paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tempe Paintball Field / Tempe Paintball Field / Tempe Paintball Field / Tempe Paintball Field

Tempe Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 480 966 1900
Address: 1401 S. McClintock Dr.
Tempe, Arizona 85282
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Tex000000000001 Thursday, October 7th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Baller's arena (now closed) Compleately different
Directions
to the Field:
Apache and McClintok in Tempe
Review: Safety: They are pretty strict when it comes to safety, which is fantastic. they don't allow full auto, so they have a chamber there you can check your equipment and stuff. Goggles on in the chamber, in the field and sleeve on over your marker as you're coming off the field. It's pertty good. Plus the waiver you have to sign.

Fields: Only one field. Although small, there are many places to hide along the sides if you play your cards right. The only thing that I don't like about it is the fact that they wrote all over the walls and cut parts of the wall in the middle house out. It just looks cheap and creates less of an actual urban enviroment, and the changes look permanent.... Yikes... Also, the field is pertty much never cleaned out, but its cool, cause I use my BDU's which are my everything dirty clothes.

Hours: I, personally can manage with their hours, because I'm a student and can have class in the morning and go to Tempe in the afternoon.

Prices: Prices per person are quite reasonable, expecially Ladies night on Fridays. If you decide to buy more paint, bring LOTS of money. The paint is really expensive, and they don't allow outside paint because "it doesn't go with their interior floring." In my opinion, they are just trying to make money, but w/e.

Proshop: Eh... Nothing much to see here, its just a few tippmans and nothing else...

Staff /refs: Some of the staff is really cool, they explain what the game is gonna be about before you go into the field and stuff. Others are just really mean and think that they're right about everything. The refs that were there last time I went were really cool and got that everyone wanted to have fun and stuff, but the ones before were like.... control freaks? I don't know exactly how to describe them... lol

Rentals: The times I've rented stuff, I've never really had a problem with anything, but some of the markers are broken and the staff really doesn't do anything about it which gets frustrating. That's something that they really need to work out soon. Also soe of the masks are falling apart, so careful

Players: Well, most of them are the little kids that think they're the best at everything and don't listen. The teenage group isn't really there anymore since the little kids started to play, but as time passes, they start to leave and the older group starts to come in.

Facilities: Restrooms are very well kept, although a bit small. Overall clean.

Food: Well, they don't have food handler's so.... they give you frozen food that you have to heat yourself... It's also overpriced, along with the drinks. That is defenantely an issue with them.

Overall: This is a GREAT field if it's your first time paintballing. There aren't any real problems with this facility, just make sure you have your waiver if you're gonna go. One of the main reasons as to why my ROTC Corp hasn't returned is the Staff and refs, so that's something that I would really look into.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dem0nWolf Tuesday, July 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Ranch - Totally different experiences, not really comparable.
Directions
to the Field:
It's a little hard to find, because it's at the Side of a large "AZ Combat Sports" building. It is located under the Green Awning on the side of the building. So look for that. They also tend to have an "INDOOR PAINTBALL" sign somewhere in the parking lot, in case you can't see the only alley there.
Review: The first game I ever played was at this field. And every time I've gone to this field since, it's been hit and miss. Sometimes it'll be really enjoyable, other times it's disjointed. I'll just go down the list and mention it as I go.

Safety - They are very strict about safety. Once an employee jumped over a counter and ran to stop someone who forgot to put a Sleeve on their Marker. Goggle's required on and around the field. So that's not a real issue at all.

Field - They only have one. It's small, but fun. The biggest issue I have with the field is they never clean the paint off the floor. They have Carpet, so I understand it may be hard to clean, but at the side's of the floor are giant piles of unbroken, paint covered balls. Every and any surface is coated in paint so if you fall against anything or grab onto anything you will get covered in paint. Otherwise the field is awesome, wood barriers and barrels make up the cover. One giant House in the middle sits pretty much empty for the entire game due to little cover though.

Hours - They're pretty flexible on the hours. Check the website if you want to be sure, but my friends and I were there on a Friday to near 12am.

Price - Field fee is $24. Tues/Thurs is $12. Friday is Ladies night, so free for Ladies. Rental is $8 for everything you need in a bundle. Drinks and such behind the counter are a little over priced, but that's to be expected. Paint is the biggest money sucker. It's $50 for a box of 1000 balls. My friends and I had to split the cost, and then we went through that really fast. And you can only use their paint, so you will have to pay that price.

Proshop - Umm...? They have some stuff for sale up front, but it's mostly Marker's (few Tippmann's), other then that they don't have anything. In the back there's the Rental room which is where you get your CO2 refilled. But everytime I would get in line it would take forever for them to get things done. Or sometimes I would go over there and no one would be in the room at all.

Staff - Friendly for sure. Everyone there is willing to answer any questions, and it's a pretty relaxed enviroment.

