paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Adventure Park / Paintball Adventure Park / Paintball Adventure Park / Paintball Adventure Park

Paintball Adventure Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
70Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 410-756-4200
Address: 3939 Old Taneytown Rd.
Taneytown, Maryland 21787
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
atm743 Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
team extream

rickz games
Review: if this is paintball wholesalers feiled its soooo fun

i think this place is better then skirmish paintball!!!

ok the good

15 bucks for feiled fee and ALL DAY AIR HP THAT FILLS UP TO 4000!!!!!!!

paint is really cheap its 47 or soo for a case of really good pmi !!!

over 5 feilds . theres 3 or 4 air ball feileds!!!! ONE X BALL!! two 7 man air ball feileds, one big big woods/ speed ball feiled.

this place is not stop fun. i went during easter break and ooo man there was tons of people there!!

everyone is super nice.

the bad

really the only thing bad here is that its kinda hard to find

and there should be more refs on the feiled during the woods ball games.


i wish i still lived in maryland

i give this place a 11 out of 10!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

divergoff Saturday, January 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none, pretty new to the game but I love it!
Review: I really like this field, though I haven't been any where else I think its pretty good from what people tell me from other fields. The rental equipment isn't the best but for a first time paintballer the equipment is fine, they do offer impulse rentals at their store. The staff is good. Everyone is friends and will answer your questions. I have read several reviews through this section says it kinda scares you that the refs are all mostly young. This is good the way I see it. Paintball is really just now really starting to catch on and therefore you expect the refs to by young. All the refs seem to enjoy their jobs and do them well. Which you may come across the occasional jerk it is rare. The refs will often give you tips during and after the game that will improve your game. One ref helped me during a game one how to peak around a bunk without being as big of a target and this as you know is very important. The fields are nice. They have a woods field, village, and several airball fields. The hill in woods is now closed and it is really a smaller village course and is not played that often during the day but just ask the refs and they'll play a game there if enough people want to. The airball courses are nice and offer a wide verity of bunkers and field sizes. Any thing from Xball to big air. Yes the village and woods field are a bit muddy usually but your playing paintball so don't really worry about get dirty right?
In conclusion I do really enjoy this field. They give you a wide choice in fields that you want to play. Nearly anyone can find a field they enjoy playing here. If you are a more tournament level player then I suggest going up on Sundays because there are less rec-players and you will find it more enjoyable. If you are more of a rec-player go on Saturday. Yes this is a great field with lots of great refs, fields, and players
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DerAdler Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs in VA- much better (I didnt pay for it so I don't know how much it was)
Review: I had heard a lot of hype about this place from everyone I play with or talked about it with. A few weeks ago, I finally got to go there and it will most likely be the only time I'll ever go there. Just to make sure that you know that I didn't hate it I will list the pros first:

-Very cheap to get in
-Village is not a bad idea/setup
-Easy to find

Now for the easy part:
Cons:

-Ref/Gameplay- Overall the refs that reffed the games I played in were rather good and were good with trying to kepp the games clean. However, when I went there, There were possibly 2 teams there. One was the local team (dont know what its name is though), and there was another team from MD. When the refs chose the teams, they did not really chose them, they were told who was on what team by the players on the local team. At one point, the local team decided it would be fun to go against everyone else. This is a team with at least $1500 in equiptment against a bunch of rec players. It turned out that it would be 21 v. 6 half field. Right before the game, I knew I didn't like the idea. I was on the team of 21 and quite a few of this 21 (maybe 5) were no older then 10 and it was their first time playing. When the game began, a hail of paint came flying in and hit 1/4 of our team. I heard one of the young kids saying "oww" because he had been hit 3 times in the torso. The game ended wiuth 21 of us gettging out and 0 of them getting out. I do not blame this on the refs really at all. He had no choice because one of the owners was on the team and he had to do it. I am more saying that this was a bad idea on the owners part as well as the team instead of the ref but it still was not a good idea in itself.

-Conditions- I went in mid November, so yes it was frigid out but this was not the bad part. When I was walking across the village field, I encountered many puddles/mud puddles. I am not saying this is a bad hting but it had not rained here for more then a week. I am not criticizing them on the fact that it was wet just suggesting some sort of drainage system.

-Behavior of Players- I am not saying that the overall behavior there was bad, just a certain crowd. While we were staging for a game in the village, the ref yelled "Last call for village". This usually means that we will play soon, does it not? Well suddenly I heard one of the owner's friend yell "Wait like 5 more minutes until this song is over". He yelled this from next to his car where the team that himself and one of the owners was standing. We did procede to wait another 5 minutes and then finally started the game. I personally went there to play some paintball, not to wait on some hotshot who is to cool to miss a part of a song and waste the time of people who actually pay to get in a play.

