paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gladiator Paintball Park / Gladiator Paintball Park / Gladiator Paintball Park / Gladiator Paintball Park

Gladiator Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 805-602-8629
Address: By Camp San Luis and Cuesta Collage, Right off of Highway 1 and O'Connor
San Luis Obispo, California 93401
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Jericho Monday, January 7th, 2013
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I havent played at a field since the K.O.A. field was open in Santa Margarita in the 90's. This feild has many more arena's and is much larger.
Directions
to the Field:
Located at the National Guard Base.
Review: I have played woodsball off and on the past few yeard and I am trying to get back into the sport. So my buddies and I decided to give this field a try. I would say that this was a fun field. They have a few different fields/arena's there. We played the speedball courses and they have a fun and large scenario field. It was clean, the ref's were friendly, and all in all we had a good time. For the first couple hours in the morning it was just the four of us. But by afternoon a good sized group arrived. We had a good time and I would recommend this to anybody wanting to play some good games or anybody starting out that would like to see what paintball is all about. This County needs more support for the sport and I hope to see it grow. I will definately play at this field again. Compaired to the old K.O.A. field, this is above average. I have not played at alot of fields as we have been more into woodsball, but still a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silverslicer Tuesday, January 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area that I've been to
Review: I use to play down in LA area on bigger fields with lots of people.
I haven't played for quite a while and I heard this place was open and finally got around to going. I wasn't really sure what to expect, so when I got there I was a little shy and hesitant.
The owner(I'm pretty sure) behind the counter was awesome. Very welcoming and helpful with everything. there were all different skill levels there. The refs and people working had great customer service. When we first got there, there weren't that many people there and one of the workers played a few rounds with us. I was talking with the refs between games and they are great people. after a few games we had 10 vs 10 (January right after x-mas) for most games. a birthday party was there of younger kids and we all played together for the most part, usually 10 or 12 vs 7 or so.
The fields were awesome!
reading the other reviews it looks like they added some fields since they first opened. the website has pictures of some of the fields, but not all of them yet. 6 or 7 fields to play on.
price was well worth it!
outside of paint, I think I spent $42 for the day? brought my own food and drink
Last edited on Tuesday, January 20th, 2009 at 10:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soul79 Friday, April 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This is an awesome park!!! There are tons of courses and they just recently added a speedball field. Prices are very reasonable. I definately support their operation and keeping paintball alive on the central coast! Anyone in the area should definately check it out. There are tons of people that show up on the weekends from beginners to really experienced. It is not uncommon to have 20+ vs 20+ games in the Junkyard field.

For a place that just opened everything is well organized and safety is always stressed by Gary the owner and referees. It is near Cuesta college and Cal Poly and a military reserve base which draws alot of players to the park.

If it weren't for this place all the paintballers would be playing illegaly in the woods and riverbeds. Or driving an hour or two to the next closest fields in Paso Robles and Lompoc.

See you guys there next weekend.....



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

patRIOTik Sunday, November 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Shack in Lompoc, CA-
The Shack is only a few miles from my house, but I generally try to stay away from there. The fields are small (there are two, airball, and 'scenario'). The airball field is your standard inflatable bunker operation. Nothing special there. The scenario field is almost prohibitivly small. You can tell that it is very influenced by the 'speedball' mindset during it's construction. When there are more than about 6 people per team, you start getting piled up in bunkers, and have very little room to manuver.
From my experience, Gladiator was better in every respect.
Directions
to the Field:
The field is right past Cuesta College on Camp San Luis. Very easy to find if you follow the directions on the website.
Review: Three of us, myself and two others decided to check out Gladiator this weekend, and we're very happy that we did. One of our friends just bought an E-tek Ego and wanted to play. We decided that Gladiator was worth a shot, so we packed up and went for it. We live in Lompoc, and it's about an hours drive from where we are.

