paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Nelson Field / Nelson Field / Nelson Field / Nelson Field

Nelson Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 9208197069
Address: 7249 Pleasant View Rd.
Green Leaf, Wisconsin 54126
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
kempdog Monday, November 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: The place that i went to was the indoor area. First off, as soon as you walk in you see a very organized paintball field. The managers are very nice and helpful. The refs do very well in helping. They are always good at keeping the players safe. They will get your gun shooting properly if they can, if they cant, they usually lend you one. Their prices are pretty decent.
Overall, i was completely satisfied with how they ran things. I am definetly going to go back again!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper21 Saturday, October 17th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando
Review: Nelson field is a great place to play for beginners, private parties and experienced players alike.

To begin with the field setup is extremely good, full 2008 X-ball field, a urban city field and numerous woodsball fields that can be played numerous ways make for a great day of paintball for anyone.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, they all know how to best keep things moving as well as cleaning gear and ensuring that you have a great time.

The proshop offers anything you could want through ordering or they carry various equipment items in stock. They fill air tanks up to a full 4500psi which is always a good thing. The rentals are kept in great condition and the masks are anti-fogged when your party arrives, so you know they are good to go.

The paint used is DXS field for $60 a case and Triumph for $54 a case. BYOP is also offered for $15 field entry which is comparable to every field in the area. The paint is always kept in good condition, I have never had issues with it breaking in my gun and have always had a good experience with it.

The referees are very good, they make sure that the players have a good experience while making sure that everyone plays safely. Rules are enforced and teams are split evenly so no one has a large advantage over the other team.

Rentals include various Tippmann Paintball guns, from basic 98 Customs with ACT to Tippmann A-5's and the Alpha Black series. All the guns are maintained very well, always clean and ready to go for anyone who needs one.

Overall if you want to have a great time either with a private party or with a group of friends or even by yourself on open play days, Nelson Field is the place to be on the weekend for paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dhbiking Monday, September 7th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando,SOT free games,splattag, Hudson WI,
Review: I've played a few scenario games here and several woodsball games.

pros--The woodsball field its self is pretty nice. There is a good avariety of rolling terrain as well as nice mix of thick and thinner woods. The field is good sized if it is all open for woodsball. The safety area and enforcement of safety is decent but not really watched too close once the game gets going. Every game I have ever been to here has always seemed pretty short staffed. If there is food available it is usually pretty good and the price is reasonable.

Cons--1st and foremost...paint! Every time I have ever played here the field paint sucked and was expensive($70 per case)The first time I was using an A5 with squishies and a .691 barrel and broke 1 out of every 20 balls or more. I went home frustrated and checked out my set up. The next few times I played at the Sons of Thunder field(BYOP) I never had any issues. The next scenario event almost every one was breaking paint. A few people just left right away. Some demanded a refund and settled for swapping for the cheaper( and im guessing much more fresh) paint. The cheap stuff was still complete garbage but at least I could get it to come out of my gun...The last few times I have played there it has been BYOP with a $15 BYOP fee so I have been going that route. Now I bring flash(cheap stuff) or PMI premiums(mid grade) and have NO paint issues and am still using the same gun set up.
Next is the staff. As I mentioned earlier this place always seems to be short staffed. There is one guy that seems to run things but cant really seem to get his help coordinated. Not his fault but can be a big promlem when issues do arrise because one guy can't do everything.

The facilities are well... not to be found. Most of the operation was run out of the back of a trailer. The staging area was a tent and the bathroom was the woods or the one portapoty. The "proshop" is also in the back of the trailer. Last but not least, if you are running HPA the fill here only goes to 3000psi. Its only $5 for all day air but if you have a 4500 tank your going to be filling a few extra times.

