paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field / Blast Camp Paintball Field

Blast Camp Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (219) 947-7733
Address: 563 West 600 North
Hobart, Indiana 46342
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
nxtguy77 Tuesday, October 9th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 28th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz
Fort Knox
CPX
Sherwood
Directions
to the Field:
Best address to use is 550W 600N Hobart IN 46342 in plugging into a GPS
Review: To start off with, I have played this field since 2003, I will admit that I have worked there since 2005 and currently manage field operations.During this time I have seen the field quality fall drastically til 2008, early 2009 new management and new owner arose, and the customers have been heard. I was encouraged to compose a review by a player that played often about 8 years ago til he was steered away by bad service. He came back and played about a month ago saw me, and remembered me reffing his private group years ago. He called me to congratulate the staff on the turn around and was surprised to see that they have not been any recent reviews, and that I should clear things up because of all the changes that have gone underway.

First thing that was changed was PRICING. Its has been changed to easy to understand rates, no more nickel and diming when your get there. Basically, for walk on play $17 for entry and all day air. $68 a case (still field paint only). Private groups $40-$60 (EVERYTHING needed to play) The price difference is depending on amount of paint and time. Pay attention to the website or facebook page for promotional deals.

STAFF and ATTITUDE, this is where the most change has happened. Our current reffing crew is almost entirely consisted with refs that have been brought up by new management instilled with core values. Favoritism towards off duty coworkers has been eliminated and if anything reversed, players are encouraged to talk to our refs and voice opinions. Our refs will always be willing to hear you out, respect is something we ensure that all staff has embedded in their job. If a ref disciplines a player, it is for the sole purpose of SAFETY or SPORTSMANSHIP

FIELD, The field is now properly maintained, grass is kept cut and hazards are removed or dealt with ASAP. We have cleared brush that was to hard to navigate through, added various bunkers throughout the field, We have also added self fill stations and converted the rental fleet to compressed air no more waiting in line for 20 minutes for a CO2 fill! Again air is included with entry, or $5 all day fee with certain promotional tickets. We also provide 4500psi fills for personal tanks.

PROSHOP, we have a retail store on Main Street in Hobart, we carry everything you need to get started, with a gun purchase you still get a season pass. We also offer a Club card in the spring that gives you 10 cases of paint at 50% off, great for the regular player. We also do gun repairs at the shop, if you run into equipment issues at the field, there are staff members that can help you with gun issues given that there are no special parts needed.

I encourage anyone that has not visited the field in recent years to come and check out the NEW "BlastCamp experience" and write a review on your experience, if there is anything you would like to recommend or comment on,either I or another staff member will be ready to lend an ear at the field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dag74 Monday, April 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
563 West 600 North
Hobart, Indiana 46342

From Chicago

* Take 80/94 East to Highway 51 South (exit at Ripley).
* Go south on 51 (rt 130) to flashing red light at County Line Rd
* Proceed straight nearly 1 mile, to first road on left (600 N.)
* Turn left onto 600 N
* Go approximately 1.5 miles to Blast Camp on left.

From Indianapolis

* From I-65 North, take exit 259B onto I-80 E/I-94 E/US-6 E toward Detroit/Toledo
* Take 80/94 East to Highway 51 South (exit at Ripley).
* Go south on 51 (rt 130) to flashing red light at County Line Rd
* Proceed straight nearly 1 mile, to first road on left (600 N.)
* Turn left onto 600 N
* Go approximately 1.5 miles to Blast Camp on left.
Review: Most of this stuff is from their website, but I agree with all of it

They are really starting to clean up and improve existing features, and are starting to make some major changes.

New owners, with GOOD attitudes.

Walk on prices that INCLUDE all day air

Lower deposit required to book groups

BYOP promo days

More big games

Expanded summer hours

Expanded retail operations
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

linkintiger Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cpx,badlandz,fox paintball
Review: field is really nice quick games nice refs but last sunday it was terrible. those guys should really cut the grass because right now is taller then me and I am 6 feet tall and it's extremly hard to run outside the buildings except one speed ball field.Right now grass cover most of the wood walls and other buildings.I am not gona belive that this grass grove 8 feet tall in 2 months they did take care of the field for a long time i will said 6 months or more.Other thing tree above the tables has big 3 inch long torns and is extreamly easy to get cut in the eye when player walk thru because the branches are so low from the ground.Everything else was cool
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

