paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Oasis Paintball Park/ formerly extreme rage / Oasis Paintball Park/ formerly extreme rage / Oasis Paintball Park/ formerly extreme rage / Oasis Paintball Park/ formerly extreme rage

Oasis Paintball Park/ formerly extreme rage

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (239)939-0911
Address: 3820 Veronica S Shoemaker BLVD
Fort myers, Florida 33916
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Sydarm Sunday, June 19th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 19th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have been to previous fields in Lee county such as Paintball Park and Crossfire when they were in operation. I believe this is the only gig in town now.
Directions
to the Field:
It's easily visible from Veronica Shoemaker, off of Colonial.
Review: Proshop: A prefab/mobile home type deal. I didn't look around too much but it was ACed and adequately staffed. They kindly let me borrow a mask free of charge.

Fields: Two airball fields in adequate condition, and there may have been a small woods field but we did not play on it.

Food/Drink: Waters were $1 and I don't believe food was available. They may have more drink options.

Rules: Velocity is <300 fps. At times safety was stressed, and other times it was quite the opposite. Rules were in place, but broken with regularity.

Refs: Monitored the game and safety when present, but they were not always there. Games occurred sporadically and teams were typically thrown together rather haphazardly, although once or twice teams were formally chosen.

Staff: All staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. The staff did not appear to be trained on how to properly fill co2 with a scale, however :-/

Prices: Heat was $47. There was another choice or two but I considered this to be the best value. Admission was a bit steep at $25 admit/rent and $20 admit. All day air was included whether co2 or hpa.

Overall Experience: Although paint was fairly priced and staff was kind, I wouldn't necessarily recommend this field. If you are specifically looking for speedball versus players that are mostly experienced and on teams & a relaxed environment of play this may be for you. If you are less experienced, have poor equipment, a stickler for safety, or want to play rec-ball vs other rec-ballers...then I would not recommend that you go here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Potsy Wednesday, August 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never been to any others in FM area
Directions
to the Field:
On east side of Veronica Shoemaker rd between Winkler and Hanson.
Review: Went with a large group of people from work and had an enjoyable time! I brought my own equipment, but from what I could see the markers were decent.... for a rental (Piranha). They have two speedball fields and one woods course. Woods could stand to have a little more man made cover, but I don't really play woods so what does it matter. When I went, the PSP field was set up for MAO. Refs were all really cool and helpful. As far as field safety goes, they are good about enforcing it. The concern I have is timing of when to have goggles on. What do I mean? I have been to a number of fields and at every single one the rule has been....Mask on at all times when on the field. Oasis lets players go onto the field with your barrel sock on and mask off, then divvy up teams and strategize, then masks on, and finally, barrel covers off. Numerous times I had to tell co-workers to not take off their covers yet because someone else on the field hadn't put their mask on. At one point someone almost started a game without it even on. Now, I know its Florida and it gets hot in the summer, but this way can be a bit confusing for everyone, especially newbies. This is my only problem with this facility. ?s I had prior to going were either answered on pbreview or Oasis' website. FPS is under 300 (closer to 290) for those trying to chrono their marker before going.
Oh yeah, for the love of god, PLEASE EMPTY THE PORT O LET! The water was literally crawling.....rather disturbing sight!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

duckdude12345 Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 29th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mike Greenwell's (terrible)
Crossfire
Directions
to the Field:
Somewhat difficult, if you are headed north on Veronica Shoemaker you will have to turn right onto a little side road and make a U-Turn.
Review: 1. Safety is not their first priority but they do care, you must always have a barrel cover on when your not on the field and when your barrel cover is off when you"re on the field you must have a mask on.
2. They have 3 fields. 2 of them are inflatable fields (one made for speedball) and one woodsball field. the speedball field is great, the other inflatable field isn't taken care of as well and not always blown up. the woodsball field is great for big games cause it is a large area with lots of natural and man made cover.
3. the hours are 10 a.m. to about 4 p.m. but they will let you keep playing after 4 if you still have paint.
4. the rules are pretty basic: get off the field if your hit, always have your mask on when barrel cover is off, the basic rules.
5.the service is good, if you have a gun jam they will fix it. the refs are just hangin around outside and grab one when you need one.
6. the shop isnt much, it is just a little building with rental gear and a few things you can buy. dont plan on grabbing a full setup there.
7. the staff is very nice, the owner is very friendly and there to help and the refs are always ready to ref.
8. the other players are nice, they aren't afraid of showing you what it feels like to get hit and alot of them have high quality guns but they are not trying to hurt you, just there to have a good time.
9. the facility looks pretty trashed but its actually a very good place to play paintball. i wouldnt really expect a paintball place to be super nice though, your hitting it with paint! there is alot of parking though.
10. there is no food there but you can purchase drinks if you choose (you can also bring a cooler of food and drinks if you want)
11. it is also BYOP (bring your own paint) and they except almost every kind of paint except monster balls. they do not allow monsterballs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

panhead4411 Monday, March 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Was on vacation...
Directions
to the Field:
A bit on the tricky side, i was glad it was two of us in the car, or we would have missed the place. Lots of parking though, big gravel lot.
Review: Minus the fact that everywhere in Florida seems to be infested with sand, it was okay.

PROS

BYOP (allows players to Bring Your Own Paint)
Lots of parking on gravel (not dirt)
Good sized woods
Toury setup for Airball

CONS

Only two fields
Safety did not seem a priority
Field fee more than i'm used to for a BYOP field.

The speedball field looked fun, but due to the fact there were a BUNCH of teams there, and it was not made very clear to use very recreational players that we could just totally interrupt their 2-3 minute game rotation to play w/ just us, we thus did not get to experience it at all. They started deflating the bunkers 1 1/2 hours before "close" b/c they were eager to get out of there. We figured we'd wait till all the speedball guys had gotten tired, then we would play a few rounds on the airball field to bun the rest of our paint/air that we couldn't take on the plane home.