Overall I was highly dissapointed with this field and I do not intend to go back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

LoganRules55 Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Even though this is my first time playing paintball, I think it was awesome. The Refs were nice, they combined all 4 arenas together for a scenario, and they had tanks and assault cars. My friends also say that Paintball Adventures Park is the best in Maryland. This first time, made me get into paintball and shop for upgrades on my pretty terrible gun (yet not as bad as a procarbine). If you love paintballing, then Paintball Adventures Park in TaneyTown is the way to go!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gangstasquirrel Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None are really close
Review: I think this place overall is good. I came here for a scenario and my gun jammed. I could cock it but the hammer wouldn't go all the forward. So I put my gun up to surrender and at that moment i got hit in the arm. If i left the bunker i would have gotten lit up. Then a ref came and he made sure i got off tha field without being shot once. Then he told me where to get it fixed and i got it fixed and it almost never jammed again. The staff is very good. Also the prices are cheap. It costs 15$ for all day unlimited air and entry. Also 50$ for a good case of paint. The only problem is that during scenarios they join all the fields. There is a path from the woods field to a hill above the airball field. When you go thru the paths you trip on vines and stumps so much. Also there is lots of needles so you get lots of cuts when going on the path.

Overall the field is great. It is the best field in Maryland.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stockit Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Foxhole, Ambush, Stonemak.
Review: Let me start off by saying that I've been coming to this field for 5 seasons now, since the summer of 2000. I remember when there was a tower on the hill, stock players would actually get compliments for playing with a handicap, and your average equipment-owning recballer shot less than 10 bps. There are still some good reasons to come to this field, but it's not nearly as good as it used to be.

The prices are excellent, by any means. Fifteen bucks to play all day and get unlimited 4500 psi air fills is cheap, especially at a place that doesn't have a field-paint-only rule. Even if you don't bring your own, the field sells decent field paint for under $50 a case.

As far as the playing areas go, there's a large "town", a wooded field that doesn't get used too often, and three airball fields. One is quite small, an adjacent field is somewhat bigger, and what's left of a 10-man field is, well, no longer a 10-man field. As of October 2, 2004, many of the starting bunkers have been removed and this has become, effectively, no more than a 5-man field with barely any cover close to the breakout. Normally this wouldn't be such a big concern, but when the refs jam 12-15 players on a side, things get pretty messy, pretty quickly. I hope that the next time I play here (and if you read on a bit further, it may be quite a while before I do just that), they've decided to add another 10 bunkers to this field.

Refs. There were probably 2 or 3 refs that went out of their way to make sure that everyone was playing safely and honestly. One even came up to our group of players and asked us to report anyone who was caught wiping...and that's where the good news ends. I understand that some players want to stay together as a group - I'm a big fan of this myself - but when said group consists of dressed-alike players with $1000+ guns and 800 rounds strapped to their backs, they should not end up playing another group of mostly rental players. I'd argue that tourney players should NEVER be allowed to play with first-timers, but if you absolutely had to mix the two, at least split them up evenly. In early October of this year, I played between 10 and 12 games over the course of the day and I'm convinced that our group of players was seen as the "upper-crust recballers" designated to helping out the first timers against mostly tournament players, or at least they were in tournament mindsets...I believe we won one game all day. A lot of tourny teams practice here, but please, don't let them face off against new players. It won't do anything to make them better players and they just might turn some people off to the sport in the process.

That brings me to my next gripe: refs who play in recball games. Or, more to the point, dishonest refs who play in recball games. My brother clearly hit a certain Rick Hartman (as was written on his back) in one game, white paint on the shoulder of a mostly black jersey, screamed for 2 minutes for a paint check, never got the elimination, and then was eliminated himself a short while later. After the game my brother mentioned to Hartman that he was out early in the game but still played on. He insisted that he never even felt the hit. A minute later, he admitted that he felt something hit him in the back but since the ref called him clean, it must not have broken. He claimed he was the head ref at Paintball Adventure Park and that he doesn't cheat (along with some colorful language that I won't repeat here). He then took off his jersey and asked my brother to find the shot that supposedly eliminated him. Without any hesitation, my brother identified a white mark on the back shoulder area of the jersey, even though it appeared someone had tried to wipe it off. Changing his story again, Hartman claimed it was from an earlier game. How many times does someone have to change a story in order to convince everyone said person is full of it? Apparently twice. Whether or not a head ref (or so he claims) like this would get special treatment from his fellow refs is one thing, but his behavior was terrible. It's certainly no way to treat paying customers. Maybe I'm just spoiled playing with honest people most of the time, but it seems like the average player today is a lot more likely to be guilty of this kind of crap than they were five years ago.