poundinnails322 Thursday, May 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Heat, Fort Knox
Review: I recently played at Big Game with my son, our first time on field. For me I thought the field was great. I love the whole scenerio military thing. Buildings, bunkers, trenches, woods, it has it all. I thought the game was pretty organized considering the amount of people there. I never sat more then 10 minutes unless I wanted to. There were plenty of refs on hand, and everyone seemed to be safety conscious. They had a great givaway at the end of the game. 10 guns plus other things. My overall rating of the field is a 10. The prices for the day of the Big Game I thought were reasonable. $20 field fee and $60 cases of field paint. My only complaint is I would like to go back more often but their regular walk on fees are a little much. The $10 field fee is no problem but $92 for a case of field paint is alittle much. That breaks out to a little more then $200 for my son and I for a day. Thats not something most people can afford to do to often in these times. You should lower your paint prices or go BYOP and make up for the cost by attracting more people more often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

meathead1994 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fort knox is a good byop feild
Directions
to the Field:
fallow the sighns or mapquest
Review: SAFTY- i think they do a great job with safety they worn you about every hazzard on the feild but i think octagon could use some mud removle last weekend the mud was up about 4 inches and in some spots it was like 6.

FEILDS- i love the cqb expecialy when your in the bulidings i think they have a wide virety of feilds that you could play on but i am the kind of guy that loves to craw threw the woods for like 20 minutes with out taking a shot and i think they should have a wooded area but all in all its a good place to play.

HOURS- i think the hours are fairly good but i think it should be open a little later in the summer because they close at like 4 and you still have a good 3 hours to play but i meen theres realy nothing to complain about.

PRICES- now there is a flaw there i think you should be able to bring you own paint because $85 a case is kind of expencive but everything else is fairly priced

RULES- i love the rules there they are extremaly fair but i think you should have a little more roam on the feilds.

STAFF- some of the people can be jacka**** but when you get the write prople then your in for a fun day.

REFS- they are fair but i would like to give a shout out to Q the best reff in the history of paintball when your with him you are garntied to have fun with the games he makes up and the jokes he makes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Thursday, September 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All over the place, too many to list.
Review: Nobody likes a negative review, so I'm going to warn you now that this is a very negative review. But I'm trying to be fair in my assessment. Just for the record, the first time I played at this field was in 1993 or so. I'm not a regular there, but I've gone back every few years or so to see if they've improved. And year after year, they do not fail to disappoint me so I've made it a point to stop going.

It's not the field itself, which is visually spectacular, more the field attitude. If they don't know who you are, they are very rude. I'm a tolerant guy and respectful of other people's business. However, being treated as "third class" when I walk in the door because you don't know me is more than offensive, it's downright bad business. And this is from the field owner / manager!

The attitude seeps into the referee pool. They act like you owe them something, and it's obvious they don't want to be there reffing. They'd rather be playing on the airball field instead. At least that's what they told me. The chip on their shoulder is quite large. In fact, there was a sign over the registration area telling the players that in order to insure a good time, you "should tip your referees" at the beginning of your session.

Their web site says "Our referees are instructed to treat customers with respect and courtesy." I can instruct a dog to perform Shakespeare, but that doesn't mean it will.

I love CQB, I can't get enough of it. But the buildings here are in some serious need of TLC before it can be safe for hardcore play. It's obvious that they have not performed maintenance or repair since the first time I played at this field. I found holes in the floor covered with a paint soaked plywood sheet. Thankfully, I wore my boots or I would have twisted an ankle. Plus their ceilings are falling apart. It is my opinion that they are asking for a medical emergency by performing zero maintenance on the buildings.

Another reviewer said that if you can get over the "little things" than this field is decent. It's the little things that make a field lousy or great. It is my opinion that Blast Camp really needs to work on the details. Then they can repair the old buildings, perform maintenance on the field as a whole, and possibly find a more efficient way to park vehicles on the property rather than on the access road.

Prices? Meh, it's a paintball field. The prices aren't outrageous but are fairly cheap. Honestly, I'd pay extra money if they'd do some upkeep on their old billets. But putting up with the attitude of the employees does not offset the money saved. And for their location, I can go to several other fields that are closer, and treat customers with respect.

I rated this field 2/10, and I stand behind that. If they had a major attitude adjustment, my mind would change. But after 10+ years of going there on and off, and seeing the same attitude when I go there every time, I've stopped going. The "cool factor" of the old billets wears off quickly when you realize how inherently dangerous they are. My opinion is that if you want to play CQB Style, save your money and attend a MOUT scenario game on a real, active military base. At least there the location will not crumble apart under foot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

medic67 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Too many to list
Directions
to the Field:
Get them off their site, www.blastcamp.com Very easy to find.
Review: My team went up for the Balls to the Wall game 07. We had a real good time, the field is cool, the buildings add a lot to the game. Lots of mixed cover from grass to trees, to buildings. Game was ran well, very little went wrong. Prices for the game were not bad. $20 to play and $60 a case for paint, the paint was a dissapointment. Very rubbery, had tons of bouncers. They said they were having supply issues for a decent paintball. Ive played with worse paint, at least it didnt explode in the barrel.

