paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field / Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Skirmish USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
172Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1.800.SKIRMISH (754.7647)
Address: 211 North Meckesville Rd
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania 18210
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
mindlessroller Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Before I had ever gone to skirmish i had heard alot about it and how huge it was. I had been on the website and seen all the fields and i was really excited to play there....
When i got there it was much different. First off having a million fields is not neccesarily a good thing . I only got to play 5 or 6 of them and of those three were just woods. The only field i enjoyed playing all day was a hyperball course that i got to play twice. The rest of the day was boring with TONS OF DOWNTIME BETWEEN GAMES. I spent much more time sitting around there then i did actaully playing. Another downside to having such a big setup is you have to walk really far between some fields.


The other ridiculous thing about skirmish is the price of paint. They scam hardcore on paint prices and you have to use their . The box i bought cost me a little over 100$ but i dont remeber the exact prices. Either way i would say anyone but a hardcore woodsball player go somewhere smaller where youll actaully get to play and for fair prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

gggplaya Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush, velocity, kelly's, outlaw, wanna play, revolution.
Review: Well, I'll start off by saying that this place is huge. Easily the largest paintball place i've ever played. I went on a saturday and it was very crowded. Probably about a thousand players for a normal saturday afternoon.

However, it's popularity is SKIRMISH's downfall. They charged us $85 a case for 7 cases of paint. Yes the paint prices are inflated to pay all the employees and fields. The entry fee was $32 which included gun and mask. I had my own anyways. The food prices are very fair. I paid $4.50 for a cheesburger, chips, and a soda. Very fair.

The largest problem is that we were there 7 hours, and only got to play 4 fields. Because it was so busy, it was hard for our group to radio in for a nice field. All the nice fields were taken. The fields we did play in were no different than any other local field we have here in lancaster. Also make sure to wear high top shoes or boots. There are alot of uneven rocks. The airfield is downright scary, don't run on that field. Sprained ankles i'm sure are common. Revolution, Ambush, Wanna play are all much cheaper and for the fields we played in, offered exactly the same play.

If you plan on going on a weekend, save your money and go somewhere else local. It's too busy to get a nice field to play in.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006 at 6:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NuSkool Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field, that I have been to, in Pennsylvania

In New Jersey: Top Gun Paintball Games (Jackson, NJ)
Cousins Paintball (Manchester, NJ)
Directions
to the Field:
www.mapquest.com
Review: Although I only went to this place once, it was the best place that I have ever been to. It is over 700 acres, and has more "Courses" than I could imagine. I wen to the scenario game: Invasion of Normandy. I will be going every year that they have it. No words can adequately describe, no can any picture properly display, the intensity that this place holds in store for your paintball experience. JUST GO THERE!!!!!

www.Skirmish.com
Last edited on Monday, May 1st, 2006 at 12:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

soilwork Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I played here for Invasion of Normandy '05 and Stalingrad '06.

I can't speak for times outside the scenario games, but when scenarios are running this place is great. Gun tech, CO2 and N2 stations, Chrono, Pro shop and independent shops all run. They have contests and games going on during the day as well, and everything is run efficiently.

Also, the fields are huge and have a lot of interesting terrain and cover.

The only complaints I have are the price of food and paint. Food you can remedy by bringing your own, but you HAVE to use their paintballs, which they overcharge for. Also, if you get seperated from a group, it can be a bit difficult to navigate to the dead zone.
Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 6:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BIG R3D Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: When i went to skirmish i had to use their guns because mine was acting up. A good thing though was the people there were able to fix it by the end of the day for no charge. Go on BYOG (bring own gun play for free) days to save some money, being with a group also helps. The paint is overly pricey but if you get bythat everything else is reasonable. BUY ANTI-FOG if you play in the SUMMER. The judges are good but if you even touch your mask they boot you from the game.
The fields are fantastic. i played ft. skirmish, fire base dewy, circle city, and the Tippmann Castle. We played each field twice and the castle for an hour. YOU NEED PAINT. i was a defender and i went through a thousand balls. i had about fifteen kills. Order the people around you. "if you order them they will listen" they're so nervous from being stationary they'll listen. Watch out for people with grenades.
Overall my explerirnce was great but playing a team of fourteen OPSGEAR men while my team was 15 Patels its kind of lopsided.
Use you brain save up, come in a large group, play it, love it, thank me later.

BIG R3D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrubino723 Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 10th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun Paintball in NJ- I think it is better than Skirmish overall.
Cousins paintball in LI- on par with Skirmish.
Review: Well, i have been to Skirmish twice. After the first time there i didnt really have a good time. I figured i would give it another shot and see if it was just me or if it was the place itself. Well, i had the same experience the second time that i did the first time.

PROS:
1) skirmish has some of the best fields, well put together.
2) the refs we had were very nice and worked with our group so that we had the best time possible.
3) the equipment shop has everything you will need to play paintball that day.
4) the free air setup is good.

