paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  Last
        Next Page
HuntingBry Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate Pursuit-played it a long time ago. Pricing has changed and I'm sure they have changed the fields since then.
Triage-Fields are smaller and can't compare to Skirmish, but the prices are much better.
I've also played some fields in Florida which can't compare.
Review: We played in a group of about 18 people that we organized ourselves. We met there and assembled near the sign-in area. It took us about half an hour or so to get organized and the refs came over to help get us assembled. We went and bought paint as a group (highly recommended) and spent $900 on 12 cases of Draxxus Midnight. We then assembled and headed to the fields. We played the Tippmann Castle (which is unbelievable), Coyote Run (flag capture), a smaller flag field, and the Pentagon. We could have played more, but guys were running out of air, paint, and energy by 3 p.m. so we called it quits. The refs encouraged us to play more, even offering to let us use some paint and air that they had with them, but some of the guys had enough so that was it.

I'll now review each part of the experience and give my personal views on it.

Tippmann Castle-One of the most creative and largest structures I have ever played. The starting point is an open field with bunkers and obstacles facing the front of the castle. Inside there are 3 levels with towers, ramparts an internal stairwell in the courtyard and lots of shooting lanes. There are also a good amount of woods on each side to use for flanking maneuvers. If you can get on it I highly suggest it.

Coyote Run-A very large field for flag capture. You have to pick your way through the woods and seek out the enemy. Once engaged things can get fast and furious. There is a lot of room for flanking but you have to be aware of your flanks as well. Very fun field.

Smaller Flag Capture-I can't remember the name of this field, but it was a round field that was fairly small (you can see the other team from the starting point). There is not as much room to maneuver, so teamwork is essential on this field. Don't get caught out in the open too long or you will get lit up.

Pentagon-Smaller structure with lots of windows and doors for shooting (which means not a lot of cover if you're inside). The object is to storm it and ring a bell inside. We played this last so there was a lot of wiping going on so it's hard to give a good assessment of how good it is (I gogged the same guy 3 times and then he eliminated me). It is very hard to find good cover inside of the Pentagon, but you get into some really good fire fights.

Refs-Our refs did a pretty good job. I have read other reviews saying the refs were bad, but I guess it depends on who you get. Our refs were very safety conscious and let us play the way we wanted (head, chest, and back). They did a pretty good job of calling people out and were willing to get involved in any games we wanted them to (we were going to do a prisoner rescue and a ref volunteered to be the prisoner). They also tried to keep things moving and encouraged to play as much as possible.

Accommodations-Two guys had problems with their own equipment and one was able to quickly get back into action and the other was given a rental and missed very little play. If you ran out of air the refs had spare air to give you. There were lockers for extra gear as well.

Pricing-This is the single biggest complaint everyone has about Skirmish. While old Midnight paint for $100 a case is ridiculous, let's face facts, it's a business and they are there to make money. Air refills are free. Lunch was very reasonable. I spoke with the ref about the land (700+ acres) and he said some of it is owned, some is leased and some is rented. They have a large staff and tons of equipment (I don't think they could possibly run out of rental gear). If you are cash conscious this may not be the place for you. On the other hand, if you want to play some of the best fields in the world and are willing to pay for expensive paint you will have a great time. Like I said earlier if you buy paint as a group you can save yourself a lot of cash.

Overall-Skirmish is a top notch establishment. Friendly people, good accommodations, and the best fields you will find anywhere. If you want the best but aren't willing to pay for it you will be disappointed. Otherwise, you will have a great time. I give it a 9 because it isn't perfect, but darn close.

Last edited on Monday, September 29th, 2003 at 8:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Emrys250 Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: After I went to a field in Pitt, i've decided to change my review. It was too long, anyway.

RENTALS: 9/10 Tippmann 98 customs that work well.

ACCOMMODATIONS: 10/10 The guys at skirmish have everything you need to play there, they even rent camo jumpsuits. There are also lockers and packs with tubes to rent. They have it all.

FIELDS: 9/10 This place has the best fields around. The Tippmann Castle was especially cool. The only problems were the occasional waits before and after games, and the distance from field to field means a bit of a walk.

REFS: 9/10 Our group of about 40 had two Refs, and they were great. They did the best they could to enforce the rules, but gave us too long of a break for lunch and before games to get ready. They were also very nice and informative.

LUNCH: 10/10 Bought from a snack bar. Reasonably priced, food consists of hot dogs, hamburgers, gatorade or soda, and various snacks. Excellent for the price.

PAINT: 8/10 Must be bought at Skirmish, Diablo Midnight, Green shell and yellow fill.
(Edit: The paint might have been draxxus)

SPECIALS: 9/10 They have many group benefits and Reduced Rate days, you also get to keep a flag you capture- a nice touch. Players with their own equipment get 100 paintballs free- normally not a big deal, but when you are paying $10 at skirmish for that, it is well worth it.

