paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Hanseidel Friday, December 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am not from PA so I do not know, but I have played in the Painted Forest in Lynchburg,VA. That is an awesome field.
Directions
to the Field:
well, they should give more concise directions. The place is in the middle of nowhere but it is not impossible to find.
Review: I was there for the famous invasion of Normandy this past summer 07. My friend (a paintball and invasion of Normandy veteran of many years) convinced me to go. It was an experience, at least an expensive one. I was on the America side, even though I would have much rather been on the German side (Fuer den Vaterland!) (besides there would have been more targets to shoot)
Anyway, I was appalled about the apparent lack of care or concern for safety on the field, particularly with the placement of outlying field boundaries in the form of string tied across trees or clothes lines. They were poorly marked and drooped too far down. I am not a tall person and I severely closed lined myself, causing a a nice bloody slice on my neck. Fortunately, it was a superficial wound, but it hurt like heck. I was among many that day who closed lined themselves. With the amount of people there 4500 + players paying 200 to 300 dollars or more to play (not including transportation) one would think that the field owners would clearly mark the field barriers and enforce the rules. For that price, they should have had more water sources there too. They had about 6 water barrels on the back of a pick up truck for 3 days of playing for more than 4500 people. Come on. give us some more water for pete's sake, you already took too much of our money. It does not take much to fill up a barrel with hose water and put it on a back of a truck.
I did not bother to try the food,it looked like your typical greasy fairground selection.
I severely doubted the integrity of wooden structures on the field (the Tippmann castle, the smaller towns etc.) The years of paint and weathering have made the inside of these structures (especially stairs) slippery and dangerous. With all the money they make from players like us, they should re-invest that into the upkeep and maintainence of the field therefore improving the safety and the overall experience. (it makes business sense anyways, happy customers mean return business)
Honestly, if a field can boast having the largest played paintball game in the world, then they should also boast the best services, reasonable paint prices, adequate facilities (camping places, water supply etc.) annd competent refs, and empathetic field owners. In fairness not all of the refs were bad.
By the way, the rules for the ION game sucked. I was sold on the idea that there would be medics that would punch your card when you were hit. Well when we arrived we were told " No medics." How can you have a scenario game without medics and have it still be a scenario game? It just felt like one big free for all, it did not matter if you got hit, you would just wipe it off anyway. It did not feel like a true paintball game.


Good things:

At least air was free, and the cover charge payed for a gun rental. The repair services seemed decent.

I was amazed by the size of the field(s) and the mass of players

Overall, I am glad I went. I saw the best and the worst (mostly the worst) of paintball on this field. I doubt I will return unless the service matches the price. I hope Skirmish paintball reads this review and others like it so that it makes some much needed improvements.

Last edited on Saturday, April 5th, 2008 at 4:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

