paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
ir0nExpress Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-I don't usually head out to PA to play paintball, I'm located in the NYC/Long Island/North NJ area.
-Closest is EMR, which is an excellent field.
Directions
to the Field:
Get a GPS, it's in the middle of nowhere. It is suppose to be a fun day after all. If not, it's a little confusing to find.
Review: I haven't written any reviews in a while so I'm going to write for a few fields. The reason I went to this field was for the recent Intercollegiate paintball game held by extremegoers.org. It was set up big game style with no tanks, just red and blue with a few objectives at different times of the day to score points.

I went there with my own equipment, and this field by far is the worst when it comes down to having personal gear. With rental gear, this place is perfect, they take care of you 100%.

Parking - Parking was simple enough, to make ample space, they flag you to a spot when you enter. 10/10 for doing their job

Registration/Waiver Process - Also simple enough. Go to register, pay money. Friendly Staff. 10/10

Rental equipment: They have a giant fleet of 98s for rentals, 98s as everyone knows always work. They have camo jumpsuits and pod packs for rent ($7 for the suit and $2 for the podback). They also have vests available. Rental masks seem average (yes they do vary field to field, I've seen downright terrible to clean as a whistle.) 8/10

Food: They have a stand with food and also some guy with an ATV with a cooler on the back that drives around for those who want something to drink. Priced fairly for a business. 8/10

Proshop: They don't have a real proshop, its just a trailer with some playing essentials like podpacks, gloves, some hats.

Gearing up/Getting paint and air - Pricing is done pretty high unless you get a group, $100 a case. $30 entry. Ouch. I got in for free do to extremegoers.org and $80 a case with my group.

THIS is my biggest dissatisfaction by far. Unlike most fields, where you would expect the chrono and air to be near where you set down your stuff, the air fill and chrono is literally 1/4 of a mile away, if not more.

The registration area where you pay your admission and paint and get your rental camo and pods is completely different from where the air pumps and rental guns are seperate by that 1/4+ mile stretch of road. There are only two air pumps that I'm aware of at Skirmish, the registration area where you pay and the chrono/rental gun pickup/air pump area. Bring a bigger tank if you got one.

Why they would make the chrono station/air fill station that far is beyond me.

If your gun takes a crap, prepare to walk at least 1/2 a mile to get another gun if you have personal equipment. If you only have one gun on you...well you're going to have a bad day. 5/10 if you have your own equipment. 8/10 if you do. I had one gun crap out plus I saw a few others having to take that "hike" back to their cars to get working equipment/tools.

Fields: The fields are vast and huge. Well balanced. Very small amount of areas where it's suicidal to run out. They take care of the fields very well. It rained the night before and there wasn't any signs of the fields being extremely soggy. I didn't play the fields in sections as big game style allows you to walk everywhere. But I was satisfied by the amount of cover there was. It never felt like there was an imbalance of cover unlike some other fields I went to.

Conclusion: If you have never paintballed or only rent, this is a wonderful experience. If you bring your own equipment, make sure and double check everything 100% the night before because if your gun takes a crap, prepare for a long walk.

I'll give this place a 7/10. I'm thinking they make their money mostly from rentals, so they don't worry about non renters, hence the unfriendly setup. If they changed it and moved the chrono station closer like every other field does, it would be perfect.
Last edited on Monday, June 29th, 2009 at 12:33 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

scoutsniper Sunday, June 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
brothers small, fireball mtn.(junk field)
Review: First field i ever paintballed on and now i go to ION every summer. Fantastic judges, fields are amazing, really cant get any better than this. Only draw back is paint prices. But seeing the quality you get its so worth it. even all day admission isnt that bad. Everyone who wants to experience harcore woodsball should go one year to ION. You will not regret it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProMa$t3R Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Hill at Manetas Park
Splatter Hill in Mohnton
Paintball Row
Velocity Paintball
Linglestown Paintball
CSG Paintball
Paintball Thunder
Blood & Fire Paintball
Ambush Paintball
NONE OF THESE COMPARE TO SKIRMISH!!!!!
Directions
to the Field:
NO MORE BUS RIDE

YOU NOW CHECK IN DIRECTLY AT THE PLAYING FIELDS!!

