paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / FORT RED ROCK Paintball Field / FORT RED ROCK Paintball Field / FORT RED ROCK Paintball Field / FORT RED ROCK Paintball Field

FORT RED ROCK Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 2054243223
Address: 223 Mountaintop Industrial Drive
Bessemer, Alabama 35020
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
flippy28 Thursday, June 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 22nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball quest closed :(, splatzone, places
Directions
to the Field:
check website
Review: I went to fort red rock for my first time I gotta say wow oh wow this was my first time of course wouldnt write this review til I went to other places I think the lady at the front desk is nice crazily she is alot better then that crap hole of a lady paintball quest the rental equipment is basic tippman 98 customs some of the guns work just fine but the second time I went I got a little fustraited my gun would not shoot you would have to cock it every time shoot 3 so the nice lady at the front desk got me a new one while that gun was in maitnence guess what that gun didnt work either yeah that is why I just got a new gun the safety is ok its not like hidden they care but there not totally strict I love the fields gotta love armmagedanbut you just cant hate on fort red rock
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wes40138 Tuesday, May 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Fort Red Rock is hands down great. The staff are super helpful and theyu go out of their way to assist you in having a great time . One thing that is fresh on my mind is that my group was playing "Painball" and I ran out of balls . Well I figured that this ment I would have to go and refill my hopper at the course entrance, NOPE! Our ref(Adam, I think was his name ) was Johnny on the spot with a refill of paint . I would recommend this field to anyone that want to go and have a good time @ a real good price .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OutdoorGuy_333 Friday, November 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Phoenix Paintball (Athens, AL)
AAA (Closed)
Directions
to the Field:
See Website
Review: Safety: Good execution of safety by both staff and players. One of the guys in our group even called out "Barrel Sleeve" and stopped another player he saw up ahead attempting to exit without one. Most of the younger generations may feel that refs/players are being rude by "calling them out," but safety is paramount to not only the players, but the game in general. One accidental discharge, and the whole fun atmosphere changes. So again, great execution for looking out for one another and keeping the sport behind the nets and keeping a strong safety record elsewhere.

Fields: These were fun. I was pleased with the variety. Surprisingly, and being a woodsball player, I had a lot of fun at the speedball area.

Hours of Operation: See Website. I know that if players are present and having fun and the staff does not mind...the games can extend the closing time.

Prices: Fair. The paint was fresh!

Rules: Simple and not a big deal once you learn them. Keep barrel sleeves on at ALL times while outside of net/gaming areas. Have your tanks inspected prior to fills (an added Safety bonus that I noticed and appreciated. - Each tank must be inspected prior to fills) - Be friendly to fellow players and have a good time.

Staff: Great staff. The ladies we encountered were very polite and cordial and we met some great people there.

If I had a suggestion or mild complaint, it would be that the refs be more proactive with having the "eliminated players" call "HIT" or "I'M OUT" and walk out with HANDS HELD HIGH! - Reason: Multiple times, the opposing force had been completely eliminated and I had doubled back around and was shooting my own teammates because the game had not been called "over" and when people would get "tagged" they would simply walk off - rather than CALL OUT. Just a small thing, but it definately helps clarifiy how may opposition forces are left in the game.
Some extended waits between games every now and again, but pretty typical.


Facilities: Nice and Isolated. You find it once, and you've got it. Grounds were nice. Plenty of parking, and I'm pretty sure I smelled pizza.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

colby2224 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Quest
AAA
Review: Fort Red Rock is a new, growing paintball park. Yes, there are some things they need to change and some kinks need to be worked out but overall they are a great place to play and just hang-out.

The Staff: Overall very kind, understanding, and quit knowledgable about the sport of paintball. Will Lumpkin, for any of those who know him, works there and is an excelent tech. Richard Rapier is the owner and is a veryyy nice man, some times too nice. Overall amazing staff!

The Fields: Currently (2/15/08) they have 3 field up and running due to contruction on the airball area. I am told they are getting 2 more airball feilds + a full size x ball w/ turf. They are also working on some woodsball fields and a snario field for those of you who like that kinda stuff.

