paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
supraman1120 Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: During spring break me and about 26 of my friends decided to take a trip up to Skirmish. Any group over twenty people gets the discounted registration fee ($20) and the organizer of any group of 25 or over recieves either a new tippy 98c or a 3000psi nitro tank (although this aspect of the deal was never fulfilled, but more about that later). Sinse it was spring break and we were students the paint cases were discounted to $70 (instead of $100). The paint was decent (RPS), and it was overall of a decent quality. I personally have a gun, but a few of my buddies didn't, the rental guns were your normal model 98 and seemed to function properly. The variety and quality of the fields is where this place shines. They own well over 1000 acres of land and have tons of different types of fields. From speed ball to scenario play this place has all aspects covered. The tippmann castle is a riot and the hood in the woodz is great. The only complaint about the fields is that they are extremely far apart from not only one another, but from the main camp area. A twenty minute walk is sometimes necessary just to get back to the equipment lockers. Some type of automatic transportation would be a great help. The refs we had were great guys (albeit one looking and talking like a complete burnout), they were personable, nice guys who made me feel that i was safe playing on their fields. One main problem i found there was the lack of people who knew how to actually and correctly fill a CO2 tank without freezing them. It seemed they just had guys who knew nothing about filling and put them in the filling station. I personally had my tank frozen completely twice, along with basically everyone Else's tanks. The guys were so bad that they froze the CO2 lines by the end of the day and could not fill our tanks one last time. The other problem was with the repair guys, they knew the basics (what any paintballer should know) like field stripping and oiling, but when it came to common sense they had none. My friend had just bought his A-5, it was completely oiled and nice. Sinse the CO2 fillers froze his tank, the o-ring went on his tank. He brought it up to the guys and asked for them to put on a new o-ring, they did it and my friend waited fro his tank to defrost before trying again. One of the "geniuses" told him that it was good to put in and there was no need to oil it.The guy put it in and the oring blew, but not only on the tank, on the remote and the one inside the gun as well. This forced him to sit out for 2 rounds. Lastly on to the reward the organizer was supposed to receive. My friend busted his A$$ putting this whole thing together, he single handedly collected all the money and even put the whole thing on his credit card (he is only 17 and has a very low credit limit). We arrived only for him to find out that sinse we are getting discounted rates he will not be receiving his nitro tank. I think it is messed up for them not to have told him in advance. That aside i think this place is great and it is lots of fun, especially when u go with a big group.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

METAL MILITIA Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Global Paintball - even though it has 8 fields, it is way better
PocoLoco - will be going there soon
Review: This place was ok. Too expensive, and too many people. I mean u have to get on buses to go to the fields. The prices are way crazy. $100 for a case of Zap. (That was back in 2001, i don't know if they still use ZAP.)Thats horrible. Global Paintball (a.k.a. Global Warzone) has cases for 85 and at least they are Team Colors. Other than that the fields are kool and are made to be like real life warzones. The place is kool, (i live about 20 mins. away from it) but i will never go there again. (i rather go to Global which is 45 mins away)
Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 6:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

SpydrPaintbalDX Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paint ball depot
cousins paintball
Review: This place is awesome i went in july 2003 for D day scenario game and i couldnt of had more fun with 1798 people who went
the beach assault started out in replica higgains boats and you would have to push eh germans back all the way to the whole of europe including fighting through the towns in france , the teams were allies (parachuted behind lines[droped off in a bus)or inserted on the beach,) french resistance, and nazis, there were objectives and special assignemtns to earn points and the game lasted 24 hours long, at night me and my friend were able to get on the S.S. NJ which was a bus completely gutted of seats 2 lighs were on rotating turrets to find nazi positions to fire on the windows were cut out and it was very slipery from all the broken paint on the ground, as it was driving we were struggleing to keep standing. also skirmish holds a world record game to get as many people as they can to play a single game, i believe they have that record



I just got back from D-DAY 2004

this year was so much sweeter..and i got to be american again
on the beach was so insane there were so much more people last year total players were 1798 and this year is was over 2800!!!! it was crazyness and this year there were pillboxes on the beach for the germans last year you could get atleast 2 bunkers into the beach before you were in range to be shot but this year by the time my friend hit the end of the plank on the craft he was head shoted this ytear was better because the americans won this year, by 50 points! thats only 1 recoverd fuel drum, this year i went on more missions this time, something last year i didnt know you could do, the biggest adreneline rush was taking 30 german prisioners and sucessfully capturing the pantagon, holding it under siege , tdestroying it so the germans couldnt use it and taking the fuel drums back to the allied fuel depot, ....mission accomplished!

NEW THIS YEAR (good)
Tanks & assorted mobile vehicles
movies playing at night,
(first night, black hawk down)
(second night, The matriX)
German pillboxes
1,000 more players
Helicopters on the beach (more cover from fire) located on Juno Gold and tail was on a part of Omaha