Click Here for Printable Map/Directions



DIRECTIONS: PLEASE CHECK-IN/PARK DIRECTLY AT THE SKIRMISH FIELDS. THE DIRECTIONS TO THE PLAYING FIELDS ARE PROVIDED BELOW:

FROM NY, NORTHERN NEW JERSEY, AND NEW ENGLAND: Take I-80 from George Washington Bridge through Delaware Water Gap. Take PA Exit #284 (Blakeslee). Travel south on 115 for approximately 2 miles until you reach 903 South. Turn right onto 903 south and travel approximately 4 miles until you reach the intersection of Route 534 (**You will see an Exxon Gas Station on your left). Make a left at the gas station onto route 534 East. Travel 534 East for approximately 2.7 miles until you reach North Meckesville Road. Turn left onto North Meckesville Road and this will bring you to our parking area.

ALTERNATE DIRECTIONS for June 6th/7th and AUGUST 1st/2nd. There is a Nascar Race at Pocono Raceway on June 9th/10th & August 4th/5th which requires you to use an alternate exit to avoid major traffic delays. Please use the following directions on these two dates:
I-80 to exit 274 (Hickory Run State Park). Travel East on Route 534 for approximately 10 miles until you reach the intersection of Route 903. Continue on 534 East, Crossing Route 903, for approximately 2.7 miles until you reach North Meckesville Road. Turn left onto North Meckesville Road and this will bring you to our parking area.

FROM UPPER NY, SYRACUSE, and SCRANTON: Take I-81 South to 476 (N.E. Extension of PA Turnpike). Take 476 South to Exit #95 (Pocono). Then take I-80 East one exit to Exit #284 Blakeslee. Travel south on 115 for approximately 2 miles until you reach 903 South. Turn right onto 903 south and travel approximately 4 miles until you reach the intersection of Route 534 (**You will see an Exxon Gas Station on your left). Make a left at the gas station onto route 534 East. Travel 534 East for approximately 2.7 miles until you reach North Meckesville Road. Turn left onto North Meckesville Road and this will bring you to our parking area.

ALTERNATE DIRECTIONS for June 6th/7th and AUGUST 1st/2nd. There is a Nascar Race at Pocono Raceway on June 9th/10th & August 4th/5th which requires you to use an alternate exit to avoid major traffic delays. Please use the following directions on these two dates:
I-80 to exit 274 (Hickory Run State Park). Travel East on Route 534 for approximately 10 miles until you reach the intersection of Route 903. Continue on 534 East, Crossing Route 903, for approximately 2.7 miles until you reach North Meckesville Road. Turn left onto North Meckesville Road and this will bring you to our parking area.

FROM CENTRAL NEW JERSEY: Take I-78 to Allentown, and then travel North on 309 to US 22 W. Follow US22 W. to PA 476 Turnpike (NE Extension). Take 476 North to Exit 74, Mahoning Valley **This is the first exit AFTER you go thru the Lehigh Tunnel, it's old exit #34.

Pay your toll, then take the left exit ramp and bear to the left. Turn left onto Rt. 209, then make an almost immediate left onto Harrity Road. Go over small concrete bridge (you'll see Platz's restaurant on the right). Follow Harrity Road to the end. Turn right, follow Pocono Whitewater signs up the mountain to Rt. 903. Then turn right onto Route 903 north and follow for approximately 10 miles until you reach the intersection of Routes 903 and 534 (You will see an Exxon Station on your right). Turn right at the gas station onto 534 East and follow for approximately 2.7 miles until you reach North Meckesville Road. Make a left onto North Meckesville Road and this will bring your directly to the parking area.

