paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
sharples Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none other in the Jim Thope, PA area that I know of...........
Directions
to the Field:
see website:
Review: OK before I post this review, I'll qualify myself first: been playing for over six yrs., actually played my first paintball game at Skirmish, been hooked ever since, play almost every week, including competitive paintball all the way up to the NPPL. . and I am in no way associated with this or any other field. so heres my $.02 about this establishment: I'll break it down into several categories:

fields: Skirmish has arguably the best rec ball setup of any field in the east coast.. not as elaborate as SC Village in California or CPX in Illinois, both of which I've played at but they have really constructed some neat structure fields. the Castle is definitely a wonder to behold, the "Hood in the Woods" buildings are a blast, and if sneaking around in camo in heavy woods is your thing, with acres and acres of thick foliage then you're in for a treat. the only drawback is, with the size of the place expect to do a LOT of walking. if the refs are smart they'll minimize the walking by setting up games at adjacent fields but thats not alway the case.

referees: I would say Skirmish has the most professional referrees of any field I've been too. Most (I can't say all, theres always exceptions) seem to try to ensure the players have a good time. most of them will honor requests for players to play a particular field, although the most popular ones ( like the castle) usually take a little time since theres usually another group waiting to play. from speaking to some of the refs, most of t hem seemed fairly cool, and I would assume all of them play pb on a regular basis, although there was one (won't say who) that seemed like he was on a power trip given the way he was talking down to his group.

pricing: well the elaborate fields come with a cost. at $100 a case plus tax playing here ain't cheap. the paint they sell shot decent last weekend, but for that much, it better be self guided balls.....they sell a house paint made for them by I don't know who, but its
marked with the Skirmish name to deter players from sneaking their own. but if you only play here once a yr. then I would highly suggest availing of their half price deal they have several times a yr. where they sell paint at a more reasonable $53 a case. (still a little higher than my local fields though)

organization : this is the where they fell short last time I went there IMHO. Ok so they got rid of that long bus ride that easily killed a half hour in the morning. they now have parking and check in at the fields, which is great since I no longer have lug all my gear for miles. however this particular time I went I actually wound up waiting longer: I arrived for my scheduled check in time of 9:45, checked in , got assigned a table, got paint, got my gear and went to the table. there were several walk on players already there so I started chatting with them, and waited. and waited. while the rest of the group arrived.finally around 1030 or 1045 everyone was there and the refs finally assigned arm bands. so we walk to the staging area. i got air, got my gun chronoed and returned to the staging area to wait for the rest of the group. now this is where it got silly. I can understand the bigger the group (we had almost 60 ppl total) takes longer to manage, but let me just say that it was not until AFTER 1200 PM before we got to our first game
apparently a couple of the players that were playing together-part of a larger private group within our group- had gun problems. and instead of sitting out the first game while the rest of their buddies played, they elected AS A GROUP to wait until there friends had their guns fixed. so being that the numbers would've been lopsided without this significant number group, the refs decided to hold up the first game until this group returned. which meant that everyones else sat around waiting. we only got 4 games before our "lunch" break at 3, and after that we played two rounds at the castle which was good because I wanted to shoot paint and thats what I did at the castle. (oh and the castle games are pretty intense, if you've never played it you're def. missing out)

so my advice: if you can, go with a private group, at least you're in more control of the day's activity.

oh and one more thing. the ref promised fair and even games (hey this is REC BALL!) but if one team is rolling the other with like 8 bodies alive almost every game for FOUR games straight you would thing they would mix it up a bit? hmm........

so in a nutshell: Skirmish is good for the occasional player or private group, they have some GREAT fields and scenario events, but for the regular player on budget, try some other places. so take this review for all its worth, dispute flame or anything blah blah blah, don't really care. it was written to be unbiased no sugar coating no flaming and certainly no agenda, I presented the good with the bad as well as I could.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DestructoSlayer Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In New Jersey, only 30 minutes from my hizzy, Atlas Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: Ive only been here once cause my friends lakehouse is 20 minutes away from here. Im going again on sunday with a party.

This place is definetly top notch, one of the best parks, their downfall.... prices. Cost $60 entrance fee, $90+ for paint, but rentals arent too extreme, and free refills on air all day. They have good food if you plan to stay the day.

The refs there are great.... well some of them, most of them are as oblivious as a deer. The good refs will enforce the biggest safety rules ever. I almost got taken out of Skirmish because my mask fell off. The other refs could care less about you.

The courses there are amazing, if your not playing in the woods the hole day of course. The castles, the hyperpipes, the scenarios and speedballs are great! Plus their group leader benefits make up for their prices, im too lazy to type them... check a review below, they probably have them.