I also witnessed one of the field employees coaching a friend on the near airball field, against a team of rental players, for that matter. This guy had a new Shocker and at least 600 rounds of paint, yet when it came down to him being alone against 3 rental players, even sideline coaching couldn't help him. I simply can't believe that this kind of behavior is not only tolerated by the staff, it's encouraged.

This field does have its good points, but right now the staff is not one of them. Until they adopt a more professional attitude, I'll be spending my paintball money elsewhere.
Last edited on Thursday, November 4th, 2004 at 5:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

mrvile Wednesday, September 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Pros:
Location: Easy to find, the directions and localized map provided on their website are great. Itís out there for me, being a 40 minute drive, but itís worth it.

Fields: They have space for four air ball fields, however one has been torn up for a drainage system so that field doesnít turn into a big puddle whenever they have a few inches of rain. Nicely set up, variety of coverage, and balanced fields.

Facilities: Everything is grouped around the pavilion, which houses their services. They have a good selection of brands of paint. They also supply CO2, 3000psi, and 4500psi refills. Large area of picnic tables in the pavilion and out of the pavilion, a few (three I think) trash bags set up in wire frames for use. There are also three drink machines available as well as a small selection of food if you didnít bring anything, donít want to leave for lunch, or donít want to order anything and have it delivered there. Oh, and one or two porta-potties, I havenít had the need to use these yet, so I donít remember clearly how many there are, what condition they are in, or even if they have a proper bathroom hidden off to the side somewhere that I havenít found.

Price: The paint at the field is slightly more costing than at their stores -- but thatís what you get for not planning ahead, right? $15 field fee, includes free all day air refills. How nice.

Staff: Large staff. The owner always states the safety precautions of paintball and the field rules. The shop staff has a very low turnover rate, so they are all well trained and customer friendly. The field refs that I have played under were good.

Clientele: The field attracts players of all levels, of all experiences, and of variety. Every time I go there alone, I end up joining a group while playing on the field, making at lest one new friend by the time I leave.

Cons:
Location: A small depression right next to a creek, consequently there will be a few puddles here and there, oh well a little water never hurt. A good pair of boots will fix that problem with no worries; as it is I still go there wearing shoes and get around with no problem.

Fields: A little wet, once again, boots will fix this problem. I have noticed puddles tend to gather behind the houses where most people like to hide, and the ground is rather muddy inside the houses. But if you know how to play the sport, you donít bother going into the house, or hiding directly behind it. This is how I manage to play in shoes, and not even the bottoms of them get muddy.

Facilities: The only problem I can find here is the puddles. Mostly gravel in and around the pavilion, so water doesnít collect underfoot all too easily. The parts that are not gravel are packed down from being walked on so much, and on a slope that leads to what might as well be a pond, about ten feet from the pavilion, itís been there so long. Towards the end of the day they may run out of elbows, when this happens I use electrical tape.

Price: UmmÖ Things are slightly more costly than at stores? Iím trying to think of at least one thing for each, Iím hard-pressed to think of something a little more legitimate for this one.

Staff: The refs have a high turnover rate (the amount of employees coming and going in a period of time) consequently some are not as well trained as others. Even then, most of them do a good job, and the ones that donítÖ wonít be there for long.

Clientele: Simply because this field attracts such a large amount and variety of players, there are tourney players there, and really serious recballers, along with first-timers sometimes all playing together. This can be a frightening thought for first-timers, however the refs try to balance the skill level and numbers.

Final statement:
A darn good field, worth a 40 minute drive, or more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MDBallBuster Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Route 40, Outdoor Adventure
Review: I have played quite a few times at this field and now feel comfortable providing a review.

PROS:
Location- Easily found with great directions.

Support Facility: Quite possible the nicest area "outside the net". Picnic tables, pavilions, shade trees, creek, fill stations.....

Fields: Don't play airball but they seem pretty nice. Large woods fields with small castle and multiple bunkers/houses.

Price: Good entry fee and reasonalble paint price. BYOP except for rentals.

CONS:

Fields: Pretty muddy at times. I know that they don't control the weather. However, the interior of the houses and behind cover is too muddy. I wish they could put flooring in the houses and build up or sand around cover.

Refs: Quite possibly my biggest concern. Very young ref staff. I have nothing against youth. However, at times they are unfocused and don't appear to be "in control". Last weekend was the worst! During three games the refs stood on the sidelines and pointed out opponents locations to their "friends". In another game, they allowed a large tournament team using high end markers go 10 on 40 on a half-woods field. The game included many first time players along with some younger kids in a birthday party! This was embarassing and dangerous. Many of these kids were very scared. A total mismatch. In another situation, I witnessed (along with a ref) a person bunker someone and shoot them 8-10 times from about 15 feet away while the person had their hands and marker up in the surrender position. I later saw this person with bloody welts across their torso. The ref who witnessed this didn't say a word!!!