Refs - This is a hit and miss sort of deal. Some of the Refs I've had there are incredibly friendly and just want to help you out and have a good time. Some of them are just down right... mean? I guess that's a good word. I dunno this is really where it get's hit and miss for me.

Facilities - There's a small area outside the field with tables that you prepare/rest/eat at. Bathroom's are small but clean. I've already mentioned the field above. However the Chrono is in the lobby area, and it's stange. Because when someone decides to see how high they can get the Chrono to go, the lobby get's real quiet. Because of the... you know noise level that full auto makes? So yeah, that's certainly a negative.

Rentals - They rent out some Spyder's (MR1's I think?) and this is my biggest issue with the place. If a Marker is broken, they don't do much about it. My friend got a bad marker, and every time he took it to get REPLACED, they would fiddle with it for 15 seconds and give it back. Next round? Broken. This has only happened one time we were there, but it was... Awful. The masks are a bit old too, they seem to be falling apart.

So yes, I would recommend this field, but keep just a few things in mind. Messy field and difficult Rental's. Otherwise great staff, and so on. Give it a shot, I think most people will enjoy this field.

EDIT: I just wanted to put this in here, because after rereading my review it seemed a little harsh. This is by no means a bad field, in fact it is personally my favorite indoor field here in Arizona. The problems are limited to very specific markers and such they have, which may be retired next time I go there anyway. So take this with a grain of Salt, because I'm certainly a fan of this field. I just wanted to let people know what to expect.

EDIT: (8/8/10) I'm not sure what happened, but I went to Tempe last night and they seemed to have spray painted messages all over the walls. I'm sure a bulk of the messages will soon be covered in paint, but it looked fairly trashy to be honest. They should probably never do that again, given it makes the place look cheap. Just my opinion.

EDIT: (8/21/10) What...? Alright, so last update I complained about the spray painted messages. Not only is this worse now, but suddenly all the walls are chopped up in the center house...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jq1zfgJoTY (Not my video, but if you look at the center house there are now large portions of the wall missing).
Why? I'm not sure. It doesn't add to the gameplay in much of a way. It gives less cover. It also doesn't make the field as friendly to "all ages". My dad isn't the most agile of guys, and loved the cover that the building provided. He could sit in the back and keep standing without having to test his knees, so to speak. That's no longer an option. Also this change seems rather permanent. Not sure if I liked this change. Still a great field, but I'm not sure if this was the right move.
Last edited on Monday, August 23rd, 2010 at 5:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DesertEaglePB Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at the provin grounds and West world paintball, They both are extremely better then Tempe.
THE Provin grounds is a free lance, its bring your own paint/air and its free.
Directions
to the Field:
I would like to keep you away from this.
Review: The Safety/rules is only thing that actually is good.
The Field is a mess, tons of paint everywhere and you touch any wall your leaning in 2 inches of cheap smelling paint. The field says its almost an acre which is a lie, its about less then half a football field and very small. It does have a " Building" yet NO one goes in, because there are to many windows.
Hours of operation there not horrible but they are only open in the afternoons, and there not open that late.
Prices- to play was 20 and a box of paint was 54$ thats not including the 4 dollars of tax which makes one box of paint basically 60$.
Rules- They don't count marker hits for some of the games, some of the games were stupid and pointless due to the size of the field.
Proshop- They Have one haha? They did but the place is so bad organized that you can't even look at what they got.
Staff- I think its a Family/Team field? Cause it was basically players.
Refs- They are basically real rude they think they are the best paintball players ever and they really need to learn not to touch your equipment. They can make you sit out more then one game, ( I had to because i shot a kid after he was out cause he shot at me)
PLAYERS- They are Mainly either STAFF, OR LITTLE KIDS. The Teenage crowed was not there, it was mainly going against rental guns.
FOOD- THEY GIVE YOU FROZEN FOOD, YOU COOK IT YOURSELF. I think its very sad that they cant get a food handlers, when 12 year olds can.

OTHER- The organization.... IT is probably its weakest points... Me and my crew sat there for almost one hour to play a game because they had two birthday parties. I know i wasn't part of them but they did not have enough guns for the kids, the teams were very unbalanced it was lots of rentals vs non rentals. I mean they even asked to take our table because they didnt have enough set up...

