paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mad Dawg Field / Mad Dawg Field / Mad Dawg Field / Mad Dawg Field

Mad Dawg Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 360-202-7677
Address: 584 Lewis Lane
Camano Island, Washington 98282
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Reaper8 Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR Field - Attitudes of players and refs a turn off.
Skinny Joes- Best part of field is the parking lot.
DBS - Good people and attitudes. But indoor is a little slimy, but the ten foot slides ROCK!
Semper Fi- I like Carl's no BS attitude. Keeps the trouble makers at bay.
Review: Went and played paintball for the first time in almost a year at MDPB's new field. They have been opened for a couple of months and the field looks and plays great. Burt and his wife Lane run the field and know what they are doing. All safety concerns are addressed and all play on the field is watched over by experienced refs.

With a castle mid field and many,many bunkers and trees, the play is fast and furious. Had a great time playing with a fine group of walk-ons and a bachelor party that consisted of some seasoned players. It was a blast and the weather was perfect. Very nice to be in the saddle again. Looking forward to playing this field many more times in the future. Thanks Burt and Lane for the great time. Highly recommend trying this field out for first timers and veterans alike. Check out their website at maddawgpaintball.com for more information.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

C.aboose Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
West Side paintball, loved the place but sadly it closed
East Side paintball, Always was freezing when i went, not my favorite, not the worst either
Forest Fire paintball, Great place like it a lot. D day is always lots of fun, not open Sundays though sadly.
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-5 to standwood or some "wood"
Review: Safety: Good, No one was breaking any rules like taking there masks on during games or anything like that.

Fields: 2 Fields. One is very small 2v2 3v3 and the other one looked like it could support 20 or 30 on a team, it would be crowded but still.

Hours of operation: Long Long days, 10-5. 7 hours is a lot of paintball. Cant complain at all they are open on Sunday.

Over all its a really superb field. Really good community/ what seemed to be core players who played there a lot. Lots of jokes, really good time.
its very very begging friendly, the owner gives you tips on what to do. He was actually out there playing with us some of the games, the rest reffing. Really good ref service, they were all over the place with paint checks ect.

Also, the food was amazing. the pizza they ordered was fantastic not that papa johns crap.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

foobar42 Wednesday, June 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skinny Joe's, Forest Fire, Doodle Bugs indoor (Everett), Doodle Bugs outdoor (Snohomish)
Directions
to the Field:
The field is pretty easy to get to. From I-5, take exit 212 and head west on highway 532 to Camano Island for about 20 minutes. No, you don’t need to take a ferry. Check the website for detailed directions.
Review: Field: The field is very new, they opened in May 2008 and put a lot of thought and hard work into it. The results speak for themselves. There is a big “castle”, “barracks”, and “great wall of Mad Dawg”. The field has plenty of bunkers, metal oil barrels, and natural cover, but not overgrown. The field is situated on a former Christmas tree farm, so tall pine trees offer plenty of cover from the sun or rain. It is also pretty dry, there are no muddy places or standing water. The ground is covered by pine needles for the most part.

The main course is pretty large, allowing a number of different games to be played. There is also a smaller “birthday” field that can be reserved for private groups of beginners. I hear they plan on adding a second castle on the main course.

Staging area: it is better described as a picnic area – plenty of covered tables and the area is nice and clean. You can pull up in your car pretty close to where the tables are. The check in/store booth is setup like a small store (Mad Dawg also has a flagship store in Stanwood) and is stocked with necessities (batteries, orings and such), some food items and drinks. Staff makes hot dogs for lunch for themselves and they also offer them to players for a nominal fee.

Staff: The staff team consists of super nice people that are passionate about the sport and they are trying harder to make sure everyone is having a great time. They constantly offer tips and advices to newer players, help with malfunctioning equipment, offer light repair services. They are always willing to listen to suggestions and try to implement suggested changes to the way the field is operated.
The refs are awesome. At least four of them on the field at all times. So any time you need a paint check, chances are there will be a ref nearby.

Safety: All non-rentals are required to chrono their markers at the start of the day (a ref watches you as you chrono). Barrel bag/mask rules are strictly enforced by refs and other players. Blind firing is prohibited and refs make sure this is not happening in case someone forgets. The field has an optional mercy kill rule, meaning that if you come near someone you offer them to surrender but if the opponent does anything other than raise their gun, you can shoot them.
Full auto firing mode is allowed, but players are asked to keep it under 12 bps.

