paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park / Splatter Park

Splatter Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
68Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-8-SPLATT
Address: 5560 C.R. 109
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Split Xero Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not really in the area but:
R.U.S.H. - Home Field and preferred field
Urban Splat - Indoor field near Cincinnati, no comparison there I would choose Splatterpark
Directions
to the Field:
It's really out in the middle of nowhere. BFE for sure. Don't bother with GPS's, they won't have a clue, Have your GPS get you to Mt. Gilead and then use directions off their site.
Review: Safety - The refs we had really enforced the Masks on, barrel socks rules. They keep screaming keep the masks on but thats because people are ignorant and try to take them off. I mean if they want to get shot in the eye with a paintball, ok but damn keep your freaking masks on. You have to wear them while walking to fields cause there are no nets around the fields. Its not that bad just to wear the mask. In fact mine fogged up and I just walked back to the staging area barely seeing to where i could air it out.

Fields - We only played on 6 of the 12 fields there, but those 6 were really cool and unique. Their 12 fields are: Airball (not the greatest airball field I've seen but it was ok at best.), Hyperball, Hypermounds (really large mounds on a football size field), Battle port (my personal favorite, it has ship cargo containers, about 15-20 of them and it was a lot of fun running through them)Hamburger Hole, Splatter Hill, Lost Temple, Ambush alley (didn't play on any of those 4, Snake Pit, Fort Buckeye, Dark Forest (played a game of Hide n seek on this one), and Snipers Hollow.

Hours of Operation - Saturdays and Sundays 10-4 A case of Paint barely makes it this long when you shoot like me and my friends and trust me you don't want to have to buy more.

PRICES (PLEASE READ!)- In order to play you must purchase some kind of package. I can only speak for the bringing your own equipment packages. There are 2 choices: Half-pack which consists of Admission,1 airfill ticket, 1000 WREK ELITE balls, and a free "lunch" ; The Full- pack consists of Admission, 2 airfill tickets, 2000 WREK ELITE balls, and a free "lunch" (I will explain lunch in that section) The Half pack is$40 +tax, the full is $50 +tax. The airfill tickets are the dumbest thing I have ever heard of. With only 2 airfill tickets, use air sparingly, which is probably the reason 2000 paintballs lasted me all day cause normally that would last me 4 hours max but since I knew I wasn't getting unlimited air I was a lot less trigger happy which sucks. now lets say you did run out of paint like my friend did, he went back to buy another case and this is where prices get extreme. 500 BALLS WOULD'VE COST $27, YOU DO THE MATH ON HOW THAT MAKES SENSE. SO MY FRIEND ASKED IF HE COULD JUST GET ANOTHER FULL PACK AND THEY TOLD HIM ONLY ONE PER PERSON PER DAY. WHICH MEANT THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WAY TO GET 2000 PAINTBALLS UNLESS YOU BOUGHT 4 500s WHICH WOULD COST YOU $108. Now I don't pay that much for a case of Evil balls let alone would i EVER pay that much for a case of Wrek Elite. So don't use more than 2000 paintballs in a 6 hour period.

Rules - rules are simple, keep your masks on in the areas you are supposed to and have your barrel socks on in-between games. You can't follow those simple rules, you shouldn't be playing paintball anywhere.

Services - They have repair service for $60/ hr. I don't intend on having somebody else take apart my gun for that much just to tell me i need to spend more money on a part, I'm good. Luckily I didn't have to utilize that option.

Proshop - There wasn't a Proshop at the field

Staff - The staff takes your money

Refs - The refs were very nice. One ref realized we were 3 hours from home and was extremely nice to us. He grabbed us waters every time we came back to the staging area to refill and was just a cool guy to talk to. The ref that did our games was also really cool. He had a loud enough voice to let you know anything happening during the game. Time limits applied to all games, except airball. If you wanted in a game all the refs had 2-way radios to be able to tell you where you could go to an open game. But pretty much when you get in a group, stick with it.

