paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Capital Edge Paintball Field / Capital Edge Paintball Field / Capital Edge Paintball Field / Capital Edge Paintball Field

Capital Edge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 916-842-1777
Address: 9391 Florin Road
Sacramento, California 95829
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ghost Rider70 Sunday, October 14th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 14th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A.P.G., Sams Paintball. The closest comparison for me would be Extreme Paintball in Modesto. I enjoy Extreme but after visiting Capital Edge I will definitely be returning here first! What a great place to play!
Directions
to the Field:
We took Highway 99 to Florin Road and just go out Florin Road, VERY easy to find and close to Sacramento.
Review: I have been playing paintball for 15+ years. I have played and MANY paintball fields in California and this is one of the best ran, most polite, best laid out and FUNNEST fields I have ever been to.

The Highlights: The staff and reffing were awesome. Here's a tip to other fields in CA. Make sure your reff's and staff are FRIENDLY and know what they are doing and Capital Edge has done a great job of this on both fronts. Friendly, knowledgable and approachable. FIeld owners, want to know how they do it? They pay there refs in CASH and train them well.

The Fields: Easy and accessible layout. I played on a very soft and well maintained Air Ball field on TURF all day! I played so many games I lost count. This was the intermediate group, we had usually 1 ref sometimes two and everyone there was game to just play as much as possible. Pick up games were organized by both players and refs and everyone seemed to get equal playing time. I also played the 'Playground' field and it was very well laid out and had soft ground/grass to slide on. The fields were one of the best parts of the experience.

The Staff: Everyone I spoke to was polite, curtious and friendly. I cannot say enough awesome things about the staff. When the rules were explained it was done in a manner I have never seen at a paintball field. The ref giving the 'rules' speech was calm, polite and knowledgeable. His speech was short and to the point.

Location: I am from Stockton CA, so I have to travel in order to play. The drive was short and the field was VERY easy to find. There was plenty of parking, bathrooms, food etc.

Conclusion: I was watching the rec players closely and all I saw was smiles, laughter and memories being made. There was a LARGE rec group playing all day until the last game of the day. I spoke to one of the head refs and chatted with him with how impressed I was by the staff, layout and field itself. He was very gracious and we shook hands. He told me that the field was having an event for the Wounded Warrior Foundation Nov 3rd. How awesome is this field? They help wounded soilders! Thats how awesome they are!

GO PLAY THIS FIELD YOU WILL HAVE A GOOD TIME!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

StarfuryTH Saturday, August 13th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Paintball - cheaper, fewer amenities, more trees, lower quality rentals
Review: Played here with some friends for the first time recently. We had a great time and will definitely be going back.

1) Safety
Safety and supervision is good here. First timers are required to sit in on a safety briefing going over the basics, and the refs keep a good eye out for anyone violating the safety rules. In addition to the basic safety rules, in beginner games you're required to demand surrender from anyone closer than 15ft. This cuts down on little kids and such getting bunkered and going home with really nasty welts and a bad view on the sport.

2) Fields
This park is more speedball oriented than Action Paintball. That said, field selection is great here. There are multiple airball fields and several other fields with miscellaneous bunkers, including a big junkayrd field with a fort at one end. The fields are maintained well enough, and the bunkers are spaced well. The non-airball fields are not symmetrical, and therefore not entirely even, but you switch sides after each match which helps to keep everyone happy.

3) Hours
9-4 Saturday/Sunday. No complaints.

4) Prices
$40 Renter's package, $20 self-equipped, $5 all day air. Entry is a little higher than, say, Action PB, but worth the slight difference. Their selection of balls is much better though, which can help cut costs. Unlike Action PB, Capital Edge has a wide selection of paintball to choose from, all of which are rotated regularly and kept in a temperature controlled environment. I picked up a case of their Draxxus Silver for $65, iirc, and it was in pretty good shape. Much better quality for the price than Action PB.

