paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Pevs Paintball Park - Aldie / Pevs Paintball Park - Aldie / Pevs Paintball Park - Aldie / Pevs Paintball Park - Aldie

Pevs Paintball Park - Aldie

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 703-257-5090
Address: 39835 New Rd
Aldie, Virginia 20105
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Windtaunter Saturday, October 29th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 1st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AG
AG has more woods.
PEVs has speedball and structures.
I play all over the US. PEVs has great infrastructure and continues to grow.
Review: I visit lots of fields all over the US. I usually bring my own mask and rent a marker.

Great staging area.Don't expect to use it if you play rec ball. They have speed ball right at the staging area. Rec ball fields are behind the speedball fields. This isn't a problem, but be prepared. Rec players stage away from the parking lot in safe zones out between the fields.

Just bring a small gear bag for paint and such. It is a long(ish) walk back for air though.

Interesting mix of fields. No woods, but the fields are a lot of fun.

If you have the cash, consider renting a high end package. That will give you a chance to try to an entry level tourney marker, hopper and 45/45 tank. I used an Axe. Not as nice as my Ego or Excalibur, but it was much better than the typical tippy.

Players are friendly and the refs were helpful and turned games around pretty quick.

They get my highest rating - I'd play there again.
Last edited on Saturday, October 29th, 2011 at 9:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Monday, January 17th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AG Paintball Games, Skyline Paintball, Hogback Mountain, Warplay Paintball, Wanna Play Paintball.

The fields listed below vary in both breadth and depth of the experience as you compare to Pevs-Aldie. Although Warplay has a turf field now, they're still the best pure woodsball field in Virginia and offer a unique experience. Skyline has a mix of traditional tournament ball and rec play with some unique concept fields. Both Warplay and Skyline have turf, and a variety of paintball play that compares favorably to Pevs.
Directions
to the Field:
Just off the intersection of New Road and Route 15, slightly west of Aldie VA.
Review: For a six year period, after the closure of their woodsball field, Pevs was aligned strategically with AG Paintball games in Leesburg. After several years of legal wrangling with the county and local residents, Pevs opened their Aldie field in 2008.

It boasted a netted complex capable of holding six tournament style games at the same time. Two of these fields are professional grade astroturf and the other four are grass. The turf fields are tops in the industry and the Pevs complex has been successfully utilized by the NPPL for their end of summer "DC Challenge" event. Each field has a dedicated air-fill station to ensure players don't have to run back and forth from the registration area. These fields are available weekly for walk-on play, for team practices and for monthly tournaments. Very few fields in the nation have the infrastructure that Pevs has. Pevs also sports the PTS series, a monthly tournament for participants of varying skill levels.

In addition to the quality of the tournament fields, Pevs has indoor restroom facilities, a recreational lounge area for parents with internet access, Cable TV and leather sofas. They have a fully stocked pro-shop with parts, gear, accessories, on staff techs and an assortment of paint. They also have a covered staging area for registration, air fills, and a vending area where they sell Chick-Fil-A sandwiches, Pizza, Nachos, Ice Cream, Soft Drinks and other amenitities. They also have several dozen picnic tables for birthday parties, staging, eating lunch, etc. Their parking area is just off the main road and while most of the lot is gravel, there are spaces near the main building on asphalt. Handicap spaces are also available.

The rec ball fields are an innovative mix of fields that run the gamut of paintball. One negative is the distinct lack of trees that define a true woodsball experience, however the scenario/concept fields are unique. They have a fort field that can be played in several different ways (Attack-Attack, Attack-Defend, etc.) and in several configurations. It enables players to attack and win with a variety of strategies that will entice woodsballers, scenario players and tournament ballers alike. The Town field is a mix of blind angles, buildings, and props for a true urban play experience. They have several other fields that offer a mix of caves and "rocks", to a logyard field, a wastelands field with logs, hay bales and other obstacles. The variety of the play and the assorted configurations make for challenging game play by players of all experience levels, backgrounds and equipment types.

Pevs refs are superior to many of the fields I've played at over the years. They're encouraged to be active during game play and hop into the action to make the tough calls. The field staff makes sure the refs are engaged and keep the walk-on play moving. Complaints about the field, reffing, service are taken seriously and addressed promptly.

