paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field / High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field

High Velocity Paintball Indoor Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 235 South Fehr Way
Bay Shore, New York 11706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
PaintballerJ Sunday, January 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Before I start my review- I must note that this is a field more geared towards children. You can tell, by reading some of these reviews, that they were written by kids. This is the only huge problem I had with High Velocity.

The place was swarming with kids right when we walked in. We tried to find a place to put our stuff, but no luck. They don't have lockers there. They have these small black boxes to put your stuff in. This is obviously a problem because we saw several kids fighting over missing paintballs and equipment. We had just gotten in and put down our equipment when some kid came over to us and asked us if we took his paintballs. Then some other kid's mom came over to us and asked if we took her son's face mask.

The changing and waiting areas were extremely cramped.

The staff was ok but they had the problem of yelling at people instead of telling them to do certain things. My friend almost got into a fist fight with one of the guys at the counter because the guy yelled at him like he was a little kid... my friend is 24 years old.

Although we did see 2 other guys there that were our age, we felt very out of place.

One of the refs was good but the others were lazy. I ran up to a kid who was bunkering and told him to surrender, with my gun pointed at him and my hand on his shoulder. Instead of surrendering, he shot me twice in the hand. He was like 8 years old or something. Getting shot in the hand up-close is not very fun. My fingers are still numb.

Another very annoying thing about playing with children is that- as you run up towards the middle of the field, you keep getting shot in the back by kids who are blind firing. VERY ANNOYING AND PAINFUL!
Now, I can take pain, but it's just so annoying getting hit in the back when you're trying to concentrate. I felt like shooting my own team mates.

I had my own group of friends with me so it wasn't that bad. If it wasn't for them, I would have had a horrible time at High V. If you are over the age of 17 and want to go there, make sure you bring plenty of friends so that you can at least have some type of fun.

Another thing that sucks is that they don't rent out pods/packs. They sell them for around $35. So if you're on the field and you run out of paintballs, you have to leave the entire area to reload. This reduced the whole "hardcore appeal" of the game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

tcud510 Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 1st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Indoor- A Nice Facility doesn't mean alot when your refs suck and your chrono is broken and your bathrooms are dumps and you charge $100 for 2000 paintballs
Review: High velocity is a MAD SICK field. Don't let people tell you that it sucks. The people that tell you that are cousins fanboys. High Velocity has an all-star staff- the refs are amazing, and the entire rest of the staff knows what theyre talking about and are extremely helpful. If anything happens to your gun, theyll fix it, and fast. Theyll also tell you what the prob was and tell you what they did to fix it. Not only that, but their price of a case of paint is $65 compared to cousin's $100. High Velocity is an awesome field, and don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

duubs Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball arena-the field is ok but the L shape can be annoying somtimes and the big dude that works on guns is a d*#$head
cousins- wasnt bad but a lttl bit to expensive
Review: GREAT field james the owner is cool and nice just like all the refs there they help u with everything and they all noe wat there doing. The field is nice but aint perfect its just a ltl to narrow. Also they only let a certain amount of ppl on the field at once so it doesn get crowded. The staging area is a lttl small but its cool u get to noe everyone that way. This is by far the best field on long island. O and they also change the field around every few days.
Last edited on Monday, November 7th, 2005 at 7:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

No-MercyPBMike Thursday, June 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity Outdorr wich is just as good an cousins paintbal indoor an out wich is a comp;ete RIPOFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Review: This place is great.$20 per person an all day free nitro or one CO2 fill and bring ur own paint EVERY DAY. I love it. They change the field once a week and they have the best set ups. The staff is great and really kool. Even tho i didnt by my gun at High Velocity the guy be hind the counter tweeks with my gun when it needs tweekin. The guy behind the counter is all you can ask for.If u live on Long Island NY u gotta check this place out!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jack of All Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
LIBERTY
PAINTBALL MADNESS -- way tooo small and too expensive
LI ARENA -- good on BYOP nites except Friday
Cousins Haupagge -- nice indoor refs aragant one ref on a feild stainds at th fifty and dont move
Skirmish --- huge expensive
Review: Once you pull in to the parking lot you will know how your day will be, if it's busy don't even bother. I must say that the staff "off the field" is the best I have ever experenced. The refs did not move two inches the entire game, when its busy the one field is not enough especislly when alternating high tech and low tech. Staging are is tiny unless the open some back room still cramped.

BYOP on the weekend very cool

This field is the slickest I haveing ever seen, dangerously slick, with turf cleats on I almost broke my neck off the break. I did see someone twist a knee real bad, ER trip, it may have been a fluc accident but I don't know.