Control: I question the overall control at the field. While I like the owner and he is very nice, it appears that there is little supervision of the staff out on the fields. Also, I feel that many people don't chrono or dial it back up after they chrono. A little more effort to police this would be helpful. Another area, would be a better effort to break games up by ability level. I would play airball if I didn't have to go up against a tourney team with Angels!

FINAL: While my list of cons appears to be much longer than the pros, please take it as constructive criticism toward the field. This is a very good field that could easily be very great! A little effort on the fields and a revamp of the refs would push this place over the top. I'll continue to go there and will be taking my thoughts up with the owner/manager on my next visit.

Please give it a try!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mako426 Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Taneytown...idk.
Review: This was an excellent field. The best thing was the price, $15 for all day air and field use. There are two good fields to choose from, a woods type, and a village type scenario. Both are in very good condition, and offer a large area, with plenty of cover and obsticals. Most of the time the refs are great. Its a very popular field with games reaching sizes of 30 or 40 per field. This makes for very intersting games. There are also a few airbunker fields that seem to be okay. Some of the staff could be a little more "customer friendly" but other than that they're okay. There is plenty of parking and tables around the area. Some downsides are the rental equiptment, of course, isnt the greatest, and sometimes is almost unusable, and the field can get really muddy sometimes. But overall I think this field is great.

***Update***

I recently played with some friends and since I was last there (years ago) things really haven't changed.

Fields are still pretty decent. Self fill HPA is nice, decent selection of paint (although one guy tried to sell us crappy spectrum paintballs, after a friend opened his case we took ours back lol)

Food is limited to whatever you bring. I think they have a vending machine and soda machine but it's better off to bring your own stuff.

Prices are still the same $15 all day air/Co2 and field fee. Staff seems the same. There are a few really good refs who mean business and then there are a few who either don't care or just dont wanna step up.

I'll explain how I came to that opinion.

We got there before the field opened to set up our gear and get our guns chroned and tuned. Well, first off, they didn't have the chronos setup ( I guess it was still early) so we had to wait till the first game to get chornoed in.

The first few games were pretty good. We had our 9 (older guys 22-30 years old) and a mixture of younger guys and little kids.

Later on in the day a group of people came in and started to play in one large group. ONE THING THE FIELD STAFF ALWAYS FAIL TO DO IS CHRONO NEW GROUPS COMING IN (after a certain time of day). They didn't chrono anyone in and so i'm sure many of them were shooting over 300.

Not to mention that particular group wasn't listening to the refs very much, they would shoot people who were clearly out (hands up, covers on, running off) even after one of the female refs yelled "Stop Shooting them!", they continued to shoot. (that ref didnt really do much else to stop anything. She should have called the game)

I'm not complaining about getting hit because it does hurt sometimes and is to be expected. But I AM complaining about this:

I get hit and call myself out, barrel cover goes on, hands and gun go up and i start to jog off the field, then 3 or 4 of those guys open fire on me from about 20 feet hitting me 6 times and causing OPEN welts which started to bleed. (Hence my reasoning for the my opinion that they were not chronoed and shooting over 300fps)

I show the ref and ask for a chrono on those guys but she's too busy yelling (and not having any effect on those guys, she needs to take control) at the idiots who are shooting people that are already out.

Not to mention that the group of idiots were wiping paint all day long. Next time i'm just aiming for the goggles!

Bottom line is, you have some refs who are good and some who need improvement. They really need to enforce the rules and possibly offer some better facilitys and equipment. (Benches were falling apart)

8 out of 10 for some refs not doing their job.
Last edited on Friday, August 8th, 2008 at 7:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bt-98_ct70 Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, My back woods and that doesn't even compare.
Review: I started paintballing about three months ago when I bought a new gun. My friend had been to this field a couple times and told me to go there. it was the first time I have ever been paintballing. The fields were really great, the refs are nice, and safety is really enforced well. At the beginnning of the day there is a safety meeting were the owner tells everyone the rules and regulations for the fields. After that you go and pay to get in. 15 bucks is really cheap for the entry and all day air/Co2. The games are called out buy the refs from the different fields and are organized like a pick-up basketball game. The group of people playing on that field are divided in half and into opposite teams. There is a woods field, a village field with a castle and a couple of airball fields. I have only played the woods and village fields and they have been really good and in great condition. It was an all around good field and I gave it a 9 because they could have a couple more fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media