paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Yankee Paintball Field / Yankee Paintball Field / Yankee Paintball Field / Yankee Paintball Field

Yankee Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
23Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 203 906 9622
Location: Oxford, Connecticut 06478
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
strikeforce7776 Wednesday, October 26th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 2nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The field conditions were very poor. The parking area had horse crap all over it, and the ref's need more experience with tournaments. You have to use field paint and its marked up $70 a case. redemption from Valken. This paint is not worth $70. Field not recommended. no proshop, The staging area was muddy, had to walk in mud all the time. Had a very bad day at Yankee Paintball in Ct.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pducky67 Wednesday, May 18th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 7th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty Paintball, paintball madness and many places in Virgina Beach!
Review: This was a very well set up paintball field. Glen was very generous in helping me plan a party at Yankee Paintball. The atmosphere was very friendly and down to earth. Price was cheap, the refs were awesome and hilarious! I went with a group of 9 people and we had a blast!
We will BE BACK :P
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pjw3 Sunday, June 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 26th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: We just had a party there with about 14 people from ages 10-60. It was a blast, and the staff were great and helped a lot. They powered down the guns for us a little so that the younger kids did not get too much sting. The fields were fun, and it was very hot that day and after a game your first instinct is to take off the mask, and the staff were on us to be safe first and kept a vigilant watch on us rookies.

The kids, and adults had a blast in the woods, and fields and the nice shaded area with the benches provide us with a nice area to finish the birthday party out.

Any parent on the fence about letting their kids do this should really not worry. In fact they should join the kids in this experience. You can really see them want to work together to take the field or castle or what ever. Glenn and the crew was friendly and tolerant of my rookie party group. I am not sure who had more fun, my wife or my son!

We will be back for sure.

pjw3

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TNNCdanny Monday, March 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans, All out Paintball, Matts Outback
Review: I have come to realize that I owe yankee for everything that they have done for me. A few years ago I walked onto that feild an awkward, skinny, goofy kid. Through the years I have progressed to the point where, I and my friend are going to World Cup in florida to compete! Honestly, I know that I would not have this oppotunity if it were not for Yankee. Back in the day when i first started playing at Yankee , the first thing that stood out to me was the reffs, Mike hall especially, he taught me everything, and it was fun. This is not your ordinary paintball expirience, this is an enviroment that promotes the progression of the sport and selfconfidence. It may not have a proshop but it does have somthing better yankee has a sence of friendship, of community and of family. Yankee has somthing to offer to every body from the timid first timer, to the aggressive veteran. I am proud to say that i am reffing at Yankee this year and i look forward to seeing everybody.
( i know i probably spelt some words wrong im good at that)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samjack1255 Thursday, November 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans Alley, Strategy Plus, Splatter Zone
Review: This is a great place. I've been there numerous times and I must say it is the best around. the staff is helpful and friendly and although they dont have a full shop everyone there seemes to know each other so its not like Hogans where everyone is just hired on a job. This is a great place to try out since I would say it has the best woodsball fields around in the oxford area. Unless you go north you wont really find a better field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bobbins Tuesday, October 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley. Hogan's has one more speedball field, but they aren't as clean and they have absolutely nothing on Yankee's woods fields. Hogan's does have a full store with anything you would ever need, which Yankee does not have. But the Yankee staff was so much more personal and helpful than Hogan's.
Directions
to the Field:
648 Quaker Farms Road in Oxford, CT 06478. Route 188. It's between route 67 and route 32. About 10 minutes from I-84. You follow the signs and park, then cross the street and head up into the woods to the fields.
Review: The number one thing here is safety, as it should be. Keep your mask on at all times and cover your barrel when you're out. Just use your head.

Yankee Paintball has great woodsball fields, not to say that their speedball ones aren't good too. They have two speedball fields and one hybrid which is a small speedball field in the woods with bunkers. They're all kept very clean from things like paint and brush/debris.

We played the two speedball fields, the hybrid and 2 of the 3 woods fields.
Tip: attacking the castle is easier than defending it. The castle field is huge, and it has a castle. Not a real one, but it's got walls, windows, ways in and out and a small bunker "town" behind it. It sits on top of a small cliff. We played a scenario here where one team had to repel the invaders for 20 minutes, while the invaders had 20 minutes to throw a "grenade" into the castle or kill all the defenders. Lots of fun.

The knoll was a great field too. Smaller, but still held two teams of 10 with room to spare. It's all about field position there. If you can get some good cover at first then all you have to do is hold it until the enemy is dead, but if you get flanked, it's all over.

Another scenario we played (scenarios courtesy of the head ref, Sandman) where about 2/3 of the players started off in a chopper they had built between the speedball and hybrid fields. The other 1/3 dug in between the castle and hybrid fields. They had to defend their command center ( building up between the two fields) from the invaders coming from the chopper. They had great cover, so it was hard to move forward, but, in the 20 minute game, every 5 minutes those that died could run back to the chopper to man up another wave of invaders.