NEW THIS YEAR (bad)
helecopters on the beach (part of there new senario is black hawk down and they use the same field so they were to lazy to take the helecopters off the beach, they didnt even have combat helecopters back then and they defnitly didnt have black hawks)

battleship newjersey was only used once in the very beggining of the beach assault the rest of the time it was a transport bus to get CO2, last year it was used all the time during the game, i guess they figured isince there were more people they needed it but the line would never go faster then the buses so it didnt matter anyway, all well just more work for the allies)
Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 1:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

b1gf00t88 Tuesday, January 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first time I played at a field.
Review: A few months back we went to Skirmish with a group of friends (over 25 of them so we got a free Tippy 98 custom, and my friend's brother got to keep it). Since we were playing with little 6th graders or so, we didn't get to play Tippmann's Castle, which to tell you the truth, was pretty intimidating itself but if you get to go into those bunkers in front of the castle you should be fine. The ref was just afraid of the kids getting shot about five times around corners inside of the castle. Just watching, though, i could picture the money flowing into Skirmish when every shot was fired, and it sounded like fireworks there were so many shots going off! In fact, the ref says that in the winter, the paint looks like a thick jell on the walls, and when the sun hits it, it slowly runs down.
Anyway, enough about Tippy castle. I liked just about every field that they had there, especially the ones with the planes sitting outside and the other couple with tanks that sat outside- awesome bunkers. Get inside one of those tanks and no one can get you.
I've never played paintball before this, but I have to say it was the most awesome experience that I've had in a while and I will definitely remember it. Just remember field paint costs 60 bucks a case of Diablo Blaze, which is O.K.. Oh, and they have food there too (hamburgers and hot dogs).
And, gas refills are free CO2 and HPA. Watch those field tanks though, because instead of a rupture disk, they have a really scary pressure relief valve, which they use when filling the tanks up so they don't have to be weighed. At certain pressures, these things will randomly squirt you with liquid CO2 (not giving frostbite, but enough to scare the crap outta you). It's happened to me before.
I give it a 9 because it can be a bit expensive but it's definitely worth it, and they have to pay for all of the equippment, maintenance, etc.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lobsterboy360 Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command- not as big but its only 10 minutes away and its a good speedball field.
Review: Skirmish has awesome fields with a lot of variety. They also have some excelelnt hyper pipe fields with great refs. Everyone was nice there with great service. My one complaint is that they are a bit pricey but thats not a huge deal. Otherwise, skirmish is a top-notch field. I'm giving it a 9 because its a sweet place to go but they cost a lot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jort Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: These fields are great, there is alot of variety and the props on the fields are wonderful especially "hood in the woods" the judges were great ... one was a former marine and treated us like marines it was cool. The refs keep it safe highly reccomended for everyone best fields i've ever played at!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RAB2 Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: This field was great! There was a lot of variety there. The fields were sized from very small to very large. They also had wide open and thick fields. I liked the variety. I was there when it rained and it was very muddy and smelly, not that they can help that, though. The place was well run. The CO2 fill line was quick and the compressed air line was a do-it-yourself and was also fast. My gun mysteriously fell apart before I got there and they fixed it quickly. There were only two things I did not like. One, the price of the paint. The paint was terrible and had dimples on it. It was cheap paint. Not cheap in price, though. $100 dollars a box!!! Way overpriced!!! How can a field that gets so many customers a day and also charges you just to play need to make paint cost that much? Two, the distance from the fields to the fill stations and store. I had to run back because I ran out of air before anybody else. Not that big of a deal, though. If paint didn't cost so much I would give this field a 10. This was a great field and I would reccomend it to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fligge87 Sunday, December 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first field I've played at.
Review: Skirmish USA is simply awesome. My group of 23 people came and they treated us like kings. We could get any field we wanted as long as it was open. We played in structure fields, wooded fields, speedball courses and even the Tippmann Castle. Everybody there is extremely helpful. The gun techs are willing to help anyone with problems big and small. Filling your co2 or n2 tanks is quick and easy. If you're renting a gun you get a quality Model 98 or for 12 dollars you can upgrade to an A-5 with a nitro tank. They have good food there and hundreds of quality paintball products for you to buy or rent at the proshop and at the trailer at the picnic area. The only bad thing I can think of is that their prices are a little steep. However, the cost is well worth it because you will walk away with an experience you will never forget.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coal-Cracker Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR, Paintball Thunder
Review: My experiences with Skirmish have been mixed.

Their scenario games are impressive (Battle of the Bulge '02). Plan to attend more this year, though I've been told attendance has been dropping off lately on some of them. I don't plan to allow heresay to deter me - have to see if this is true for myself.

I've noticed that walk-on play does require some self-regulation on the part of the players as far as safety is concerned. Chrono procedures for players who bring their own equipment are lax in that the refs don't check, but "take your word for it". This may vary with some refs, but this has always been our experience. (note: Scenario games do have a more stringent procedure - much safer in that regards.)

Paint is expensive at $105 for ZAP field paint. Had one very bad experience with paint when over half the day was spent with barrel breaks because of weak shells and excessive dimples. The owner did give half of our money back after complaining. Warning: Always check all the bags of paint prior to heading to the field. Return them if you see alot of distortion or dimples.

Rules are geared towards newer players and first-timers. (gunshots and shots below the knees and elbows don't count) Which is fine, I suppose. It occasionally just makes for boring gameplay for the more experienced.

Your experience may vary and could be enjoyable. Just make sure you request a good referee(s) and really check your paint.

Overall, it's a decent field (can't beat the amount of location/playing fields) and their scenario games have been well worth the drive.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Canival Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Great fields, the open area makes the field that much better. The tubes, airfield, ghetto and Tippman castle were very good. Tippman castle especially is very good, takes up a lot of paintballs, but it's very good nonetheless. Referees are good as well and the free CO and tanks help also. However, paintballs are way too much, you especially spend $200 on a box barring you don't have any people to split that cost with. only other negative is the distance between fields and the price. This was my very first time paintballing, and I must say, I'm hooked, the ad reline rush was by far the best I've had. I'm thankful that I went to Skirmish to experience as my first paintball trip.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media