paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field / Paintball Charleston Paintball Field

Paintball Charleston Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (843) 552-1115
Address: 7100 Cross County Road
North Charleston, South Carolina 29418
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
chrisfalter Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 31st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I really enjoyed the wide variety of scenarios on the 62 acres of terrain. Trenches, towers, trees, barrels, fences, forts...you name it, they've got it.

The staff did a good job informing us of the safety rules, and making sure everyone followed them. They were also doing their best to make sure we enjoyed the experience. Toward the end of the afternoon they started asking us what kind of games we wanted to finish with, and offered suggestions until we struck upon a good idea. The referees made sure to clarify when players were out (if someone forgot to raise a gun, for example), to avoid unnecessary shooting.

The fellow players were also friendly and helpful; a couple of times this n00b pulled the goggles off at the wrong time, etc., and they steered me clear.

Had no problems with the rental equipment.

I would heartily recommend Paintball Charleston!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Draggunzz Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hot Shots Paintball (Mcdough,Ga)
Atomic Paintball(North Augusta,Sc)
Review: I have been playing for awhile, but this was the worest place i ever been.
Ref. was rude, they was yelling at people most of the time. Most of the time i was lost do not no where to go.
Some Of the Woods ball was to small for the amount of people playing.
prices was about the same as anyother places
proshop was okay, had alot of low end stuff
staff was friend and very helpful
I Mean i had a better time playing in my back yard.
the staging area, well there was no staging area, they could not fill up to 4500 only 3000.
the field was okay for they locals, but if you was going to make a trip for it, it is not worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

davidh5751 Monday, August 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many fields in NC/SC/FL/GA
Directions
to the Field:
I used mapquest and the directions on the website no problem
Review: Safety---10 out of 10---Just an unbelievably safe place…No fire zones clearly marked…I saw Spot chronos…absolutely safe place for paintball

The fields---10 out of 10---Amazing fields, really well laid out, Numerous fields, to chose from, that lend themselves to every different playing style. I’ve heard allot of people say well they don’t have speedball…try the “Teepee” field…It’s allot of large corrugated pipe and large Doritos shaped rigid plastic obstacles in a large clear grass field…plays just like speedball…lots of fields fort junkyard, town, just to name a few

Hours of operation---10 out of 10--- The hours of operation where clearly posted on the website and they stayed pretty much on time

The prices---10 out of 10--- They were very inexpensive…$55 dollars a box for EVIL (they did have many other paints but I like that paint) 10$ field fee

The rules---10 out of 10---The rules were plainly stated and thoroughly and equally enforced…The is no rule bending for locals or local teams…you will follow these rules point blank…and the rules make good common sense and keep everyone safe

Rental Equipment---9 out of 10---excellent rental gear the markers etc were all in excellent shape…I would say 10 , but some of the mask lenses did have allot of fogging (I mean it was in the 90’s with a high humidity) …So I may be wrong for that but

Services---10 out of 10---Ill give an example of the level of service I saw all day…While chronoing at one point when they were busy-- the little guy next to me (real young fella probably semi new)---could not get his gun to chrono in--- he was way hot (shooting to fast) ---the ref played with it a bit---but people kinda started lining up---The ref told him “ My name is XXXXX take this marker to the pro-shop, right there (pointed him at the door) tell them I sent you, you can’t chrono low enough, if you have any questions come back and see me, if they don’t seem to understand tell them to come see me or come to the chrono, ok? well get you fixed up" I was just like WOW… what great service…I saw this level exhibited several other times all day and could give many examples

Pro-shop----10 out of 10---Very well Stocked (better that most paintball stores) everything paintball you could want or need

Staff---10 out of 10---every one I met affiliated with the field just really nice people all with a passion for the sport trying to make sure everyone has a great time

Refs---10 out of 10---Refs were very…very professional…adults ….super concerned with safety and everyone having a good time

Players---10 out of 10---all skill levels and all playing types each helping one another, and a really good crowd size

Facilities /Food----8 out of 10---They had a concession booth on site and open…I did not say 10 because they have porta johns… but they are real close to several fast food places…

Payment Methods ---10 out of 10---cards, cash etc

Website---3 out of 10---this is the only negative I can give them...there website is terrible, but at least they have one?...totally doesnt do this great field justice and should be redone/ rethought

Fire-Rate/ modes--- All modes allowed and encouraged ...everything from pump to super fast...but you better not overshoot...dont hit anyone more then once

Overall--- Excellent field, unbelievable courteous and knowledgeable staff…A great place to play from bringing the never played before family out for a group outing, to the experienced player…every style of play represented …all in all just an amazing great atmosphere….encourage everyone to try this place…just really fun time


Last edited on Tuesday, August 11th, 2009 at 1:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr N3zb1t Sunday, July 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Psycho Paintball (County shut this field down)
Directions
to the Field:
MapQuest.com
Review: This field by far, is one of the best in the state. I love this field, I go whenever possible. The games never get old. They are always up to date with the scenarios they have coming up. The ref staff are so nice and will always have fair play. Prices are pretty good for the most part. I can't go every weekend, but every other weekend does me fine. Paint is about $35-$55 a case ($55 for the really good paint). The pro shop (aka store) is outstanding. A nice selection of markers to chose from. Although not a wide selection of choice for the milsim players (I don't play with milsim markers).

