paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Triggertyme Paintball Field / Triggertyme Paintball Field / Triggertyme Paintball Field / Triggertyme Paintball Field

Triggertyme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
36Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 429 Koon Store Road
Columbia, South Carolina 29203
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Mootho Saturday, December 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballbuters
Review: This is classic woodsball, with large trees, big fields, and rolling terrain. There are also a number of scenario fields, like the “Airport,” “Bunker Hill,” the “Island,” and the “Village” that provide for a wide variety of games and play-styles. There is a speedball field, but we didn’t play it. As a walk on player, I was able to join a group and had a good day. The field paint was Visible Impact, which apparently is Wal-Mart brand, but seemed to be decent enough for rec-ball; 10$ for 500. Field fee was 10$ A 20$ fee to use your own paint.

Pros: Great fields. Large, mature hardwoods, rolling terrain, good for fire and maneuver play. The scenario fields also provided for interesting and varied games. Staff were very helpful, and facilitated a good day of playing. We were encouraged to take paint with us on to the field so we didn’t have to trek back between games, and they do have a CO2 fill station in a netted off area out on the fields.

Cons: Very poorly run logistically. When I arrived, I was met by (literally!) a 10-year-old who was “running” the desk. All other staff were out with parties. To his credit, he did his best, but I felt very awkward having to conduct a transaction with someone who I am sure has yet to master basic math. The facilities are very primitive. The building is a ramshackle old trailer redolent with the stink of decaying paintballs, and was indeed without power. I had to write down my credit card number on the back of the release waver. The bathroom was wherever you wished to whip it out. I am not sure what any ladies who happened to be playing would do… There was no HPA, only CO2, and there were no plans to have the compressor repaired anytime soon. Apparently, the clientele of this field are group parties and such for whom the difference between the two doesn’t matter, and who rely on the rental guns. One party had Spyders, A5s, etc, with HPA bottles, who had to rent guns because of the unavailability of air. The chrono “station” is simply the yellow Hand Held Sports Chrono that you hang from your muzzle. Safety seemed to be better than described by other reviews here, but could be better. I found myself filling the role of unofficial safety officer, as I occasionally had to remind everyone to plug their guns before removing their masks. Apparently, the use of the safety catch on the marker is one of the approved safety techniques. All day CO2 was 10$, which seemed high to me. There were only 2 refs, and one of those was assigned to a private party. I guess that’s why Mr. 4th grader was running the shop.

All in all, I had a good day in spite of the cons I have mentioned here. (But a bad day playing paintball is better than a good day doing a lot of other mundane things…) In a way, this felt like a large-scale Outlaw ball operation in a buddy’s back yard, but one where you had to pay. The fields are big and nice for great woodsball. But paintball fields should have basic minimums, like electricity, a credit card reader, and HPA. The prices were a little high for what you get. So bottom line: Pretty good for play, but don’t expect much in the way of facilities.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spanky01 Friday, October 1st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballbusters paintball(SC) Paintball Charleston(SC), Low country paintball(GA), painted woods(SC), boss paintball(NC), Command decision(NC), Bear claw paintball(TN).
Directions
to the Field:
HORRIBLE!!!!WORST EVER!!!!
Review: I was appalled by this field. There was NO REF'S, NO CHRONOGRAPH, AND Barrel condoms where an option if you had one use it if you want if not it seemed to be and ok thing.......They where selling wal-mart VISIBLE IMPACT PAINTBALLS FOR $50 A CASE(2000). It is from wal-mart. It is sold at wal-mart for $29.99 a case(2000). I would not recommend anyone ever going to this field please. I will NEVER FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE GO BACK TO THIS FIELD OR TAKE ANYONE THERE EVER!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

obsidian_tower Tuesday, April 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballbusters - Fewer fields, better managed
Review: Went out to TriggerTyme for the first time this Saturday and had a mixed experience.

The fields are the best feature and are excellent and varied. Clearly a lot of work was put into setting them up. There are many different layouts and no two games were the same. Good use was made of natural terrain and there are some great artificial structures in place. I enjoyed the different scenarios like the Alamo, a single flag capture game with defenders in a fort at the top of a hill and attackers coming up the hill, and the Island, a two-story building across a creek that was difficult to breach.

Prices were reasonable, $20 for field fee if you have your own paint, and $30 if you need a bag of paint, then $50/box after that.

The refs were friendly and helpful and were very good on safety: instructing us when to pick up/put down markers, when to remove barrel plugs and safetys, and when to keep masks on/off. However, there were not enough barrel plugs to go around even though there were only perhaps 2 dozen people there at most, many of whom had their own equipment. Many people, including younger players with little safety discipline, played without a barrel plug all day, which was unnerving to say the least

My primary problem with the experience was that the pace of the day was too slow. The refs take you back to the camp between each round and the hikes can be long. WIth so many fields you have to have a long hike, but I would've preferred to carry some paint with me instead of going back each time. I have played at Ballbusters and most people carry paint refills with them, and only go back to camp when they are running low on air. There was only one ref for our group who seemed to be the only one doing air refills and equipment changeouts. In addition, a large group showed up after lunch and no other refs were present so we all had to wait for a long time for them to get outfitted and ready. Our group arrived around 10:30 - 11:00 and stayed until about 5:30. We played 5 woodsball rounds averaging less than 1 per hour. Of this about 10-15 minutes was play and the other 45 was walking, refilling, and waiting. We also squeezed in 2 speedball rounds at the end of the day which were good fun.

