paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DEFCON PAINTBALL Field / DEFCON PAINTBALL Field / DEFCON PAINTBALL Field / DEFCON PAINTBALL Field

DEFCON PAINTBALL Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
12Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-849-8000
Address: 3550 VICTORIA PARK AVENUE
SCARBOROUGH, Ontario M2H 2N5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
em1sniper Monday, July 4th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 12th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cameron's Indoor & Outdoor Field, Defcon Indoor & Outdoor, Camp X paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Outdoor field: (Downsview Park)
75 Carl Hall Rd
Toronto, ON M3K 2B9

Indoor field:
3550 Victoria Park Avenue #2, Toronto, ON M2H 2N5, Canada
Review: This review is for the outdoor field at downsview park. This facility was horrible. The day I went was BYOP. They had a portable chronograph which was a hand held and being passed among the players. I am big into safety but no one was there watching or measuring the speed of the marker. I was told that I could measure the speed of the gun at a open area facing out towards an empty field. I thought I had to do it behind the net and no one said anything of the sort. Of course a lot of players were "ramping" their guns. I noticed it because I couldn't believe how many players were pulling the trigger that fast. I saw most of the players who were next to me holding down the trigger and laying down paint. There were a lot of Milsim players and a few speed ball players. The facility had a lot of tables but no cover. It was a little cool that day and the sun would pop in & out. They had all day air but only fill up to 2500-2800 psi. I asked how much air would they fill and was advised up to 3000 psi. During part of the day the compressor was turned off and their were a lot of players trying to fill up tanks. At one point, I intervened because no one was helping any of the players fill their tanks. A lot of the players did not know how to fill up their tank and I had to do it. That was disappointing! I do not work there but I am the one assisting people to fill up their tanks. The biggest downfall was having one field. There were two private games and the general walk on. It was horrible to sit there waiting to play. When the private games weren't playing, the walk-on players were standing around waiting for the next game. Players were complaining and starting their own game. People were trying to to start but the refs would come out and say they needed someone their monitoring the game. Turn around time for a game could range from 30-45 mins. The rental guns did not work half the time. I had a rental (noob) next to me and he did not know how to reset the gun. You would pull the trigger and pull the slide/bolt back to recharge the marker. There were big concrete cylinders, and hills. Nothing much to see. You can check their website and see the maps. No food, water, or wash room facilities in the area. I would not recommend this field because of the lack of amenities, and the lack of games you pay for. I know they have a speed ball field but nothing was set up for play.

The indoor field review:
I went to this field on the 30 June 2011. This field was ok. I would rather go here instead of going to the outdoor field. I called ahead on a Thursday evening to find out if there were people playing. I spoke to Ken and he advised to me there were people playing. When I arrive I see four people playing. There were two adults and two children. Again, I ask the same question. How fast are you shooting your guns for an indoor field. I was told at 250 fps. I am setting up my stuff and find out the four people playing were only going to be there for 2 - 3 games. I start playing and these guys are "ramping" there guns. I brought two guns. A pump and my race marker. I play with the pump because I believe it would be better. We start the first gun and it was very slow. The field is sandy inside and very dark. You are actually pretty close to each other when you start shooting. One individual brought a paint ball grenade. The facility is clean and wash rooms are available. They did have a pro shop but no one was there monitoring the facility. There were just tables to put your stuff and no chairs. Lockers were to the side. After the 4 people were gone I had to play with two little kids. The whole day was disappointing because I thought there would be more players and better competition. I would recommend this play due to the staff and the facility. Things were clean and you could get a lot more games. I wish the staff was a little more accurate when talking about coming to play. I would give this place a 5/10.
Last edited on Monday, July 4th, 2011 at 3:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

'Ol Paintless Monday, January 3rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt. Splatters
Paintball City
CQB
...arg cant remember the other one... Its a greek themed place on the website...
Directions
to the Field:
Out of your way.
Review: The staff was very nice. The proshop was good. The decor in the staging area is cool. The field is kinda neat. Small, lots of angles and.. ugh.. concrete. Lots of concrete. I was using a 16 inch JJ ceramic barrel. I kept hitting it off the close quarters concrete cr@p all over the place.