With 65 acres of land to play on, Paintball Charleston is the ultimate scenario field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saint 50 Tuesday, May 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This review is about a year late, but i just started posting on this site.

This field has a large parking area with plenty of places to relax in the safe zone. The Refs do a couple mass safety briefings a day and they demand respect there. Once in a while they come off as A holes but when you step back and look at the situation they are a great group looking out for the safety of the players. The shop there gets a little tight when there is a large influx of people trying to get something but the air and paint are separated from the shop which is nice! There are several fields to play on and they can accomadate a large group of people, so for walk on play this place is great!!!!! The pro shop is willing to help out with peoples personal markers with a friendly attitude. Great staff, great group of players, great time!!!

Overall Experience is i will be driving down from NJ to play there again!!! Keep up the great work and i look forward to playing again!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jay25jay2006 Friday, March 20th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I currently play on a small private field located in Beaufort SC. A lot of fun!! I have competed in many tournaments and have played all over the east coast from Maine to South Carolina.
Review: PAINTBALL CHARLESTON IS OVER POPULATED! I've played there several times and have found the prices to be great, mostly because you can bring your own paint.

However, the games conducted for "walk-ons'' are EXTREMELY over populated and the players are really young and inexperienced. The games are usually over before you even get a couple shots off or get near the action. For the most part there will be 3 to 4 people hiding behind the same barrier as you are because there are too many people playing.

The teams are usually lop-sided, meaning one team will dominate through out the day. This is mainly because the loosing team consists of a lot of kids looking to all be on the same side as their friends, this is ok, but none of them like to advance and get into the action, leaving your team to only defend itself against an older, more advanced team. I guess you'd have fun if you were to be on the older more advanced team, but then you'd only be contributing to the lop-sidedness that the ref's allow to happen.

Another down fall to the field the amount of down time between games, I was at the field for 4 hours and only got to play 5 games total, and the groups that are reserved to play in advance get a pick in which fields they get to play on, leaving the walk-ons with the lesser fun fields. The entire 4 hours I was there, I didn't get to play on a speedball course once.

The best way to play on this field? Play as a group reserved in advance, however this takes 20 people to complete the group size requirement and it's expensive!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Ianthepumpuser Friday, February 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played at any others, but this one is far the best.
Review: This is the only paintball field i have ever played at, but from what other people have told me about other fields, its far the best. The one and only downfall is at anything the rental guns( tippman 95's and b-5 rentals) , the refs do a good job of cleaning them out, but it would be easier to get slightly better guns, such as an upgraded barrel for the rentals, but other then that the prices are low for air ( 1$ per 1000 for nitrogen or all day air for 7$. Don't know to much about Co2 the only gun i have used here is my autococker that only can use nitrogen so.) The Fields are very advanced with woodsball and speedball feeling to them. The games can sometimes become over crowded, since 60-100 people sometimes come in the middle of the day. But other then that everyone is professional, and the refs and staff will help you with any marker problems you are having.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matthew G4 Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: well i started playing paintball here and have stuck with this field ever since.

if u ever get a chance to go the field you will definitely like the most if the "village"

you can think of it like speedball but with wooden buildings..there are 2 castles one is

surrounded by a mini-moat and another in the woods

There are many other fields..which include the "mounds" , huge piles a dirt and cement

tubes make a great game and right behind that field in "Omaha Beach" its mainly a D-

Day type field which even if your not playin in a scenario u should be able to play

(depends if its being worked on or not) there are about 3-5 other fields which they find

more ways to make new fields at any time.

the staff thier is great and the shop may look small but has the most equipment that i

have ever seen within a shop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

JesterTLS Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in SC, but several in NC
Review: Well, a team mate and myself went down to the MPP game, Tobruk. We arrived Friday and got a chance to walk the field. First thought was it was pretty decent. Walking the field does not do it justice. After playing the field I have to say it was one of the best scenarios and fields I have played.

You have a castle. a village, tanks, bunkers and bases all over the place and the dunes. This field was a blast to play. The staff were excellent. The refs were the absolute best reffing staff I have seen yet at any event. The head ref knew his stuff, and was extremly helpfull to the players.

If you get a chance to play this field, even on a walk on day do it. I am told they can generally have a very high turn out just for rec days. And if you get a chance to play an MPP game, you will not regret it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CamoJester Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I dont know of others in the area.
Directions
to the Field:
Check ther website for directions
Review: The game we played there in March was my first time at the field. We played a MPP Games 24 hour event. What can you say about this field......... ITS GREAT! The refs were topnotch. In the middle of it all, pulled people for not fallowing the rules. The field are very fun to play. The night game was wild. They had a bondfire on the field. It was 20 foot high. There were tourches on the field. FUN!!!! My team (Pain Cell) are good friends with there scenario team (SCRoadkill). We had a blast shooting at there tanks all weekend. The Pro Shop & the people in it are the best I have ever seen at a field. I cant say enough good about this place. Brain & Skeeter(the owners) AKA Tim & Tim are good guys also. I cant wait to go back. I dont think there is ANY Field with in 6 hours of them that can touch them. PBC is what other field want to be when they grow up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media