paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Boss Paintball Field / Boss Paintball Field / Boss Paintball Field / Boss Paintball Field

Boss Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 7047844365
Address: 7498 Reed Mine Trail
Locust, North Carolina 28211
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
x10mtn Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any other fields in the Charlotte area.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest or Google Maps give excellent directions.
Review: Well, things didn't go exactly as planned at this scenario. This was my first non-military scenario and the first scenario Rogue Cell officially attended as a team. The concept was interesting enough, with the whole Hatfield family fighting the McCoy family thing.

The objectives were very clear and straightforward, which can be a rarity at bigger scenario games. A lot of the times, most of the crowd doesn't know what the objectives are and only the "in crowd" of generals and local teams actually know what's up. This wasn't the case here, in my opinion. Everyone I ran across during the game could update me on what was going on at that particular time. I had no problem following the course of events and was able to keep Rogue and A-TAC on the same page.

The sequence of objectives were as follows: Each family had to acquire cash (packets of Monopoly money) that was in mailboxes (red buckets hanging from trees) scattered across the field. The cash was then taken to the General Store and exchanged for yellow or red (team dependent) gallon jugs. The jugs then had to be taken to moonshine stills (55-gallon drums full of water) which were also scattered throughout the field. Once the jugs were filled from the stills, each team had to return them to their base and hide them at their Bank, upon which more cash would be deposited in the mailboxes and the sequence would begin again. Periodically through the game, the refs would tally up the jugs each team had and the scores would be recorded at the staging area in order to display which team was winning. If a family captured the other's jugs, they were awarded triple points. Flag stations where a red or yellow flag could be raised were also located across the field at various points, but I'm not sure what they were for. I just made sure the yellow flag was up whenever I passed one.

The refs were a little on the bossy side, but I thought they did a great job at keeping the game moving and not allowing one side or the other to get too much of an advantage; i.e. camping at spawn points, obvious cheating, etc. There were also quite a few which was a pleasant change. Everywhere I ended up, which happened to be at the major objectives, there seemed to be at least two refs. Kudos to Gold Diggers.

One of the biggest problems at the game was the cheap paint. It seemed to break a helluva lot and everywhere I looked, people had their guns apart and were cleaning the blue paint out. The cold air temperature made things even worse, causing the cheap paint to be even more brittle. It was playing havoc with the Cyclones. I didn't have a problem earlier in the day, because my hopper wasn't working anyways, so I was downgraded to a gravity feed. I did eventually break paint in the barrel, but that was an easy fix. Blindside and I eventually just downloaded our weapons and became scouts/runners, moving with an escort and making sure the objectives were completed at high speed.

After lunch, I came up with the plan was to acquire as many jugs as we could, fill them, empty the stills, and take the jugs back to our base. The idea was to deny the enemy the opportunity to fill their jugs after we had left the still, then commence raiding operations to steal their jugs. Then our family, the McCoys, would have most of the jugs and would only have to concentrate on defending the jugs until the end of the day. It worked perfectly. We had most of the jugs and a huge score advantage over the Hatfields and all of the stills were empty. We even had empty jugs we had taken off the dead bodies of the enemy as they ran around looking for a place to fill them. It was close to the end of the day, so we began to empty all of our jugs in order to deny the Hatfields an opportunity to recapture them, since empty jugs were worthless.

Well, this leads to one of the biggest problems we encountered. The owner of the field then changed the rules, in the middle of the game and without warning, simply because he was pissed that we had outsmarted the game and the Hatfields. Right after we emptied all of our jugs, he decrees that empty jugs now hold the same value as full jugs. This happens very conveniently as the Hatfields take our base and raid our bank. This allows them to regain the lead and hold it until the very end of the game. Everyone was very disappointed and since it was near the end of the day, people just started leaving. Not cool at all. Even some of the Hatfields thought it was uncool of the owner, even though it gave them an advantage.

