paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Glory road paintball Field / Glory road paintball Field / Glory road paintball Field / Glory road paintball Field

Glory road paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (704) 309-2229
Address: 4209 rocky river road n.
monroe, North Carolina 28110
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
TheFunnyGuy Wednesday, November 2nd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 8th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: Well I'm new to paintball but I'm addicted. The first time i went to Glory Road i was amazed how friendly everybody was. $15 bucks to play all day including free air. great prices, unbeatable. They have 3 fields: Speedball, Hyperball, and Woodsball. They have rental masks, markers, vests (if you cant take being hit maybe you shouldn't be playing). Safety is their number one concern, they are not afraid to sit you out if you can't listen. It can get hazardous on windy days because the nets have a tendency to fly into the air allowing a stray ball or two to wind up hitting you the back...not fun.
$8.75 for a bag of 500 count. (The cheapest paint anywhere)
They are open only on the weekends. Sat. 10:00am - 9:00pm Sun. 1:00pm - 9:00pm.
Call Tony ahead of time if you have a group of 10 or more and he can cut the price of admission from $15 to $10. 704-309-2229
It's just a great place to go and have fun and make a lot of friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LB2475 Saturday, June 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 12th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boss paintball(lots of woodsball but they don't ever pump up the speedball, I like speedball so it stinks for me)
Directions
to the Field:
on independence going towards monroe turn left onto rocky river rd. and go 2.5 miles it will be on your left.
Review: Glory road paintball is a great church-owned paintball field on Rocky river rd.
near monroe. They have THE BEST prices out of all the paintball fields in the
area. The people running it are very nice and even offered to go get me and
my friend a sub from the subway nearby. They have three different fields. A woodsball field, an airball field and a hyperball field(plastic barrels & pallets) Like I said before they have great prices. It costs $15 to play all day(includes a gun if you need it as well as all day air) Their paint is also very well priced. It costs $8.75 for a bag(okay quality) or
$10 for a bag of good quality paint. They also have food(drinks, chips, etc. etc.)
for really good prices. They don't get anywhere near as much business as they
deserve. When I went today they only had about 8 people playing the whole day.
They are open on Saturdays from 10 til dark and on Sundays from 1 til dark.
If you have a group of 10 or more call Tony ahead of time and he will open the field for
you on Fridays So check them out and if you see a guy in all camo and yellow evil gloves it may be me so say hi!
Last edited on Saturday, June 12th, 2010 at 4:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebelpb&sccr Monday, July 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
there paintball kingdom that i know of. but never played there
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: this is the only field ive played at. but the hopitality and atmosphere makes me hope all fields are/can be this way.

Safety-
They are very strict on masks and barrel plugs. they give warnings but are not afraid to sit someone for not heeding the warnings. their hyperball field is still lacking a net but they are working on it soon. but it is still a great place. they try to keep an eye on everyone for safety and fun.

Refs-
if u catch them on a tournament day then u most likely get stuck with younger refs who arent always on target. but if u go an ordinary day. bob and or tony will ref or play and with theire experiance u can count on a fair game.

Hours-
what everyone else said. usualy 10-6ish.

Prices-
$15 for all day field air and marker. sometimes if told in advance of a 10+group they can knock it down to $10 per instead of 15. food is there and really cheap. but if what they have doesnt catch ur fancy then u can walk 5 min to a gas station less tahn 100 yards away.

Service-
Amazing. i love all the guys there. they are friendly and hospitable. we went for a friends birthday party. it was a cold october day. after about 5 games they made some soup and offered it to us for free. the friend of mine is close friends with tony. but all 13 of the party was offered the food. very kind. and they always make sure to do what they can to make it an enjoyable but safe experiance for all. when ur there ur not another costomer ur a friend

fields-
woodsball field is kinda small. but they try to make up for it with little setups all throughtout. they have a big base at each end. a path running along each tapeline. and usually a little shack in the middle of the field. hyperball is a little unsafe due to lack of a net. but thats being worked on. it too is a little small but there isnt much space to work with around them. it is still a very fun field. good for speed play. my favorite course of thiers to play on. they also have an airball field that is good for 4v4 maybe 5v5 but still very fun. it is also lighted so u can play in the dark.

Overall-
absolutly love the field. its close to home and has some of the chepest prices and the best people. they have a no profanity rule which can be loose around turnoments but what can u expect. they help with anything u have problems with. they helped me fix my piranah so i could play. they have a little proshop with guns and they sell tanks. and attire if wished. my friends and i have made it a point to play once a month when money allows. great place. i suggest it to all. from noobs to veterans
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball0599 Thursday, November 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played here and at gold diggers(a.k.a boss paintball fields)
Directions
to the Field:
on rocky river road about a quarter mile from the gas station on the corner. I do not know road names well so I can't help much.
Review: This is hands down the best field I have been to. They had the best prices out there. only $15 for the day and you can bring your own paint if you want for free. They have snacks and drinks I didn't buy anything except a drink(50 cents) and some pizza. They are very safety aware. You have to keep your mask on at all times unless you are in their designated areas that do not require a mask. The woods ball field is small but can easily accommodate a 7 on 7 game. It has two big bases at opposite sides of the field and two paths running up both tapelines. In the middle are some light woods with a lot of pieces of plywood propped up and a small shack in the middle. They change it around a lot though. They have a good variety of bunkers in their air ball field which has enough room for 4 on 4 I think. They have a small hyper ball field and that is the only bad thing I have to say about their field. It has no netting whatsoever so stray paintballs could easily hit someone without a mask. It is fun to play though but cannot have more than six players on the field at one time. They have a lot of young staff but they seemed fair and they were honest when I called for paint checks. They have a monthly 3 on 3 woodsball tournaments and they have two speed ball teams.(a young guns and a older divison. I will go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dyeman532 Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Paintball Kingdom and Scrap That. They are all very good places to play at. I would say Glory Road is my favorite. They have great prices, very nice staff, and good fields. I do not like woods ball paintball so i couldn't answer any questions on the woods ball field. The speed ball and hyperball fields are great.
Directions
to the Field:
I couldn't tell you exactly where it is but it is off of Rocky River rd. Mapquest would be the most reliable source.
Review: Safety- They are very strict when it comes to safety and field rules.