The REF: He was a nice kid but got too complicated with his games. They ended up not being too fun because he kept trying to engineer new games. It was a little disappointing. I would go again now that I have a 3 inch barrel to try out but my wheel man doesn't want to go anymore. He would give it a worse review than me.

7, too much concrete for too little space.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajm18 Sunday, August 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Paintball Nation, and sargent splatters I would Rate natin 4/10, Splatters 6.5/10 and Defcon 8.5/10
Directions
to the Field:
.
Review: I really Enjoyed my experience at Defcon Indoor. Very Friendly people :) Great feild with lots of cover. Paint was awsome broke with little pain and was for a great price... COME CHECK IT OUT. No food but they do sell water and pop. The pro Shop was great as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zixman Saturday, January 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters, Defcon is Much more better in my Opinoin.
Paintball City
Wasaga Beach paintball
Directions
to the Field:
I forgot got driven there but isn't to hard to find, Check there web site.
Review: Safety: It's pretty safe there, they are always with the safety rule and never want sombody to be hurt while not in game.

Field: The field is actually really good, they put a new lay out there alot of hiding spots and open areas good for running and hiding
Hours of Operation: 9 -12?

Prices: therer prices are mcuh much more better then sgt splatters ill tell you
I got a case for 160, best case i ever bought, excluding wasaga =]

Services: They have indeed reallty nice services

Proshop: It's canadian paintball, so they basically have everything.

Staff: Amazingly nice for example, i need a fill on my co2, they dident do co2 so i asked if i can borrow a hpa tank, they said Yea just bring it back when your done i was like THANK YOU SOO MUCH. but there staff, Most chillied and advice giving people you'l meet.

Ref: They actually ref they check you, and actually pick good games =]

Players: everybody there was really nice, we all just wanted to enjoy the fun of paintball =]

food: None but theres drinks =]

To make a conclusion, Defcon is a really nice place they arn't rude and they have patience , I'll say they are much more better then sgt splatters., Defcon you deserve a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bL^ Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time playing in the GTA.
Directions
to the Field:
Exit Victoria Park Ave. off the 401 stay on it for about 4-5 minutes you will approach it on your left, go down the ramp, back up the ramp and there is parking the back. The field is at the bottom of the ramp.
Review: Safety: Mask; Neck Guard are required while on the field, Barrel covers are required in the staging area and all areas other than the field; Chrono to 250fps.

Prices: Standard pricing but have half price days on friday's where a case is $70 instead of $140. Overall pricing is competitive to other fields I've been to and overall reasonable.

Services: All admissions include Unlimited Air/CO2, drinks are available, rental guns of various levels are available, private parties available

Proshop: Not finished ATM

Staff: Staff are good, the owner is a great guy.

Refs: reffing is fair for the most part. Games could be started a little quicker but it was busy and needed to split teams every round because there was a private party after each open game and people were coming and going throughout the night.

Players: While I was there everyone was nice, no complaining about reffing or other players just a bunch of people there to have a good time.

Facilities: The facility is a really nice place, staging area is decorated nicely, The field is all sand floor and the bunkers are sand bag piles + Support pillars of the building. Staging area was swept frequently and was kept clean. One problem I had with the building though is it was EXTREMELY HUMID in there. I don't know if this was because of the sand had moisture, or just all the paintballs moisture but it could really use some commercial air exchangers to keep the air fresh and dry.

Food: I dont know if food was available as I did not need or ask for any, but you can get drinks (water pop etc..)

I would definitely go back to this field if I am back in the GTA for some paintballing, it was very fun and different since it was all sand and sand bag bunkers rather than astro turf and air bunkers, they have some scenario type game styles and typical elimination, sometimes cut the lights to change thing up a bit . The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because of the extreme humidity out on the field (staging area isn't bad at all) Otherwise I would give it a 10 easily.

