paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Pearl River Paintball Field / Pearl River Paintball Field / Pearl River Paintball Field / Pearl River Paintball Field

Pearl River Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
8Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 601-795-2946
Address: 517 Restertown Road
Poplarville, Mississippi 39470
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
KBug Friday, December 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Command
Review: We have been playing paintball at Pearl River Paintball for about two years and have had a good time each time. The refs and owners Mr. Larry and Ms. Dottie Wilson are very nice people and do thier best to help you. They may not know the most about paintball but they try. One of the nicest things about this course is the bathrooms. They have working sinks with soap, toilets, and showers. Their woodsball field is very nice with lots of trails and bunkers. They have a very nice fort that they call the castle. It has four large openings, one on each side, with a catwalk around the top of it. I think it is about 40 acres of woods and a big speedball field and a small one. The big one is very nice and has lots of good bunkers, but I have not played on the small one yet. Their pro shop has a decent selection of gear and rental gear. One of the bad things though is that they are not accepting walk ons any more and you have to make an appointment to come and play. The prices are a lot better than most fields, it is about $50 for a box of 2000 paintballs and field fee is $15 or you can get a river rat pass and not pay for field or air for a full year, all you have to buy is paintballs. Update: March 27, 2010
We just had a small group of people that we just went and played with this past Saturday and it seemed to be better in places and worse in places. First, the pro shop did not have as much stuff in it. I did not play on the speedball field because my speedball gun was leaking air and i did not want to play speedball with a 98 Custom. But i did go walk it and on the big speedball field all of the bunkers were deflated but on the half size speedball field they had a bunch of tires stacked and it would have been a great course for a 3 on 3 or 4 on 4. The woodsball field was the same as it was before pretty much. Light brush or heavy brush, plastic corner bunkers, pallets, etc. One other thing that they changed though was the paintballs. They used to sell Karnege Tear paintballs as their expinsive ones but now they sell Karnage Bite paintballs as their expinsive ones ond they are probably just as good. We might be going there again this coming up Saturday and maby I will play on the speedball field and rate on it then and play on some bigger woods.

Update: April 21, 2010
I just went to the Pearl River Paintball website and it is for sale! They have all of the gear, woodsball field, speedball field, and buildings all for sale! That really stinks because I really liked Mr. Larry and Ms. Dottie but hopfully whoever buyes it will keep a good family friendly field and keep the prices affordable and not go way up like Paintball Command.
Last edited on Friday, December 31st, 2010 at 2:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bad_Company1 Friday, May 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Command wayyyyy more expensive
Directions
to the Field:
i don't know i don't drive
Review: This is one of the only fields that i have played at and i am very satisfied with it. they have a half sized speedball field and a full sized one and a 40 acre woodsball field with a castle,fort, and many trails and bunkers scattered around. The people there are nice even though the don't know much about paintball they try thier best to make sure you enjoy your time there. The best part of this field is the BATHROOMS. They have indoor bathrooms with working toilets, sinks with soap, and showers with shampoo. They are also clean too. The only bad thing about the field is they don't accept walk-ons anymore you can only play on scenarios or private bookings. You can also buy a "River Rat" pass which me and my 2 brothers bought to where you can play paintball with no field fee for a year.All you have to buy is paint!
Last edited on Sunday, June 7th, 2009 at 9:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

G100S Thursday, May 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Pearl River paintball has one of the nicest fields. They have 2 speedball fields or one huge one. Their woods ball field is over 40 acres. It's nice to have it for those huge senarios they have every few months. Its not the most populated place but you get their full undivided attention. Some thing you want, they try to get it for you. Their prices are perfect. Fun place to go to. You should go to it.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

4angrybadgers Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
LA Xtreme - expensive, fields are nominally better.
Paintball Command - paint is expensive, fields are definitely better, usually more players.
Review: Fields:
Two speedball fields, one full size and one roughly half size.
One 40-acre woodsball field. There are several small forts/buildings scattered around, along with a number of plastic corner bunkers, wood obstacles, and stacks of 55-gallon drums. The field has a good balance of open areas and dense woods, including some extremely dense sections that are fun for "Hail Mary" type surprise attacks. My only gripe is that the main "fort" is pretty small and shabby (compared to PBC's castle), but I expect it to grow over time.

Prices:
Field fee and air are average. Their paint prices are very cheap compared to others in the area - PRP carries 4 grades of paint, ranging from $40 to $52 per case. They do not sell partial cases, but you can bring back leftover paint and it is considered field paint (unlike most other fields). Also, the 3rd Saturday of the month is bring your own paint (only if you have your own marker). I've played there fairly often in the past 3 months and brought a lot of new players, so the owners have cut a few discounts for me of their own accord.

Hours of Operation:
Same as any other field.

Rules/Safety:
The rules are standard - barrel plugs/covers required off the fields, masks required on the fields, etc. Field chrono limit is 285fps, and they check every player's gun at least once. Occasionally the rules are relaxed when appropriate - if we have 6 experienced players on the field, the game is over, and everyone has safeties and barrel covers on, the refs let us un-mask while still on the field.

Services/Pro shop:
The owners and staff are very helpful. I haven't looked at their pro shop stock, so I cannot comment on it.