k8490r Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not Sure
Directions
to the Field:
Map Quest or check the field website
Review: Skirmish USA is really big in the media- paintballwise anyway. You always read about it in APG magazine and always hear about ungodly huge games there. There was even a movie filmed there in the 80's- Lou Ferrigno and Robert Carradine (Revenge of the Nerds guy). So when a friend of mine told me about his first major paintball experience at this big field, I thought I should pay him a visit. First impressions were pretty over my head. Because the area was so big and so many people were there. Not as many people as a big game like Invasion of Normandy but a lot more than I'm used to. The staff seemed to handle all the check-ins very well. They answerd all the questions I had because I was one of the few that had their own marker and the only "stock class" around for miles. This was a light weekend considering the NASCAR race was in town. So after the whole checking in evolution, it was off to the field. I was not prepared for this as I was lugging around 3 markers with me with all the paint and water I had brought with me. After about a 5 min walk into the woods we get to the "base camp". This was a very centralized area where there was the rental issue, chrono stations, pro shop, food, fill stations, locker area, and picnic area. After walking around for about 10min, I had realized that I had expected too much. Don't get me wrong though, this is an awesome woodsball area. There are many themes to all the different fields they had set-up. I had not played woodsball in at least 8 years so this was a total mind blast. Thier speedball was OK but you don't come here to play that type of game. I didn't get in too many games, because 1- there was a lot of walking in between fields and 2- to many new players talking about how to make the play that they were not ready when the game started. I left there with just a "check in the box" feeling. This place is the best place for scenario type games and is by far the best woods ball field I have ever been to. But it is also a kind of "tourist-y" kind of place with waaaay over priced paint for field paint only. Although safety is always on everybody's mind here, it is loosely enforced. 2 people nearly got their eye shot out from stray panitballs! I did have fun the whole time I was there. I would give this field an 8 out of 10 for woodsball, scenario players and newbies. I'd give it a 4 out of 10 for tourney and speedball players- they just aren't facilitated around that type of play here. So average is 6 with the benefit of doubt 7 of 10 is my rating! Awesome place to get started, OK place to check out, no place for tourney level players- the pace of the game here moves too slow.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chedderbob Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atlas (speedball),
Directions
to the Field:
Directions good, road signs say 6 miles when really 10 miles
Review: Now I’m writing this review about Skirmish USA for I.O.N; Invasion of Normandy, July 14 to 15 2007. One point is Safety; I was on the German side of the game. There were 4,500 people at Skirmish USA of this event.They found one guy shooting the marbles on the 14, Saturday, and he was arrested and sent to jail. But on the 15, Sunday, there were still people shooting marbles at us. Another Fields are nice and good for woods ball if that what you like. Hours for this event were 12pm to 11pm, Saturday, 9am to 1pm, Sunday. Way over priced for paint 100 bucks c'mon I go to atlas and pay 55 bucks for paint, all day full, and all day field time. Rules for this event no one really followed. When the person was shot they would just wipe it and keep playing. Proshops at Skirmish USA were good if I rated them I would give them a 10 out of 10.Tho the proshops came there for the event, BT-4, Smart Parts, Tippman, Draxxus and others. Refs only two ref's ever help the German side out. Players where great on the German side (teams) 5 points gang, Penn dragon, Delta, Aces, and the other teams. I only found one team I liked on the allied side which was from Delaware. Facilities were good. The Full Station for NOS was good right in the middle of the camp. But The CO2 Station was a walk from the German side. It took about 10 to 15 min, each way, to get there then back to the German side. I Felt like i was in a deathmatch more than a fun game of paintball...
Last edited on Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 at 7:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jimmythefoot Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NJ Nam event.
Jello factory in Leroy, NY.
Review: Ion 2007 was a free for all.
Was very expensive and although i did have fun thought it was a once in a lifetime event to be honest.
To much cheating. To many people shooting HOT. Not enough refs for this size of an event. The fields we were playing on seemed like a yard with the number of people we had playing.
Go if you have never been to this event, it is an experience...a painfull one if your a dagger type player of someone who like to get into the battle close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionguy16 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i dont really know... it just stands out. really, im not familiar with the area, but heck, the parks sooooooooooo good.
Directions
to the Field:
GPS
Review: okay, so i could write for hours about this. let me sum most of it up in one sentence.....WOW .... THIS ROCKS!!!! theyve got to manyt fields to go there for one day, the fields are SICK and its just the sickest place ever. i like the area, and the refs are great. service is great and the facility is good too. just trust me you'll love it if you go. just do it. they do seem to notice and take care of safety, and everything. my friend and i had NO trouble getting food.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JosephXplosive Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
ABC
cousins
on target
e-jam
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest Ho!
Review: ok this is the field i first started playing paintball at and i will always continue going to it.

saftey - is always #1 rule here, refs dont play around when it comes to your mask and barrel condoms.

fields - 53 fields, i dont think u can get any better than that...