Upon arriving, I was surprised by the size of the fields. They were so much larger then I was used to. When you're used to playing on a cramped field, this is a godsend. The first of the fields that we played ("Spools") had some large water and septic tanks (clean of course) for cover, along with spools, tire piles, wooden obstacles, a school bus, boat, glider fuselage, etc. There was enough to hide behind, but not too much to feel cramped. If you wanted to, there was always somewhere to advance. I had a great time on this field, and fared rather well. Most of the players there were first timers using rental Model 98's, and seemed to be having a great time as well.

The second field we played was called "Walls". Walls is a speedball-esque field made of standup wooden barriers. We played our first game, and immediately fell in love with this field. Very fun for trying to snapshoot, and fun for advancing. Only a few spots where it was hard to get out of. Got a few take-home welts here.

While talking with the staff, we found that 4 additional fields (For a total of 7) were being constructed, and should be running in the coming months. can't wait to come back and check them out!

Fields aside, the best thing about this park is the friendliness of the owners, administrators, and the referee's. If you've ever been to a major park, you know what I mean when I say that the Ref's tend to be jerks. Not here. The refs were very friendly and talkative, and found it important that we were having a good time. Most of fields I play, I get a really cocky attitude from the Refs. One of our guys acciedentally laid a burst on a ref, and after a quick apology, they laughed it off. The attitudes of the people here alone merit another trip or five.

It seems like everyone who works there is just friendly in general, and they are very good at doing their job, not sitting around talking when you're waiting to get a fill, a box of paint, or a snack at the snackbar. The guy manning the CO2, HPA, and Paint booth was really friendly, and didn't mind filling our tanks whether they were empty or at 2500psi. Nice people.

We got to talking with the field's owner and his brother, and they are both cool people. Made sure we were having a good time, and made sure that everyone understood the rules. Be careful, they chrono at 300 here, so if you get his close up, you're going to know about it.

All in all, I will for sure be coming back. I had a blast, and look forward to returning in a week or so! If you live in SLO or SB county, it's worth a drive. Show up around 9:00 - 9:30 for best turnout. We came on saturday, and there were about 40 people, maybe more. Two private parties which we were allowed to play with.

FIELD PAINT ONLY! Be ware. You may be able to bring Cryptic or Pro-Ball. Call to find out for sure.

See you out there!
-Rob
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnapDaddy Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Just wanted to add to Scout JAK post below and make a few corrections!

Corrections:
Lunch meal - $5
Quick Draw - $5

Field:
This is a brand new field that just recently opened. They're actually having their official grand opening August 18th. Check out their website for details!

I have been playing at Gladiator since the first day they opened and would have to say it is one of the nicest, cleanest and top notch fields I have played on. The owners and staff are very friendly and interested in player feedback and suggestions.

As with any field, you have your die hard locals. The difference here is the attitude, there is none! We are all here to enjoy the obsession that is paintball.

Paint:
Currently, it is field paint only. They offering Spyder Red and Black label paint at a reasonable price. But they are not bound to that brand and are working on offering other brands such as Proball in the future.

Come on by and give Gladiator a try!
Last edited on Saturday, August 4th, 2007 at 10:12 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Scout JAK Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Used this field just once, i was on vacation in california, used to Washington fields.

the review;

Good:
Fields: nice selection of fields, have a total of 4 fields-Walls, Junkyard, Spools, and Castle. Easy access to them, no climbing hills. Like all fields they have their pluses and minuses (ie good bunkers to be at and ones where you get trapped at if you stay there too long or have bad angles), but their fields are the good kind. lots of good bunkers
-however, on the Walls, on sides bunkers are shorter than the other so if your tall, your ganna have to crouch abit. Other than that the Walls is a decent field.
-Spools; My fave, lots of spools so you can go anywhere, no real bad ones either. just word of cation, some have holes where your oppents can hit you. other than that, ran into no problems on it.
-Junkyard; A very intresting field, including an Airplane, Bus, and many silos. less cover than the other fields, but when your on a field like that, you can't really complain. it may seem like one side has more cover, but in truth, both are really evan.
-Castle; Intresting small field with a mini-fort in the center, with a few surrounding bunkers on the outside. nice field, played on it once, but not one of my faves.