FROM PHILADELPHIA: Take 476 North to Exit 74, Mahoning Valley **This is the first exit AFTER you go thru the Lehigh Tunnel, it's old exit #34. (Now follow the directions as from Central New Jersey)

FROM HARRISBURG, BALTIMORE, AND DC: Take I-81 North to I-78 East to 476 (PA Turnpike. Take 476 North to Exit 74, Mahoning Valley **This is the first exit AFTER you go thru the Lehigh Tunnel, it's old exit #34. (Now follow the directions as from Central New Jersey)

Approximate Driving Times to Skirmish USA:
From New York City - 2 hours
From Philadelphia - 90 minutes
From Baltimore - 3 hours

GPS Coordinates to the Playing Fields are:

N 41° .521’
W75°32.964'
Review: I just took a group of 20 up to skirmish from the Air Force Base in Delaware ranging in age from 10-38, from noobs to pros. Every single person that was there had a balst and had nothing negative to say about the field, nothing more than expensive paint that is. lucky us we had bought more than 12 cases which drops the price down to 78 bux a case which helps out with such a large group.
We started out on Fox field and altho it was muddy due to rain the night prior we all had a blast sliding around!! aftwards we headed to Central Park which is a very large wooded field. after about six games between both Fox and Central Park we had to fill up on air and grab some food which was great!!!
We finished lunch and headed to hood in the woods which is a personal favorite, where our amazing ref Colin got a nother group of roughly 20 to play our team of 20 so we locked down the field 20 vs 20 AMAZING
We finished our day at the tippman castle most of us just wanted to finish off our paint. although we did get up to the castle and took out a very large majority of the defenders, BUT it did seem like a slated win for the castle since we started off 3000 defenders to 45 offenders!!!!!!! RESPAWN FTW!!!!!!

Over all this was my 4th time at skirmish but since i joined the military it has been awhile since i was back, till this past weekend. the REFs met us at the table and helped with the check in and were some of the best Ref's i have ever met. if you go to Skirmish ASK FOR COLIN!!!!!

The only downfall is that paint is expensive if you do not go with a larger group. but overall there is to many PROS to even consider that paint would drag down the grade of the fields, ESP with them having over 50 fields open 365 days a year!!!!

Take my word for it this field is the best in the USA and no one that goes to Skirmish would ever regret it nor would you hear any complaints. There Pro Shop is better than any painball shop around and its cheaper than ordering it off of the web. They have everything you could ever think of needing while paintballing!!!!

Have fun and play safe!!!

Visit their website: http://www.skirmish.com/paintball_fields.html
Last edited on Monday, March 30th, 2009 at 2:42 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sp4nkySlayer Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area

I'm from NJ, so i play in my woods, E jam Outdoor, and ABC Paintball

Nothing compares to Skirmish.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest, Googlemaps, Gps
Review: I played here yesterday for the Stalingrad Scenario game. I played on the Russian side, which is a big deal since this is their first victory in 4 years. Three friends and I went to the battle, not knowing what to expect, only one of us has gone to skirmish previously, but not for the scenario play.

The refs and staff were all very nice. Free gunsmiths working all day. Free co2 and n2 all day. Everyone working there was willing to help, and the customers and fellow teammates were all very helpful.

Overall, a great first expereince with Skirmish. My friends and I are all coming back for every scenario they have, and also for some regular play days which we have not yet experienced, but we are all looking forward to.

Well worth the price some people complain about.
Well worth the 4:30am wake up time and the hour and thirty minute drive there and back.

10 out of 10, no question
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ipaintball2much Tuesday, February 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Map.Yahoo.Com
Review: Great place to play. Love coming here for years. Pro shop is better than my local PB shop and they fixed my issue for free.

Refs are cool even the new ones.

Kind of a long drive from but it is still worth it.

Paint cost is a little higher than most but again, well worth it.

Cons?...I will update this review when I find one...