They are also working on opening and outdoor field I believe this summer; I would absolutely like to try that out if I'm down in the summer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MarcoDC7 Monday, March 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt. Splatters - There is no comparison, Defcon beats Sgt. Splatter
Directions
to the Field:
Check site
Review: My friend and I, when we decided to find a new field that didn't cost half a fortune for two shots *coughsplatterscough*, we came across Defcon. We looked at the field and it was awesome! I'd say it was half the size of Sgt. Splatters, with about a quarter of the attendance making some great matches. Well, seeing as the golden rule is always in big supply, my gun broke down before I could even use it... so I talked to the guys over the counter for any help. They offered me advice but said I should wait until they're techie arrived at SIX O'CLOCK. My one of two gripes with Defcon; the techie comes in a little too late for me. Luckily, these guys were awesome nice and loaned me one of their guns, free of charge.

It was a half price day, so the price was $5 for a hundred... WAY better than Sgt. The refs actually, you know, refed. They called us out when we were hit, did paint checks, etc.When the techie did show up, he looked at my gun and after about half an hour did what he could, and told me what I should do when I got home. Once again, free of charge. The guys there were really nice, guys you could joke around with and did NOT insult you, unlike...others.

Anyhow, the games that we played were the regular team elimination and then their specialty capture the nuke. You had to bring a heavy ass box from its start point back to your base, open it and retrieve the 'nuke', then rush to the dropoff point to put it down. Thus winning the game. You had unlimited respawns, so you could go nuts. The field had plenty of cover, at times a little too much, but nothing too annoying. The sand and bag bunkers were surprisingly clean. Oh, you could also, PRAISE THE LORD, see the field. It was well lit.

My final gripe is its location; we had to take an hour and a half bus ride (compared to 20 minute walk to Sgt.), then you have to go down a hill, pull a 180 then open the door... my friend and I missed it the first time around and circumvented the building. >_<

This field definitely beats out Sgt. Splatters, but its distance is a bit of a nuisance. Better price, better field, better employees, overall a better place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jzaragoza Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters, Gladiators Paintball field.
Directions
to the Field:
The main intersection is Mcnicoll and Victoria Park. It is at the north west corner of that intersection. It is an underground facility with plenty of parking at the back of the building or in the parking garage(accessible on the north side of the complex).
Review: Defcon's field is a hybrid milsim/speedball field. The layout is well thought of and changes every so often. The Staff is fantastic! Fair and friendly!

It is a sand based field with sandbag piles for cover. The field is power washed weekly.
The staging area is still underdevelopment but so far its great! There is a small pro shop with EXCELLENT prices.

Generally I would say this is the best indoor field in Toronto.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flying dude Thursday, December 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters
Directions
to the Field:
There is a map on their site, but to get in the building you can use the door right across from the big Defcon paintball sign, or park in the underground parking building (in the plaza with the buffet) and go down a floor, and there is a door to the right of the Defcon sign on the wall.
Review: For starters, neck guards are mandatory and are available to rent, which is included in the safety talk before you start paintballing.

The field is well-lit, sand base, sand bags, barrels and pillars for cover. Each side of the field has 2 bunkers made out of sandbags and there is lots of cover throughout the field.

The field and the rest of the building is very clean, including their rental equipment and even their washrooms. (the field is cleaned really well every Monday)

Their rental guns consist of A5's, Tippman 98's, Tippman bravo 1's, and a few speedball markers (pmr I think).

The staff is very friendly and have lots of experience with paintball so they can help you if you have any marker troubles.

The pro shop is still under construction but they still have a lot to sell and will even order something for you if they don't have it.

It is pretty cheap to play here, especially on half price days, air or co2 are always free when you need a fill and they use good quality paint.

When I went there we played elimination, capture the flag, president or vip.

Also, it was half price day (Tuesday) so it got busy at around 6:30 -7, which is when we started playing. They were supposed to close at 11pm that day but we ended up leaving our final game at 12:30 even though we only had 4 hours of admission they didn't mind.

They are also making 4 new outdoor fields in april that will be 150 acres in total.