Players - No control over the players but most had the tippman rentals and thought they were gods, but then you had the tourney players that were pretty good with the guns they had and would also let you check it out if you had any questions about it. One guy had a G4 my buddy was interested in and the guy let him hold it and mess with it a little. A Guy that had a Dye outfit, a DM10 and a dick's sporting goods mask, that was good for a laugh every chance you got.

Facilities - Overhead Shelters with a ton of benches.

Food - the free lunch would've probably cost someone $1 total in a grocery store if not less. It consisted of 1 hotdog, 1 bag of doritos and a bottle of water. And if you wanted more you could buy an extra hotdog for $1 or nachos and cheese for $2. Needless to say the lunch held me for about an hour. There was also vending machines for an assortment of things and I probably don't have to say that they were overpriced but of course they were.

Overall - The place was really neat. Being from Dayton and traveling up there for a small trip was worth it. Would we do it again, probably not just for the simple fact the pricing was bad. Oh and i forgot to mention that they get Wrek Elite balls with different shells so you can't bring paint back. A regular group showed us this fun fact.

7 out of 10 for the pricing issues and no unlimited air bull!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXHodgepodgeXx Sunday, February 7th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I-70 (what a joke facility)
Directions
to the Field:
The field really is out in nowhere, and yes you will turn onto the road that says there's a church on it, there's not. also, the sign i hidden by overgrown vines, so drive slow when you're nearing the end of your trip.
Review: Safety- I really do like the saftey here, there are clearly posted rules, the refs monitor your chronoing, and there is even a different chrono down by the sniper hollow field, just for added saftey. the ref's constantly shout, " KEEP YOUR MASK ON!" and it gets annyoning after a while, but for safety i'll put up with it.

Fields- the fields are great, and there are a lot of them too. there's: Airball, Hyperball, Battle Port, Lost Temple, Hamburger Hill, Fort Buckeye, Sniper's hollow, Dark Forest, and Splatter Hill. each one has clearly marked boundaries, and lots of cover in the woodsball fields, the only problem is it's all mud, so there's now overgrowth or brush to hide in. dont wear hunters camo or ghillie suits and expect to hide. it won't work. the Airball is nice, and it's almost always vacant when i play with my team.

Hours- hours are ok, i wish they would stay open longer, though. 9-4 isn't exactly my favorite time.

Prices- Prices are weird, the paint is very cheap and every package gets lunch with it (two hotdogs, one bag of doritos, and a water) for very cheap, but like extra paint and air fill tickets are ridiculously priced for extra's/a la carte.

Rules- see safety.

Services- they have a repair service, but its 60$ an hour, and i havent gotten to use it yet (luckily) so i cant speak for it's quality.

Proshop- There's no proshop, just supply stand.

Staff- the staff is awesome, the refs talk to you as equal, not like you're an idiot. they are honest refs and just want to make sure everyone has fun. they all have cool names too. (one of them is korean and tall, he waers a headband with the south korean flag on it, they call him godzilla lol)

Refs- see staff.

Players- you can't really control who plays at your field, or you'll get lawsuits. most of the players are first time players with crappy tippmann rentals, and thinking they're awesome. but some of them are experienced tourny players, but all are really fun to play with.

Facilities- they are all like shelters, the staging areas and the Supply area, with plenty of benches and tables.

Food- aside from the lunch you get, there are also vending machines with pepsi products, chips and cookies, propel, gatorade, and monster. each is about 1$ over what you'd pay at the grocery store, but whatever. im used to it.