The woods was decent, for florida. It had a good variety of vegetation in in different areas. There was not much "hard cover" anywhere except the one side of the "fort." But i'm not much for man made cover, i like my wooded fields natural. It was large enough that players could flank easily and the boundaries were well marked. (good thing as i'd never played there before)

One of the PROS that i usually take advantage of is they are NOT a field paint only field, so you can bring left over paint or your own personal fav.

This brings me to the CONS section. This field seemed to (from what i saw) take the physical safety of the woodsball players very casually. The "deadbox" for the woods was on top of the left over remains of what seemed to be a very old RV chassis, complete with rusty nails and lose sheets of metal. Also, they instituted no "bunkering" rule of any sort. When walls to the fort are just field netting, and the only way to "attack" it was to stick your gun over and shoot the other person from less than 5 ft, that surprised me. Having been to some very safety conscious fields in my day. Maybe its just a florida thing, i don't know.

Also, the masks ON in any firing area rule was seemingly largely ignored, as was the use of barrel blocking devices that were not a finger. The Chrono station was literally on the speedball field.

All in all, the day was not an experience i'd like to repeat. Not for lack of trying, we single handedly won several games. But i have to admit, if i had to do that day over again, i would have packed a different gun, one that was not so susceptible to sand.

I've heard some really great things about this field, but honestly, i just did not get that kind of experience. Maybe it was just a bad day. So, if you are planning a trip there, maybe make sure there are not a metric crap-ton of ppl planned for that day, as they only had the ONE airball, and ONE woods.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

demonicsaint Friday, February 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just got back into paintball after a 10 year break :( Have only played at one other field in the last Month.
Directions
to the Field:
Buy a gps :)
Review: Awsome experience with these guys. The owner was very nice and helpful, very active and a big part of the events that were going on. We went down there for the tournament from Tampa and got stomped by the players, we had ref's everywhere who knew what they were doing and did an amazing job, the event went nice and smooth the entire day. The d4 and d5 teams were awsome to watch and learn from. I would recomend this field for play to anyone in the area, and people through Florida who want to get into the tournament scene this is definitly a big help in getting started.

At the end of the day I'm rating this field based on I'm wanting to go back to the March 3 man tournament, the owner being friendly and helpful, and the knowledge, attitiude and ability to keep the games running by the ref's
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyroboy08 Saturday, May 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mike Greenwells (YUCK!!)
Stealth Sports (formerly renegade)
Review: This is the best field in the area. They have three fields currently, a NPPL field, a up-to-date X-ball field, and a woodsball field. They have an airconditioned registration room/store. Their store doesn't have a lot of inventory but they have good deals, and will do their best to match prices. They will order things for you, and are very helpful. The employees are very nice, and gave my friend a free barrel sock when he lost his. They have a nice woodsball field, that supports assult the fort as well as the standard CTF, center flag, and elimination. Their rates are $20 admission, $5 gear rentals (Piranha GTI, with HPA tanks), $45 paint case, you get a $5 discount if you buy a 1000 or more paintballs.


I highly recommend this field to anyone near it, many people are there every weekend, You will have a blast
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SS_Kr3wwww Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ref'd at the old extreme rage, ref'd at naples renegade
Directions
to the Field:
OPP is Located In Fort Myers, Florida
820 Veronica Shoemaker Blvd ( Use to be Palmetto ) Ft Myers, FL. 33916 (239)939-0911
Located between Winkler Ave and Hanson St. East of Metro Pkwy and West of I-75.
Review: Awesome field, Awesome staff, Awesome prices. what more could you ask for? currently one Xball field and some woods getting a 10man or so hyper ball field next. Lots of teams, Lots of action every weekend. air conditioning registration room with free wireless internet. If your in the 239 area and looking for a paintball field this is IT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt s Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mike greenwells (Not real good)
Review: Best Park, Great woodsball field but Awesome hybrid X field. The staff here are so nice when My O-rings busted they gave me a couple for free. Only 15$ for all day air and play. The park consists of 3 fields speedball,Hybrid X and woodsball. If new to the sport rentals are only 10$. Overall This field is awesome,cheap and fun to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

indirocz28 Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have done some woodsball with friends, but no other area fields on my visits to FL.
Directions
to the Field:
Dont use Mapquest or Yellowpages.com. Get on colonial, then Left at the stop light of Veronica S Shoemaker ( The way we were coming was from Cape Coral), Keep going through a small industrial area, then a firestation on the left, and about 3 miles on the right you will pass a something " KITCHEN" place - 2 white pole bar buildings, and about 2 miles past that there you will see a sign for ALLIED RECYCLING, and there will be Oasis Paintball/extreme rage park on the right. - turn and get onto the axcess road and your there.
Review: I recently visited family in FL during the Thanksgiving holiday and had planned on playing some paintball while down so I brought most of my stuff. We had stopped by West Coast Alternative Sports there by the Edison Mall in Ft. Myers and got some paint and a couple things. Keith ( the owner) was a great guy and had told us about Oasis. We decided to try it out on sunday after playing some woodsball on saturday on some friends property.

My experience there at Oasis was nothing but good. Keith helps out on the weekends there and is a very friendly guy, and Craig ( the new owner of Oasis) is the same. Craig is out there for everyone to have as good of a time as possible and will help the recreational crowds along as well. At only $15 entry and free all day air- cant beat that, unless your on a team and get in discounted.

We had a blast out there today. More fun than the fields I play at in Indiana.

Giving a 9 out of 10, - because no one is perfect-, They are working hard to get things going again after the hurricane- so get over to them and play some ball!- You wont be dissapointed!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media