They stay open pretty late which is good, usually 11pm during the week and 12am on the weekends.

So overall I give this field a 10/10 and I look forward to going back again. This field seemed to work well with speedball and tactical when I went so it should work for a lot of paintballers (or airsoft players on Mondays)
Last edited on Thursday, December 4th, 2008 at 11:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wild20000 Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
Used Gps and address on websight and had no problems.
Review: Staff: Staff is nice and friendly and really helpful. I was concerned about my marker breaking there paint and they allowed me to have 5 to check it out before buying the paint.

Paint: This field is using high grade Xo and other high brands of paint. There paint cost is high for this reason and i agree its worth it if the paint is good.

Safety: Rules are mostly the same as all feilds indoors and i skimmed over them quickly as i got there. I seen after one ref saying them to a new group but i never got this treatment but i have a feeling it will be done for all players.

Field: The field layout is classed as scenario but i would almost class it a mix. Why i say this is because since the sand bags are almost shoulder hight for most adult players little kids hide so well behind them. To me i almost classed each game as whack a mole waiting for a player to pop up his head up. Or the common tactic is dumping lots of paint behind a bunker hoping to hit someone. The layout of sandbags are interesting but the strong side is always the left as you walk in. They need to open up the right side more because it a channel of death to move forward from break. Also the field is all sand.

Proshop: Still under construction

Facilities: It is a nice walk along the right side of the field in a protected area to get the the washrooms. They are all the way at the back right. For males all we have is a single toilet and a urinal. There is a female washroom but i didn't go in for obvious reasons.

Hours of operations: The times are nice and there open late to let everyone have fun.

Food: They had drinks and other food items but all snack stuff to my eye. I was happy with just a water anyways.

Staging Area: The staging area is still under construction but the improvement is still there. There using nice rental markers compared to other feilds. They have tables and plastic chairs to sit on. Only problem i had was the paper towels vanished fast. I had to rely on my own to wipe down my stuff. For awhile there we had none and this was a turn off for me.

Parking: Parking is located in front of the building and underground parking attached to the building. I took advantage of this parking because its convenient and only 2 doors separated the parking from your car. The parking is on the 2nd ground floor and the entrance is on one of the sides of the building. The hole building is one big building. There is a sign locating where the field is inside the parking garage.

Overall: I would probably not go back because of the speed side of this field. To me its to square and to plain. The lighting is acceptable but the sand and sand bags turned me off. If they added more difrent objects to make it more a scenario field I might look back into it. This is just my opinion others have difrent views in a field. So i gave it a 7 for overall its a nice field but there is to much that needs to be done and fixed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeffb113 Saturday, September 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters
Gladiators
Eastie Boyz

Directions
to the Field:
404 to steeles
steeles to victoria park
all the way down to victoria park and mcnicoll
in the same building as an ice rink, at the bottom of the ramp
Review: I went to Defcon Paintball today, its extremely close to my house so i wanted to check it out. Kind of tricky to find but got there in the end
We were greeted by very nice staff, they were happy to help us out with whatever we needed. The place has just started up so it ended up just being me and my friend there for a bout 2 hours or so where we played a bunch of 1 on 1 games that were still tons of fun.
The facilities are extremely well-kept and clean, the rental guns were organized very neatly almost all of them brand new and very well-kep so far. The staff were extremely nice, they gave me and my friend ome free drinks.
The ref was nice and very sharp, my friend shot him by accident but he kept his cool. He layed down all the safety rules before we played and made sure all of them were followed.

The field layout is tons of sand bags stacked into bunkers, barrels and pillers. The game types were reall fun, some of them creative and interesting.

FOR PRICES CHECK OUT WEBSITE WWW.DEFCONPAINTBALL.CA

The owner told me about some of the UPCOMING ADDITIONS:

-speedball field
-more food variety
-proshop
-paintball school with classroom



Overall, I had an amazing day the staff were EXTREMELY nice and talkative, The field and guns were very well-kept and clean, and the prices werent to bad. I WOULD DEFINITLY RECOMMEND YOU GO TO THIS FIELD.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media