Overall- overall the park is great i love it, with only small improvements to be made i give it a 9 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cornfedkiller Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
XTreme Velocity Paintball, Battle Zone paintball, private property games in various locations. Splatterpark was gearing up for the beginning of the 2009 season when I went. A friend and I took her son and several of his friends, and the boys had a blast there. My concern was more about safety (or should I say lack of it). The ref's were not bothering to chrono. anybody's markers (people like me who brought their own equipment and didn't use a rental). Setting up and getting ready to play I saw at least 5 other guys by-pass the chrono. station and go play. Also, a lot of people in one group (we were in a 20 on 20 group of players) made it very, very hard for the referees to properly ref. the game. A lot of wiping and bonus balling was taking place all day. Also, towards the end of our day there we played the back 40 woodsball course (which is a great course by the way), our group was down on the other side of the hill past the creek and the ref. on the other side just let his group go without warning, all we saw was a mass of people running and firing at us from the top of the hill before our group realized the game even started...needless to say we got slaughtered. After that I asked the ref. why that happened and he said his 2 way radio has been acting up all day and maybe he didn't get word, if that was the case why would the other ref. start the game without confirmation? Overall, its a nice site, the fields are varied and interesting, but the referee's that day were not that good, and a lot of rules violations that are not allowed to go on in our small private games seem to be the norm. at Splatterpark, if you take your kids there be careful, it could potentially be a dangerous place due to these issues.
Review: I put my review in the other fields area. I did not realize that I had done it that way until I finished typing it, so sorry about that. Splatterpark is okay, but for more experienced players with a lot of time and their own equipment this place is pretty much a chaotic place where rules and violations occur constantly. As long as your playing safe yourself and keep your goggles on at all times I'm sure you'll be okay, just be prepared for some bonus balls, some wipers and some hot markers while your there. I would not take kids unsupervised there, due to these concerns.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Logan_pb23 Friday, November 6th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None as great as splatter i travel from dayton to splatterpark a 90minute drive just to play at this field
Directions
to the Field:
its off of i75
Review: This paintball park is the best in ohio ive played at most fields in ohio only splatter park and i70 paintball are the ones i go to now this field is far by the best in ohio and anywere els play at splatter park youll never regret it make your mark at splatter park!!!!;)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

atwood614 Thursday, September 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have yet to try any other fields, but this one definately has my business. This seems a great deal more kid friendly than other fields just by trying to call other places. Many parents were hanging out and felt comfortable while their kids were supervised by a very courteous staff.
Directions
to the Field:
gps didn't work. I called and they talked me in. Check Splatter park's website.
Review: Safety seemed to be number one here. We were given orientations when we were checking out equipment and before we played. They were very patient with my kids and the friends I brought.
The fields were awesome. Every since my kids haven't stopped talking about splatterpark and the video games I had to take them. Hard to believe someone built this place. I couldn't believe how many people were there and how the staff maintained a pretty wild rotation.
It was more affordable to bring 5 kids here than it was Cedar Point. Seems like the kids liked this place better anyways. They haven't stopped talking about it for a week.
I really don't know what services means, but the staff took care of us step by step. Such a relief to be taken care of. Customer service was very awesome considering we didn't have a clue what we supposed to be doing before we got here.
We were mixed in with a group of people that seemed like just a few parents and a bunch of kids. Was a great experience. Everyone was friendly. The free lunch was great, just enough to take the edge off and the kids wanted to go play paintball instead of eat food anyways.
I really didn't know what to expect, but after coming here I am sure the kids will make me drive them again. Well worth the trip for such a fun time. Got to attack an airplane while my kids were hiding behind it. what more could I ask for.
Last edited on Thursday, September 24th, 2009 at 4:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BackInAction Monday, July 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Land Paintball
Hell Survivors
Directions
to the Field:
See website, though they could put up a few signs on the side roads.
Review: Just played this past Sunday with 4 others (we all had our own equipment, ions, minis, vibes, etc.). We were just walk-ons interested in some fun rec ball. We had a blast. Refs provided quick turn-around on games and we moved from field to field often. Free lunch (2 hot dogs, chips and water) and a case of paint and 2 fills (though it might as well be free fills as they never asked for the fill tickets) for $50 ($40 for members). We probably played 12-14 games. Had our group had less downtime between games I'm sure we could have played more. Often the ref's were pushing us to go out again, but we were still resting, refills, etc. I loved that. Nothing worst than fields that have refs that don't push the players onto the field resulting in excessive down time.