PRICE: 3/10 Normally the prices are horrendous, but if you go on a 1/2 price or other special day you can reduce the sting in the wallet. At least you get free c02 fills.

Overall: 8.3/10
Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 2:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

firevulcan Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E.M.R-About the same
Field in Maryland-Much better
Review: I came here with some friends for the young guns weekend. It was pretty good and did meet my expectations.

Pros-
Huge selection of fields. Around 50 i believe but truly huge. Nice speed ball and structure fields. Castle 1 not the Tippmann Castle is extremely overrated and i didn't think much of it.

Good refs. We had one of the best refs i ever had. We will be asking for him again.

Repairs. When my friends gun died the had a fresh one shipped out to him on the field while they fixed his.

Cons-
The prices. This is why Skirmish gets bad ratings. $105 for a case of paint and $30 to get in. The paint isn't even that good.

Staff. Most of the staff was good but some woman seemed to be angry when we said that we couldn't find the co2 rental.

You play on the fields your group plays on. Our group got paired with a bunch of noobs who were too scared to play speed ball so we had to wait until they left.

We will be going back to Skirmish this winter for the half-price days. This will at least eliminate one problem so i can think about the game rather than how am i going to pay for all this. I would suggest this field for noobs or large groups of people so you can get a better deal.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1 Sunday, September 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR=joke, Liberty better prices, Survival NY=joke, Various fields across US and , Germany
Review: Great fields here, Awsome terraine and great staff. There world record game was a blast but with big games its hard to moderate with player and never enough refs. Regular play the refs were good and kept the action going to differnt fields. The price is a little high but you do get top nothch treatment and fields which justifies it. Their paint isnt the greatest. Wish they had a choich between 3 types esspecially PMI and Evil. Other than that a great field and we plan many more trip to Skirmish.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballmatt22 Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FoxHole, good field, nice prices and nice owners..... fields are ok, they are fun but cant compare with some other fields.... I like it, its close to my house.....
Review: first of all i want to say this..... all the reviews that put skirmish down, have to be wrong. because i went there and the refs were awesome and cool, they did know how to fill CO2 tanks..(not once did one burst thing blow).......here are pros and cons

Pros: Refs were very cool, they knew what they were doing and enforced the rules very good, went over all the rules with theb players and i liked them a lot,
the repair staff, unfortunatly while i was there my valve developed a leak on my Tippmann, i went to the repair staff and they knew what the problem was and said it was a slow leak i could either get it fixed now and wait a 1/2 hour or get it fixed over lunch....well i had a 20oz tank and i knew it could hold out so i played and during lunch they fixed it for me ( i had to pay 10 bucks for valve)...my friend's impulse, had its circuitry fried since it was raining, they diagnosed the problem for free and he got to use a M98 for the rest of the day..so i liked that part
Co2: they had Co2 fills there and Nitrogen fills as well, they had properly trained staff who knew how to fill tanks...... ( and you dont have to take a bus to get CO2 or paint, u go back to the field central which isnt far away and you can get ur fills there and paintballs there....pluz the refs go back every once in a while to get that stuff too.

THE FILDS OWN!!!!!! the new Tippmann castle is very cool, but very hard to win when u are attacking it, but they still have to figure out how to make it fair.... we almost made it though, but we ran out fo time (hint, try getting most of the guys inside on one side then sneak a few in front or the back and either kill ppl inside or ring the bell..... smoke grenades are very helpful on that level along with moving fast and staying low....

Cons: well the price was the biggest one, but it is well worth it.... and you think that they have a big staff and expenses and with profits they can make even better fields :), yeah you did have to wait a bit at first till you get a group together but our delay was only because we had to wait for some ppl to get there....


HAVING BACHELOR GROUPS ARE VERY FUN!!!!!