H.O.O - opens at 8 check in at 9:30 am closes at 6

prices - this is where i dont like it. $30 to play isnt bad at all but 1 case of paint is $99!!!!!!!!!!! not to mention its cheap ass draxxus midnight paint. the paint sucks in the winter and will give u serious ball breakage if ur not using a rental. when the weather is good the paint is fine but they need to work on prices for paint, and get better paint for the winter time ,come on guys!!! hopefully in the future they'll work on this or atleast allow u to byop.

services - great, if ur gun is messed up they'll fix it for free.

proshop - pretty much everything u'll need but kinda pricey

staff - cool ref's they are always on top of their job.

players - very mixed, u get alot of newbies but also good players come ( never in the winter due to cheap paint = [ )

facilities - nice and clean

food - the grill is always has soemthing good to eat.

i love this field like i said and will always come back but the prices for paint NEED TO COME DOWN! or get BETTER PAINT FOR THE WINTER! scenerio games there area always fun too
Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 5:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

IdtSup Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ejam
Directions
to the Field:
Go onto their web site, the directions have changed. No more bus rides!
Review: I went with a bunch of people this weekend. Boy was it hot! I got a mean sun burn on my neck. Great time! The worst part for me is the drive up from Bergen County NJ. State troppers were every where!! The cost of the paint isnt so bad (still bad) if you but more than 12 cases. Paying $77 is bad but not as bad as $100. Over the years I purchaed a load of equipment so the day ends up being 100$ max. We had 2 refs, one new jack the other 3 yr veteran. The veteran was a surfer type dude and he had his own camera. He took a load of pictures that he will send us the pics via email. Sweet! I always have a good time when I go to Skirmish! Refs are great..paint never bust in the barrel.
I'm dont plan to go again until the weather cools down. I like it when its bitter cold, much better for me that is.


Update: I just went again this past weekend 11/17/07.
Team: Go Grave Diggers!
Ref: Nikki

She did some great reffin! Safety is a must with her and she calls people out if she sees a shot. Kept the games moving along at a fast pace. I didn't have a chance to relax (GOOD THING NOT BAD!) She warned all of us with flatlines that we were going to have issues. She was right. I just brought mine and it sucked!!! I read some reviews on this field and players say that its Skirmish paint that causes this issue. For now I gave the flat line a 3 out of 10 because it cannot be used in the cold.

I will leave Skirmish 10 because....well its Skirmish. With all of the fields in this place and the help the techies refs provide, it's hard to lower their grade. And again, you only pay 100$ a case if you dont get the 10 case minimum. Paying $77 isn't so bad.


I'm not sure when I will be going back to Skirmish but I do know the Flatline is not coming out in a game until Spring '08.


UPDATE: I went when the temp was warmer and the paint held up well. I didn't have a ball break on me all day. This might also be that I installed new flex paddles in my cyclone, not to sure. So yeah, cold weather ruins everything not just Skirmish paintballs.

I will never stop going to Skirmish!
Last edited on Friday, September 26th, 2008 at 10:31 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

russo595 Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ejam- ok for speedball
rexplex- closed
ABC-not even close to this one
NJ reball center -ok for speedball
Review: This place is great!
When i first went here it was my first time playing woodsball but i wasnt disapointed. If your new and want some place where you can go and not be a sitting duck this is the place. Im sure that a lot of the people that go their have never even held a paintball gun. Sure their are some fanatics that take the game seriously but youll have a great time no matter what your exparience is. the fields are great and well maintained and the refs actually care, they help wuth gun problems in the field and theyll come running over to check you if you think your hit. The only donside ids the paint.....$100 a case. Otherwise this place cant be beat. If your looking for a great time Skirmish is a great place to be.
Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 1:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Manan Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I traveled with a buddy from Indiana to play in the 2007 scenario event battle of Stalingrad put on by Skirmish USA. We were both very excited about the whole thing. We've never played with this many people before and we really wanted the experience. Traveling from Indiana we planned the trip and put a lot of time and money for this event only to be truly disappointed. The fields were awesome. Although the field markings were unclear and the maps didn't seem to help. I did get lost for about an hour trying to decipher things. The problem was they used a color code for marking the fields with flags, but unfortunately the colors repeat in different areas making it unclear were you where. The staff and refs were really nice and seemed to manage the game pretty well. I think they did a awesome job for the 2000 person scenario event. Ok my big disappointment was the paintballs. Out of 10 hours of play I problems shot a handful of paintballs that didnt break. The problem was the paintballs were defective. They were breaking in the hoppers. I wasn't the only one having problems. I was shooting spray paint all over the field. I was using the tippman A-5 with a flatline at first. Thinking is was the flatline barrel i switch back to the stock only to have the same problems. We switched paintballs no better. The staff blamed it on my gun. Everybody was having the same problems. Since we traveled 700 miles to play I wasn't going home without a fight so I sprayed paint all day. Very Frustrating....and at a $100.00 a case I felt ripped off! The whole experience would have been a great adventure other than the paintball crap that they sold for skirmish.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