The cost was about the same for Hogan's Alley. The only thing is that you can't bring your own paint. But they sell it comparably to Hogan's anyway. They're got equipment, air, CO2, and markers for rent and small parts for sale. Again, no store. They have a party option for bringing a large group. You get your own refs, pizza or paint and all day everything. Similar to Hogan's again.

You are actually in the woods here, there's rocks, hills, streams. Bring your boots because you'll be walking if you end up playing the knoll or hawk's nest.

The entire staff was great. Exceptional on all levels. Both owners spoke to me personally when I was reserving and when my group got there. They play the game themselves. The refs here went over all the rules beforehand (bunkering, surrender, blindshooting, safety...) We had plenty of them for each game, so cheating when kept to an absolute minimum. When you yelled "paint check" they ran over and checked you for paint. When you pointed at someone you were shooting at and yelled "check him for paint" they ran over and checked them for paint. They were aware of who was shooting in which direction and stayed out of the line of fire, except for one guy who got lit up a few times. Hehe...

They're open on weekends from around 9 to 4. The games usually start at 10. This seemed like a busy day. 3 groups of 8-12 each showed up, plus a few walk ons. But there were still plenty of refs and gear to go around. If you are bringing a medium to large group they recommend you call in advance to reserve some gear. This way they have enough gear and refs on hand already. The walk ons were very cool guys. They knew what they were doing, were familiar with the scenarios and fields and were happy to give you advice. The refs did the same, gave you hints and tips about where to dig in, where the other team might come from. My group hasn't been there before and weren't familiar with the fields and layouts yet.

They have drinks and snacks for sale, but you're better off bringing your own. It seemed like they usually order pizza for lunch. You can bring whatever food you like, just no alcohol. They always have someone around the staging area and they have safe places for valuables, so you don't have to worry about getting your gear or food snatched while you're playing.

Overall my entire group loved this field and were very happy with the switch from Hogan's Alley.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

v0rt3x Thursday, August 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: First time ever playing paintball, went with 14 people for my bro's bachelor party. 10 of us had never played paintball before. Very nice fields. Prices of paint were 10 bucks more than other spots but the fields were very well kept. The refs were very very cool and down to earth. Helped us with any question we had. Didn't talk down to us or made fun of others for not knowing the sport. They made us very comfortable and did whatever we wanted to do. Helped us with any question we had. Never forced something on us unless it was safety rules :) Masks must be kept on whenever on the field! This was heavily enforced! which is good. The games were varied nicely. The woodsball field is huge with hills and flat terrain. We did the all day group pass and had a blast, they also provided us with 5 large pizzas and sodas included in the price. The paint was a bit higher priced that other places from what i'm told but not too much. All in all it was a blast, each one of us had a great time and few of us are now looking to play paintball more often and we'll be sure to play here again. Great fields, great refs, great pizza, great atmosphere. Highly recommended.
Last edited on Thursday, August 20th, 2009 at 5:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gambino62 Sunday, June 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Went last Saturday with 14 people for my brothers bachelor party. The fields are great especially the wood courses and the staff is very helpfull and made the whole experience fun. Everyone had a great time and wanted to come back and do it again real soon. I highly recommend Yankee Paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball gamer Thursday, June 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Well i dont wanna wright anything bad but this is my opinion, i like playin paintball and realy enjoy it but this field just isnt good for me but try it out this is only my opinion. First of all the people werent the best i mean i was a new person there no one realy cared. The employs were dull and drary. My brother came in with a spyder and they love tippman so they critisized him and were very rude and said your gun isnt good and its bad. The refs were swaring and, well i mean i understand being protectiv well very protective but they were very very very too protective it was just annoying. Most of the time we went back after every game and the people chatted for at least a half an hour to an hour so for about 4 and a half hour we only got about 6 games and each game wasnt even 15 min. but all of this is my opinion plz try it out if u dont like it well u dont like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkeywrench110 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Is there any other fields worth playing on? Yankee Paintball is the best around!
Directions
to the Field:
Check their website. Pretty easy to get to.
Review: We started playing this field after a trip to Extreme (no one else showed up there). We met Glen (the owner) that day and have been going back ever since. We are now part of the "regular" crowd. Glen runs a pretty tight ship safety wise, which is always welcome, and Sandman and the ref's play fair and always keep it interesting with different games. Tell Sandman you want to play Heaven or Hell if you think your up to it. The fields are well laid out with plenty of bunkers and good firing lanes. There is some varied terraine and hills on the 3 woods ball fields, speed ball and a hay ball field. We haven't had a bad day up there yet! Lots of seasoned players and new players alike, and teams are always split up to keep things even. If you haven't played Yankee, you really need to give them a try. They keep us comming back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media