherwise they usually have JT surge and more expensive brands. The fields are pretty nice besides some roof leakage which has improved since the winter. Standing water on the carpet can be really slippery. I have slipped. The refs adjust teams as the game session goes on so that really good players are placed on different sides so that the games are more fair.

Overall I would give Killer paintball an 8 out of 10 because they have fair prices, quick access to the staging area, friendly and helpful ref's, and good safety outside of the slippery floor fall factor.

My number one thing holding me back from giving a better rating is the leaky roof.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bakeup Sunday, February 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Old Killer Paintball in Livonia
Hell Survivors
Futureball Outdoor
Review: This is the new Killer Paintball indoor field located near Metro Airport. The building looks like and old, run-down factory or shop. Walking in, the staging area is large, with lots of tables and lockers for you to use. It was snowing when I went, and almost everywhere I went (staging, fields, bathroom) there was water drippingfrom the ceiling. The place is pretty open, and there is only netting and a plastic tarp between the staging area and the barrel grounds field.

Field entry is reasonable, $15 for first session, $20 for both. Sessions on Sat. are 2 PM to 5 PM and 6 PM to 9 PM. They have 4 kinds of paint. I'm not sure of all the types, but the prices were $35, $40, $45, and $55. The $40 was Battle Tested Rec Paint. CO2 is $0.10 per ounce (not sure about compressed air,but they do have 4500 psi), and $10 all day air. Their rentals are 98 Customs with tank, goggles, hopper, and one air fill for $25. They have some snack foods and drinks, but I don't know what or how much.

This field chronos at 260 fps. The ref's were really good about wearing masks and barrel socks. They seem to understand the liability involved. They were also good on the fields dividing up teams, explaining the rules, watching hits, and helping to get shot players off the field. They do have a 10 foot rule on their barrel grounds field, but not speedball.

There are 2 fields currently, but it looks like there is room for more in some of the unused areas of the building. There is a speedball field and a barrel grounds field. I only played speedball once. The field seemed to be a decent size (I don't know how big a regulation field would be). The field was pretty poorly lit though, and it was hard to see down to the far end of the field with all the shadows. I watched a game later in the day, and they let quite a large number of people play. There were 4 people behind one bunker. That's just too many people on the field. The barrel grounds field was a good size for many people to play. Most games were about 15 on 15. We played single elimination, respawn, and capture the flag. There are many bunkers and they seem to be laid out well. The only problem I have with the field is a wall that runs along the middle of the field, parallel to the length of the field, and is about a third of the length of the field. This wall divides the field in half and causes every game to be won or lost in these narrow corridors. It was cool at first, but got old quickly. I would like to see the whole rest of the building be opened up for a massive barrel grounds field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NrthnRebl Monday, February 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lone Wolf, Hell Survivors..
Directions
to the Field:
Middlebelt Exit from I-94... Head South to Northline Rd make a left and its the first building on your left across from a 7-Eleven gas station.
Review: Have played there the last few weekends since they reopened in January. The staff is friendly and helpful the prices are reasonable and its a continuing work in progress. 2 Fields indoor... Barrel / pallet bunkers for a rec ball field and thier xball speedball field. They keep the games jumping you never sit for long between games.

$15 entry, $10 all day air, $37-$50 in 4 grades of paint to choose from... Rental equipment is $25.

Like I said it is a work in progress, they opened as fast as they could and are still working on the place continually to improve it. Its a fun place to shoot some paint instead of reballs. So give it a try and I'll see ya on the field =)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coachpete Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This field has been closed down and I think they are trying to relocate to another facility since the shopping mall they were located in is now closed. i have heard good things about this field in the past and i was upset to find out that it has been closed on the 17th of May, this year.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

INVERTMINI02202 Tuesday, May 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No Limits Extreme Action Park, Lone Wolf West, Futureball Paintball,
Review: The players there were great all the staff was very helpful Paint is affordable ranging from $35 to $47 5 types to choose from $10 all day air or $1 per thousand PSI and $15 for a session and $20 for both I think that’s about as affordable as it gets.

And for all those that were complaining about the floors the reason for them being in such poor condition is that this weekend is there last weekend. There holding a 3 vs. 3 tourney Sat So there is no reason for them to clean the floors all that well considering the fact that the mall is closing therefore they are closing.

But they are scheduled to reopen in mid June in a new location I-94 and Ecorse Rd in Romulus some where in that vicinity that is all that I know for now but over all the staff there was great and very informative on there future move.

All the calls the ref's made were fair and there was no disputes most of the players were using the honor system no paint checks needed. In conclusion I would give this field a 10 out of 10

Great service+Cheep prices=Good times
Last edited on Tuesday, May 13th, 2008 at 7:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media