CONS:
1) ***this is huge in my mind***- both times i went there we arrived before 8am and after we checked in and got all of the equipment bought and set up they made us sit on picnic benches until 11am!!! what the hell is that about??? both times, not just once. i didnt drive for 2 hours to sit around for another 3 before we even shoot a paintball. every other field i have went to the latest we played was at 9:30am and thats because some people showed up late. i asked around and found out it was standard operating proceedure at skirmish to bus people out at 11am.

2) they have no safe areas along the fields to go and clear off your clothing or masks. if you get shot in the goggles, you are stuck with smeared paint unless you have something to clean them off with. if not, you are stuck until the group goes back for lunch or the day is over and you go home. when i go to Top Gun, they have saftey tents where there is water and paper towels and you can take your masks off and relax alittle bit.

3) price-wise, skirmish caters to large groups. if you go as a walk on you are paying through the nose for paint. $100 a case plus tax? come on, thats ridiculous. you only get a discount if you buy in bulk. i understand that paintballs are a huge source of income for paintball fields but that amount of volume that skirmish does is enough to justify having a box cost of $80 and still having them make a ton of profit. no one can tell me that with the amount of paint them must buy case-wise, that they dont get a great price from their supplier. at $100 a case they are AT LEAST making a $50 profit but i bet its ALOT more.

do i discourage people from going to skirmish? no. i tell everyone what i like and dislike about it and then tell them to formulate their own opinion about the place. would i go back? not unless they fixed the first two CONS i have listed. personally i dont like the prices but they are something i have lived with at other fields. out of all the places i have gone to, i like top gun paintball in NJ the best.
Last edited on Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 at 10:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

wrlk5 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins plattekill - smaller, same prices
sirmish - graet rec, bad tourney
Review: Feb 11 three man winter tourney... came in third, in third division of 3. only the top 2 of each div went on to the finals. THAT REALLY SUCKS. THE PAINT WAS SOME NO NAME WHITE BOX CRAP. W/ MORE DIMPLES THAN MY GRAMPAS OLD #$%. A LOT WAS EGG SHAPED AND BRITTLE, IF YOU TOOK 5 SHOTS ONLY 1 OR 2 MADE IT OUT OF THE BARREL MY STOCK BARREL IS .890 AND THE PAINT WAS STILL TOO BIG AND OBLONG. A FEW OF MY TEAM MATES WOULD HAVE DONE BETTER W/ SPRAY CANS. ----NEVER AGAIN OH YEAH -- DURING A HANDS ON PAINT CHECK MY TEAM CAP'T GOT SHOT AND THE REF STILL CALLED HIM OUT?!?!? THE CAP'T SHOWED THE REF THE POSTED RULES. THEN THE REF HAD THE NERVE TO SAY THE REF'S DIDN'T'T NEED TO KNOW ALL THE RULES?!?!?! WHAT IS THAT?!?!?! THEN THEY LET US GET A DO OVER --- NEVER AGAIN, RAPID SUFFOCATION WILL NOT BE ATTENDING ANY MORE TOURNEYS AT THIS PLACE.DON'T GET ME WRONG, GREAT PLACE FOR REC BALL
GOOD REFS,GENERALLY. HIGH SAFETY JUST NOT ENOUGH DEDICATION TO TOURNEY PLAY.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

vtrosie Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 14th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command - Skirmish is much bigger and has a lot more fields and facilities, so in that aspect it is a lot better, but the proximity of CC is so much nicer than traveling 2 hours up to Skirmish.
Review: skirmish is a great place to play. It has a ton of fields and I like how you change them up after 2 games. The package deals for groups are nice and private parties are the way to go. I have had a number of experiences where, if you have to be joined with another group, there is less of a tendency for honesty and intergrity when playing, which makes things very frustrating. I guess that is one disadvantage to being such a large site in that you get a ton of people from a lot of different places.

As with any field they make their money on paint, but I still can't stand the exuberant prices they charge, but that is the price you pay I guess. Field dues are fair. I do like free unlimited air though, which helps counter the other costs.

Overall it is a great place to play and I would recommend it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fatman 2 Scoops Thursday, August 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing compares to this one and i mean nothing
Review: First of all i would like to point out that this place could get pricy. Now that, that is out the way. I always have a different experience when i go here but I always have fun this place is awesome. There are over 40 fields to play on you cant beat that and every time I go i see some pretty hot chicks playing there i must say. Air refills are free. If something is wrong with your gun Gun mechanics are their to help you out Some of my best experiences have Been at Pentagon, Fort Skirmish, Hood in the Woods, Tippman Castle and the picnic area (they don't call me fatman2scoops for nothing). Pentagon is a five side fort duh surrounded by woods this is a good field to start on attack and defend games are very good here. Fort Skirmish is a fort surrounded my numerous bunkers and for some reason they decide to put a white van to the left sde of the bunker I've played many games here and you can coun't on many places for cover. I also found it very easy to wipe paint on this map aswell (just a tip). In fact I find it easy to wipe paint anywhere at Skirmish rags a a necessity at Skirmish. Hood in the woods is basically a town which resembles something you might see in a western movie except it is in the woods and Has a tank no not a real tank but it does have a real car though.Tippman castle is something to marvel on and it is pretty big Basically this is a field you can't help wanting to play over and over again it can accomadate hundreds of people i found defending the castle fun but atacking is where the real action is. Smoke grenades are a must have when playing Tippmann Castle provides cover and it makes the match look pretty cool and adds to the whole war effect. For those of you who that never played on Tippmann Castle on the far right og the castle there is a stair case that leade to the second floor where the flag is this is where smoke comes in handy. Don't play Tippmann Castle as the last game of the day you will need your paint. I bet you thought i was going to leave out the picnic area well you were wrong The Philly Cheese Steak is a must and after a long day of paintball you earned it. I must warn you though getting a good ref is the Key to Skirmish I can't remember anyones name but this short guy with glasses was awesome.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

