paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field

Cousins Paintball Staten Island (Formally SI Paintball) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-Flag-007
Address: 2727 Arthur Kill Road
Staten Island, New York 10309
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Frankiebonz Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Go to web site!!!
Review: Ok for some reason over the years I have been reluctant to go and play at this field. Just didnt hear too many good things about SI paint ball, but was definetly enticed when I heard that Cousins had bought out the field. I decided to make a trip out there today and made a few observations that might help readers get an idea of what to expect.

Price: Brought all my gear... paid $20 to get in....$10 for air all day. A nice variety of paint to choose from to fit any ones budget. It was a bit cold today so I opted for the Draxxus Frostbite which was about $60 a case.

Fields: We just had a snow storm hit us on Friday so there was a good 6-8 inches on the ground. I enjoy playing in the snow and that was a big bonus for me. They have one speed-ball field and four woods-ball fields. The speed-ball field is definetly set up for beginner-novice players but is not going to bore you. Ok face it , you are in one of the 5 boroughs of NYC, acres upon acres of land are not a common thing like in Montana or North Dakota. The woods-ball fields are not huge in any way but I was very impressed at how they were set up and had a good time playing in them. Listen, if you are looking for a good weekend, minus the long drive, the fields here will definetly satisfy your paintball needs.

Proshop: Besides some pods, fatigues, masks and a couple of big game videos from years past at cousins you are getting nada.

Refs: ****Young**** Did a good job with paint checks and diffused some possible nasty situations amongs players. Thier proffesionalism was impressive.

Tech Support: READ THIS!!!!!! There is no tech support at this facility, they will give you O-rings and let you borrow a tool or two but basicly you are on your own. I did not have a problem with my gun and I always carry tools with me to strip my marker down but other people don't, especially the young newbs. I saw a few kids in the AM who were having problems with their markers and I inquired to one of the Refs why they dont have a Tech. He basically told me that some of these young lads have Angels, Timmys, and DMs that mommy and daddy bought them and if a tech were to try to unsuccessfully fix one of these, mommy and daddy would call and say the Tech broke it!! This made sense to me but I changed my mind about this in the afternoon.

SAFTEY: DONT take your goggles off at any time!!!! There are a lot of newbs who attend here. That is very cool and I am glad that more and more young people are playing at a young age, but it is the job of the Refs, field manager, and more experienced guys to make sure these KIDs go home the way they came to the field. While in the dead zone people were coming out and pulling off the goggles, and I told them to put them back on and they told me there is a net there. After i pointed out the the 6-10 inch gashes in the netting they put them on, but I couldnt tell everyone!!!! One dude is walking around with no plug/condom with the gun pointed up at his face. By the afternoon the guns were chopping paint for some people. Since there is NO TECH area people are working on their markers on the picnic benchs. Once again I saw one person with their marker proped up pointing at the door to the front desk, no plug, air on, hopper on, tinkering with the rear bolt..... are you kidding me? The Safety issue needs to be addressed here so be very careful if you go and help the new guys please!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

invertmini303 Friday, February 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
On Target Paintball
Fireball Mountainb
Review: Most reviews to this field are bad. I am friends with the owner and most refs here. All private parties must use the bad paint for some stupid reason i still dont know and that is $80 a case. If you are a walk on you will pay $45 the bad dxs rec sport paint and $65 for the frostbite paint. The fields are not that good due to the fact that the place is meant to be a place for families to play. John the owner does not want very good players tp be there because he wants first timer s to have a good fun time. Everyone here is like a family and since cousins took it over it has become a great place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JA_118 Friday, February 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
high velocity
ring homestead


Review: 1-31-2008
Refs were good.

