paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18
        Next Page
ShtimpE Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter, Staten Island Paintball, Long Island Survival, etc
Review: First and foremost the fields are unbelievable. The terrain is great, except on rainy days, the props are great and the amount of fields to choose from is definitely a plus. Yes I would agree with the other players, the paint is expensive, to tell you the truth I looked around and if the paint is cheaper then the admission prices are ridiculous. The other places will sell you $85.00 case but they will end up charging you up to $40 in admission, kamo, rental, air and the other sh-t. So its not that bad. The refs are not too bad, there are a few exceptional once that are pretty good. The enormous size of the place and the amount of people that go there definitely make this place one of the best. Just look at other reviews. Most places will have 4-5 reviews this one has over a dozen. The best fields by far are Castle and fire base, great speed ball field if you are a fan. Usually if you are on time you will get to play 8-12 games depending on the amount of people. The refs will listen to every suggestion especially fro the returning players. They will change the rules and try to make the teams even so that everyone has fun. I definitely recommend this place. So I guess I'll see you there.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 1st, 2003 at 8:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

blingin1 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jack frost (what a joke)
Review: Good: Special Deal days are Really good deals, like play your age day or bring your own gun and play for free. I was very impressed the first time i went. They have a huge selection of intesesting fields, weather it would be speedball, a 24 hour scenario game, or my favorite: CASTLE. If your gonna go here, you cant leave without playin castle. A little game of speedball wouldnt hurt either...

Bad: when i say bad, i mean REALLY BAD. The paint price is just outrageous. I can see if they charged 3 or 5 bucks for a profit, but SWEET JESUS, THEY CHARGE ABOUT 40 BUCKS OVER!!!. I mean come on, skirmish makes tons of $ on admission anyway. O well, guess theres a price to pay for such a good selection of fields and equipment rentals.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Meph Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR Paintball, Jack Frost
Review: I usually start with the good, but there's just so much more bad about this I think I'll start with that instead.....

Bad....
- Paint. There is a thin line between making profit and highway robbery. This isn't about making a profit and paying the bills anymore, this is just flat out greed. Skirmish buys in MASSIVE bulk quantities. I mean so large that they actually use the same paint months down the road. That wouldn't be so so bad had they actually a temperature controlled room. No, it's just a big shack where the temperature fluxuates. So I'm sorry, 100 + tax for low quality Zap and 32* paint really ticks me off. I know fields charging less for Evil!
- Referee/Staff. The referees are basically in 4 categories. 1 is the non-existent ones. As to where you'll be on the field for some time and not even see a single referee. The second is uninformed. During their events it's sad when a 13 year old who skimmed the pamphlet paper on the Scenario they're hosting actually knows more than the referee staff who is actually working there. And the final 3rd kind is lazy. The refs that are either too busy eating and sitting, or are actually on the field but forget they're working. Besides those, there are the handful of good referees who do work well. But they are so few and far between it's hard to spot them like albino deer.
- Air fills. Sure they are easy access, but they are unsafe. I've tested them a few times with (on purpose knowingly) bad tanks that should be disqualified. Different reasons each. My favorite was a DOT-3AL tank I brought that was covered in nothing but rust. But low and behold, these people have absolutely NO training apparently (yes, they did fill that tank). Or else each time I did these I would have been declined a fill. I've taken safety courses so I am a certified air-technician and this lack of safety at their fill stations really frightens me. And not only that, but they don't have any scales to weigh CO2 tanks when filling. I can't even count the number of times I've seen overfilled CO2 tanks burst disks blowing in the staging area or on the field. I don't have enough fingers on my hand.
- Stagine area. Not so much Skirmishs' fault for ignorant players, but it is their fault for not enforcing. The number of times I've seen walking around without barrel blocking devices and their barrels pointing at people (like their face for example) is astounding. I've actually had to tell the refs walking past these guys, "Hey, you might want to tell him to put on a barrel plug."
- Goggles ON! This must be overlooked. Every few feet I keep seeing people taking off their masks, normally newbies who just don't understand the danger. One time I had to tackle somebody and cover his face (mind you I was a player not a ref, but doing his job) because they fogged up, and he took them off DURING a firefight with somebody only 25-feet in front of him..... SHOOTING at him while he took it off. The refs occasionally tell people to keep their masks on, but they have no enforcement. They just yell at somebody 75 feet away instead of physically approaching and making them put them on or else ejecting them for the day. Paintball is under constant litigation, and this would be the last thing we need is newbies going blind because there are almost no refs on the field to enforce the Goggles On policy.
- Chronographing. Or lack there of. They attempt to have a policy, but anybody can just walk right in and on the field whenever they chose. They don't have anybody enforcing the chronographing and chrono-checked markers as they enter the fields. This will help explain why there are usually many people shooting hot. And why there was one very memorable occasion where somebody was shooting an Impulse so hot he actually cracked somebodys' lens.

There's a bit more, but that list is long enough as it is. Now for the good.

Rentals: They have PLEANTY of rentals. If there is ever a massive flood of players for an event, they are covered.
Fields: Gigantic selection, many are extremely fun. These are easily some of the best fields you will ever see. If you have a high tolerance to ignore some problems and want to play here, these fields are very memorable.
Owners: They are nice people. Polite, kind, very professional. They don't just own the place and sit back, they are actually there at the staging area and working. They aren't lazy.