There are some very good aspecks with this field, They keep costs down and seem very into safety, but in my opinion the field is too slick and would like to see them sweep up the field more. dont get me wrong I like to slide, but I'd also like to stop running while on my feet.

Their shop is very adiquate and counter staff is good and knowledgeable, I will defenatly go back. This feild is good for what it is, I think it deserve support. Give it a try, I really would not have much to complain about if they kept the carpet cleaner or possibly put a new one down, but I know that cost is a factor. Good fields need our support.

No field that I have ever seen has been perfect
I give this feild a strong 7 could be an 8 if less crowded and a 9 if I could stay on my feet. That is as high as I go. Staging area is cramped so dont bring any extra gear.
Last edited on Friday, November 11th, 2005 at 5:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderuzer Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins, liberty paintball, wild al's(in texas)
Review: This recent time i went i had an extremely fun time. (Last time i went to Hi V, i had to back up my friend who was about to get the crap kicked out of him cause he bunkered another player who got mad cause he got hit more than once at a close range. I ended up bieng shoved onto the tables and before i could get back up the refs held the loser back. my gun also broke and i was bieng persauded by a new pro shop employee to buying a new gas through grip when all they needed to do was fix the o-ring on my compression chamber. anyway, the manager then showed the guy how to fix my gun and everyone was happy) That enraged me and i was super pissed at hi-V for a while so i stopped going. but last week i went on wed, a open paint nite, it was so cool, there was only like 10 poeple so we played 5 on 5 the whole night, the refs were awsomne and shared thier p-ball stories with me and my lil bro, who had his first paintball shot there. The manager was extremely nice and i had to shake his hand for giving us a good time there. he is very clam and patient, he also gave us chocolate. that was probaly the best time i had playin p-ball i a while. im gonna try to go as much as possible now, the field is also somethin to see, you can slide like 10 feet on it if u want to, the bunkers all always cleverly assorted. I also am happy about there seriousness about safety, im glad it is strictly enforced there. HI-v is strictly profeesional and should never be doubted for having a good time. im lucky i gave this place a second chance. peace out hi velocity, and princess the crazy lab.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KrAzYDreX Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
island paintball, cousins paintball
Review: High Velocity is an awesome indoor field if you like speedball. The owner, James, is mad cool. The lighting isn't the best and the referees are a bit crazy but its still a lot of fun. They will usually fix ur problem right away adn the other workers there are cool too. They have air conditioned fields which is good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkdbyxhaust Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins - ass
Arena - ok, newbish
PB Garrage - idk never played
Review: High Velocity is one of the greastest fields I have ever played at. Everyone there knows there stuff and helps you out if you need anything. They give u tips on playin, guns, building teams, whateva they will help you. The feild is normal. It is rectangular shaped and is a nice feild to play on. The setup changes constantly, and is always fun to play in. they have experienced players as well as "newbs" so all ranges can find there game to play. The refs are great! fun as hell, helpful, everything and they do a great job keping it clean. The staging area is great, they have lockers for your stuff, and enuff room for your whole party. The pro shop is top of the line, and the staff is more than happy to help you out if u have questions on equipment. One thing most people dont care about but i do, is that they have vending machines for food and drink, and also if u have the money u can order out and they have hookups with diffrent places so u can get great food great prices. Bathroom clean. And saving the best for last LOWEST PRICES AROUND. high velocity has the lowest prices bar none. BYOP all the time. go there and you wont go home dissapointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznPa1ntballer Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins
Review: High velocity indoors is top notch, clean fields, hardworking refs, the store is very helpful when it comes to missing parts, slight problem was that the field was too dark, i have to say i had trouble seeing the other people one the other side of the team, and the bunkers werent tied together, so when i slide, i kinda made the snake flew, for instance... and it did happen..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paulcoraci2287 Monday, November 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HI VI outdoor, cousins
Review: first of all, you cant even compare the quality of employees of hi vi to those of cousins, hi vi refs are without a doubt the best in the industry. If you are looking for anytihng to do with paintball go to this pro shop. James, the store manger is the nicest guy in paintball, he doesnt rape you with prices, paint is 55 a case, how can you beat that? the fields are kept clean, not just ball free, i mean gunk free. at cousins indoor you are better off wearing skiis than sneakers, at least the hi vi staff keeps everything in a tournament ready state. this is the best paintball company in the country, if you want to really experiance paintball, i recomend hi vi indoor and hi vi out door. COUSINS BEWARE your days are numbered
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media