paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Boss Paintball Field / Boss Paintball Field / Boss Paintball Field / Boss Paintball Field

Boss Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 7047844365
Address: 7498 Reed Mine Trail
Locust, North Carolina 28211
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
skeeter49 Monday, October 24th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 9th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played at pbc in greensboro. Better variety of types of fields, but staff isnt as friendly.
Directions
to the Field:
they have directions on their website I believe.
Review: Boss is a great place to have a good time. The staff is friendly, the players are nice, and the fields are fantastic. They have nachos, hotdogs, and other snacks as well as drinks.When you arrive, you are given a thorough safety briefing and either red or yellow tape to indicate your team. Off and on the fields, they are very strict about safety. They have a great variety of fields and games. They have a small speedball field but they hardly ever use it for rec play. For woodsball, they have a few villages, a spools field, many small buildings, etc. On the down side, I have been there a few times when the teams were a bit "uneven". For example, there once was a team made up of mostly new players vs. a team made up mostly of regular paintballers. I understand that with many people it can be hard to keep everything completely fair, but there is room for improvement there. Also, sometimes the refs are unclear on the rules. There have been several instances where one team was told something, and the other team was told something else. For example, in re-insertion spools, my team was told that we were not allowed to cross the tape that ran half way through the field, while the other team was told that they could. When the refs realized there was a mistake, the game was not stopped, the players on the other team were not moved back across the tape, and my team was left at a huge disadvantage. Because of this mistake, I was shot 8-10 times at point-blank range by a semi-pro, and left the field with bloody hands and knots on my head.The player who shot me was talked to by the refs after the game, but that still doesnt change the fact that this has happened more than once. Im not whining because i got shot because that happens all the time. Im just stating the fact that there is work to be done in keeping the games fair. There is much room for improvement in explaining the rules and in communication between refs and players. Over all, its a great field with great staff, but things aren't always exactly fair.

friendliness-10
fields-10
food-9
rules-5
safety-9
staff-8
fun-10

Last edited on Saturday, November 5th, 2011 at 5:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JesterTLS Saturday, July 16th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 15th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Command Decisions (Awesome of course)
PBCentral, Grensboro field.
NC Tactical (closed)
Review: We went for the WWII scenario back in Feb. I normally try to do a field review but forgot to do one for Boss.

Team ODX attended and played for the German side. I think its safe to say our whole team that attended had a really good time. The field is great. Not to extreme on terrain. Good trails, we took our tanks down. The bases are all done very nicely. The staff was excellent, very helpful. Ref did a good job. And they had a hand full since it was the first time they've had to deal with tanks during a game.

We will be going back for the scenario in October and we deffinetly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GhostSniper2999 Sunday, June 26th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 25th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This was my first time playing and we had a private group ... The Field is awesome . There are so many different areas to play .. from simple pallets to towns even the pirate ship.. the staff is great, very nice and helpful .. The Refs were GREAT .. from suggesting different scenarios to even snapping a few pics for our event.. Safety is very important at this location, they clearly remind you that there is a 20' no fire rule, in the heat of battle you can get carried away.. but by no means you can blame the field.. in the end it's you pulling the trigger .. Our Private party was for 4 hours and playing like that it seemed like we were out there the whole day.. there are so many areas to play that in that four hours we never had to play on the same field twice .. and still didn't play all the fields.. Service was great if there was any problem with a rental gun, It was fixed asap .. free air keeps you playing till you run out of paint .. balls are like $18.00 + tax for 500 ( field paint only ) but after hearing some of the horror stories of people bringing frozen balls .. I think its a fair price .. The party was mixed of Guys and Girls EVERYONE had a Blast and is looking forward to another outing .. if you are looking for a field to try .. Don't wait head out to Boss you won't regret it !!
Last edited on Sunday, June 26th, 2011 at 9:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ralmeister Wednesday, October 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC, Palmetto Fields, Eagles Nest (or whatever, its in the mountains)
Review: This is the best field i've ever played at. The staff are friendly and i have NEVER had seen any sort of problems here in the 7 years I have been playing paintball. I have never shown up and NOT received a safety briefing before playing. And even if you missed the safety briefing, another one is given on the field just before play. All walk-ons are taken care of and looked after.


i give this place a 10. Its just that good
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr Savage Thursday, October 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC in Rock Hill, others..
Review: I first started coming to Boss a couple months ago , i am a 33 year old guy, who loves to play paintball....

Hands down the best paintball field i have played at. Their number 1 is safety, then number 2 is having fun. What attracted me to this field is the staff. other places you find the staff just does not care, not here, here they care about everyone and promote a family environment. this attracted me to this field... you will see both the ref's and staff walking and talking to all within the safety compound... helping where needed and answering any questions... ensuring everyone is having fun...

Safety being number 1, they thoroughly explain everything... You generally have a mix of experienced and non, mostly non, the experienced players respect the new comers, and help them out when needed. They teach and promote the sport and give pointers if asked. Other places you see the exp players stay to themselves, not here, Boss sponsors several teams, and each team member from what i seen works and talks to all the non exp players, allowing new comers and non exp players learn and enjoy themselves.

So after playing there a couple months, i was eager to become more dedicated to the sport...i played along with one of the sponsored teams on several occasions, and was approached to become a member and help represent the field...