Other than that situation, which I think disappointed a lot of people, we had a good time. It was good to back on the field and it was really good to see the A-TAC guys, even if Rick didn't show up. I think Rogue Cell and A-TAC will have a long and pleasant relationship in the future. The game was fun and I can say with ease that Rogue Cell will go back to Gold Diggers if there is another big event.
Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 12:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

loarmistead Tuesday, September 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtremist, NC Tactical, BlackRiver
Review: My first game at Gold Diggers was the SG2 sceneario, which was my first real scenario ever. I had a blast. I went back there for the City Wars scenario, and it was good too. The field is gargantuous, so there are plenty of places to maneuver your team around in the woods. The props and bunkers are firs-rate, and the staff are friendly. I've never had any problems with the refs, but I'm not the type to get upclose and personal with the enemy, so I seldom get in those types of situations. I am looking forward to going to their October 28 scenario, and will even make the 1 hour trip down there for regular walk-on play whenever I can.

Their speedball field look really nice too, so if you want good woodsball or speeball, I'd recomend taking a trip over to Gold Diggers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

toefur001 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
dont play anywhere else
Directions
to the Field:
on reed gold mine road, theres a cop usually outside the field to catch speeders so dont drive really fast
Review: Golddiggers is the only field I play at for 3 reasons. Fun, service, and location. This is the best woodsball field on the east coast. They fill both hpa and Co2 for free and the price is pretty cheep. ($20). The rental guns, yes rental guns, are in perfect condition and got me into woodsballing with my first time. The rental package is 5 dollars for a tippmann 98 with a mask, 12 0z tank, and hopper.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghoulscout 13 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: let me just say that this is probably one of the best fields I have played on in my 6 years of experience. great reffing, great woods play, and the best speed ball I have seen since my first year of play...in short go to this field if you get the chance you wont be disappointed..and I cant quite remember the last time i was there so i may be wrong...but that doesn't affect the field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eagle-eyePB13 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Palmetto Hills (rock hill, SC)
Directions
to the Field:
Use Mapquest or Google.

p.s. When you get on the last road drive slow or you will miss the tiny sign that says Paintball
Review: The first time I went there I got out of the car heard the sound of lots of fire and knew it would be a blast! I didn't have my Imagine then so I used rental equipment (which is free) and I was surprised they even had good rental gear. I wore white (never do that) but soon found out that on Saturdays it is woods ball only then I became number one target of the other team (I hated that). I stil had fun though. The second time I had my Imagine and I wore black and it was the best time I've ever had at a field. For woods-ball there is no place that can compare. I'm going to give this field a 10 because I like woods ball but a speed ball player may be a little disappointed.

EDIT-11/9/07

After spending a couple years at this field there is no doubt this is the best in the area. The staff is always friendly and helpful. If you're having equipment problems they can almost always fix it. One time a guy's VS2 needed repairs so the owner let him use his PM6 for the day while he fixed it. Within the past few months they really fixed up the speedball field. They've installed new astroturf and got some new bunkers. I highly recomend goldiggers to exerienced and new players alike. If you don't know anything about paintball this is a great field to go to. If you no everything about paintball this is still the best place to go. I definantly give this field a 10
Last edited on Friday, November 9th, 2007 at 12:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

badinfluencepb Friday, November 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPP and PBC South. PBC is a really nice field but their prices are outrageous when compared to Gold Diggers. Gold Diggers paint is half the cost of that at PBC. CPP is pretty good and CFOA practices are held there on Sundays during tournament season but PBC is supposed to be buying this field so be prepared for a huge price hike!
Review: I have reviewed this field before with negative comments. I deleted the previous review because unlike other fields I have played at, this one took the critisizm well and improved.

OVERVIEW:
First of all this is the largest paintball field in the area. It boasts over 60 acres of woods with an average of 15-20 in play on an average Saturday. It has a regulation 5v5 Sup Airball field as well. The airball field is ALWAYS set up and open for play on Saturdays but you may have to referee yourselves if there are alot of woodsball players there. I have played at other fields where they bragged about their airball setup only to find that when you showed up to play on them they are still packed up in a truck somewhere.
There woodsball field boast a huge number of forts and bunkers including a mock town in the middle. One of the best I've played on in recent years. There is always a decent turnout and on some days I have seen well over 100 players.