Overall i rate the fields 8/10, the refs 4/10, the good refs 8/10, and the prices 3/10, believe me, there are worse prices.

I think this place is overrated, but its worth going if your a hardcore baller and have the money. Come with a party, mostly people you trust wont cheat, theres alot of cheating going on there.
Last edited on Thursday, November 16th, 2006 at 6:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

DaBXRoMeO Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Survival NY (now Cousins in Plattekill I believe)
Directions
to the Field:
Use Websites...(we normally bus it down)
Review: I've played @ SKIRMISH plenty of times. The place is good, but very overrated. The first few times I went I had a good time, mostly because of the particular refs we had. But the last time I went made me not want to go back ever again.
Downsides:
1) 2 Hours away from NYC area...we normally bus it...but it sucks to sit for 2 hours in sweat and dirt...but whatever can't really complain about distance, but this is a reason y it's a rare trip to take
2) The place is huge...too huge...you have to walk EVERYWHERE with equipment, and when I mean everywhere, I'm talking about having to walk deep and far into the woods to the point where you'd rather not play than walk it. And now you have to walk from the pay area to the staging area to then the fields...
3) Organization....as much as the refs. try to keep things organized they are not used to large groups of people. The larger the group the worst the refs. are. The first few times I went we requested the same refs. and were accomodated and never had a problem. I've recently gone with a new group and the refs. were complete asses...only worried about goggle saftey (which is great)..but umm yea that was it...don't expect a paint check because if you call one you can only call the check on yourself...not your opponent
4) Space/fields....ok the place is huge, yes...but when you have a good few hundred people there @ one time, finding a good field or a picnic table to settle down @ is based on pure luck.
5) Bathrooms....are you kidding me...looks like they empty out the Porto-Johns once a month...I went in to relieve myself and nearly threw-up opening the door.
6)Prices...they SUCK...the most expensive place I've been to yet...$125 for 2500 rounds...eh...if you're takin a bus ride expect to be paying approximately $60 just to take the bus ride and game day
7)Trooping...granted you're in the woods...you're GOING to walk...but DAMNNNN these fields are FAR...and last few times I've gone Refs. have a tendency to make you walk farther and farther with each game...I think it's their tactic to make you wanna leave earlier so they can go home n get paid. Our last game was so deep, half of us didn't even want to play anymore (strategy worked huh?)
8)No More Flags? LOL...ok as petty as this may sound...when we first started playing here, if you hang the flag you keep the flag...a little momento if you will. Not anymore...well @ least the last time I went...No more taking home souvenirs

Good side:
1)Food...food was decent..prices were pretty good too...
2)Fields...if you're lucky to get to a good field...it's fun...plenty of room to strategize and manuever...Castle is fun but intense...
3)Free CO2 and Air fills...some places charge you...but both are free all day
4)Rules...very very strict on goggles and barrel plugs...
5)Hours of operation...we usually get there well after opening so I ave no clue when they open lol...but you will sure know when it's time to leave...cuz when it's time to go it's time to GO


All in all skirmish is going downhill...I think their "fame" put them into a complacent state of mind...i guess they can "do without" now... quality has definitly dropped...don't think I want to go back anymore...unless someone pays for my trip down haha...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sinter Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ring Homestead (much better), Hi Velocity (much better), paintball depot (worse) ejam indoors (worse) pyro (same)
Directions
to the Field:
Can't give directions; but call first as their parking area has changes ( took me 45 min to find them)
Review: I went to Skirmish with four other players. I sold them on the long trip and the high price by telling them how great it would be in that this would be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. We all came away very disappointed. After a two-hour drive where it took us 45 minutes to find the actual field, upon getting their it took us an additional 40 minutes to "check-in ". We got to the staging area and we were then told we have to wait another 40 minutes for the other players to get lunch. At this point it was one o'clock and we asked one of the refs if we can just play amongst ourselves. 15 minutes later we finally got a ref. I was under the misapprehension that we would get to pick the fields that we played on. It doesn't happen that way at skirmish. The refs told the first be playing the Alamo which was incredibly muddy because of the previous day's rain. We played three games at the Alamo and the ref then told us that we be playing to the castle. We then had to wait another half-hour for other players to arrive. The rest of the day was just repeat of the poor experiences we had. The one thing that I do have to say was that they had a great pro shop and that the girl minding it was one of the nicest workers and was not lazy like the referees. Everybody says that the high cost of paint and admission is justified because of the great fields. By the end of the day we had only played four of the great fields. Cheating was rampant throughout the day with the refs doing nothing to stop it. Everyone in my group agreed that was a wasted trip and that Skirmish was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience (by choice)