The Plans for the future: Fort Red Rock has alot of successful ideas for the future;
1. Membership Cards: thos field fee's and all day air fee's really start to build up after awhile espacialy if you are a regular at the park. Frr has a great idea for us to pay just once for a yearly card!
2.Turf = Amazing Paintball
3. As you are traveling up to fort red rock you see some abandon warhouses, if your thinking what im thinking. They are going to build these into indoor airball fields!


Overall Fort Red Rock is a great place to go out and have a great time to challenge yourself against other skilled players or bring your family out to play in your own private group for no charge! Just a great place to be on the weekends!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

busboy489 Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Quest
AAA
Review: I was very impressed with this field! I will definatly be going back!

Safety-Saftey was no concern to me while playing the staff inforced barrel condoms and made sure your mask's were on and if they had a problem then it was adressed politely.

Fields-I hope they get more field in the future but all 4 fields(1airball,3 Recball) were great and none got boring even after a full day of play.

Prices-prices were fair, $15 to get in,$10 for all day air or CO2, and $35 for a case of paint, they allow you to bring your own paint for a $10 charge, but they never mentioned it while I was there and I brought my own no charge so..whatev and really $35 for a case of decent paint (spectrum) is good especally when some places are charging $50-$60!!!!!

Proshop-I dont think they have one?!?!?!?!

Staff/Refs-Every staff member I talked to was super freindly, happy to be there and working and more than willing to help with anything, maybe a little inexpierenced but the level of concern for the customer over came that. Sometimes you go to a place(like Quest) and the staff are complete asses always yelling and pushing their weight around pisses me off when Ive paid good money to have some fun, but FFR's staff made my experience much more enjoyable, good job!!!!!

Players-The players were great, thats another reason I had such a great time. I had problems with one airhead on speedball that accused me of cheating but he was just pissed cause we lit up his team. but yeah all the others were super friendly, happy to be there and enjoying their weekend.

All in all it was a great time. I will be back soon and can't wait!!!!



Last edited on Tuesday, February 5th, 2008 at 3:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JEDIMAC0521 Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AAA Paintball (Sterrit)
Paintball Quest (Bessemer)
Review: This is a new field that opened the first week in November. I made it out to the grand opening with my 2 sons and we really liked the set up. I have been back to the field approximately 4 times since. With any new field there are growing pains and Red Rock is no exception.

Positives:

Ownership-Richard is an extremely nice owner that certainly understands how to attract and keep his customers. Richard and his staff (some being his family) really try hard to make everyone feel at home...they even prepare a meal for the players. He has a real strong understanding of what it is going to take and really works hard to bring his vision to fruition.

Price- The $35 per case (2000) is the best around and they take care of the paint so there are not alot of instances that you end up shooting bad paint. They carry spectrum as their rec paint and I have not had any issues with it. The field fee and air are on par with the average for the area. The previous poster mentioned a charge for shooting your own paint...I dont know of a field that allows you to BYOP for recreational events without a charge?

Location-It is centrally located for all of the MSA of Birmingham. Kind of tricky to get to the first time but I really like the location.

Night Play- There are lights setup that allow night play and the field stays open as long as a decent amount of people want to play.


Quality fields-There are four fields at this park....here is a quick synopsis of the fields:

PIPES- Great field. Long and chock full of concrete pipes and half buried boats. One of the most unique fields I've ever played. You must be strategic on this one and watch all of your angles. A blast to play.

The FORT- Very fun, fast paced field that has a 2 story house in the middle with ramp entrances on both sides. If you plan on winning a game on this field..the house is the key. Very intense close in combat inside the house...bring your "A" game and and some ...well lets just say "guts". Did I mention the trap doors?

WOOD HINGE-Probably the most unique field ever assembled. I hate it...but it is a work of art. A really slow paced game(mainly why I hate it) with some nerve racking surprise fighting. Looks like it took forever to assemble this thing and I have heard people say how much they like it. Not for me.

SPEED BALL FIELD-Geat setup and just a very nice new field. You will not be disapointed with this one.