Overall, if they would work on said problems above this would be an excellent complex. However money seems to be more important than safety. And until they fix their major problems I shall never again participate playing in any of their events.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Woozer Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Captn Carls
Review: Good: Well, it's freakin huge! The food is great and there's always enough to go around. The refs are usually pretty cool, and they really care about makeing the teams even. I love there speedball (hyperball and circle city especially) they have full time gun techs there. And they have a decent pro shop (except for the prices).

Bad: dear god! I had to sell my soul just to pay to play for a day! I mean crap man, they charge 100 for a case of paint, 30 to get in. at least the rentals (if you need it) and the air/co2 are free (well included in the entrance fee).

Tips: don't go in winter...oh man, it gets mighty cold man. and if your comeing from far away (another state) come early! u miss the bus and ur pretty much screwed. Also, try to go on special days (half price paint, and ha;f price weekends) and make use of there promotions (bring your own gun get in free days)

overall I think it's worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spydernoober Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
S.I paintball and all N.J Fields
Review: Ok I went there with a bunch of my buddies it wasn't too bad let me worn you about something we went in late December first of all on the way there it started to snow than our car slid off of the road and into the guard rail there wer many accidents along the road including flipped over SUV's then an 18 wheeler almost went off the road. On our way to the main road we were told that the road was closed for a half hour so we had to waited it out. We got there ona half price day so i wont complain about the prices. The staff was very friendly. Lack of refs though. I first had some problems with my gun so while it was being checked out my team left and I had no idea where they went, then they told me thre is no other blue team playing. I was mad it was cold but after a while of them talking to the other refs they got me to my team. Don't play in the winter with sneakers on. We had a lot of fun but it was god damn slippery. I never tried out my goggles before and I found out that they suck we played a few fields which was pretty cool. The lack of refs made a lot of people cheat even i cheated once. But it was fun and i liked it check their website for any half price days.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Iamthe1 Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
C'mon its pennsylvania, its like the paintball capital of the country.
Review: Skirmish had amazing fields setups and the refs were really cool too. The field selection was so large we never played one twice. However, the refs did have tendencies to create unfair teams which I noticed on multiple occasions even if pointed out to them. Also the pricing was borderline outrageous but you definitely get what you pay for.
Last edited on Sunday, July 6th, 2003 at 12:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Allamerican90 Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: it was alright here i mean for just 12 bucks to get in it was good. When i got there a assaine lady was asking why i didnt reserve whehn i really couldnt. Then comes the paint. I think i used zap or whatnot and it was half decent but for $63 for 1000 paintballs i freaked oh my god at the mart near my house i can get marbs for just $55 what a freaking rip off and plus you get 2000 balls. Well play was alright i mean i got to rent nitro but the ref unfortunately at the chrono didnt like know how to work my gun and he broke a ball in my freak:(. Fields now we only played like 8 or 9 i mean cmon, the castle isnt all its cracked up to be its fun inside it but if your refs dumb and your team wins he'll send like 5 guys too the other team because they were losing i mean then we lost since we have 9 guys they had 21!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

supersonic Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
played mostly outlaw ball with friends.
Review: Ive played at skirmish at least once a year since 1998. Ive played with small groups, large groups and recently took part in their 8 hour scenerio game Battle of the Bulge. I would have to say that their fields are awesome to play on since they are so varied in style. For the most part the refs have been good except for the scenerio game I took part in.

For the regular games, I had a great time. I have only had one below average ref out of all the times Ive been there. The fields are great, one game you could be playing in dense bushes with streams, the next game you could be storming their caslte. On the other hand, the scenerio game I went to was very disorganized and chaotic. Even some of the refs didnt know what was going on.

As has been stated before, their paint prices and quality are sub par. The quality of thier paint was average to good a few years ago, but has been steadily declining. Their paint had more dimples than golf balls the last time I was their. Hopefully they will fix that problem.

I would say that it is a fun place to play at every now and then, but since it is so expensive and their paint quality hit or miss, I wouldnt reccomend playing their every weekend. Their fields are second to none though.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 12th, 2003 at 6:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eelnikar Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pentagon Paintball
Rec Realm
Kick'n Paintball Field
Review: Well, my friend and I drove down there for the D-day 2002. First, the paint was rec grade 32 degrees paint which they charged $110 dollars for a case. They also used water balloons from big sling shots which luckily i didn't get hit but one other that did got hit on his gun and screwed up the electronics in it. They didn't have enough refs and the ones they did have didn't pull people when they got tagged and they never made you wait to be reinserted so basically everybody kept playing even with a half a dozen hits on them. And if you wanted to know what your side was doing or planning, it was just impossible to find out. we left a day early because of all the frustration, tell me how you feel when you tag the opposing player five times and they never leave the playing area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

randy6130 Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: wow. this is the best field i have ever been too. the paint is pretty expensive, but it is worth it to play at this field. they usually have 32* competition or blaze paintballs there, so they arent that bad, except for the day that i got zap, but it all turned out well. the scenerio games here are INSANE. d-day, gettysburg, burma road, and all the other ones are basically the best ever. the judges here are also very cool. they have a repair shop right by the fields, so when i was missing a part for my tippmann 98, they fixed it within like 15 minutes for free. there store also has alot of items, from angels to squeegies. everyone should go to d-day on july 12 and 13 2003 for the time of your life GO TO SKIRMISH!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media