paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Extreme Paintball Field / Paintball Extreme Paintball Field / Paintball Extreme Paintball Field / Paintball Extreme Paintball Field

Paintball Extreme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 4075 Homestead Duquesne Rd.
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania 15122
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Kazkid8 Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
woods>suck
Review: ok...i never went here yet, but i am planning to and am VERY excited to....

lets see...7 bucks entry...and BYOP!!!!!!!!(sundays)

i can get GOOD paint at Punishers Paintball supply for only 35 bucks...(actually my favorite next to midnight and blaze) and i have a 16oz. co2....probly 4 bucks to fill.....

so thats like...less than 50 bucks fer 3 hours...then i can hand over 7 more bucks fer 3 more hours.....WOWOWOWOW!!!

and from teh reveiws...the feild sounds perfect fer me....nice airball and speedball...a classic mounds feild...and a HUGE woods feild...i can't wait to go...i hope to go in september....i just need 57 bucks....hmmm

~~

ok...wooo! i went....and it was kick arse.....

i played mostly airball...and no it's NOT an extra fee....and it's a very good feild too....

um...idk really what to say except that i had a blast...pbx has team Pitt university play there EVERY week...and thats awsome, they r really cool, i had a blast and i AM goin tomarow...can't wait to go....
Last edited on Saturday, September 11th, 2004 at 1:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbxwhat Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crazy dave's, riverside renegades, urban assault.
Review: I have been playing at this field for a while now and i have been coming to read messages here too, the message from whi86tey that says the field is unsafe is just not true. the other thing that he said about the guy who " attacked him " was kind of over stated. i was playing at the time and the person he is accusing comes there alot also. him and his group that he comes with are good people and fun to play with ( but not against ). im sure there were reasons for what happened. the refs handled it well though i feel they had enough discipline to handle the situation and still allow everyone to have fun. and if anyone else feels that the field is only for amateurs that is just wrong if the woods course is not enough then just take a trip up to airball and have a go at that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Whi86tey Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Riverside Renegades is a much better place to play, but much more expensive. Much more safer.
Review: This is a truthful review and is to the best of my knowledge as I can describe it. I HAD AN AWFUL THING HAPPEN TO ME AT THIS FIELD SO PLEASE READ!!

I went to this field like 6 years ago when I first started playing paintball. I returned this Sunday June 27, 2004 because of the $7 all day open play and bring your own paint. The pavilion they have is pretty cool and they actually have bathrooms and stuff, but that is all way too far away from the fields. You have to walk up a very steep hill to get to the fields from the main pavilion. I looked around at all the people who were playing, they were mostly kids, some high school kids, and only a handful of college kids. I looked at their equipment and they were all beginners. I was thinking, man, no one who has any experience plays at this field. I can now see why for obvious reasons.

This field is very unsafe, they do not have a person at the chronograph and no one makes sure that everyone has choreographed their gun. I could have just went right up to the field without ever chronographing my marker. They do not re-chronograph guns in between games either. Temperature changes can alter a guns velocity, I guess these guys don't know?? The only thing they care about is barrel plugs; safety is more than just a barrel plug though.

The refs that ran our games were very unprofessional. There were two of them. They blew the whistle to start the game and then they just stood around and talked to each other. I thought I got hit in the side of my back and I felt around, but didn't have any paint on my glove, so I asked the ref to check me. He rolled his eyes and then very slowly, taking his good old time, walked over and checked me. It took like seriously 45 seconds for him to check me and he was only 15 feet away.

First we played on the speed ball field, which is on a slope?? One teams starts at he bottom of the slope and the other at the top. The team at the top has a definite advantage for obvious reasons. The bunkers are made of logs driven into the ground. The bunkers have huge gaps between them and are not very good for cover. I got so much spray on me that I had to change clothes after 4 games. The center of the field is difficult to move though on the sides. There are no bunkers on the sides of the field at the middle. It forces you to go into a valley under a bridge, which is a death trap. You can also go on the bridge, but there is little cover there, and two bunkers have perfect angles on you. Its impossible to get through the middle of the field without getting hit because of the large gap between bunkers. It usually ends up as a stand off between the two teams, because no one wants to move through the middle. Its just not a very good designed field for speed ball.

Next was the woodsball field, which really wasn't a woods ball field at all. It was like an indoor field, but outside in the woods. They had a really cool fort that was awesome right in the middle of the field. There were a lot of close quarters battle situations within, and around the fort which was cool. CQB is cool, but I think they should have the guns turned down for this field to like 260 feet per second. Again, another safety issue. The two teams started so close together and we were able to see each other's starting positions, this really eliminated any opportunity for a stealthy attack. There was no sneaking around on this field, which is a big part of woodsball play. This was more like speedball, but outside in the woods. Once again, the field was on a hill, which is a disadvantage for the bottom team. The field is not a woodsball field at all, so don't go to this field for the woodsball.