My only real complaint is the field paint is way too hard/tick shelled. As it bounces way too often. It shoots great, but it doesn't break. I, and many others, at the field noticed this. I could take a ball throw it hard at the top of a staging area table (knee high table) and the ball would bounce up, hit the ceiling of the shelter (12-14' off the ground) and land without breaking. I've been told that Wrek Elite (brand name of the field paint) is just a private label version of RP Premium. I haven't used RP Premium in some time, so I'm not if RPP has the same issues.

Splatter park is primarily a private group type field (that's where the money is in this sport). There were easily 200+ players at the field on Sunday, probably 80% of those were in private groups of various sizes. Each with their own pavilion and ref(s). The remaining 15-30 (varied throughout the day) walk-ons played on other fields in one group. Though at times we did mix in with small private groups (if invited by them, I guess). I'm told there are far more walk-ons on Saturday than Sunday.

We played different games, elimination, respawn (touch your base and you are back in, timed center-flag game), center flag, attack/defend time limit, medic/rescue, etc. The only game variation I would avoid is zombie. 2-3 players start as Zombies and if they hit you, you become a zombie (after returning to their base). The only way to kill a zombie is a head shot. Which is just about impossible unless you bull rush a zombie with 2-3 players and light him up very aggressively. After ~10 mins on the field I realized the game was down right silly, so I walked off.

We played on all types of fields, air ball (2-4 games), mound field (like the old Pittsburgh NPPL fields), cargo container field (that was fun, but it took some time to really understand how to play on the field) and 2-4 different woodsball fields. They also have a pipe-ball field, but we never played on it.

I had to drive my nephew back to a friends after the day and he wouldn't stop talking the entire 60 min drive. He's probably still talking about it now.
Last edited on Monday, July 13th, 2009 at 7:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phelen8 Tuesday, October 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Franbar
Take-A-Hit Paintball
I-70 Paintball
Review: This park has some great fields, the pricing isn't bad and the paint isn't bad, I really just have two misgivings about this park.

1: If you are not in a private group expect to wait around A LOT. I went there for my bachelor party, got there at 9a and waited around 2 hours for a game to start. By the time we left at 5 I think I got maybe 5 to 6 games in, and not long games, maybe 20-30 minute games, that means I was standing around doing nothing for about 5 HOURS. In short don't come here unless you have a private group or like sitting on your butt.

2: The Big Games are terrible, I said it terrible. They are not scenario games, they are basically 1000 to 1600 people randomly shooting at each other. Their is no set insertion rules, I had several times where the enemy was inserted right behind me, and several times where I was inserted right in front of two enemy fronts. There are barely any refs on the fields, plenty outside of the fields, many times I saw people wipe and wipe some more. There was one time one person held off probably 30 to 40 people because he wouldn't stop wiping. We finally just gave up and went home.

In conclusion, Good field, decent paint and price, bad refs and Big Game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SwampRat17 Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JJ's in Marietta
Directions
to the Field:
website
Review: I am living in Athens, OH attending O.U. and finding a quality commercial paintball field within a two hour drive is becoming a chore. We have a group of about 10 to 20 locals and students who have resorted to playing at our friend's house and using a local dive shop to keep us supplied with paint and air. A group of us will head out once in awhile in search of the Holy Paintball Grail err field and come back usually with mixed results.

J&J's in Marietta is nothing more than our own private field but with strangers in an uncontrolled paintball atmosphere so that trip was dissapointing.

We did make the 6 hour trip to Hellsurvivors in Pickney. MI for their Monster Game and that was awesome but not feasable for weekend rec play 2-3 times a month.

Splatter Park was next on our list. Our group of 8 made the trip in about 2 hours. We never looked too closely at the directions figuring once we got close we would see signs. Haha, even on their road I almost drove past thier sign as it was soooo small.
It was a Sunday and we were their for open play. We brought our own equipment and showed up at 9:45, 15 minutes before the games were supposed to start. By the time we got enough people and the refs felt we had enough it was 15 past 11 am.

Chrono was a joke, many people never even chrono'd and the refs never really checked. The rules and safety were laid out for us and seemed pretty straight forward and than about 30 of us spent a day shooting at eachother in random games and fields.