TriggerTyme's shop was also inadequately stocked. There was no paint to purchase when we arrived so we had to wait about an hour for the other staff member to return with more paint. That paint soon ran out and they had to send out for more paint when the large group showed up, causing more delays.

Overall the play fields are the best feature but I would like to see them decrease downtime: 1) have more ref's on duty, and 2) load some CO2 tanks on a truck and take them out to the fields, and not have to go back each time. I spent most of the day sitting around which was not how I wanted to spend my Saturday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fieldname:_Waga Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: ok, as of a few weeks ago, three or four , Triggertyme has come under NEW management. there seem to be three actual employee's at one time, instead of one and a ref. they are getting used to running the field, but have potential. i went a few weeks ago, and they had thrown out all the excess boxes of skittles and gotten better paint. a split green and purple shell, sorry but i don't know what it was called. a freind of mine just got back from the field and said they were handing out skittles again. i will edit later to determine what paint they plan to sell. the fields are fun, the regulars are nice, funny, and ready to help everyone have a good time. a new addition to the field is a SAFTEY BREIFING FOR EVERYONE! much better than the twenty-second speech when you rent your gun. they rent out tippmann 98 C, and all guns have a barrel condom/plug on rental. CO2 and HPA fills all day, from 10 till about 5, or when everyone leaves. the site may be a little discouraging when you pull up, but you go to a field for a good time, not for looks.

Conclusion, for thirty bucks, you either get rentals and 500 rounds, or all your awn stuff, including paint. (10 field fee, 20 for your own paint per person) This field will only get better with time, and the moving of the center compound will mean less walking time between fields. look for teem White Trash next time you go!

Waga
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tollin Saturday, January 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Ballbusters, which is a little too far out of the way.
Directions
to the Field:
Koon Store Road, orange mailbox, impossible to miss.
Review: I will agree with every post here saying that the place does, in fact, look run down. It is, at most, laid back, and at worst, unprofessional. There is a lack of intent on upkeep of the infrastructure of the "compound" as the prep area is called, which is a shame because of how much potential the place has.

There are mainly five fields that the refs choose to go to, out of around eighty eight acres. The others are quite a walk from the compound and are considered a waste to walk back and forth for air and paint. The "Village" is an assortment of about six or seven plywood structures, both one and two stories, with windows and doorways. Bunker tag rules apply. The "Island" is a depression in the field with a large raised structure used to defend against a larger attacking team. The "Tower" is the same as the island, with more man-made cover than brush, mainly used for a hostage rescue game. The "airfield" is probably what has the most work put into it, containing a large downed airplane made of wood, and a real jeep, probably from the Korean war. Lastly, Antietam consists of basic woodsball, with little to none man-made cover, mostly trees, very close to the compound. Overall, the fields are pretty fun, with no easily noticable advantage to either side.

The refs are friendly, and seasoned paintball players themselves. Usually right in the middle of the fight to provide paintchecks and keep everything friendly for both teams.

Paint is fifty dollars for 2000 rounds, which isn't too bad. Field fees are reasonable, somewhat leniant for 5+ player groups.

Overall Triggertyme is a moderate experience that could be made infinitely times better with a little dedication from the management.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ballin191 Monday, November 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, i am a fesh, new paintballer
Directions
to the Field:
Im not really sure where the field was because i was asleep the whole way there. Im pretty sure it was in Columbia SC though.
Review: It was my friends birthday , so he invited me and a couple of other friends to go paintballing for his birthday. Ive never been paintballing before so i was hoping my first time would be a good one. First off, the entrance at TT s seems to share a driveway with a house, so when my friends parents told us we were there, i was a bit confused.

2nd. Even though ive never been to a paintball field, the place seems a little run down. What people were calling a Pro-Shop was nothing but a little trailer park house. But still it was convenient that it had everything we needed to play.

3rd. They have really great deals on prices and group packages, i can't really remember but i think the walk on prices are free, and for $25, they give you everyting you need to play (Guns*standard field issue tippman 98's or BT 4's), all day air/co2, and and 500 rounds paintball per person. And they sell additional paintballs packs for $47.17 a box*2000 paintballs* all they have is the 2000 round package and unfortunately, you cant bring your own paint. You can probably save around $10 if u bring ur own gun. And the only real way to drain your wallet at this place depends on how much paint you shoot.

4th. The field(s): I dont know if they had any speedballs fields, but they had a really nice woodsball field, 88 acres in size to be in fact. The field has a lot of artificial cover(bunkers, mounds, houses, trenches, defensive structures etc.) However, the natural cover was a bit inadequate. The trees are to thin and you can easily shoot through them, the only way they do provide considerable cover is when they are bunched together. However, the field does seemed to be balanced between natural cover and unatural. Overall, its a good field to play on. One more problem i have with the field is that both the insert points on the field are on the south. So most of the action takes place in the southern 1/3 of the field.