Overall Rating....................3/10 (because of the great pro shop and the girl)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Vexa Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played any others in the area, and even if I did, they couldn't hope to compare with this one.
Directions
to the Field:
From the Skirmish website:

Take I-80 from George Washington Bridge through Delaware Water Gap. Take PA Exit #284 (Blakeslee). Travel south on 115 for approximately 2 miles until you reach 903 South. Turn right onto 903 south and travel approximately 4 miles until you reach the intersection of Route 534 (**You will see an Exxon Gas Station on your left). Make a left at the gas station onto route 534 East. Travel 534 East for approximately 2.7 miles until you reach North Meckesville Road. Turn left onto North Meckesville Road and this will bring you to our parking area.
Review: Ah, the first field I have ever played at...I made a good choice, too. This place is huge, to my knowledge it is over 650 acres total playing area.

The fields definitely left a lasting impression on me. When I played Tippmann Castle, I was in awe of the sheer size of the structure. Even though I was eliminated in the first 20 seconds due to a badly staged dynamic entry, it was the most memorable experience during my day. Some of Skirmish's smallest feilds are about the size of the largest feilds at other establishments, or so I've heard.

The refs at Skirmish are also amazing. The two that were with my group when I went both had a good sense of humor (Including throwing back a smoke grenade that I threw at the opposing team, mainly because my team had already thrown about five and everyone on that side of the field was choking. We all laughed afterwards). At the same time, they were extremely safe, and constantly yelling at us to keep our barrel plugs/socks in/on, and keep out goggles on when not in a safe area.

I have to admit, the field paint was a little bit pricey, and you are not allowed to bring your own, but it was made up for by fairly low admission/rental costs and free tank fills. Besides, if that little bit of extra money contributes in any way to maintaining/improving the fields, I'm in!

Field Facilities include a Picnic area, complete with porta-pottys, Proshop, on-site technicians, and tank refill equipment.

If you're a woodsballer like me, and are within 200 miles of Skirmish, go there once and you'll never want to go anywhere else, guaranteed.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 6:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

paintballpat52 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Review: They are extremly strict about their saftey they wont stop telling you to keep your mask on and keep your barrel plugs in. The feilds were top notch but they dont let you pick which one you want to play in that is not so good but they have the best feilds. they are open 365 days a year like 10 am to 6 pm. The price for paint is rideculous $100, but it is cheap to get in but if the extra money helps them make better feilds then so be it. The proshop was topnotch the best i have ever seen they had anything yoyu wanted but the price was a little steep. The refs were great made it very enjoyable. They didnt have any food when i went there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soul06 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing else in that (Pennsylvania) area.
Review: I'm from NY and I've been playing at Skirmish for as long as I've been playing paintball. So far they are hands-down my favorite field. Past that they have an excellent field in general.

Safety: No matter how many times you go, who your refs are, whether they know you or not the first rule you will ALWAYS hear and that will be strictly enforced is to "Keep your Goggles on!" It is enforced to the point where they will end games, maybe even end your day of play over it. (I know because I had one of my games ended after 2 minutes because of one kid).

Hours of Operation: Its open 365 days a year...what more can you ask for?

Refs: I have had pretty much the sames 4 or 5 refs everytime I've played but thats mainly because on a numebr of occassion we've requested them. But aside form that they enforced rules, encouraged play and were very helpful when it came to marker problems; for those using rentals. If you brought your own gun they would direct you to the techs on the premise.

Fields: Why I love this place! If you are a hardcore woodsballer then this is the place for you. If you are like me and you like the woods but prefer the structured fields then this place is STILL for you. Best part is the fields look the way they sound. The Castle looks like a castle and not a bunch of long boards nailed together in a big empty square. The Hood in the Wood looks like houses in the woods. The woods are serious wooded fields with heavy bush, streams, creeks, downed trees etc. And so on and so on...they put alot of effort into making enjoyable fields. And from wht I hear they have a new Urban Assault field thats supposed to make Tippmann Castle look tame. (But thats all it could squeeze outta the people at Skirmish to tell me)

Size: (Part 1 of why Skirmish doesn't get a perfect 10 rating). 700 acres...over 50 fields....over 65% of it I am yet to have ever seen. Its great that the place is soooo big but the place is just soooo big. And the fact that you have to walk from field to field makes it almost impossible to really get to experience all it has to offer. Happily most of the field I like are towards the front, but then again I haven't gotten to see the others to know any different.