Facilities:
As another reviewer mentioned, the bathroom/shower building is great. Multiple toilets, sinks, and showers means you won't have to wait. There is a drink vending machine next to the bathrooms, and the staff keep 3 large coolers full of ice water around the area for the players. The CO2 and air stations are easily accessible, and if you know how to work the air compressors the staff will let you fill your own tanks.

Refs:
The refs are nice, and easy to work with. While they aren't the best at their job, they're good enough for rec games on the speedball or woodsball fields. My only complaint is that a few times they let safety slide TOO much; I have seen new players un-mask during a game, and despite several players yelling at the newbie, the refs didn't do anything. That is a rare occurrence though.

Overall:
I live near Hattiesburg, MS, so the location and price are better than any other field in the area. I've played at PRP 3 times so far and I've had a blast every time. I recommend the field to anyone who just wants to have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tex-eccc Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APG: marginally better than PRP, because of the staff and players. otherwise they are pretty similar. the restroom and pro-shop at PRP are much better
Abbeys Paintball: More knowledgable staff and better players, facilities not as good
LAX Paintball: Better speedball field, woods and pro-shop facilities comparable, but staff and players are much better.
SWAT Paintball: no grass, but the staff is much more knowledgable, and the other players are much more skilled
Directions
to the Field:
take exit 27 off I-59 and take a left, go about 5 miles or so to restertown rd, and take a left, the go two miles and the field is on the left.
Review: Pearl River Paintball is a mediocre field, at best. the majority of the players who play there are unskilled scrubs who know little to nothing about paintball. in fact, the last time i played there, one guy actually assumed that my ego7 was a proto. this was at a tournament. the owners, while they are nice people, don't know much about paintball either. field owners should know whether or not major companies are in business, but one of them asked me if NXe and Planet Eclipse were even still in business. As far as thier reffing staff? after playing two events, i will say that they are learning, but that said, thier ref staff are some of the most in-experienced and incompetent refs i have seen in a long time. it seems to me that they are afraid of being hit, so they don't run in for paintchecks like good refs would, and the are very unsure about the calls they make.

as far as thier speedball field? if you play tournaments, this field is not the one you need to go to for practice. the bunkers they have are the "mighty" bunkers that are shaped like tanks and rockets and trees and cannons. also, the players that play here, not the kind of players you should be playing against if you hope to win. they just aren't skilled or experienced enough to give a challenge.

honestly, i feel that this field has some potential. the owners are very nice, hospitable people, and thier pro-shop, while pretty much barren of any decent items now, has plenty of room to fill out in time, and i feel that at some point in the future they may have a decent pro-shop. the players, while they are scrubs, they are trying, and maybe after a year or two, if they make an effort, maybe they'll be good enough to be called decent.

Really though, this field does do one thing better than any other field in the state. thier bathrooms, for a paintball field, are BY FAR the best bathrooms for a paintball field i have seen. they are indoor bathrooms, with showers, locking doors, flushing toilets, they are clean, they have TP, they even have sinks with soap and water in the bathrooms. and mirrors. much, MUCH better than the port-a-johns they have at most fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

hvyartillery Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Pearl River Paintball is completely AWESOME. Larry and Dottie Wilson are the nicest people I've met in a long time, they take the time to talk with you to find out how to make your experience there more enjoyable,and how to improve their field. I played my first scenario there and for 6 hours it was completely awesome and safely run by safe and competent referees who pay close attention to what they're doing. My team is looking forward to going back Feb. 16 for some well needed practice in order to get back in shape for this year and I can't think of a better field to do this than at Pearl River Paintball. 40 acres of pure paintball experience, what more can a serious paintball player ask for. Thank you, Larry and Dottie, for your hospitality and making my first scenario one of those memories I will share with other paintballers for a long time to come. If you haven't been there yet, you've missed out on one heck of a time. See you in the woods, so stay low,because i aim to get you.











































































Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

killens18 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This Field Is Probably the best in the state. The owners are larry and dottie wilson and they make sure that the field and players are safe. But The woodsball play here is AMAZING!! Bunkers, Small and wide trails, hills, And 40 acres to say the least!! But if you're a speedball person, they have a real adrenaline pumping speedball field!! The Prices here are pretty average, If not cheaper than usual. But Services here are probably the best there is. If you have something broken, they'll give their own time to get it fixed before the next game. And they'll talk with you to get feedback on what they should do different next time. The Proshop has simply amazing. Though small, it has everything you need. But it is growing rapidly. But the facilities At PRP are probably the best you can have. They have showers for those long scenarios, and CLEAN bathrooms!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phillipdear Saturday, May 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played on privet fields since 1995.
Review: I have played paintball since 1995 and enjoyed going to a lot go games in the past. I visited pearlriver paintball this may and it is one of the best fields i have ever seen. The staff and players at the field are verry safety conserned. They always check the guns and equepment that other players bring. They have a large slection of rental guns to rent out. The facilities at the field are brand new . The pro shop is brand new and is growing. The field has on of the best woodsball fields i have ever seen. They play on forty acers that gives you plenty of room to ambush. Overall the field in my openion is on of the best in the state. I encurrage everyone to come try this new field out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media