Unfortunately, with quality comes cost. The field fee for players with their own gear is $29, though there are frequent discounts that reduce this cost making it affordable to players of varying finances. Pevs is a Field Paint Only facility and cases can cost from $45-70 at the store. Paint bought at the field can run $69 or more a case. There are frequent price breaks for special events (tournaments, team practices, etc.). Paint checks are conducted frequently by the staff to ensure that Pevs paint is being utilized by the players.

Pevs is the consummate field. It has a mix of fields for all types of players and all skill levels. The staff, infrastructure, fields and infrastructure is world-class. It only gets better as they add new fields to the mix.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IHS-Thenault Saturday, July 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 29th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs/AG- Not as family friendly, heck of a learning curve for new guys. I have gotten seriously lost and it was dang scary because it was snowing and just getting colder, darker and quieter.
Review: 8.5/10 stars

Pros

Location- You don't feel like you need a 4 wheel drive vehicle or mule to get there which is a huge plus compared to other fields that are located out in the sticks.

Staff- The staff is very helpful and safety conscious which is very good with the sometimes hoards of younger kids running around.
The moment that exemplifies the quality of the staff was when a 10 year old was dropped of for the day and was scared silly. The boy would sit in the back in just freak out he would get so scared. The ref we were with asked his fellow go on with our group (walk-ons) and he would help the kid. The ref asked the kid if he wanted to a 1 v 1 match and the kid said yes. so the ref (unknowingly to the kid) went out against the kid with an unloaded gun and showed the kid how to play and not to get shot, but still have fun. The kid was no longer scared after that and caught up with are group and ended up having a total blast.

Proshop- if you need it, there is a 90% chance they have got it.

Safety- I am so glad the refs actively checking the players chrono speed, as well as enforcing the mask at all times rule.

Fields- if you are use to urban combat or speed ball you will love it, no if and or buts about it.

Team Balance- good the refs actively keep the teams even by balancing the experienced with the inexperienced.

Price - It is a great deal to go on discount days or play in the evening when it is only 15$ instead of 25$ ( if you own all your own gear).

Cons

The drop your new 10 year old and his friends off and run syndrome-

This is the biggest con I have experienced. I have gone some days were I literally see groups of moms come in and drop of their 9,10,11 year olds sign them in and run. The parents and usually the kids think it will be great and they will have fun. They usually do. The problem comes when the kids after standing up and watching someone (or themselves) get shot 5+ times. This is when they all realize it can be kind of scary when you are getting shot by real rounds (not lasers) and that is also not like a video game. I can compare it to when in battle or other traumatizing situations people just seize up or break down. As an experienced player I know this is part of the learning curve and the kids just account to either more targets or decoys in the end.
In the end I feel bad for the kids who thought it was going to be the best thing in the world and then get shot several times at point blank or just full on laned, and go home never wanting to do it again. If you are going with a bunch of new kids and you don't know how they will react when there first match is being put in a fort and getting surrounded by 65+ die-hard players, I recommend a private party because then it is just their friends and they can play much more relaxed games then they would normally.

Woods ball- There aren't any REAL woods ball fields, but you will probably love the urban fields they have there. So just please don't be the guy that has showed up in a Ghili suit and then realized there is only 1 field with dense vegetation on it.

Misc.- These are only several small detractors that always pop up on the field.
1. The chrono station almost never has a ref at it and you need to go hunt one down
2.Over-booked fields. Sometimes the refs don't communicate and 2 separate parties wind up on the same field and the refs can't figure out who should walk to a different field.

All in all the best field I have ever been to and a great experience, as well as very new player friendly

Last edited on Saturday, July 17th, 2010 at 1:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReconSSD Monday, September 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outdoor Adventures, Bowie, MD
Directions
to the Field:
The address is on the Pev's paintball website, just paste it into mapquest.
Review: Safety: Safe. If one of the ref's doesn't catch you without your barrel cover on or your mask off then somebody else will and let you know. I wouldn't be worried.