The field has both CO2 and HPA with 3000 and 4500 fill stations that work all the time. The lines at the fill stations usually aren't that bad either.

Now for my previous complaints that have been turned into praise:
On my first visit I must say that the reffing was sub par. With the exeption of the two head referees the rest of them were teenagers who acted as though they had better things to do. Since then the reffing has improved dramatically. There are more referees and they are older and better trained than on my first visit. This was my main complaint and I must say that it is all but outdated now.

The staff has always been friendly and helpful and go out of there way to make sure you have a good time. The owner is very safety oriented and makes sure the referees are as well.

Now for the best part: THE PRICES:
For a full days play with all day air the price is just $20.00. This gives you access to all woodsball and airball facilities. And even better this includes rental equipment if needed.
Paint is alot cheaper here than at either of the two fields mentioned above and the owner plans on keeping it that way. Average of 40-49 bucks for a case of rec ball and 50-60 for premium tourament grade paint. (A case at PBC was like 80 bucks) so you get 2 for the price of one when you think about it. The pro shop is located in nearby Concord NC and boasts a wide array of all things paintball, again at prices cheaper than other area stores.

Overall this field has shown me that they are truly customer oriented. Instead of doing what other fields do and just telling you to get over it, they take your comments to heart and make sure that everyone has a great time.

I now give this field a solid 9.5 since nobodys perfect!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptballchick5666 Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I just got done playing I love speed ball the most it rox I am definetly getting my own paint ball gun!!! thanks goldiggers field for an awesome time u wil be seeing me again very soon i have 2 invite my dada 2 go I went with providence house a youth it rocked!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bill Moss Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Carolina Paintball Park.NC Paintball Park
Review: I have been coming to this field for over a year now and have only had a few bad experiences. I was playing there about 4 months ago and on the speedball field I got "bonus-balled" by one of the regulars and when I complained about it the ref (teenager) told me in a rude manner to leave his field. I have no problem with that but he did not want to listen to why I was complaining. I can take a few bonus balls but when I signaled I was out and turned to leave the field I was shot in the back of the head and that was what I was complaining about. This experience will not make me want to come back however I do think that Gold Diggers needs to get some other refs who are not teenagers whith an attitude. Overall I give this field a 9 because nobody is perfect.


P.S. The service is excellent and the prices are great!!!
Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 9:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

edsdvm Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CJ'S, Metrolina
Review: POSiTIVE: This place has a GREAT woods field. It has several permanent structures including a town, 2 story fort, and many smaller structures. The cost is perfect at $20/whole day including CO2 refills. Paint and supplies are affordable as well. They have several scenario games like seek and destroy, four corners, siege or defend, capture the flag, and many others. The staff / refs are very friendly, and help the day go along at a good pace. Turn out is awsome with 100 people being the norm.

NEGATIVE: The refs are either great or poor, depending on who is on. The older / bigger refs are excellent, they make sure hits are counted and control the game perfectly. They also stay right where the action is to look for hits and fair play. The younger refs however suck. They don't have control over the game, they allow people (friends) to wipe off hits, and are not in the action.( I even saw a ref help a friend by taking a gun a shooting another player!)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DakotaRaborn Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Carolina,CJs,Paintball Central
Review: To start off with this is a great field,Definalty the best in the area. The Reffing Staff is very devoted to saftey which is something you should always look for. They also host Alot of scenario games through the year with alot of differnt objectives.They have 70 acres of woods with 12 acres you play on and all of this is locted adjacnt to Reed Gold Mine. They have a Full town,fort defiant (2 Story Fort),Sniper Field (pure woods),and a whole lot more too many to name.They also have two Speedball Field Setups, A structure field with a small gravel playing surface,and a Sup'Air Ball field with a quality grass playing surface. They also sell Draxxus and Diablo Paint. So in my opion this has got to be defiantly the best Field in the area..

Field-10
Staff-10
Paint-10

Overall-10
Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 1:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media