All day long we were told our guns were no good and to buy them off him because they were all chopping paint.Wasnt until like an hour left that we saw that they had winter paint instead of the crap he was giving us.We were told that the winter paint is not for groups for whatever reason.Crap paint price was 85 bucks.Winter paint was 65 bucks so i guess i see why.Finally got a box of the winter paint and what do you know our guns werent chopping paint anymore.Needless to say we had less thatn an hour left at this point.
I dont think I will go back there again.
fields were nice especially for being in NYC
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mur_205 Wednesday, February 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
high velocity, ring homestead
Review: terrible paint, manager is a very dishonest know- it- all, blamed 6 new guns for the paint breaking, lied about availability of winter paint. fields were good, refs were good and friendly. PAINT WAS HORRIBLE, broke everyball then had to rent a gun. Also expensive $80 a case, unless you can't go elsewhere, don't go here. Lodged a complaint with cousins, we'll see if they address the problem.
2/12/08 after speaking with cousins management group we were given free passes to any of their fields in response to our complaints, so they did somewhat make good. Very professional of them, shows they do care about their bussiness, however it will take another trip to the field to see if they honestly addressed the paint issue. Should I return i will update again. still say buyers beware.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 12th, 2008 at 1:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

-.MeSoHoRnE.- Wednesday, January 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
poco loco Pa, not as big but pretty much the same but s.i is much cheaper
Review: well this Christmas i got a tippmann 98 custom with a flatline barrel and well i had trouble putting on the barrel so i went to my local paintball shop and the manager was very nice, had alot of experience and he put the barrel on for me no problem. he even gave me c02 and some paint and let me check it out on the range. i got a membership to the place and now i only have to pay 10$ to get on the field and i get 5% off on everything in any cousins store + online so i say the 50$ is defiantly worth it.

paint is very cheap i believe its like 50$ more or less for a box of 2k

staff is very nice and helpful and are always good with paint checks especially, u just say the word and they get on it instantly ;p

as for the field there not the biggest simply because getting 4 acres in nyc is kind of unbelievable XD

its a great place to go especaily if your a residence
Last edited on Wednesday, January 9th, 2008 at 6:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chinesedeath Monday, August 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Staten Island Paintball field now known as Cousin's paintball is a pretty good field. I played in this field a few times. The safety in this field is serious, if u dont put on a barrel condom they will yell at u including the masks. Cousin's put up more netting on the fields and in the staging area. One of my friends lost is plug so one of the refs had to stick his thumb down the barrel just in case. The refs give you a safety orientation before you play. They dont allow players to hop over bunkers because they said a few ppl got hurt doing taht, they said that they dont do teh bang bang rule anymore, so they allow u to shoot from 20 ft away, they tell players how to use barrel plugs and condomns, etc. They have 4 fields they are called bedrock, area 51, speedball field, and bunker hill. Teh name for bedrock is pretty mcuh self-explanatory, they have a lot of rocks for players to hide behind usually the rocks are 3ft by 2ft but they ahve a few bigger ones. They ahve a small wooden bunker in teh middle of teh field. They have a couple big mounds of dirt and a lot of grass in the middle of the field only. Area 51 is the biggest field that they have, wen i went last week Cousin's fixed up the field a little bit, they created a few more bunkers. On the left entrance way they ahve a ditch where ppl could flank, etc. There is a lot of trees in area 51 and a lot of bunkers, and a few plants with thorns. Teh speedball field is okay. Im pretty sure its not regulation size, but its good for a local field. They dont use air bunkers they use black sewer pipes, oil barrels, and wooden planks. The bunkers are pretty good, the snake that they have is pretty good too. In some of the wooden planks that they have there are holes, not sure if players did that or it was like that but ppl could shoot through teh hole or get shot throught the hole. Next to teh speedball field they have a rest zone, where players put on their barrel safety devices and take off their googles to rest a liitle bit. Teh last field is the bunker hill, that is the second largest field that they have. Again the name is pretty much self explanatory. One side of the team is on top of the hill so they have the advantage, but the other team on the bottom of the hill ahve more bunkers, so its pretty much even. Teh refs gave us tips on bunker hill this is wat one of teh refs said "Bunker hill in my terms is probably one of the best fields here its shaped more like a triangle acutally its more shaped like a vigina" Tehy ahve some pretty good and big bunkers there. On the middle of the field they ahve mounds of dirt where ppl could hide behind. There are a lot of trees and bunkers. The hours of operation are from 8:30 to 4. Teh pricing is okay its a $50 entrance fee, you get a rental if u dont have one, free air refill, 500 Pevs paintball, googles if u dont have. The pricing for teh paint is pretty expensive i think its $80. They fill both co2 and compressed air.