Fields: Pretty spankin' new. They have a couple professional quality turf speedball fields and about 5 or 6 other fields that are filled with structures of various sorts. The fields include 2 speedball esque areas that use all artificial rocks as cover, there is a field called "logs" that is simply a wanna-be woodsball field that had big ass tree trunk logs and 5 or 6 feet little planted trees as cover. And that brings me really to my only gripe about the field. Although I did enjoy the little town that was constructed and some other fields, they didn't technically have any "woodsball" fields that require walking on a path of some sort into the woods to get to. That is unfortunately my favorite aspect of paintball being a woodsballer and rocking 60 dollars worth of legit ass Marine Corps camo from Ranger Surplus. Anywho, to the average paintballer the fields are fresh and fun.

Hours of Operation: 11:00 am- 5:00 pm

Prices: $20 for admission and all day air; TIP: the paint is mad expensive if you buy it at the field so since you have to use their paint your better off going to your local Pev's pro shop and grabbing your paint there as it starts at $39.99 a case versus $59.99 at the field.

Rules: Same as anywhere else.

Services: There is a fully operational pro shop on site at the field along with food and drinks.

Overall: If your relatively in the area and are getting the itch to break away from the same scene at your local field for a day I recommend making the trip. And dont forget to get paint at the pevs pro shop before you go, your wallet will thank me.

Last edited on Monday, September 21st, 2009 at 4:18 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrumpyOne Tuesday, September 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline, Hogback Mountain, AG, Pevs/ AG
Directions
to the Field:
Route 50 W to route 15 S. Follow 15 S for a few miles, Pev's is on the right.
Review: First, this is the new Pev's field (seperate from Pev's/AG which was in Leesburg).

I give an overall rating of a 8.0 for three reasons. One - I prefer scenario and woods ball (they do not have woods ball fields built, yet), they need a permanent chrono station, and the cost of THEIR field paint is rather high in my opinion. The primary chrono station location has been different on several different visits. Buy paint from the Pev's stores before you go to the field, it is much cheaper.

Safety is first and foremost. The staff carries handheld chronos and performs velocity spot checks through out the day. Velocity for the field is 290 fps.

They were running tournaments and open play on the day of this review, Megan, one of the field managers, runs an efficient organization.
The staff is very professional. They know the sport of paintball, share their knowledge and experiences willingly, and are very quick to resolve any customer issues. They are well organized and well equipped. They do a good job of balancing the novice and experienced players to keep the games even.

There is no "Halo" rule (minimum safe distance rule).

The fields fall into two categories: 2 turf and 1 grass SupAir (tournament) fields and practice fields (more on the way) and a variety of scenario fields (bunkers, castle, town (urban warfare to the max), 2 artificial boulder fields, a junkyard and more). The fields are mostly flat, or have a gentle sloop, so if you do not like hills or have bad knees (like I do) and love to play, no more excuses not to.

About me: I first played paintball in 1981, played on, staffed and managed fields from Connecticut to California, Europe and Asia.

My opinion: Pev's has a knowledgable staff, good fields and great times for all. I will be returning with my family and friends. Thank you.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

THE STOOGE Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am going to start playing paintball again after about 5 years of no playing. I play airsoft now but will start paintball again soon. The Aldie field which I visited on 8-22-09 seems very well organized, I didn't play, I just watched. There is no overcrowing or slow movement by the staff. There is plenty of room to keep your gear and use a chair if u bring one. The parking is very spacious. A lot of room for bystanders to watch the games. I need a marker now, i have gear but no marker anymore. A used marker will be ok as long as it has been taken care of. A tippman 98 or something in that nature would be fine.. I plan to be there Sat. 8-09.. My email is stooge1957@yahoo.com...
Directions
to the Field:
take rt. 15 from rt. 29 toward Leesburg. maybe about 7-10 miles down on the left..
Review: The field and staff get a 10 star review.. The store is also very well maintained.. I spent a good bit of time in the store asking questions and got the answers i was looking for. I spent over 2 hours watching the games.. The refs were very strict about keeping googles on in unsafe areas. Always wear googles when approaching a field, unless it has nets up then u will be a bit more safe.. I would recommend bringing bottles of frozen water. i know soda is good, but water is better. Wear long sleeves also as to keep from getting sunburned..
Last edited on Wednesday, August 26th, 2009 at 4:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