STOP AND READ THIS PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was involved in a "situation" on the woods ball field. I bunkered two dudes about my age behind a wall near the fort. I popped out around the wall and I shot them both and saw that they were hit, so I ducked back in behind the wall. They had no idea what hit 'em. One dude called hit, but the other dude came around the corner with his gun blazing eventhough he was hit. He was unloading on me from like a foot away so I started to return fire. He then ran back behind the wall. I was hurting so I started to walk off the field with my gun in the air. Then I got pushed in the back. The dude seriously wanted to fight me. I turned around and he pushed me again so I pushed him back and pointed my gun at his face and he backed down. I didn't know what the hell I was doing, I was just trying to defend myself. The refs just stood there while this was going on and they just told us to leave the field, they didn't even try to separate us, my teammates had to come to my aid. When I got back to the safe zone, I lifted up my shirt and I had big bloody welts all over my stomach, back, and sides. This does not happen with a gun shooting at 300 feet per second, I don't care how close. Everyone there couldn't believe the welts on my body. I went down to the pavilion to talk to the field owner. He was a college kid about my age, he was sorry that that happened and he radioed to one of the refs to have him come down to the pavilion. The owner chronoed the gun, IT WAS SHOOTING 360 FEET PER SECOND!!! That is inexcusable and very unsafe. The owner only made the kid sit out one game, and he readjusted the gun. I was very unhappy, so I left, and needless to say I will never be back. I called the police, but I signed a release form so there is nothing they can do. I can't pursue the field for damages, basically.

The playing fields are alright, but the field as a whole is unsafe. The refs do not do anything. That dude should have been banned from the field for acting the way he did, but the owner did nothing. I should have asked for my money back, but I think I would have killed him if he said no. The field should ensure that everyone has chrongraphed thier gun, but they don't. A major safety issue. Do not go to play there, and definately do not let your kids play there. They might encounter a similar situation. What if I would have been hit in the goggles, it probably whould have went shattered my mask , and I would probably be blind. What if that happened to your kid?? There is nothing you can do because of the release form. Don't let them play there!

DO NOT GO TO THIS FIELD, THIS TRULY HAPPENED, I AM NOT TRYING TO FALSELY HURT THE FIELD'S REPUTATION, THIS WAS A TRUE EVENT, I DESCRIBED THE EVENTS AS ACCURATE AS I CAN
Last edited on Sunday, June 27th, 2004 at 2:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