This is from their website

walk-ons are:
$49.99 Per Person.
Includes:
• 500 Paintballs
• High Quality Semi Automatic Paintgun
• Initial Co2 air fill (20 oz.)
• Goggles and Mask system
• Six hour session
For players with their own equipment, we will substitute all day air for the rental equipment.

If u make group reservations its:
GROUP RATES

$49.99 Per Person.
3 Hour Session
Includes:
• 500 Paintballs
• High Quality Semi Automatic Paintgun
• Initial Co2 air fill (20 oz.)
• Goggles and Mask system
• Private field

$59.99 Per Person.
6 Hour Session
Includes:
• 500 Paintballs
• High Quality Semi Automatic Paintgun
• Initial Co2 air fill (20 oz.)
• Goggles and Mask system
• Private field
Minimum 10 players for a private field

Prepay for a group of 20 or more players, and receive 1000 rounds of paint.
Prepay for a group of 25 or more players, and receive 2000 rounds of paint.
Prepay for a group of 30 or more players, and receive a Tippman Pro-carbine

Kids Parties
Sharpshooter
(ages 10-17)

$19.99 Per Person.
Includes:
• 100 paintballs per person
• 1 hours of play time
• Semi-automatic rental equipment
• Goggles and facemask

$29.99 Per Person.
Includes:
• 300 paintballs per person
• 2 hours of play time
• Semi-automatic rental equipment
• Goggles and facemask

$39.99 Per Person.
Includes:
• 500 paintballs per person
• 3 hours of play time
• Semi-automatic rental equipment
• Goggles and facemask
Minimum 6 players required

PLEASE NOTE:
Kids party packages are for kids ages 10-17 years old. You will play within your own group and have full referee supervision. Players will need a copy of our release of liability form signed by their parents and brought to the playing field the day you play.

All Reservations require a 15.00 non refundable deposit. PER PERSON!!

For the kids parties u could have a few older players they dont really care. Their proshop is pretty cool, they sell v-force googles, harness, gloves, bandannas, sandannas, dxs nitro tanks and c02 tanks. Tehy sell gravity and electronic hoppers, i think they sell viewloader vlocity hoppers too. They sell paintball dvds, etc. Even though their proshop isnt really that big its pretty much stocked with a lot of equipment. Teh staff is pretty cool. They ahve refs from long island come to staten island. Tehy are pretty funny, and they would help u no matter wat. Tehy would help u find parts that u lost on the field, u could even ask teh refs wat guns they have, u could ask for an opinion if a gun is good or not. Teh players there are pretty cool, last time i went they ahve probably at least 30 to 40 walk-ons, i think they split them up in two groups since there were a lot of ppl. Im not sure because i played in a reserved group. Tehy facilities are pretty good, they ahve plenty of pinic tables and a lot of room for a local field. Tehy ahve a target range where u could pratice, but if u dont wear googles u cant enter it until u do. They dont have food but they could order pizza, etc. it tastes pretty good, but after playing paintball anything tastes good.
Heres wat to expect u pull up in a parking lot, teh parking lot could easy put 40 cars or more. U enter the proshop to pay for the entrence fee, wen u leave teh proshop u see if front of u a medium sized shipping container that they use for shipping stuff on boats, its painted woodland camo inside is where u get teh rentals, on teh right is a big tent, under the tent are 7 picinic tables.On the right of the big tent are porta-potties. At least 8 other picinic tables are on teh left of the conatiner those picinic table are under trees. Also on the left is the target range where they also chrono ur guns, they keep speed around 250fps-300fps. next to teh target range is the the air refill station. Tehy potties are pretty clean. Behind the container are the fields, the closest field is bedrock, next area 51, then speedball, and finally bunker hill.

Overall the fields are pretty good in my opinion, but its the only field i ever played in. Its pretty big also considering this is NY and there is not much room. Tehy made a few good renovations ever since they bought from teh old owner. I give it a 9 just because teh priceing, $50 entrance fee for walk ons and then to buy their paintballs is around $80, so in all u spend $130, and yes they use tax so its goin to be more than $130.