badger9 Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: I've been to Pevs Paintball park in Aldie VA three times. Each time I go there, I leave with my wallet a little bit lighter, exhausted but grining happily and reluctant when the park closes. The parking lot is a medium sized gravel lot with plenty of space to unload your gear. Their is a medium sized check in area that is organized like a long concession stand, where you check in and your feild fees (25$ with own equipment, 54 you need to rent), an equipment station to get your 500 paintballs, two pods, Tippmann 98 custom, HPA tank and a mask if renting, a air/co2 fill station, which is included in your feild fee, and a concession stand, which has suprisingly cheap food that tastes good. Then theirs the pro shop, which is again, medium sized. The pro shop contains all sorts of the stuff needed, and then their is a small section with TV, and several chairs for non-players (parents, spectators, younger siblings).

Once your all ready, you must proceed past the "guard" as I like to call him/her. They'll ask to make sure that your using PEVS paint (bought from the feild or a PEVS store. Buy from the store, its cheaper) this is so that nothing like Monsterballs are being used.

Their are two empty spaces that may become possible airball feilds, but for now are used as chrono stations. The airball feild is surrounded with spectator nets, and its a nice field! The bunkers are fully inflated, the turf is secured to the ground, its easy to slide on, its just fun!

Then you get to the sceneario feilds. Theirs four of them, and they all have disticnt differences. Their are two "rock" feilds, one small, smaller than an air ball feild, with one bunker near the middle, with 'rocks' all around the coruse. This one tends to get muddy latter on in the day, so be careful!

across from that is "big Rock" a much larger version of little rock. Once more, their is a bunker in the middle. The team that controls it will usually have an advantage, with the other team barely getting past the mid field unless they take the bunker.

Then, theirs "town". A long urban map, it is moddeled after a wide street, with wooden buildings going down both ends. In the middle their are one or two buildings, and then large hyperball tubes on their sides, that are stuck in the ground. The buildings all have names on them such as "tippmann" "PEVS Gym" and "dye", enough to give you a slight chuckle while walking to your break point, but conveint to let your teammates know where the enemy is.

Finally, theirs "fort." The most physically exahusting of the four scenario fields. It takes place on a hill, with a octagonal fort in the middle with a tower, and one building at each angle. One team starts at the bottom of the hill, with wooden barridaces on their middle nd right, while on their left are LARGE tree stumps. The other team's side has two more sniper towers, with lare tree stumps to cover behind. Also, if your not careful, the opposing team might send a group of guys down through a forestey area with pine trees, and large undergrowth. If you dont see them coming, you'll easily get flanked.

All in all, PEVS is a fun place to go to. The refs are fun to talk with, know the rules, make fair calls, and are OBBSESED with barrel covers and masks when theirs no saftey netting around, which is a good thing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Tuesday, July 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AG Paintball Games (formerly associated with Pev's)
Hogback
Directions
to the Field:
Right off Route 15 just before the Loudoun/Prince William County border. You can't miss it.
Review: Do to no fault of their own I've been waiting for Pev's to open this field. Every time I drive down to Richmond to visit family I pass by it and the itch just kept growing as I would see more and more being done with the field. This past Saturday was my first chance to play.

Parking Lot
The parking lot is very nice, graded gravel with marked out spaces using railroad ties. The ties are set up in such a way that you can back up to it and have space to open the back of your car/truck to set things up as well as put a folding chair down as you are getting ready. There appears to be plenty of parking for daily play and as I understand it for larger tournaments players and spectators will have to be bussed in from elsewhere, luckily there are places within five minutes of the field so I do not see this being a problem.

Pro Shop/Rental/Check In
Pev's has a nice, covered patio area where you can check in, get your rental gear and air up. The patio also has several patio tables with plenty of chairs to sit down and relax and grab a bite to eat, or get out of the sun/heat. I forsee this space being a little small when the park is full, but I hand it to Pev's, the patio is very nice, and overlooks what will be another turf playing surface.