Rental Guns: for you rentals out there, your ganna love their brand new Tippmann 98's with AC (Anti-Chop). Since their pretty new, nothing went wrong with mine, although a few guns cant hit below 300 FPS. (field allows 300 FPS). when useing their guns, i had no chops at all, a very good plus for me from the previous fields rentals (CCP). Guns seemed to have a shorter range from what i am used but i cant really tell. Really relibale guns they are.

Staff- Very friendly and helpful. Owner guy was asking bout his brand new field and chating with the players bout how it is going and stuff. what more can i say about them?

Refs- the one i had was very good at it. most people from other fields complain about their refs sucking, but to be honest, mine was great. and he DID paint checks good job at reffing. other refs, i am expecting they did good, but since the fields are smallish and open no need for muti refs.

Players- very friendly, and nice and good at playing. i didnt hear any cussing or bad mouthing of other players off the field. and during games, none cheat that i knew of. pretty much it was a game of honest ball. saw no hardcore bunkering, bounus balls or over shooting. great players, hope it stays like that.

the Ok

Store/fill station- unlike other places, this place has their CO2/HPA/Paint/ Rental shack away from where you pay. little bit of a unconvience, but cant blame them.

Chrono's- you will be Chronoing every time you hit the field from the staging zone. got anyoing for me. other's where use to i guess. they allow 300+ FPS. 300+ being like max at 310 i think, so they allow some slack for players. this has to be the highest FPS allowed i seen with my norm being at 280 FPS and no higher.

Games- slow at staring around ~6 mins between games. the players had a slight factor though.

Stagging- Gets cramped when you have alot people there, my spot kina got tooken over cause a private party of around 10-15 came. maybe some more tables would be nice, and its a clean spot too, not paint on anything not evan the ground. that throwed me off.

the Bad

Prices- i have to say, some things were really badly priced. my pet peeve here would be the CO2 filling w/ rentals. if you plan on renting from here, plan on paying for ever CO2 fill you get. most field when rental include all day air with the package. this upseted me alot that i had to do it. with the Rentals come standard a 12 oz or nine oz, and you would have to pay extra to upgrade. also the CO2 priceing was a bit steep $4 for 12oz and i am guessing more for a 20oz. the lunch in my view was highly prieced, a Hotdog, Chips and Drink for 10$. at my local field, i believe you can get a one-toping large pizza (no drink) for 10$ too. but Gladiator's prices for drinks are reasonable $2 for soda/powerade. im ganna guess for a energy drink is 3$ (a little bit priced to high).

Paint- this is for all you people you like to use your own paint. i got a strong feeling that this not a BYOP (bring your own Paint) cause every one was useing their paint. but their prieces are good. cheapest 45$ and highest i think was 50$. they use some kinda of spyder paint that i never heard of. it shoots pretty good out of the rentals. i dont know the local area, so i dont know if there is a local paintball shop you can paint from (im from WA).

Side note- one of their Co2 tanks broke down when i was getting my tank fill and the guy worked on it for a bit but no go, so maybe they could get more people on staff helping out cause it was just one guy working it. but the owner came out and i think sorta fixed it idk, he gave me a 20 oz instead of my 12oz the were trying to fill. so all in all, the only minus is maybe more staff (2) working that shack would be nice. no real issue.

the also have a mini-western game called Quick-Draw. 10$ to enter, but worth it. 1st place gets a trophy, picture, and a case of paint. very nice prize. to many rules to explain. all you need to know is 10ft apart, one shot, aim for the heart, torso shots before arms, closed to heart wins (headshots i have no clue). bracket style, they do redo's. over all nice game to play, first i seen and heard of.

over all, i would have to give it around a 8-9 because of the the pluses and minus. the pricing was my worest experiance and the field being my best one.
Good Job Gladiator! Keep it up
Scout =JAK=
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media