DO NOT RENT THE CHASER PISTOL ITS CRAP
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mistab90 Friday, February 26th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Check website great directions
Review: So this was my first time actually playing paintball on a field and Id have to say it was a great experience. The refs were very helpfull and they even filled my CO2 for free when I left. The field was a little slick but hey it was more of a challenge and it wasnt that bad. Everyone there was really helpful even some of the players there were cool to get to know. All in all I defiantly had a great time and plan on improving my paintball skill on this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

firefightrdylan Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter ranch, xtreme pursuit
Review: ok this is THE worst place i have ever been. the floor is sticky and you cant sprint and EVERYTHING is covered in their bad paint that never goes away and only hardens. safety is like everywhere else and it got pretty bad rentals (i have my own gun but my brother used the rental). And they are just kinda not helpful, my brother asked for a new rental and they didnt do anything about it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tonygpaintball Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wild west paintball, wild planet paintball
to be fair this field does not compare to the others but when it is 115 deg outside it is the best opption
Directions
to the Field:
see web site
Review: the field is well organized and the people that work there are professional.
they anwsered all my questions and even alowed me to crono prior to paying. I was not sure if i could get my gun to 220 fps.
the paint sold at this field is not the greates, it does not break well and it does not look round. I found quite a few balls with dimples.
the field is slitghtly larger than a speedball field but because there is a very large building in the middle it makes the field look much smaller.
In my oppinion if the building wasent there the field would be better.
the one thing to be aware of is that this is the dirties field ive ever played in.
if you want to know what it feels like to be inside a paint can this is the place to go.
i dont mind the paint covered bunkers but because the floor is carpet, and it is covered with an inch of paint it makes running allmost imposible.
over all i had fun though and i probably will go back if this 115 deg weather dosent stop any time soon
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SyDeRpro88 Friday, July 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cow Town: not all that great better for outside games
Review: This place is the best they are very big on safty u cant walk on to the field without your mask and when u come out u need to put on a barrel sleeve. They only have one feild but its really great for people who love CQC. they are open every day and tuesdays and thursdays r half off. on regular days it costs 24 dollars to get in but tuesdays and thursdays it only 12 dollars and rentals r 8 dollars with allday co2 also paint costs 8 for 200 16 for 500 36 for a 1000 and 56 for 5000 the rules are like any other place soo ya.the service is great and people ask are u having fun and do u need anything every time you come out of a game they dnt have a shop but its just a little place wear u can buy accesorise the staff is great thet assist you with wat ever you need they are awsome. REF's are a big thing in paintball and the refs here are fair their young people who play paintball and make the game really fun and fair.when u go here the players u meet are usually really nice its bound to happen too u at tempe paintball you will allways make new friends trust me. but overall this is a great famiy and pro place for everyone
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Az Player Tuesday, July 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Pursuit - lower in quality comparatively.
Review: This is where I play paintball, and this is where I have fun.

I found this place and I honestly have not been to any other fields in Arizona since. I have been going since a few weeks after it first opened. This is the better of the only two in door Pheonix paintball locations, it is located in Tempe, so is very very easy to get to, and is the only close quarters scenario place I know of in all of AZ.

This a great place to go to for paintball if you are looking for a field that is central to Pheonix, that provides good quality rental gear, an alternative to speedball, variant game types, and treats customers as valued.


Field: One indoor field...with AC. Its set up for urban combat so there are no inflatable barriers. Instead there are barrels, netting, houses, sheds. The field is not huge, but it is a good size for CQC. The floor is carpet, not sand, or track. Parents can watch their kids on the TV screens that watch the field (One of the screens is co-opted for sports events on the weekends)

Prices: just under 30 field fees (with specials from time to time), $8.00 rental gear for the best quality and best maintained markers I have seen in Pheonix (also the cheepest price I have seen for rental gear) Paint is about $54 and is always of high quality.

Services: I wasn't sure where to put this, but they have the usual events from time to time (league play, pumps, ect. ), as well as half priced days (once or twice a week), there are cosmic Fridays (dim lights, music, and light show effects). I have played may game types including standard team on team, terrorists vs counter terrorist, hostage rescue, VIP, infected/zombie, ctf, plant the bomb, and find the bomb.

Staff/Refs: Fun and knowledgeable people, always friendly, refs who actually play paintball, not disaffected high school kids looking for a summer job.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

USC Man Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23 bps
cow town
Directions
to the Field:
on website (great by the way)
Review: I love the field its the best one ive been to. staff is great. they have brilliant rental markers. mr1 if your wondering. i love the buildings staff again is the best i have ever seen at a paintball field . the only down thing is that you have to buy their paint. but like everywere else. i give this field a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shlurpee Saturday, December 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23bps
cowtown
Directions
to the Field:
Just look on the website
Review: It was a great field. Safety was top notch. The field is pretty small, no speedball, just recball. The FPS rule is only 220, but at that speed you are fine for the size of the field.
Unlike most fields, the management is great, very friendly, refs are good, two at all times on the field. The rental guns are the best I have ever seen, brand new spyder MR1's, the masks are good, hopper and tanks and great. The staff really does take good care of you, I was really impressed. You could tell they understood the value of repeat customers.

On the down side, the field is small, games last about 5-8 minutes, it gets pretty confusing figuring out who is on your side, many times friendly fire happens. But it was a pretty good field, great for beginners, but if you're big into speedball I would probably go somewhere else.
Last edited on Monday, December 3rd, 2007 at 5:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media