Brian S. Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
My Friends back yard
Operation Paintball
Review: GREAT FIELD
So far iv been there three times, and its great. The woods ball field is great, with a bridge and all. The fort field is my favorite. A mad dash for the tower in the middle makes for a good time. Never seen the air ball or trenches field. Now, thats the field, time for the refs.
They can be described in one word but im gonna give you a few more. Stupid, lazy, dont pay attention to the game. First time i was there the refs were great, second time was a joke. They stood at the top of the tower on the speed ball field, which is the best place to go. Well they said we could still go up there. Someone on the other team ran up there and i shot him. Well i sliped and hit the ref, then he started yelling at me, so next match i shot him again. The third time was a little better but the guy didnt pay attention. We had to yell to him when we eliminated everyone on the other team, then he blew the whistle. Then another match someone on our team was the last person left, against 3 on the other team. He was hiding, waiting for them to go by. The ref wanted to end the match so he told the other team were our guy was.
Im gonna give it a 10 because this is a field review, and the field is great, just be warned the refs are idiots
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pande84793 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: First, let me say that I am representing the 30 something crowd here. I understand that many of the reviews are from die-hard teenagers. I give you guys a lot of credit for having the energy and the cash to play this game as often as you do.
As far as my review goes... I organized a paintball excursion as a bachelor party for my brother and a few of his close friends. I had never been paint-balling before, but had a great time.
I contacted several other paintball places in the area before settling on PBX. The first place that I contacted was in Bridgeville. I did not care for the rude and poor customer service that I was shown on the phone. Condescension does not sit very well with me. I could tell the woman on the phone was just reading information & price quotes off a sheet. I guess she didn't want my money.
The name of the second place that I checked escapes me at the moment. The customer service was good,but the price structure was too convoluted for my taste. I felt like I was being hustled. So, they didn't get my money either.
I finally settled on Paintball Extreme. I was met with friendly, courteous staff who listened to all my questions and then answered them all. Their price structure is simple. They offer a flat rate. Everything is included! No shell game tactics here. They advised me that throughout the day we may need more paintballs and that there was a cost for that. We did infact wind up purchasing more. But we bought them in bulk which saves money and the cost was nominal.
The instruction & training before the games was clear and helpful. The referee was also very good. We played 3 out 4 fields that they had. It was a blast; made me feel like a kid again! The ref gave us good suggestions & tactics. He never got in our way or caused us any trouble whatsoever.
So, if you are looking for a great place to play with courteous staff and affordable prices - I would highly recommend Paintball Extreme in West Mifflin.
Submitted for your approval.
Paul Anderson
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PB-Snake Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Assault
3 Rivers
Review: First, i would like to say it is CHEAP only 10 dollars to enter and BYOP so you cant go wrong. Second, Everyone there is very nice and helpful, my friend got to use one of their guns for free and also people their will always try to help you fix their gun witch is great. Third, i would like to mention the fields, The woods ball is an all around good field if you like woods ball. The normal speed ball field sucks dont waste your time on it and the Air ball field is good but could be better some of it needs some work. Lastly, The refs our nice other than the red head but i can deal with him. Although, Their refs really dont get into the game they just stand on the side.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballSoNiX Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers, Op-PB, Combat zone
Review: I was there with pbsk8er from the review under mine. I agree with him. That place did suck. He kinda over exagerated the incident with the two players, but i agree that the ref did suck. Paint is very good, RPS advantage i think, at only 65 a case. admission is only $7. although, self chronoing, is not a good idea. There should have been someone watching the chrono at all times. The walk to the airball field was horrible. Man, that was one steep hill. The enitre airball field and the surrounding area was a big mud hole after about an hour or two. That was a mess, but i guess the field cant take all the blame for that one. The airball field floor was mulch. this is a BIG mistake. I tried sliding twice, with the mulch and mud, i beefed it on both tries. Its the mulch, because ive played in the mud quite a bit up at Three rivers where their fields are grass and the such, and perfect slides resulted every time. So if anyone from PBX reads this, please ditch the mulch. I didnt get to play on the woodsball fields like my teammate nark (pbsk8er) but from what i saw they looked very nice. Kinda small in size, but there were some bridges and forts. Very nice work on those. The one field was a large fort with a small ridge overlooking it, perfect sniper spot :)... once again nice work PBX.
Finding the place was hard, but the roads are confusing. I guess you cant have everything. As bad as we got schooled by college novices and amateurs with their super fruity 9 million rounds a nanosecond guns, we did meet some pretty cool guys. So between the bad and the good, 7 is a bit high i feel for overall setup and running of the place, but they do have some nice woodsball fields. Oh, i forgot to mention, that airball field was just plain bad. So 7 is a bit high, but for some nice woodsball and the best prices in town (its byop on sunday) it is still somewhat deserving.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballsk8er3 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
3-river's paintball
Review: Well its out doors so today was a retarted day to play paintball cause it was so cold and i couldnt get my gun to stop shootin at like 370 it took like a half hour to get it down or the crono is messed up. Well to start off it is so hard to find this place i mean really we got lost going up there and it took like 30 min to find our way. Then there is no where to really hang out at its all outdoors and you have to crono yourself. Payin for air isnt cheep but i met a few really cool people. But to get to the airball field is a walk and a half no lie. its at the top of a hill across from a cemitary. I played in one of the 2 rec ball fields but they are both nice looking. the air ball field aint bad at all its a really nice size but the snake they made sucks. its to mini lay downs and a big tube in the middle its crappy. there were so many college teams there. They are such babies they cry over every little hit. There was one incodent where 2 guys shot eachother at the same time and started yelling at each other. well the one kid started leaving and the other stayed in and kept playing. Well the kid that was leaving turned around and shot the kid . After like 3 min of arguing and the game ending the ref finally walked over. Then the refs were always walking around and then this one college team took the field when every team but mine left and started practicing plays. And the ref was a friend so he let them stay when they are supposed to share the field. I will probably never go there again. i will go to 3 rivers
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

20654 Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i dont know
Review:

this place HAS A GREAT PRICE ONLY $7 ON SUNDAYS!. aND ON SUNDAYS YOU CAN BRING YOUR OWN PAINT. HAS 4 GREAT FIELDS. i GO AT 9AM FOR TEAM PRACTICE ON SUNDAYS AT AIRBALL THERE nice field changes every day. speedball field is a little small but has mounds bunkers and a bridge great play at that field. THE WOODS FIELD IS AWSEOME. IT IS HUGE , HAS A BIG FORT IN THE MIDDLE WHICH IS GREAT. I HAVENT GOT TO THE MOUNDS FIELD YET BUT I HEARD ITS NICE.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JUBA Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Assult Riverside Renegades
Review: Ok..........Heres what I thought of the first 2 fields........I havent got to the Air Field and the other one yet....But here is the first 2 You start off at the speedball field.......Its ok.......I mean I'm not a big fan of speedball but from what Speedball courses I have done............This one gave a good exciting play. It has mounds....not too big though so from how I see it..........It's basically a one man mound. It hasa bridge in the middle.....which you can walk across...and go under. Then you got the coolest one....this course has a big fort close to the middle......closest to the bottom of the hill.....It has a tower like top that you can go in.....once spotted all *Hell* breaks loose on you.........the hill by the way is on a slight slope......This course also provides great cover with big mounds........lots of shrubs.......and differnt sized mounds.... CONCLUSION : Give it a try at least once.....you wont regret it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media