Price: (Part 2 of the less then 10 rating) The price to play is not bad at all, especially if you have your own equipment. But the price of paint is astronomical. Almost $100 a case for the same exact paint you can by somewhere else for literally half the cost if not less. But then #1 paintball itself is an expensive sport. And #2 if part of this money will go towards them making newer and more innovative fields in the future then I'm willing to deal with it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Da Mon Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Played ION, so this review may be viewed by some as too narrow for that one event.

Safety-top notch, safety was absolutely a priority. Refs were constantly on players to keep masks on, have barrel plugs or condoms on markers in safe areas. Players were constantly encouraged to check each other. Refs treated most players with great respect regardless of age. But attitude begats attitude.

Prices-expensive, field paint was $85 a case, $72 a case in bulk. Quality of paint itself was good, but the event overall is pretty pricey.

Staff/Refs-no problem with refs during play; however, staff knowledge in general was pretty poor. Especially regarding where to get air/CO2 and chrono'd. Organizarers need to rethink locations of various activities like check-in, paint purchase, air, etc. Too much running around. Not enough refs for the number of players, most players ignored being hit during beach invasion, refs couldn't keep up with the game. It also rained pretty heavy so for the most part refs did not appear to be enforcing players leaving the field after being hit. I left when I ran out of air.

Facilities-very crowded parking was very bad Saturday. Staff is clearly not used to handling such large crowds. Absolutely plan to arrive Friday (EARLY), Saturday check-in was a zoo. Expect 2007 to be bigger and more crowded.

The beach assault is great; however, on Omaha Beach we had two helicopters to hide behind. That was weird.. They MUST GET MORE STAFF to handle the crowd and those folks need to be aware of player questions. They need more refs, especially during the beah assault. I will likely try it one more time in 2007, although if event organization is as bad as it was this year I won't go in 2008
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

austin123 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
****None this is the best****
Review: Skirmish is the best place to go paintballing. It is so much fun there and the staff is so nice. I have been there two times once for the day and agin for a tounument. The fields are so good and are very safe. My favorite field they have is the tippmann Castle it is a three story Castle that you defend and then you attack it is really fun. The facilities are alsome they are so clean. The refs are amazing they will never miss a call. But when it comes to the price it is outrages for the paint it is $100 dollars a case and you have to buy your paint there. But they have B.Y.O.G which is ( Bring yourg own gun and play free) that is the days I go on this day. You might also want to bring a cooler with food and drinks to save some money. You will also like to rent a locker it is a lot of help for you paint and extra parts and tools. The feild are all woodsball feilds but they have a alsome tourney complex but no speed ball courses skirmish is great for a frist timer or a rec. baller they have a total of 50 fields plus a shooting range and a picnic area. The shooting range is great for testing you gun speed. All of this is on 700 acres of top-notch terrain. They also scenario games like Battle of Stalingrad and Invasion of Normandy. If you are a group leader and bring a group you get a gift GROUP LEADER BENEFITS: The following group leader benefits apply:

Bring 10+ players – one person plays free

Bring 20+ players – everyone receives the reduced rate of $45.00 per person (must be pre-registered)

Bring 25+ players – you’ll receive a Free Tippmann 98 – brand new, to keep! Plus above

Bring 30+ players – another person will play for Free, plus above

Bring 45+ players – receive a Free Tippmann A-5 – to keep! Plus above (except the Tippmann 98
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

mattzdeballer03 Sunday, June 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cobra command
Review: Here are the bad parts to skirmish. First off there paint price is too expensive 100$ per case now that’s ridiculous. I can get it for 60$ less than that. Second the refs have little knowledge about the game of paintball. They don’t know much about any other gun, but a tippmann 98. Third there food was bad I don’t suggest their food at all, but that’s your opinion. Last is the atmosphere. They run a strict place but don’t focus on safety. They are not careful with the mask on mask off rule and the barrel cover rule. But they do not let anyone use their own paint. They have a business type atmosphere and unfriendly way of enforcing it.

Here are the good parts of skirmish. First they fix your gun for free and are very good at it too. Second the air is free and you can fill up at any time you want to. Third most of there fields are fun to play on when they’re not muddy. Last its great to go in a private party they treat you the best. You’re always first and get service first. Going in a group of 20 people or more is the way to go.

Overall this place isn’t too bad it’s a little overrated but lets you have fun. If you are new at the game of paintball I suggest you go to skirmish. But if you like speedball or a warm atmosphere chose a different or more local field. I give Skirmish an average score a 5 out of 10.

Ps. DONT BRING YOUR OWN PAINT ITS A WASTE OF YOUR TIME TRYING TO SNEAK IT IN.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media