paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tactical Paintball Games Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Games Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Games Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Games Paintball Field

Tactical Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
3Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (604) 501-9966
Address: Nullem Way & Hwy17
Tsawwassen, British Columbia V4C 7W9
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
98 or BT-4 Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawassen Paintball Games
Directions
to the Field:
http://tacticalpaintballgames.ca/index.php
Review: I went to Tactical Paintball Games (aka TacPG) once for their Red Dawn II scenairo. I am very impressed by the size of the field and the amount of stuff they have in it. Just buildings alone, they have well over 10 and there are even a few two stories buildings.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 at 7:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

green_arrow Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panther- Crap paint, worse reffs, understaffed, but BIG fields 3/10
Marple ridge- Junk paint, crap fields ( a tree fell during our game,, and not a small field either) 3/10
Ambush- meh....
TNT- Not too shabby. lots of pump players and great paint,, awesome staff 8.5/10
North Shore- Ok paint, small narrow field, but good staff ( thanks andy) but the air tanks are bunk.
Review: Like Colin said previously, this field is TOP NOTCH. The owners/manager (jake, derek, matt) all have their head going in the right direction making this the BEST and ONLY GUN OWNERS ONLY field. The concept of having an "owners only" facility makes things run MUCH smoother.

As a player from Gung Ho Guns tactical squad, we take pride in helping ( be it volunteer build days) to helping set up each morning and keeping an eye on things during the day. This place is run by staff, but a lot of the time games are self-reffed and there is LITTLE TO NO CHEATING. Most games are ended with high-fives leaving the field as a show of respect. Yah, teams want to win here when we play, but all we really want is to see the best day of paintball possible, safe, fun and exhillarating.

With no rental equipment, there is only what you bring to use. the air fills are ALWAYS over 3500 psi and usually at 4000+. Paint is SUPER REASONABLY priced at 80 (draxxus bronze) and 90 (for draxxus silver) and with paint being "marked shells", you can bring it back to re-use the next week. ( only place i know that allows that!). Staff are TOP NOTCH. Refs, super fair and get right into the action. Problems are delt with swiftly and justly ( seen a few kicked out,, and a possible firing squad too....)

the field is great, lots of covered tables for people and gear and BBQ's are known to break out most saturdays for lunch ( at a nominal price for a burger)

GAMES: between 8-12 different style games from a "centerflag" speedball type, to town defense, to all out ninja sniper game (the COOLEST so far).

The one thing that makes this place is the people. We are all friendly (with a large amount of bragging and ball-busting) There are NO ego's here ( the markers yes,, the bravado,, no) because you will be put down a peg very quickly and not wanted to play there anymore. If u have a gun prob, there are people there who are Techs who can fix anything,,,, and if you can't,,, someone ALWAYS is willing to lend a spare marker,,, and you usually have to say no,, cause people keep bringing more over and lending.

All I can say is check this place out. its worth the days trip and you will play there often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Colin Basnett Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawwassen Paintball Games
Tsawwassen isn't bad by any means, however it's plagued by the fact that it is essentially a muddy renter cesspool. Overpriced by comparison to Tactical at a full 40 dollars more a case. Gun owners will be disappointed by this field, renters will have a blast.

Panther Paintball
Garbage. The rounds take forever to begin, the paint is trash and they only have one referee on (at least the time I went there). Oh, and they made us all wait in the play area to keep track of everyone because they were horribly understaffed. Don't waste your time on this field.
Review: Now to clarify the three years played at this field, I must also add that I played at this field when it was under different ownership as Big Shots Paintball. Let me continue to say that Big Shots was fun while it lasted, but in April of 2007 when Tsawwassen Paintball Games came in and overhauled the place, there was new life breathed into my favorite field.

Let me first paint the scenery for you.

The field is smaller than Tsawwassen, roughly 80 x 120 meters which makes for roughly a square kilometer worth of playing area. The field is completely flat, unlike it's larger, but uglier brother, Tsawwassen Paintball Games, across the road.

That's another thing that a lot of Paintball fields are missing nowadays: grass and foliage. Luckilly for us, Tactical has plenty of that. That's not to say that you'll be toiling through brambles all day, because you won't. The field is very, very, very well kept (I volunteer to maintain the field along with many other dedicated players who love the field just as much as I do).

The field is split into 3 major sections in my mind.

There's the Town area which includes 6 houses and 2 two-story buildings densely placed together. Surrounding the houses are a plethora of assorted tire, wood and natural bunkers, all very well kept and maintained. The grass in this area is simply a dream to play on. It gets cut in the Spring and Summer to it's not slowing anyone down, and it's optimal for sliding into bunkers. I could go on forever about this area because it's by far the funnest area to play in, but you really have to try it yourself.

Then there's the Forest area surrounding the town on 2 of 3 sides. The Forest, more specifically in the Summer, is quite an exhilarating experience to fight in. There's enough open areas to allow passage through the woods, but enough gray areas to instill paranoia in it's combatants. Combat in the woods is especially close quarters and loads of fun to flank through since most games are full field.

Finally there's Firebase 'Gloria'. This area is sort of hit or miss depending on the day, but for the most part it's an interesting and fun area to play in. This area houses the game 'Attack and Defend the Firebase', which can either make you groan or be giddy depending on what side you're on. Attacking is the most fun in this area because the area is surrounded by thick woods all the way around, and the attacking team has full access to all 360 degrees of it. The defending team must stay inside the defending area comprised of a little over half a dozen bunkers, a pillbox and a daunting two-story tower. Defense is incredibly hard, and nerve-racking as you hear your attackers inch closer, but oh so rewarding if you can pull off a win. This area is generally open during most normal games provided enough people are on the field.

I guess next I should comment on the staff at Tactical. Now I haven't been to many other fields but I really don't see how it could get any better. The staff makes sure everyone keeps their safety equipment on at all times when in the play area, and is quick to help you on the field, be it calling someone out on a hit or a paint check on yourself.

The staff is generally diligent on getting games running quickly. You'll most likely never be waiting more than 15 minutes for another game to start, especially when the management types are around. Not much sitting around goes on, so you're sure to get your money's worth.

Now, one of my favorite things about Tactical Paintball Games is the Ranking system. Basically how it goes down is, you throw 5 bucks on the table and you're entered into their online database of players. Your stats such as your wins, days played and a wide array of awards are stored and updated on their website. And as though that wasn't enough, as you rise through the ranks you get discounts off of ticket prices, retail discounts, paint discounts and the like. You can also form a squad with up to 10 of your buddies (I'm the Squad Leader of the Gung Ho Guns, for example) and build up a reputation amongst field-goers.

And of course, my absolute most favorite thing about Tactical Paintball Games is the players. Never have I played at a place where people are so passionate about woodsball. There are plenty of regulars who are both knowledgeable and friendly, and pose quite a challenge on the field. You'll never find yourself steamrolling a team by yourself, which brings me to my next point.

Tactical Paintball Games is inherently based on teamwork. You play as a team and you lose as a team. This isn't some renter field where you can brag to your buddies about how you killed "like 20 guys that round". It's a satisfying feeling to win as a team, and a learning experience to lose as one.

I could go on and on about how I love this field, but I think it really speaks for itself once you go and experience it. This is the best woodsball field I have ever been to and I can guarantee you you'll feel the same way.

I'd give it a 9 out of 10 because it is a little small, but since this is the best field I've ever been to it deserves a 10.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 29th, 2008 at 1:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media