Pro's- The refs were excellent as they were laid back and non-confrontational. They enforced mask wearing and did a good job explaining game rules and applying timely paint checks. The Facilities were clean and plenty of parking and table space for everyone. The price was fair as $50 got me an all day pass, 2 free air fills, 2000 balls, and a free lunch. The Container field was by far the best rec field I have played on in awhile. The paintballers and field staff were for the most part friendly.

Con's- Chrono was not enforced and some people were shooting "hot". We had to confront them ourselves to resolve the problem. Semi only field, but with some of these speedball markers and response triggers some people were able to throw auto like paint around. In the end it didn't matter though as the field paint (Wreck) wouldn't break unless you got within 50 to 75 feet of someone. To make it worse, if you used up your initial puchase of paint (which some of us did) it cost a whopping $25 for another 500 balls!! The fields were subpar and straight forward. They have no "real" woodsball field. Meaning no undergrowth or heavy foilage to low crawl or hide in. So wearing camo and using radios was all but useless here.

Conclusion- The container field and a scheduled private group among friends may be in the works but there is nothing else there to entice us in coming back on a regular basis.The crappy and over priced paint, lack of a "woodsball field" and the two hour drive and our subpar ratings for Splatter Park mean we are still searching for a place to call "home".
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mstar926 Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods, Battlefront Paintball, and some others that are longer.
Many paintball fields around the country.
This field is the worst, bar none.
Directions
to the Field:
If you insist on going here, you can find directions on their website.
Review: I have played at this field on and off for over 7 years. I have been to their regular play days, and I have also been to their Big Games.

Safety is a joke. My gun was not checked once all day. The refs were bunched up at the reinsertion line, and there surely wasn't enough refs for the supposed 1,300 people there. The morning safety briefing was non-existent as far as I was concerned. I never even heard that it was happening. Last time I was at a big game it was also poorly run, and although they have improved their air filling and registration lines some, the on field safety and game rules were just as bad.

It has been said that "Rules are Made to be Broken", and Splatterpark leads the charge in this category. There website specifically states semi-auto only, I was continuously shot by full auto and ramping. Refs are not aware of the game rules, and don't enforce the field rules whatsoever.

There were two "field hospitals" to clean your goggles, but don't think that means you will be "healed" there. Reinforcements were delivered by walking reinsertions, and they were repeatedly placing enemies on all three sides. Start us off cornered against the tape line, at the bottom of a hill, and we are supposed to take the hill, when you just put there whole team on that high ground?

Players were wiping excessively, balls won't break until you get real close. I think they ask the paint company for this feature, because at the end of the day they gave prizes out to the people with the most welts. There was no "young gun" award, etc. Instead everyone gathered around as the owner through goods into the crowd. Starting with the disclaimer that, "If you don't want to get hurt, too bad". So the masochistic needs of Sean the owner to watch other people in pain, whether physical or emotional is the only rule I actually saw enforced.

We were not "allowed" to bring a camera (pocket instamatic) onto the field. We were told once again be Sean the owner that if he saw a camera he would kick us off the field. Every paintball event I have been to when there is photographers there, they still let you take your own pictures. Here, they said that they were afraid of ruining their relationship with the camera guy. Well, the camera guy wasn't selling his pictures, and even though I was photographed excessively by him, I was never approached about buying a picture from him.

As the owner said:
"I'm in business to make money, I don't cater to real paintball players".

Being in business isn't an excuse for greed and disregard. Its obvious that his pockets were the only driving force behind his work. Its evident in the lack of planning and the poorly run production.

If this field was not so close to Ohio State with a steady supply of naive customers, it would never stay in business. I know I'll never return here again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Chappy350 Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPA
Battlefront
Camp Blanding
EMR
Sherwood
Low County
Review: Well my team and I just returned from the Spring Big Game at Splatter park. I have broken the review down into various categories. Let me make it clear that this was the first time we had ever played at splatter park and we were only there for the Big Game, never played their during open days.