After my last few games here I dont think i will be going back. I've tried it a few times and most of the group I went with wont play there anymore. It's not to far from Greenbay but still not worth the trip in my mind. I am not to far from commando and every game I have been there it is awasome and costs about the same as nelsons at the end of the day. Also there is a local group (SOT paintball) that has FREE games that is just a bit farther down the road. Similar facilities to Nelsons,great group of guys and FREE. So for local games I'll continue my play at one of those two.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SASGENERAL Tuesday, November 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: well my squad SAS went to play at this field and it was great. the owner rocked the staff were great. this place is safe and fun. we were playing day of the dead after half a day the owner asked all the players if we want to play somthing different and we did. I think its great that the owner lets the players have a say in the game. Also $5 all you can eat chicken OMG just rocked!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OPPRESSOR Monday, September 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando....No Comparison
Hidden Valley.... Great Field But Pretty Far Away
Splat Tag.... This Is A Great Place To Play A Scenario Game
Review: I have been playing at Nelson Field now for two years, this is a great place to play paintball. With a full set regulation 2008 Sup-Air X-Ball Field, Urban combat in the village and plenty of rolling woodland to make any player happy. The owner Dustin is as good a person as they come and his willingness to help you out is great. The prices are great on paint or equipment you can't lose. With a great ref staff willing to do any thing to make your day more safe and enjoyable at the same time really goes a long way. The players are a good group of guys and i have never seen a bachelor or birthday party leave without a smile on their faces. All in all this is the best paintball experience in my opinion in the are With hours from 11:00am till Dark this gives plenty of time to get in your paintball fix....CHECK IT OUT!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Monday, September 1st, 2008 at 2:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thedamnirish Wednesday, July 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: First, let me start off by saying that I had just written a big review for this field and due to ONE slight slip of the thumb, my browser went back and the whole review was lost! pbreview.com should look into this because it's really frustrating losing an entire typed out review just because of a simple browser page change.
Second, I have never played this field yet, but I have seen it briefly while meeting the owner for a purchase of equipment at his field. That being said, this is the only field I would recommend to my friends who live 2 1/2 hours away with the rest of us yoopers in Delta County, MI. The reason I have so much confidence in this field is because the owner Dustin, is a really knowledgeable, honest and all-around good guy who knows how to take care of his customers. I had to drive 2 1/2 hours to buy the equipment I needed because there is no painball shops anywhere in the entire U.P. as far as I know (we're limited to Dunhams and MC Sports mostly). I met Dustin at this field and purchased a RAP4 T68 pistol and a response trigger for my A-5. Dustin gave me a great price and told me to let him know if I have any problems. As it turned out, my pistol went to crap on me and RAP4 customer service SUCKED when I went to them for help. Frustrated and at my wits end, I turned to Dustin who promptly replaced it, gave me a heck of a deal on some other equipment and then overnight delivered everything to me so I would be ready to play that weekend. He just opened up a painball store by the airport in Green Bay and I can't wait to go see it! From what I heard, the field has a little city in the middle surrounded by bunkers and woods. I can't wait to play the field this summer! Nelson Field and Dustin now have a lifetime customer in me!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thor's hammer Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando sports, abrams WI
Review: I've been to the field three times now and it's keeps getting better every time i go. I'm a dedicated woodsballer and i found the field to be an excellent layout for all types of play and scenarios. There is a good mix of trees, bunkers and terrain that would suit all but the pickiest of players. I'm not so hot on speedball/xball but the setup seems good. The tactical city is heart stopping at times(in a good way). The structures are spaced good and bring a whole new dimension to the fight. All in all I'd say this field is one of the best I've been to and ill certainly be going back!
update:
After playing at the field for the entire season of 07 i am impressed with the continual improvements that i have seen. the air ball field has been upgraded twice and the city has grown in size and complexity. The woods layout has been modified to allow better access to the city and make it more challenging to a cross environment game .The owner shows excellent dedication and is always open to suggestions.

Kari Jensen
Sunset Tactical
Green Bay, WI
Last edited on Friday, November 23rd, 2007 at 6:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nulex04 Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stinger Paintball
Commando Paintball
Adventure Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
From UW GB:
43 South, Exit 171
Take 96 West
Left onto Shirley
Right before the cemetery (Plainview Rd)
Take next Left,
Field Entrance after first house on the Right
Review: Overall a great field, has a brand new full 2007 X-Ball Field (with the new 07 tombstones), tactical building/city, and a massive woods ball course with bases and bunkers scattered throughout the 3 major bases in the woods. The paint prices are very fair and great quality with no dimples or flat spots. The membership levels is a very cool idea and is a great for the frequent player and average player, either way you'll save with each play.

Summary of each aspect:

X-Ball Field:
-Brand new X-Ball bunkers with the most current PSP layout open for play on the weekends
-Ground was just leveled flat, which will make play very easy and safe. Grass is currently being grown, but should be up soon with all this rain.

Tactical City:
-How many fields do this?!? NONE! There are 5-6 buildings with 8 foot walls that replicate a small city: house, garage, bar, salon, and an office.
-Buildings are located right next to the woods so it can be part of a big game or separate city fight.

Woodsball Course:
-Massive. There are 3 major forts (like the from the city) which are all surrounded by bunkers, hills, and some small streams. Overall making this field a great secraino location ready to last hours of part of the field-quicker games.

Paintballs:
-Nelson Field is FPO with Nelson paintballs for sale at the shop at a great rate (but cheaper with a field membership, takes off $16 a case).
-The paint I've gotten has always been fresh with no flat spots or dimples, no breaks in my NXT.

Memberships:
-The 2 levels of memberships is great for the dedicated speedballers and woodsballers who will shoot lots of paint and play there a lot. Also good for the players who like to play once or twice a month, either one is a good savings and investment.


Overall Thoughts:
This field is a great move for the sport of paintball to continue to grow nationally, and especially for the state of Wisconsin being one of the 5 fields in the state with a X Ball Field. In addition not many fields have the paintball prices where people can actually afford to play more often.
Lastly, the Owner of the field Dustin is very dedicated to the sport and field so he cares about what players think and what he can do to improve it. Overall a great environment with no paintball drama and nice family atmosphere.

Paul
Cpt. Zombie Squad PB
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

DYEvIsIoN77 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
adventure. commando. stinger. outdoor adventures
Review: I just stopped by to check it out today. After looking at reviews I didn't expect it to be that good, but the full sized 52 piece X ball field is completely leveled out now and he said he was planting grass soon so the X ball field should be up and ready around the weekend of the 23rd and 24th. the woods ball field he showed us was outstanding for the woods ball players. As of now the compressor is working, and for the big X on the Xball field he is putting up large support poles on the sides of the field to keep the X in one spot, and from sagging. The owner has put in a lot to this place to get it up and running and the owner is nice too : ) once the grass grows in this field is going to be one of the best around!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Promaster234 Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando, Adventure. Nelsons X-ball and woodsball is simply the best. The others do not compare.
Review: For everyone bashing on the X-ball being on a 5 foot incline. it is now all level. So stop complaining about that. The woodsball field is awsome, even though it rained out, it was fun along with the tactical city. They have good refs, pricing is reasonable, air is free and there is always a lot of players out there. This field will be a success.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media