Prices: The field fee is like everywhere else. However, their paint prices are great. They sell paint in all price ranges.
In my case, my preferred paint (Nelson Special Forces) is actually cheaper if I buy it at the field ($52) instead of buying at my usual store ($55). Mad Dawg also has a retail store and they can get good prices for on paint.
The field fee is cheaper with paint purchase - $20 vs $30. If you buy paint at the flagship store and bring it to the field, it counts as the paint purchase. All day air is $5, and they can fill up to 4500 psi.
Overall, the price of full days play with paint purchase is very competitive.

Other players: it seems that this field attracts people whose priority is to have a great time, not win no matter what. People play honorably, no name calling or anything like that was going on, I did not see anyone wipe or play on. I hope it stays that way. Folks that show up are very cool, I made a some new friends.

Verdict: if the field is near you or you don’t mind the drive to Camano Island and want to play in a pleasant atmosphere, this field is for you. I played at Mad Dawg field twice and this is the best field that I ever played at and I will keep coming back as I think it is the best one in the area. The field owners are open to our feedback and suggestions so we have the opportunity to shape how the field is going to evolve.

Things I liked: general laid-back atmosphere, nice staff, reasonable prices, 4500 psi refills, can use full auto.

What could be done better (not problems, just ideas to improve the field):
- provide water sprayer bottles in the staging area along with rags to wipe down equipment; I know, most people bring their own but some fields (Skinny Joe’s) provide that to customers.
- I wish the field was a little larger. It is not a small field at all, I am just craving for playing on a huge field in my area .
- Additional structures like trenches or pillboxes.
- Take photos and/or videos of games and post them on the site
- Web site needs work (often slow to load due to slide show with sound track loading, broken links).



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbrenke Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR (ok with limited choises in the area)
100 deg (closed)
Directions
to the Field:
see website
Review: pros:
Of all the fields in the smokey point area I have to say this is the best. most of the time there was a ref in the area and they did not make a bad call that I could see. the two times that a ref was not avalable all the players I played with would do an HONEST paint check for you. that is a rare thing. the people refing the games are knolagable and fare. They have bright "traffic" vests (great idea) so you know who is walking around.
the lead ref is a very good paint baller him self. I had a good time trading shots with him.
cons:
there was a noob with a rental gun shooting 320. he had no idea what the crono meant. when the staff was told about this they corrected it right away.
most of the other fields give all day air with field fees. this one does not. BUT on the pluss side, you can rent a HPair tank with all day air for $10.

I would recoment this field to noobs and pros.
the staff and players will help the noobs and the pros will find a chalange when the refs trade there vest for a paintball gun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkeymonk Thursday, May 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR (ok, if you don't mind walking in there sewage drainaige feild that is (it smells like poop because it literlraly is poop), the best thing here is the big dirt mounds)
Directions
to the Field:
on their website
Review: Staff: very freindly always willing to help refs are good too always have at least three refs on the feild. They almost always make good calls.

Price: Iv'e heard people complain about the price but as long as you by paint from them it is just as exspensive as any other feild.

Safety: Very safe feild chrono people at beginning of the day and sometimes more than once. constantly reminding people of masks and barrel bags

Atmosphere / Setup: very nice setup. lots of covered picnic tables. large parking lot that is very close to feild so there is easy acess to car. plenty of shade. it is near the ocean so at the end of a hot day you get a cool breeze running through. the really cool thing is that the place where you chrono is on the inside of a van.

Rules: rules are ok not to bad but they are still changing

Feild: only a recball feild right now but there is supposed to be a speed ball course opening up by the end of the summer. mad on a old christmas tree farm so trees are evenly placed and so are the bunkers. bunkers are very solidexcept for some holes by your feet but when i asked they said they were fixing the problem. Castle is very sturdy and looks great needs some work but is still cool. very awesome setup.every time i go they have always put something new in.

All in all this feild is amazing. i gave it a 9 out of ten just because they are still working out some kinks and there arn't many people coming yet. when it picks up pace and more people here about it it will easily become a ten. ive been there every weekend since it opened which was about a month ago and every time was money well spent. Definitly worth your time and like i said is by far the coolest feild i have ever seen.
Last edited on Thursday, May 29th, 2008 at 9:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

otto cocker Thursday, May 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skinny's
Directions
to the Field:
on the website
Review: the good--safety was good. they made everybody chono before the first game and then again half way through the day. the reffing was great. they had at least three refs at all times and they were always watching the players. very professional. the area outside the field is great, a nice area to lay out your gear in the shade and close to your car. the staff is very friendly. everyone that played that day was well behaved. that might sound funny but if you've played with a 20 year old spoiled brat you know what i'm talking about. the field is great. it is obvious there was a lot of work put into it.

the not so good--the field is great but.... there's only one so you play the same field all day long and the strategy never really changes. maybe changing the home bases for the teams would mix things up a little. perhaps put on team down in the far corner to start. or have 4 corner bases or whatever. the price--$30 if you don't buy paint and i don't buy paint every time i play so that is a lot to pay. most of any field i know of.