Fields
The field is still new, so as of Saturday there were only two fields set up and ready to play on. A Village field and a speedball field. I didn't get the exact count but there appears to be two grass fields being prepped for play as well as what looks to be another turf speedball field in the works. There also is a "rocks" field being put together with bunkers made of metal rebar covered and chicken wire and shotcrete as well as word of an actual woods field. While they may not have the amount of fields AG does Pev's does appear to have a nice mix of field type, which will be very nice.

I spent my whole day playing on the speedball course. This particular day it was set up X-Ball style, I believe someone said it was the MAO or Chicago set up, sorry for not remembering exactly. All I have to say is wow, the field is incredible. The field is cleaned up before play begins to get excess paint off the field, bunkers are inflated fully as well as being weighted down with water and staked into the ground. It would take a lot to move them. The surface is fast, and if you are a slider be ready to slide early, if you don't someone is going to have a stream of paint waiting for you on the other side. The turf appears to be anchored to the ground very well as I noticed zero bunching or moving of the surface, I had no issues what so ever playing in a pair of grass cleats.

Two tents with a water jug and trash can were also set up right next to the field entrance/exit players can use to stage.

Staff
For those of you that have played AG on a consistent basis you will recognize Marty. Marty was hired by Todd to manage the field and referee staff. I can say I was not dissapointed. Chrono station was set up nice and early and staffed so players did not have to rush to get their markers ready to go for the day. On the field refs were quick to make sure players had goggles on, and barrel covers on when needed. They did a great job of keeping the games going and getting players from the staging area to the field if they were playing. Calls were fair and I can't say I heard one complaint about any of the judges.

With a cost of $20 to play I find this very reasonable for the area. While it may not have the amount of fields AG does, the facilities (albeit new) are well maintained and bring a professional paintball atmosphere to the Northern Virginia area. I definitely see Pev's getting national level tournaments in on a yearly basis and I highly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

4THDEGREE Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AG Paintball
Review: I visited this field as a walk on for a day of play. Upon entering the facility, I was greeted with a generous parking area that is level and appeared to have good drainage. This makes a very good first impression as I did not feel I would need a 4 wheel drive to get out if it started to rain. it was also convenient for pulling my gear bag on wheels as I did not have to drag it through the mud as I tend to take a ton of guns, tanks, tools, etc. The main building is a huge warehouse that has a covered, concrete area with tables and chairs facing the playing areas. The first area you come to is the refreshement area. This is also where you pay your field fees and square up for the day. The second area was the equipment rental area. I saw a sign where you can rent an Ego for the day for $35.00. This was an interesting concept to offer both entry level and high end rentals. All rental guns were outfitted with Dye barrels. Another very interesting variation form most fields I have seen. The last area, and closest to the fields was the air fill station. I find it interesting that the first area you come to off the field is the air fillstation and not the refreshement or pro shop area. This is rather significant as it is the way a player would want it rather than a field owner who wants players to buy extra stuff.

The field we played on was a full sized field with a turf surface. It was in immaculate condition. During the day, there was a stoppage of play to clean the field. I take into account that this is a new field and has not seen a lot of play as of yet, but I would put this operation on a level above the AAPP even though it is an outside operation. I found ti very refreshing to know that we were getting to play on the best field and not bumped off for team practices. All tream practice happened wither befrore open playu or after hours.

The biggest surprise of the day was the reffing. They were very good. They controlled the play and the players. Seemed to be pretty good at making calls, paint checks, controlling safety aspects without being annoying, and definitely kept games going on the field. An interesting twist to me was after the lunch break, everyone was required to re-chrono to get back on the field. I was shocked to learn at the end of the day that none of the refs were team members, or serious players. they were all hired as employees and were trained to be refs. they were very porfessional and very serious about their jobs. A very good example of this was I did see one situation where a player yelled for a paint check. After the game ended the refs came and talked with the players on the field to understand the shot angle so they would better understand how to watch play if players got in the exact shooting situation again. I was very impressed they were willing to learn about shooting angles to try not to miss calls in the future.

The last big surprise came when I went to use the restroom facilities and it was large, clean, well lit, and (drum roll, please) air conditioned. After playing, we sat on the covered area and watched some games and recount our day's play. All employees were seen keeping the facility clean and tidy.

This field was worth every mile I travelled during a 4-1/2 hour trip to play at this field. It lived up to everything I have come to expect from the Pev's organization.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media