We are going to go back up in September for another game. If you are near I65 its an easy trip. Check them out,

Prize giveaway!!!! You have got to be kidding me, 10 markers, all kinds of small paintball items, pod holders, DVDs, Tactical vests, Hats you name it. I bet they gave out over $2000.00 in prizes easy. I dont know how they do it but the put on a prize give away that is better than some of the giant scenario games I have been at.

Blast Camp is a must do field. At least once you should try them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

waruigaijin Saturday, July 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlands, well badlands is better all things taken into account. But If you dont might paying 2x the amout to play then play at blast camp
Directions
to the Field:
hobart
Review: OK here is the deal. This place is very fun the first time you go,but.... Some refs are cheaters,, but no more than at badlands... The price of a case of Paintballs are $85 bucks...... they are of the lowest quality. Some of the people that work at the store are rude and unclean looking....... But there is one or two of them that are very pro. I walked into the store only to be pissed off by one of the workers rude greating in seconds. The store does have some good deals and is worth checking out. The field is cool but is very messy and slippery in the buildings. The games are great too, very inventive. The people you have to pay to get in treat you like scum every time , that gets old.... . bathrooms are hellish.....But it is a good time if you dont let the little things get to you, expensive , but super fun if you dont paying alot of money. The 60bucks a case thing only once in a while and still over priced. THIS IS ALL TRUE if some one disputes the accuracy of this review they are just working for the field in some way, or they really hate the place. ALL and ALL its a good time and worth checking out.
Last edited on Saturday, July 7th, 2007 at 1:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hotfilles9 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lots of others
Review: Went there for a tournament.

I had a long drive becasue i live in Central Illinois. But it was fairly easy to find, even though i had no idea about that area. The field we played on was great. Very well keep care of, and was set up nicely.

Prices- not bad, same as other places
air- slow, they should get more filling stations
food- only bought water and pop, but it was GREAT
refs - nothing to complain about.

They didnt have a huge area for players to set up, but this is hardly ever a problem because most set up by a vechile or under a tent.

Overall great place, (not the greatest). Thought it was a really fun tournament, lots of competition. Only thing i would reccommend would to set up 2 fields of play for a tournament. Even tho this would take more refs, teams would get more games in. Just a thought.
Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 1:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MalariaMan Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire Indoor Paintless paintball field
Directions
to the Field:
'FOLLOW THE ORANGE BANNER SIGNS!'
Review: (EDIT) FIRST REVIEW
First I'd like to say that this really is a good field for everybody. It has little speedball and some senarios like CTF. This field I went to only once so far but intend to go again. Basic layout is an old army base, knowing this, you probaly already guessed there is buildings and such. Pretty urban until you get to the open dead man fields. There is place to eat and sit and buy gear. Don't bother, it's not that good. Grenade are the weak tippmann squad busters and the rentals are 98 customs that in need of MAJOR repairs or REPLACEMENTS. I suggest bringing your own gun. Otherwise if you had a party like we did, the only people doin any good is the one guy who did get the good gun rental and the people with there own gun. When i went it was near the end of winter so it was snowing outside. I suggest to also bring a few cloths to wipe yourself down with after game and to clean your gun. All and all a really fun place to go. I only suggest maybe to bring your own gun and grenades if you go. Also leave your own paint at home, you can't use it here.

(EDIT) AFTER MORE TIME AT FIELD

After 5 times going there, here the final report to date. The field is stll very good. they have expanded the place a bit to include more games. However, that being said, it still is very run down. The field itself need to be replotted with dirt, as it gets 'VERY, VERY, WET.' This I cannot stress enough. Major points where people position themselves are full of water on wet days up to your ankles, and up to your calf on RAINING DAYS. Te octagon, as most can attest to, is the MUDDIEST place in the field. It needs holes in the ceiling to air out once and a while. But is still has improved sinc i wnt the first time. Mainly more 'one building only fights' for big days and larger field range for smaller groups. Rentals still need 'Major Replacements'. Tippmanns just don't cut it against anything anymore. espcislly against tournie guys, me included. ALLinALL, it just needs a few fixups and she is good as new.
Last edited on Monday, April 9th, 2007 at 8:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media