Negatives:

It is a new field and they are experiencing the growing pains that come with it. Here are a few of the things that stand out the most.

Referees- the Refs are inexperienced for the most part and although the effort is there...they really just sit back and let the game unfold. A couple of seasoned Referees to lead the staff would really correct this area.

Wait between games- I believe the previous poster pointed this out as well and I agree. When a large number of players are there..things kinda bottleneck and dont run as timely as some of us like.

Air Lines- I think the fill station should be relocated to keep the deck area clear and seperate the air/paint/drinks etc. A self fill station is probably a good idea for the compressed air.

Safety-I have not witnessed any hardcore safety violations and the safety rules are posted very nicely at the sign in area. I have seen very positve reinforcement of the rules as play goes on but as stated in the pervious review...a short safety indoc should take place for any new players and all groups prior to their first game


Final thoughts:

I believe that this field is an excellent place to bring your family and enjoy the game of paintball but is also a great place for experienced players to come and really have a challenging, fun time. I am part of a 30 person Scenario team and I realy enjoy this field as do many of my players. I know Richard has some great ideas for the next expansion to the field and I am really looking forward to it. This field will be around for a long time and I believe it will be one of the best in the Southeast Region.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BigT42 Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint Ball Quest is MUCH more organized and has a lot more fields.

Advanced Alabama Adventures is about as organized (not saying much) and has a few more fields.
Review: A guy at work told me about this field. I decided to try it last Saturday (12-29-2007). First off I would like to say my son and I did have fun playing here. This field has A LOT of potential if they fix some problems.

First off the cashier did not know the pricing for the field fee and the all day air fee. According to their website (at the time) the cost was $15 field fee and $10 all day air fee. They tried to charge me another $10 for using my own paint in my own guns (The web site said nothing about this.) (EDIT 12-13-2008: The website now shows the charge for using your own paint. Below is how it looked when I 1st checked the prices)

http://www.fortredrock.com/info.html
FORT RED ROCK PAINTBALL
Information & Price List
Must be at least 10 years of age to participate in paintabll
Must sign waiver, and if 10-18 years of age, must have parent or guardian's signature
Field paint available - outside paint welcome
No alcohol or drugs allowed
Field Fees $15.00
All Day Air $10.00
Compressed Air $1.00 per 1000 psi
CO2 $.25 per ounce
Field Paint $35.00 per case
Upgraded Tournament Paint $45.00 per case

When I questioned the charge (for using my own paint) one of the owners got “ill” with me and told me the website was wrong and I needed to pay the extra $10. I said see ya and started to leave. The 2nd owner was a lot nicer and talked me into staying (with out the extra $10 own paint fee). On the plus side the field paint was very inexpensive ($35 for 2000)…I can’t remember the brand but it looked good. The balls were very round with no dimples. They let me and my son shoot some before we left. We both had very good grouping and nothing chopped in the gun. I have a Tippmann Flatline and my son uses an Empire Twister.

There were also safety issues. NO ONE EXPLAINED THE RULES TO US. If any body had played at Paint Ball Quest (or even AAA) you know you get a lecture on all the rules and safety procedures before you play. This did not happen here. It was not just us. There were some 1st or 2nd timers playing that I had to explain some of the rules to. (They did not know they had to start the game behind the main bunker. They tried to hide out in the field. ) The Ref did not correct them...Our team had to tell them.

They need more Referees!!!!!! Several times we were just standing around look for a REF. One time I had to go find a REF after waiting of 20 Minutes for a game to start. I was told they were short handed because some of there regular Refs were playing a tournament (That’s my problem how???) The Refs they had also need more experience. One Ref took my son’s gun away (temporarily) because he thought it was full auto and wanted to turn it off. He had never herd of a response trigger.

The fields they had were GREAT and were FUN to play. The downside is there were only 4 fields open. I was told they were working on 2 new woods fields.

Don’t get me wrong both my son and I had a good time, but this field needs some time to mature and grow. I believe this time next year it should be a great place to play. I Hope there still open.

Last edited on Sunday, January 13th, 2008 at 6:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media