Overall it's a great place to play (if you have lots of extra money). I will play there again but not every week. Maybe after i burn through the paint i have and need to buy more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dspartan Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Semper fi, doodlebugs, 100 degrees, skinny joes, and a few more that are no longer around.
Directions
to the Field:


Review: Safety- Made sure everyone was cronod properly every game. Made sure everyone had a barrel bag on when not on field and every one was wearing a mask when on field.

Prices-as competitive as any other field around, twenty bucks all day with air and they-re paint. Not only are there prices great often have specials give-aways, raffles etc. ON memoriall day it was half price. Ten bucks for seven hours of paintball is incredible.

Reffing-Plenty of refs who actually care about the game and the people playing it. Call for a paint check and you'll have one quickly.

Atmosphere- This is really where this field shines. I have never been to a nicer, funner field in all my years of paintball. Just being there is fun. If your looking for a great day of paintball there is no better field.

Filed- Alot of work has been put into it and it shows. no speedball course but Its a woods ballers dream. Lots of bunkers, a castle, and natural cover. BEST FIELD EVER!!
Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2008 at 7:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yancy Darringer Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Doodlebug Sports, Skagit Valley Paintball (RIP), 100 Degrees NW (RIP), Forest Fire, CDR Park (septic pool), General Quarters (Navy)
Directions
to the Field:
There is a map on their website.
Review: Safety: They have velocity checks all the time which is good and there is always an eye out for un-safe pratices. Safety isn't really a problem in MDF.

Fields: There are two fields. One is the woodsball/recball field .

Prices: Their prices are about the same as every one else.

Rules: The rules are okay no-one cheats and the calls are fair, but the refs are still learning and in a while it should get better as their experience grows.

Services: With there LARGE proshop just down the road from the field they offer gun services along with field services.

Proshop: last time i was there it was fully stocked. I didn't find there prices high, but they really compete with the other shops.

Staff/Refs: Staff and the refs is what is going to make this field stand out. The refs were great.

Not alot of people know about this field, all the people i ask has never heard of it, so the number of people there changes all the time. I been all by my self and some times as much as 50 people are there. So if you have a long drive i would give the field a call before going, this might change as people go back to paintball as the weather warms up.

I gave this field a 8 because its nearly perfect but has minor flaws and the lack of people to play somtimes. In a while it will probley have a more stable amout of people playing. This field is great other-wise i would definitely give this field a visit if you haven't already.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sneaky Guy Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skagit Valley Paintball, CDR Park, Doodlebug Sportz, Forest Fire, Skinny Joes
Directions
to the Field:
Found them on their website.
Review: It seems that there a few unhappy players. I thought reviews were supposed to be helpful. Well, for the first weekend at this field, I think they have something going that will be really great once it is all worked out. I asked about food and they said that Island County required special permits for that and it would have stopped the first permit.

It appears they worked very hard on the field. I liked the castle. They were actually willing to listen to suggestions. I few people were unhappy about some kid shooting hot. One of the refs asked to see the gun and walked to the chronograph. The gun shot between 245-255bps. I think there was a lot of termoil but it was the first weekend they were open.

Keep up the great work guys.

For the first day and have, what, 60-70 people there, I think they did an outstanding job. May have been a little confusing at times but first day, Hal, give them a break.
Last edited on Thursday, May 22nd, 2008 at 3:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmanjim Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR(dump), 100 Degrees(closed but was great), SPV(great indoor), Forrestfire(over priced/arrogant), West side Paintball(closed),Doodlebug indoor(dump,but friendly)
Directions
to the Field:
See thier website,its on Camano Island
Review: Okay, it was thier first day so I will cut them some slack. Instead I will offer some suggestions. 1.Put a time limit on games. Nothing is worse than waiting half an hour for the game to be finished. 2. Consessions. Offer food and drinks other than candy bars and pop. This will also help your bottom line. 3. Organize the games a little better. Offer different scenarios. 4. The "horseshoe" is not the greatest idea to set the bases. Establish them on the opposite sides of the field. Other than that (and the weather), I found the field exceptional. Nice bunkers,great work on the castle. Nice size field. In my opinion,once they get pass the learning curve and get the kinks worked out, this will be a first class field. The hard work and comittment towards a quality,fun and safe field is evident. I will be a frequent patron! Dale, Burt and Dan are friendly and helpful. Great shop in town...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media