5) Rules
Rules are typical. Keep your mask on at all times when on the fields, barrel socks and safeties on when exiting the fields. They also have the "no bunkering" rule for beginners. Velocity is capped at something like 280fps. Games are standard speedball skirmish type, although towards the end of the day they usually run an 'everone vs beginners' game where all of the beginners try to make it through the junkyard field and touch the fort while the outnumbered intermediate/advanced players try to defend. An amusing game, although the defenders go through a lot of paint.

6) Services
I'm not really sure what services they may offer as far as gun repair goes, but I'd wager they'd be able to fix anything Spyder related if asked, seeing as their rental lineup is mostly Spyders.

7) Pro Shop
I don't think they have much in the way of parts, aside from typical soft parts like o-rings and hopper elbows. I could be wrong though, I just haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise.

8) Staff/Refs
The staff is friendly and efficient. They keep an eye on everyone for safety and do a good job refing the games. They also try to keep the downtime short to maximize game time, which I really liked. You go out, play a couple rounds, come back to reload, refill, and hydrate, then they call you right back out. They make sure the breaks aren't too short, but also aren't too long.
Another note, one of the owners even remembered my name by the end of the day. An impressive feat with over 40 people there that day. Can't say I remember his. The family-owned nature of the business definitely shows in their friendliness.

9) Players
Most players that come to Capital Edge are beginners, which is not a bad thing. The staff tries to separate the beginners from the intermediate/advanced players to make things more fair and to make sure everyone has a good time. If there aren't many intermediate players ready to play, they'll phase them into the beginner games as long as they go easy on the beginners.

10) Facilities/Food
Bathrooms are port-a-potties, but they were clean and sanitary when I was there. They sell hot dogs, basic drinks, and sometimes pizza for lunch. The setup tables are plentiful and shaded. They have both 3k and 4500 psi fill stations, although the 3k was turned down to 2500 when I was there.


Overall, I give this park an 8. No real complaints, although a couple more field variants would be fun, and some trees might be nice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheZombyAmeric Sunday, February 6th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 5th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
its right off of florin. very easy to find.
Review: Fields: The fields were awesome! very well kept and thought out. there were some unfortunate handicaps though, such as one side would have a lot of open field while the other side would have very clustered and easy to reach cover.

Staff: as you probably know from reading the review below, this place is family owned and run. the refs are very nice and good at enforcing the rules with out getting angry or yelling (which is helpful to beginners who are new to the sport). The people are really nice and i even got a bag of their more expensive paint when i won a game by capturing the flag.

Prices: the paint price is a bit of an eh... because they charge a fairly high markup for their cheaper paint but they get it custom made so they have to. its a little bit more than davis paintball or action paintball games to get in but you get what you pay for. almost all the food and drinks they sell is a dollar and they even sell special sugar and caffiene free energy drinks. i cant tell you about their food because ive never eaten it. they mostly sell hot dogs at lunch and my friend said they tasted pretty good so you'll have to take his word for it.

Players: the players here are very nice to the new comers and will give them some advice from time to time like how to hold their gun easier or will even stick with them to ensure their safety since they aren't too in to getting hit yet. there isnt much of a barrier between intermediates and beginners in the picnic area. i was chatting it up with one last i played and he gave me some really good tips.


this is to the baines' 10/10!!!

oh and p.s.
if you get a rental gun ask for their spyder ravens or tippmann 98's because their spyder TS' have faulty pins or something and will jam a lot.
Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2011 at 8:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoolander03 Wednesday, December 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, but I looked at all
Directions
to the Field:
If you GPS it, you can find it with no problem. It is well marked and when you hit the dirt road, drive ALL the way back.
Review: I chose to do paintball for my bachelors party. When we got there it was great parking, great staff and the field paint was around 47.00 for 2000 rnds. That's a damn good price for field paint!!!

We discovered it's family owned and very friendly and professional.

There were all types of ages and players and the play was WELL monitored. NO ONE likes cheaters.

They have a policy that if you run up CLOSE on someone you have to yell GIVE UP or SURRENDER to give them a chance so they don't get shot at close range (IT STINGS). I thought that was cool.

The fields were AWESOME! Best around.

They treated us awesome.