ALSO THEY ONLY USED FIELD PAINT, BUT U COULD BUY THEIR PAINTBALLS OFF OF ONLINE, BUT U COULD ONLY BUY PEVS LABELED PAINTBALL, TRUST ME BUYING THEIR PAINTBALLS ONLINE IS MUCH CHEAPER U SAVE AROUND $30. I CALLED THEM THE ONLY TIME THEY DO BYOP IS THE FIRST SATURDAY OF EVERY MONTH .
Last edited on Sunday, September 9th, 2007 at 6:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

SiPaiNBaLLeR Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball authority
Good for speedball players they only have one field but it is well maintained.
Review: S.I. paintball is not the best field in most aspects however for being a local field it's pretty decent. I have gone there almost every weekend for the past couple of months and I have to say I always have a great time. The refs are all cool and helpful. The paint is overpriced but i don't mind using diablo heat. The pizza place they order from is ok i guess but if you get in good with the refs you can order from this place Town Deli with them and the food there is excellent. ( I recomend the buffalo chicken salad) The fields themselves are ok for their size. The speedball is fun but nothing like a real speedball field. The woodsball fields are all good and the bunkers are spreadout pretty nicely. The only problem is when alot of people go and your playing 15 to a side even in speedball. The woodsball fields aren't big enough for more than maybe 12 a side. The refs do spread the teams out evenly but if you go with your team and tell them you want to play together they usualy let you stay together. The fields do get muddy if it rained at all the same week so be prepared. Occasionally you get a group of kids who think bonusballing everyone is the way to play the game but they usually get some payback by the other players. If you are new to the sport there are plenty of friendly, helpful players who will teach and help you anyway they can. But overall if you are looking to have a fun day of paintball I would definatly recomend S.I. paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Envy69 Friday, March 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top gun, NYC paintball, Liberty paintball
Review: In this review iam going to rate the following from A-F Safety: F- My friend was playing for the first time so of course like all of our first time He was a little nervous. Nobody briefed him on the safety and rules of the field. So I don't recommend this field for any new comers. Fields: C- The only field that was okay was the speed-ball field. Every other field had more thorns hanging around then a rose bush. Prices:C- I will make this simple $90 for a Case of paint, $25 for just to get in that place and $10 for the air pass.( That's Crazy) Rules:C- As I saw while playing if you know one of the refs or staff rules are something you don't have to follow. Proshop:F- If that was a pro shop then I guess wal-mart, K-mart and target can be considered pro shops as while. Staff:C- The manager of the field had just wanted us to leave after the last game. We couldn't get everything ready and made sure we had all our equipment. Its was more like a play and get out. Refs:F- Don't make me laugh there was this one ref that looked and acted like he was on drugs and used alot of adult language. NOt so good around little kids that just want to have a good time. Players:B-Must players were good at the field. But I felt sorry for the first time players they showed them no mercy.................. Facilities:C-The place needs alot of work to be done and a whole new staff.
Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 6:44 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Sting10305 Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ejams- inside field better kept but you play mental breakdown ejams team so u get raped
SKirmish- nuttin compares to skirmish
Review: Im more of a speedball player.. they could spend more money on the speedball course and their facilities but its really not bad... they have 4 fields... love them all except 51... the refs are mad chyll, nice to talk to and always their to help you wit fixing your guns and stuff... they also actually check wen you call for a paintcheck.. the paint is expensive but they have alot of byop days... january they have byop every weekend, the first sunday and second sat of every month, and wed 5-9 i think, for speedball.. the only really bad thing about sipb is the pizza... ild definitely say to check it out... im da kid wit Hayden on da back of his jersey =)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eyedea40 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Topgun, Ejam, Fireball mountain
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 5 off the westshore expressway next to Arthurkill prision
Review: This is a great place to play. Twice a month they have bring your own paint on the 1st Sunday and 2nd Saturday of each month its $50.00. This is one of the safest places I have ever played crono is strictly enforced two times throughout the day. S.I PB is very big on making sure every one has listened to the safety speech when you first arrive. After each game barrel plugs must be in masks down at all times. SI PB is great at getting games started and they are well reffed. Any one in the S.I or N.J area should come out and give this field a try it has a good mix of novice and experienced players, They have about 5 fields one speedball with wood barricades a Lego field one woods field with a fort one huge woods field and one field with a mix of spools rocks and junk they call that field area 51. This place is a great example on how a field should be run. If you have ever been to Fireball Mount this place is the exact opposite.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media