lawace Friday, July 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Del Hobbs (NJ), Picasso Lake (NJ), County Paintball (NJ), Poco Loco (PA), in the woods (FL). They should have a feature that incorporates the fields you've already reviewed here, so that I don't have to retype it.
Review: General comments: The field is awesome; the paint is very expensive; chronoing was a joke people were shooting hot and I never saw a judge with a hand held chrono.

I went to Skirmish for the Invasion of Normandy event, also known as "D-Day" in July, 2005. It rained a lot, so the fields were muddy. They had over 3,000 paintball players, divided into American, Germans, and French people. With 3,000 paintball players, it was chaos. I went with a group of 12 people, so we bought paint in volume. With the volume discount, paint was $77 per case for Draxxus and Nightmare. Without the volume discount, cases were like $100. We stayed at the camp ground area, they separated the American and German camps. Tents were literally right next to each other. People set off fireworks at night (I was concerned that the rockets might land on tents and catch fire). They had Porto potties, which after the first day really stank.

The German's had Purple tape on their hoppers. The American's had Orange Tape. Some players had no tape.

During the weekend, the referees checked my paintball hopper three times to make sure I was shooting field paint. That is the one thing the referees consistently did. They will kick you off if you use non-field paint. The referees could have been better informed about what was going on.

Friday was played at the Tippmann Castle at night . The Germans had the castle and the Americans were supposed to invade the Castle. They put several spot lights behind the Americans, so the Americans were silhouetted and you could not see the Germans in the castle. It was not planned out very well. Some judges said there would be more lights soon, other judges said that those were the only lights. The castle is three stories tall, it is intimidating. But the Germans were going out of bounds, and intermingling with the American line. So we were getting shot from behind. It was too dark, you could not tell who was on what side. So you shout, "What side are you on?" If they don't respond - just shoot them. A German shot a friend of mine, so I lit the German up with about 30 shots. After I was out, I didn't go back in that night because you couldn't see who to shoot with the lines intermingled.

Saturday morning began with players chronoing their guns at 6 AM. The actual fighting began with the tank battles around 11 AM. Tanks can only be destroyed with a bazooka, grenade or another tank. Tanks were later used in the game against infantry.

Saturday morning, I was with the American Airborne Insertion, so I walked behind enemy lines to my insertion point. They also had buses, but they bus you really far behind lines, so you have a long, long walk back. Anyway, I was airborne. The terrain was muddy. We assaulted a fort called the "Pentagon". The fort was about 30' x 30' with two stories. We had about 30 defenders and held the fort for a while. But soon learned that the fort is not designed to be held, the fort is designed to provide protection from only one side. The fort can be held if attackers attack from only one side, but if attackers attack from two sides, the attackers will have a clear shot from one side; that is the way the fort is designed. There are lots of large trees near the fort. Within 20 minutes of beginning to engage the enemy, they breached the walls and took the fort. But they must have had over a hundred attackers based on the number of balls flying. Before you know it, there is smoke everywhere, paintballs are flying in from every direction. All of my teammates are screeming "Medic." Needless to say the fort fell.

One of the last four guys in the fort and they didn't stop shooting after I was hit. After my barrel condom was on and I put my gun up; I was shot about 10 more times. It was deafening with the volume of paintballs fired. I was shot in the back with my gun up as I was running out of the fort. On the redeeming side, I shot six people before being shot.

We had several engagements in the woods. We were sent on a "mission" to patrol the "blue path." One referee told us were completed our mission by reaching the path. Another referee said we needed to patrol it for another 10 minutes. These are the type of problems with the referees.

The game went until midnight, although my group stopped when it got dark. Saturday night, again there were fireworks and rain.

Sunday has the "big battle" on the "beach". The full teams of the Germans and Americans were engaging. I have never seen that many paintballs flying at one time. The Germans made a big "push" and all of the little kids started retreating. I was separated from my group at the time, nothing quite like having over a hundred players shooting at you. Many paintball guns were set way above the 280 FPS that guns were supposed to be set at. Chroning was based on the honor system, you can tell when people's paintballs zip past you, while your paintballs fall short.

Somehow Skirmish counted team points.

Lessons learned: We should get a medic on a team to heal our players, rather than trying to find a medic. When you see a player with no team tape on his hopper, just shoot him, don't try to figure out what team he is on.

EDIT:
Went a second time for another D-Day (Invasion of Normandy) game, along with 3,000 other people.

Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 7:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media