Field- The field was decent, kind of like a bunch of seperate woodsball fields with the boundaries removed to make one big field. The container field was interesting but definetly needs a little more work. As for the rest of the field it's good but not great, somehow there is no underbrush and very little in the way of cover, lots of small trees and not alot to hide behind. They have bunkers, logs, pallets and pipe, the usual, however their placement lacks some planning, they leave alot of angles open which make them almost useless in some places. Camo is almost useless here, nothing to make it effective.

Safety\Rules- I made this into one section because i think it goes together. First of all a whole big group of people missed the safety briefing because nobody bothered to tell us it was going on, a ref came down and told us to get ready to get going, and 5 min later when we got to the site we were told the briefing was over 10 minutes before and the game was already underway. Next if you read splatterparks rules they state no full auto and no ramping. This rule went completely out the window for this game. My team left all our high powered markers at home and brought with us only our semi auto mech cockers and mags to find ourselves pitted against full auto a-5's and X-7s we were not expecting to meet. The chrono limit was basically a joke because nobody was monitoring it. One ref with 9 chronos, but the ref wasn't checking your speed, you checked it yourself then left, I asked the ref if he had to mark are guns or something as checked and was told we would be rechecked as we entered the field, however this never happened, the chrono was there but the refs were just waiving people past and onto the field. I would hope people would be honorable in setting their chronos but you can't trust anybody anymore and the field wasn't checking either.
Next something i really don't understand, i saw refs on the field wearing only riding goggles, basically only the eye protection of a paintball mask, no face shield, no ear protection nothing. This completely boggled my mind, 1200+ people shooting at each other and the REFS are not wearing the proper protective equipment, I did talk to sean the owner and the reason i was given was to give CPR if somebody needed it......a logical enough reason but i believe it sets a completely terrible example for young players.

Staff- The refs were plentiful but the only problem is most of them had no idea what was going on, we had to ask 4 different refs before we figured out what the situation was for reinsertion, Some of the refs obviously had some tendency towards favortism, i saw now less then three refs watch players get hit, wipe and continue playing on. I understand perfectly that honorably you should call yourself out when your hit, but to have a ref watching you wipe and play on and not do anything about it speaks to the quality of the ref.

Paint- Well the paint is cheaply priced, but you get what you pay for. Wreck is the right name for this stuff, it's terrible. It's dimpled and shaped like a football, the size ranges from .683-.688 from bag to bag, and wouldn't shoot straight to save your life, and this is coming out of an autococker with a hammerhead barrel. It also didn't break, you had to hit somebody 4 or 5 times before you could get one to break.

The Game- Well...we went down to splatter park expecting to be playing in a scenario paintball game, the way it was presented to us seemed to imply thats what was in store. We were wrong, the game was poorly organised and badly executed, the reinsertion was random and seemed at will of the refs, imagine trying to defend a position when the refs are dumping 50-100 enemy players on top of you at every reinsertion, it was impossible. There was no organization among the teams, no generals, it was basically 1000 people shoved into regulation woodsball fields and told winner take all, there was no room to maneuver, no tactics, it was basically huge waves of people smashing into each other.

Final Thoughts- We came away from this game sorely dissapointed. The field was fine, the paint was subpar and the scenario could have been better organized. However what really dissapointed me was the conversation we had with Sean, the guy who personally invited our team to come play, saying he wanted to get more scenario teams to play because he wanted to add the organized feel to the game. I went to talk to Sean, to ask him some questions about the things we saw, the breaking of the no full auto rule, the poor chrono checking and things like that. I was told "Scenario paintball is a very intimate game, players are honorable they help each other out, but thats not what i do here, at a scenario game you get 200-400 people, i get that here in one weekend. I'm more for the people who come down here spend 40 bucks for a case of paint and play." Basically the gist i got from the man was, I'm here for the almighty dollar, I'm going to jam as many people into this field as i can and to frack with everything else. It left me with a very sad feeling regarding the state of paintball, at least at this field.

I can't speak as to how the field is run during regular weekends and weekdays, but as for the Spring game, if your a woodsballer or scenario player, when it comes to the "Big Games" skip it. It's not worth your money or headache to try and fathom the cluster frack that is going on down there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media