The ONLY complaint that I had was my rented paintball gun (spyder) had loose pins that would make it not feed or fire correctly. A few of my buddies had the same problem. This made me irate at certain times because it jammed at all the wrong times(I dont like getting shot when I had a great beat on a person)

But, this is something that happens so I say check your pins on the Spyders or ask for a Tippman because they don't have pins.

All in all, this field and their staff are 5 out of 5 stars!! My friends and I will be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rthiel24 Sunday, September 26th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 26th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Very Impressed!!!

I had my son's 14th bday party at Capital Edge Paintball today and the kids had an awesome time! I was so impressed with the faciltiy, which they kept very clean, and even more so with the staff. From the front desk to field staff they were very professional and made the kids feel comfortable. I can't say enough about how great the "director" was, he did an excellent job running the whole day. They made my son and all the other bday kids feel special by stopping in the middle of the day and recognizing them by having everyone at the park sing happy birthday. I highly recommend Capital Edge for a bday party or just a bunch of friends getting together to have fun and get dirty! You won't be disappointed!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brute45 Sunday, August 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wild adventure paintball
Infinite edge
Action paintball
Review: I have been to a lot of paintball fileds, but capital edge is by far one of the best that I have played at. The first time I went here was when my friend had his birthday party there and it was a lot of fun. Because of this I got my own gun in july and astarted coming here more often. the staff is awsome. A couple weeks ago when I went there i. Unscrewd my co2 tank from my gun and it stated leaking. I then took it to the pro shop and since it was the middle of the day and there were still a lot of games left, they rented me a compressed air tank for free and fixed the co2 tank so it would stop leaking. The refs number one concern is defintley saftey. They make surwe that everyone hads there masks on when they are on the feilds and all the rules are enforced. The one thing I would say though is to just not buy the paint that they have there because it is just way too overpriced. You would be better off just buying ur own paint and bringing it there. I will be back soon to have another day of fun
:)
Charlie romano
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

catpell Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 29th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Review: We had our son's birthday party here and we had a blast! We felt totally safe. The Refs are 'on top of it' and made our day a lifetime memory. We will be heading back for another day of fun ASAP. I would reccommend Capital Edge Paintball Park to everyone, and I have.
Cat and crew
Last edited on Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010 at 2:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintboy18 Sunday, February 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: i absolutely love this place. i came out yesterday with a few buddies and the entire day they were supprised at the saftey they had throught the day. staff handled safty violations very well by enforcing the park safty rules. I myself have been going there since the park opened and every time i go i am satisfied. Even yesterday i was having a problem with my gun and i gave it to the house mechanic and they did the best they could to try and fix it. In the end i recieved a buisness card and with the name of the employee who tried to fix it but he didnt have the correct part. He said that if i gave him a call during the week he would hook me up for a part I needed for my gun to make it work. Once again i am amazed at the service that Capital Edge Paintball Park has to offer and i know that i will never be let down in any way by this place. there for i give this paintball park a 20 out of 10. anyone who is in the area should stop by this paint ball park and play for the day. you will not be let down. i bet my bottem dollar.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nikki Sandhu Tuesday, February 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: We decided to have my son's 14th birthday party there and it over exceeded my expectations, the staff was amazing, the man in charge was on top of everything and as hectic as it got he kept safety a first priority. It was a friendly environment and our group had a blast. Best of all my son said it was the best party ever. All though I did not play with them this time I am looking forward to returning and getting in on the fun next time!

We can't wait to go back!!!!!! Thanks for everything

NIKKI SANDHU
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego09forlife Saturday, January 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
American Canyon paintball Jungle- expensive
Bay area paintball- RIP
Midway paintball-not as good
Mr. Paintball USA- in San Diago
and Antioch Paintball park tomoro!
Review: This place is the best ive been to. Probobly their only con is they're field paint isnt cheep, and the net has a few holes in it so when i was in the stageing area a paintball hit my hopper from the airball field. They have about 5 or 6 fields, and they have players of all levels and are good at divideing people. They have the best tech people ever! If this is near your area you MUST go here
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media