asnmonkey6969 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest for me or the crude diretions provided by website.
Review: This is the only field i go to cause thisis where all my friends go cause theya re the ones who organize it. wheni first went i was a complete noob and it was my first time. i had a blast despite the fact that i didnt last veyr long and many games, it was still a hoot since i had always wanted to go. i would go to skirmush about once a year after that from 02 usually on memorial weekend. i would constantly upgrade my equipment after the firs ttime. admission prices are cheap less than 30 for everything. it use to be that if you bring your own gun you get 100 paint...thye since changed that they no longer give you 100 paintballs if you bring in your own gun now. also you use to get the "bandanas" that were used as flags for capture the flag. it seems that skirmish is getting a bit cheap now. a ref told us about how skirmish was giving away many flags each year, but still for aht e72$ a case(i go with like 30 people so we always get the 72$per case discount) that is expensive paint. i never use it to shoot in my backyard cause thats just throwing money back at skirmish. i went in 06 in the winter and had a lousy time cause i got their new "skirmish brand" diablo/midniht paint and broke every 2-4 shots...no lie and not exaggerating either. it was cold out but i never had a problem with using skirmish paint before even in the cold. hat same day my a5 failed at the very beginning so i was already disapointed, and used my backup 98c with progressive barrel whch still broke paint and then the stok 98c barrel which still broke paint. it came to thepoint where i was cleaning my barrel every 2-4 shots so i can atleast use up some paint. i bought maybe 2 cases that day and went through less than half of one. in august 06 i went again when they had some newly boxed midnight skirmish brand paint which did better with not as many breaks. maybe like 10 brakes out of 2.5 cases. im a trigger happy kind of person so 5000rounds was nothing.
i love that they have free air but as the day nears it end they wont fill your tank up all the way so you need to conserve your air as the day goesespecially t the end when your makin your lastt rip and they only half fill your tank, both hpa and co2.
someone made a statement about how the fields get farther and farther towards the end of the day, which i realize is true now, the last fields are always the farthest and the fields are huge too which make it worst ause your walking long to a field and then have to walk some more on a huge field. probably jsut to tired you out so you want to not play.
the sign in area is a long walk from the staging area and the staging area is far from most fields. if your trying to carry backup equipment, paint and air enoguh for like 4-8 games then that is a lot os tuff to tote around. after my 06 summer game i wasnt ready for another game for a long time cause i had a lot of stuff. they need to get some sort of personel to carry people to some fields to give us a break.
most of the refs we had we pretty good, none of them were bad, some were better than others but some you could tell were new at it.
food is ok and prcies on food is ok nothing great.
the fields are also very worn out. its to the point where if youwalk onto a wooded field all you see is white trees and buldings(skirmish paint is white fill) as you walk away fromt he field into the woods outside a field youll notice the color changes back to brown and then abck to white as you enter another field. all thefields and shot up. camo is useless unless you where urban camo cause that is the color of their fields, even int he summer. i think they need to renovate some of thefields cause some barracades and buildings ar ein great need of renovation. the buildings have slipper wood floors and steps. a lot of mud when it rain the week before an lots of hidden dangers like rocks that someone can trip on and fall on in the winter with snow. happened to me my first time their and fell on my knees onto rock with about 2 inchs of snow in betwen.
i think thei reputation has gotten to them but they are not maintaining their reputation and liek someone else said, they seemt o be going downhill.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media