overall i loved everything about it and will definitly come back for more
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PA Eric Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco loco cobra command
Review: Well Well Well my first tournament field. It was a blast and skirmish is a great place to play. They have lots of tournaments and the staff is great. It is also a huge field there is alot of areas to play there. But look at the price i aint paying no 100$ for a case of paint. Then pay entry fee. What a waste and no to mention it is in the middle of nowhere. Well it be a great place to play if it was close to somethign. And it be alot better if less foutunite people that dont have over 120$dollars to spend a day there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Vulcan2422 Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Personally i dont know why alot of people are bad mouthing Skirmish. I thought it was excellent for a new player like my self. and i had such a blast the first time i went. Our Ref's were awesome and nice and helped us out all day long. We Arrived at skirmish at around 8 and waited around for a while till the buses came to pick us up. 10 min ride to the fields and it was all on from there. I swear once u walk into the resting area u feel like your part of the us army with all the camo's around. Camos were 6 bucks. All three of my friends got one but me and i was covered in all black and got shot maybe 3 games out of the many we played. When i jammed my gun (ref said i had one of the fastes fingers he had ever seen in a while) he fixed it up right away. Also I must say some of the older Paint ball players are really nice and try to help out the new people and what not. The only bad part was all the walking but hey i think i lost a couple of pounds. Also the paintballs are expensive and there sorta crappy and swerve and what not. Overall i give it a great score cause it really opened up my eyes to the whole paintball expiernce and now i own a tippmann model 98. So thanks skirmish!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lupin96 Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco Loco- Bad paitn price, Bad speed ball, Good for newbs, Good refs
Review: I went on 1/2 price paint day with a group of 5. We bout our paint ,got our markers, and got on to the bus. We played 30 vs 30. We had 8 awesome games. The bad thing about skirmish are that when you are walking to the fields you are walking on bad paths made ou of little crates that broke. And the paint wasn`t to much ( 1/2 price paint) but if it was normal price then that would of stunk ( nothing can be perfect though ) But the good things.............big teams, friends are all on same team, REFS were great, no wipers, 1/2 price paint, AWESOME FIELDS, different kind of games we played, and EVERYONE HAD FUN.
Overall SKIRMISH was a great time, and i will no matter what be going back... O ya, they had free CO2. So put all the good things over the bad things SKIRMISH GETS A........................ if they lower paint like 20 $ and better paths to fields it wold be a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cornmuffin87 Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time ive been to PA for paintball
Review: I went to skirmish for D-day 2003. It was GREAT. I think there was somewhere around 1719 people there! The beach landing was great, and so was the rest of the game (especially night play.) But I have the same complaints as all of you....Paint was 110 bucks a case (that includes tax)!!!!!! People say it is so they can make enough money to keep up the fields and such......but for 50 bucks preregistration and God knows how much for walk-ons...I think they get plenty of money form that. Even if they shaved 20 bucks off of the price theyd make a huge profit. Also, judges were few and far between most of the time, and most were inexperienced. Almost every single perosn I shot in that game failed to call themselves out..and just wiped. The only way to get someone out is to overshoot (yeah i know, not the most safe way). And then when you overshoot, you get yelled at....its crap. Chronoing was a huge problem too.....before the game, the american chrono station had a HUGE line...and the german one had about 4 people in it.......we had to call so many chrono checks on the german team because they were outshooting us by 10-20 feet. At one point I myself am subject to a random field chrono........and the ref used the worst one possible, and didnt even do it right. I shoot once, get 279, shoot again and get no response, shoot yet again and get no response, shoot for the last time and get 320!!!!!!!!!!!! I shoot a phantom....a 41 fps jump is unheard of on any get, especially the phantom....the ref made me go get re-taped and re-chronoed....and when i chronoed....i found i was shooting 280 the whole time........
Specialty distribution was awful too (i.e medic,corpsman,artillary officer,engineer, etc). The whole american force had something like 3 medics including corpsmen.....one corpsman was my platoons captain! how does that work.....We never had anyone around to do anything (demolitions, repair, air strike, artillary.)
Co2 fills was the worst of all though. You had to ride a bus or walk for 5 minutes to go get your tank filled. As said below, people's tanks were blowing ALL the time. The people at the fill station said i was because it was 'hot outside'.....but for a burst disk to blow right after a fill....it has to be really hot...and it was only about 80-85 degrees out. My tank was a whole nother story. I have a 4 oz (cuz i use a pump) and they couldnt fill it right! They underfilled it every time....first time I got 50 shots (usually get 320) and the next two I got 5 and no shots, respectively. I gave up and used my friends 9 oz which they couldnt fill right either. They said it was because their gauges start at 12 oz, so they have to guess the smaller ones......
All in all it was an excellent game though. Pretty good organization, tons of missions, cool fields, plenty of action. I would definately recomend skirmish and especially d-day to anyone. You can easily get past the shortcomings. I gove skirmish a 8/10. It needs some work, but its a great place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NYer Monday, July 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins FirstPrize and Paintball Madness all in NY
Review: I went here once and it was my first time playing paintball a logn time ago. I had a blast we went with a college group of my friends. The fields are incredible liek the one with a downed airplane in the middle of it. Fields = a 10 !!!!!!!

The refs were very cool however they did not catch all the wipers ... oh well but there were some people removing there masks and that is not cool.. REfs maybe a 4

The price was very high. I think I dropped 200 bucks for oen stinking day... 100 bucks for case of paint 8 bucks camo 10 bucks air 30 bucks entrance fee adn some overpriced food.

I guess you get what you pay for I think they are probably the alrgest and best known place in the tri state , and I m gonna go back in August, because they have half price day, and I would love to try a scenario maybe D day or something..

NE way great time other than the price so I gave it a 9 !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media