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nandrajock Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tons,but none compare to skirmish.
Directions
to the Field:
Try Google Maps, it's in Albrightsville, Pennsylvania.
Review: Hi. This is the first time I've been to skirmish, but i've heard about many times and wanted to go. I went there with a friend. It was a two hour drive from where I live, but It was definitly worth it. We got there at eleven, and first we went to the proshop, and purchased a few things. The staff was great and they all were very polite. The Prices there were amazing. My friend bought a flatline barrel which he had heard about for only $65. They installed the whole barrel for free. He had to take my friend's gun apart because there was a problem with it and clean all the individual parts. I upgraded my gun by buying a halo loader with rip drive(no V35 chip) for the price of only $86.50 the cost of it without rip drive. The prices are good except for paint. You can just go on 1/2 price paint though which means a case cost $53 instead of $106. It cost $30 dollars admission, but that includes rentals and free Co2 and Compressed air. Although the paint is on the more exspensive side, it's definitly worth it. There are over 50 fields there and they are all amazing. The whole 5 hours that we were there we only played 5 fields. My friend and I were in a group of roughly 30 people, and everyone of them were nice. One time I got someone out in a close battle. He came over and shook my hand and told me great shot. After the game he told me thank you for the nice battle. The Refs were very safe and always help players from noobs to experts out. The fields we played on were Fox, Alamo, Tippmann City, Central Park, and Tippmann Castle. I'm not really going to comment on Fox because it's woodsball, and Alamo because I got out in the first minute. Tippmann City is a fun map with tons of buildings which includes mainly long distance shooting(sniping) and close range combat. You have to be fast to conquer other buildings than your base in this. I got two snipes and two close range shots. Central Park is a game that mixes speedball with woodsball. The goal is to flank the oher team on bothe sides and surround them. Tippmann City is a huge map consisting of many towers in which you must hold the castle from enemy lines. When someone defending the castle is shot he must go to the enemy side. The Castle defenders must last for either 20 or 30 minutes. Tippmann Castle and Tippmann City are my favorite fields. You have to play them. I will be coming back here with my friend again tommorrow which is twice in the same week, and I will be definitly going many more times. Skirmish is the best Paintball Place I have ever been to. I reccomend it to and paintball player.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kumori Friday, January 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Best experience.

I've been paintballing for several years now, and I was going up to the Pocono's with a friend whose never skiied or paintballed before and was interested in both. With Skirmish's reputation we decided to play it up.

Very good. Not a hop skip and a jump from Pocono mountain area, but it's not too far. THe fields were well kept, considering they habe so many of them. And talk about fields, we walked a lot from field to field and afterwards looking at the site map, we were only on a few of the fields in a small section. The ref's are nice and the system is well upkept. We managed to play Tippman Castle which is good, and they let me keep the flag after I snuck in the back and ran off with it. Too bad it's only a bandana.

Regardless, it was a pleasant experience. I was the ONLY person there with any paintball experience. It was nice knowing that my A5 Flatline stock and remote coil is a solid marker, so I didn't have any problems. Expensive, and you have to use field paint, but whatever. My father decided to hike up to play as well, and even he enjoyed it. 48 years old and he managed to keep up.

Definitely will go back, planning a massive trip with some friends for our own senior year trip. Really, who goes to Disney World anymore?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

luckycrash Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review:

The last time i played at Skirmish was at the Battle for Stalingrad. This was an 8hr senero game were the Germans and the Russian Army battled for control of the city. It was a constant struggle to hold land anywere. The Nazis eventually overran the Red Army which led to their downfall. The Germans took over of the city,wiped out the Russians and won the game. It was one of the best games i played... besides I.O.N.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jgibson01 Friday, January 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
On-Target Paintball; Picasso Lake
Review: No one can argue that this place has its act together: good, knowledgeable, safety-conscious refs. Good equipment and lots of it. Always lots of people there. Plenty of first-timers and one-timers, so they do cater to that group a bit. Plenty of fields, although some of them (notably the buildings) were so paint-laden that they were a bit disgusting.

Three complaints: 1) Bring your credit card because Skirmish is one of the most expensive fields you'll play on. 2) The playing fields are quite a hike from the parking lot, so you won't have easy access to your car. 3) We played the week before a scenario weekend and they had closed off many of the fields. In fact, they had us repeating some of the fields during the day, which was disappointing considering that one of their marketing draws is "60 award-winning fields". You should never have to repeat any fields with that promise.

Overall it was a good experience and one that I'd recommend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer65 Thursday, December 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at paintball depot and zj paintbal. Skirmish blows them away.
Review: Amazing services, great paint, fair refs, and they are very organized. I have played here at least seven times and have the craving desire to go back. Skirmish has the best scenario fields i have ever played on. My buds and i love going up there to play in the tippmann city wich is on of there newest fields. Can't wait to go back again and i definatley recomend you go there no matter where you live. If you live in california, get on a plane and come play. ITS WORTH YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media