Fields- Again hyperball and speedball fields are great.

Time- I think 10 am to around 6 pm.

Prices- $15 for field fee, all day air, and rental gun.

Rules- Not memorized but they have a rule board.

Services- Gun repair etc.

Proshop- Not sure if they have guns, they can order for you. Paintballs, hoppers, pods, jerseys, pants, batteries, etc..

Staff- Good refs, good staff, all staff is very friendly.

Food- Sometimes order pizza, snacks, drinks, and a gas station less than a minute away.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballrebel89 Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
since scrap that and cj's are gone, the only others are paintball kingdom and gold diggers but I've never been to both.
Directions
to the Field:
from lawyers road area- go down rocky river road towards monroe and as soon as you pass unionville-indian trail road its on the right
from monroe/ 74- just go down rocky river rd and its on the left right before you pass unionville-indian trail rd
Review: -Safety-
Not so great. The hyperball field isn't even netted. So as I was watching some games from 30 yards away, some paintballs were landing in the parking lot as players would go to the side of the hyperball field and shoot (which would be in the same direction as everyone). Despite this, after I voiced my concern, the manager (bob) said that nets were soon to go up and that they couldn't put them up due to the ground not being leveled yet. Other than this they [mainly the owners] were very strict on safety by yelling at people for a barrel plug to be put in or not having their mask on in the designated areas. It was an inconvenience at times but a necessary one. I blame the main safety issues on the refs (young ones) being lacadazical because even they didn't abide by the safety rules.

-Refs-
Um, terrible...mostly. There were one or two that were no older than 11. Not that that's necessarily a bad thing but these were 11 year old bad refs. One game I was diving in behind the snake on the hyperball field and I felt a paintball graze my vizor. I called for a paintcheck and a young ref came over. Right after I finished saying "yo is my visor hit?" he immedietly called me out . After the game I looked to see where exactly on my visor I was hit. Nowhere. I had a few tiny splatters from throughout the day on there but nothing near even a dime size let alone a quarter. That didn't make me too happy 'cause I would of been in an awesome position.
Some of the other refs were older and experienced which made them really good. Unfortunetely, they were mainly reffing the tournaments. If it was just those guys reffing it would of been awesome.
*Edit 3/31/08- I now see that it was a one time bad thing with the little kids as refs. This time all of them were great, especially when Tony would ref.

-Hours-
Typical. open at 10 on Saturday til (I think) 6. On Sunday it's 1-dark. I wish they were maybe open on Fridays too.

-Prices-
Really good. It's 15 dollars for the whole day and that includes all day air and a rental. They offer cases of paint for really cheap. It's the cheapest place I've heard of or been to.

-Service/Staff-
Great. I had called a few days beforehand just to double check the location and I talked to Tony. He was very nice and polite and helpful. At the field I was beyond impressed at the level of hospitality from the workers there (Tony and Bob). Both of them took time to sit down and talk with the players treating them like guests and not customers. The service to get tanks filled or to buy stuff was good. I didn't buy any, but they had food and drinks and they ordered pizza.
*edit 3/31/08- again the staff was super friendly. Bob bunkered some kid and he was crying and what not and bob apoligized to him a bunch of times which I thought was very nice.

-fields-
Pretty ok. The woodsball field has some work to do cause it is only 2 1/2 acres and there are a lot of places where there is 0 cover. But Bob said that they got a bunch of plywood and doors that they are going to put out to make up for the crappy places. It is only 2 1/2 acres like I said so there isn't a whole lot that you can do out there with a big team. But it's soon to get twice as big and when the bunkers and doors are added it will really be a good course.
The hyperball field isn't meant for 235 pound guys like me, that's for sure! It was fun but I think it should be a little bigger 'cause anything bigger than 4 on 4 is just plain crowded. Again, it needs to be netted off. But it's a good place to better your fast paced game.
The airball course is really good, it's a tournament style setup. I'm sure there is probably a name for it, but it's setup for 3 man tournament play with the big X in the middle. And because it was made for 3 on 3, I could tell it would be kinda tight with big teams. But still, it was fun and a good field. And unlike other fields, there weren't any stupid rocks to worry about ripping apart your knees. A bigger airball course made for 7 on 7 is coming.
The places where they stored stuff (like 4 shacks) smelt pretty nasty but that doesn't have any effect on game play.

-Overall Experience-
Good. I hadn't played in a while and so I was quite happy finding out how close this place was by my house. I was told beforehand that Glory Road had opened to provide a course where there weren't bad influences like smoking a bad language. Upon showing up that was not the case but hey, there was a big tournament going on with lots of players so what could I expect. And with it being a tournament with tournament players I was greatly out gunned. I think at times in the day I was the only one not shooting nitrogen. I don't know if that's how it always is but if it is and you are looking to play with high end players then this is the place. The players were all friendly and helpful. I would be more critical of the place as a whole but this is basically a church sponsered course. I'd say give it 6 months and it should be better in the areas I said needed fixing. Sure there were some cons but come on, for only 15 dollars it was definitely worth it and I will be back next weekend for sure and I will edit each time I go.
Last edited on Monday, March 31st, 2008 at 8:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media