I wanted to become one of the exp players to help the new comers or non exp players enjoy the sport. And i thought this was a perfect opportunity and facility to become a member of... I wanted to promote the sport and be apart of a facility that at the end of the day everyone has fun at...

This facility hands down is top notched... though paintball is a very demanding sport, and the possibility of getting hurt is present , Boss is dedicated to making the exp of paintball fun and enjoying, and most importantly safe... i am glad i am part of the Boss exp, and if you are ever at the field, Look for Mr. Savage, that is me, it will be a pleasure to play paintball with you...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Breeze123 Monday, August 2nd, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at local gathering at a nice church in Mooresville.
Review: DO NOT ALLOW YOUR CHILDREN TO GO HERE. We took our 10 year old son here this past Sunday and upon showing up there they played one game without any safety briefing or rules being made known. We were new to this field and tried to get all the information that we could from the refs and were not told any rules until we spoke up after the first game. We wanted to know and our son needed to know the rules since he was new. So they told us that no point blank shooting was allowed and the minimum distance is 20ft. Also look on their site it says the same rules that they told us there. So after about 2 hours of play our son was involved in a city course where he was shot at point blank range within 3ft by an older man that was a veteran player that seemed to know all the players and refs well. Our sons left fore arm and stomach was bleeding and the skin was stripped off and both injuries were very swollen. Our son was escorted out of the game by one of the refs who told us he was hit at very close range. The ref told us then that close range, point blank firing is allowed in the city course which did not sound right after being told that 20ft minimum firing distance was the rule. Our son came out of the game and the player that did it was allowed to remain playing. Our son did not shoot the other player and the player says that our son raised his gun when he asked to surrender. He was never asked to surrender and he did not raise his gun proof of that is the left fore arm injury. He is left handed. It is not possible to be hit dead on the center of your left fore arm if your gun in raised and ready to shoot. He had his gun down and that allowed the fore arm injury and stomach injury to occur. The veteran player and the entire ref staff knew each other very well and were not going to hold their friend responsible for not going by the rules. They simply did not care and lied about what happened to keep the player and their facility from being held responsible for abiding by the stated 20ft minimum rule. This incident was not handled in a professional manner. The owner went off a lie and story that the other player made up because we feel they were friends with the man who did this to our son. BEWARE this place, Refs, and owner DO NOT enforce the rules stated. Enter this place at your own risk. Be prepared to be shot at a very close unsafe range and hey you might even lose an eye while your at it. THIS PLACE SHOULD NOT BE INSURED OR EVEN OPEN FOR THAT MATTER. DO NOT BE FOOLED THEY DO NOT ABIDE BY THEIR STATED RULES.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

friedrice60 Wednesday, November 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at skirmish usa, and boss is cheaper
Directions
to the Field:
on Meadow Creek Church Rd.
Review: First of all the field is now called BOSS paintball, not gold diggers.

The new fees:
Instead of co2 they have compressed air which is FREE all day
Rental guns are $5.00: includes tippmann 98 or Smart Parts SPI - Vibes,
JT mask, 48/3000 compressed air tank, two pods and a harness
To get in it will cost you $15 on Saturdays and $10 on Sundays
Paintballs are $50 for 2,000 or $15 for 500, scenario grade

The speedball field is nice, it has rolled out grass and a net around it, includes the x and doritos.
The woodsball field is beyond great, includes loads of acres to play in.
MUST BE 10 OR OLDER TO PLAY

Professionally Operated

Enclosed Safety

Family Friendly

All Games Supervised and Refereed

5 Playing Fields

Scenario Games

Two towns

Forts and Bunkers

Astro Turf Speedball field w/ lights for night play

Games include: Search and Destroy, Fox and Hound, Sole Survivor, Attack and Defend, Dodge City Ultra Intensity, speedball, scenario games, special events and many others!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dsrtneck Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none yet, but i will not return to this field
Review: The field itself was very well laid out lots of cover and bunkers to use depending on your preferance, it was quite a good size field. The only problem was that they have a pro speedball team they sponsor and pretty much allow them to do what ever they want legal or otherwise. there was another player at the field today using the same paint I was but for some reason when he shot his they wouldnt break but mine wouldnt make it past the first twig, and his paint was cold to the touch when i picked it up after it bounced off of me (the weather was in the high 80s with high humidity), a couple of the reffs claim that from the distance he was shooting from they dont always break but they leave welts. when i brought these issues to the attention of the field manager i was asked to leave, i got quite a bit mad and told them i was leaving anyway so they banned me, thats fine the drive was a bit farther than i would like anyway. the field will let there team and friends do what ever they want but if you complain be expected to be asked to leave or banned, im not bashing this field i am just statting facts as to what happened on my first and last visit to this field and store.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BIG HIT Sunday, July 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC , Painted foresrt of roanoke va.
Review: Well for my first time playing there , their speedball feild is great I love it, their safety is great too their proshop is great too .

boss field
rate from 1 to 10

rules = 10
service=10
staff=10
prices=9
refs=10
players=10
food didn't eat there but people was eating =8

So sum it up , I love it and I will be back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmorrison596 Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Gold Diggers is a great woodsball field.
Im more of a speedball player and i like playing speedball there but there never have it set up or if they do no one wants to play.

There woodsball field is the best i know. Ive played in alot of woodsbut i like theres the best. Know one can compare with it. And its in good shape but theres a few roots and holes you need to look out for.

Staff - 9
Field - 10

Its an awsome place~!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media