5th. Other players: There were a couple dozen players that day at between, 35-48 people. About 8 of the players there are what other people are calling regulars, the regualrs there are some of the nicest people have ever met. They are always happy to greet new players such as myself, so they made me feel right at home. Another 15-20 people were called the occassionals, these people here only come to play every once in a while. The TT occasionals are a friendly bunch of people, but not as friendly as the TT regualrs, ive noticed however that they're quick to judge based soley on appearance. The remaining bulk of players are what the other players are calling groups. These particualr TT groups are kind of shady in nature and the seemed to keep to themselves.

6th Rules and saftey: First off, your PB gun must be chronoed at 280 fps or lower. You must also keep your mask on at all times while on the field. And when you are not playing, you must have a barrel plug in at all times. If you dont have one, dont sweat it, they will be more than happy to temporarily lend you one. The refs take saftey really seriously. So you can be sure that you are in a safe enviroment.

Conclusion: Despite the many setbacks i have come across, the good times vastly outweigh the setbacks. This was my first time paintballing and TT was able to show me that paintballing is a fun sport. So i do intend to become a regular paintballer here as soon as i can get my own gear. I give this place a solid 10 score.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

onecaribou Saturday, April 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: ** updates added **

My brother and I made our way out to Trigger Tyme Saturday 4/5/2008 and we really enjoyed ourselves. We came with low expectations .. the weather was terrible, we were running late and we left laughing and having enjoyed a great day of play.

Even though it was raining (sometimes really hard) and we were late (noon) we were able to get in close to 5 hours woodsball play. There were about 20 players.

The Refs were knowledgeable and fair. We played an excellent variety of games. The number and quality of the fields had expanded significantly since our last visit 2 years ago. There was a relaxed and really friendly atmosphere.

Del, the field manager was really helpful and took an active role in ensuring even the youngest players had a good experience.

Field paint (Diablo Heat) was decent and reasonably priced as was the field fee.

HPA and Co2 fills were available and quickly dispersed.

I highly recommend Trigger Tyme.


********************************************
Return visit : 4/12/2008

I paid another review to TriggerTyme with some guys from work and a member of my extended family. We had a good time but things seemed to run a bit slow between games. There were some large church groups playing so the walkons/recballers had just one ref for about 20 of us. We got about 5 games in during our 7 hour visit.

There were three items of serious concern I noted during this visit:

- No Crono?!! - that's right TT had no working chronograph during our visit. I don't doubt that at least a couple guys were shooting hot. I sure hope I wasn't. I can only imagine what would happen if someone were to get seriously injured due to a high FPS mask hit.

- No rental barrel plugs - What? Yep, the renters (perhaps due to a large church group in attendance) had no barrel plugs. I ended up wearing my mask most of the day for fear of some kid misfiring. This was a scary situation.

- No weighing at the Co2 fill station. They filled by 'feel'. When I asked about how they could tell the CO2 fills were correct I was told that they were probably substantially overfilled and that at long as the burst disks were ok there was nothing to worry about..

This issues all left me feeling concerned. I love TT and we again had a great time on their excellent fields but the lack of attention to these matters left me feeling that safety was not a priority.

I'm going to visit TT again soon and I'll report if these were a one time anomaly or a persistent problem. If they aren't resolved I think my friends, family and I need to find a new field.

----
6-21-2008

We finally made it back to TT today and the safety issues seem to be resolved.

Strict enforcement of barrel plug rules, a working chrono and extra care taken at the co2, hpa fill station.

We had a great time to boot. There were some nice people playing and we had a great time.
Last edited on Saturday, June 21st, 2008 at 2:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

igotballs34 Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
I-20 towards Florence to 321. First right after road turns into 2 lane on Koon Store Rd. Left at big orange mail box, you have to be an idiot not to see it.
Review: It doesn't look like much when you pull up, but looks can be decieving. The compound area had plenty of room to set up and get everything ready for play. It had a nice area for cronographing your marker and making sure everything was ready. The pro shop had anything I needed, when my marker failed in the first game, they let me use one of theirs free of charge. The employees are friendly and knowlegable and nice, as well as the players and regulars. Everyone ended up friends after the day was over. All of the games were nice and organized and an equal opportunity was given to each player. It is a great field to play for any level paintballer. Safety was enforced with the utmost importance, the fields were awesome, everything from a little town to a two story fort with a moat around it and an airstrip. 80 something acre's of woods to play on was awesome. Plenty of bunkers to use to your advantage as well as natural trees and mounds. I will definitely be back to play here more often, me and everyone I was with had a blast and are still talking about it hours later! Wonderful place to spend an exciting afternoon for a reasonable price!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tdogg77 Tuesday, October 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None - this was my first time.
Directions
to the Field:
From I-20 take the Monticello Road exit north, pass a run-down bar on the left after about two miles, right on Koon Store Road. Looks like (and is) the driveway to a house.
Review: This place is pretty run down, but in the end I had a really great time there. When I turned into the driveway I thought, 'surely this isn't it,' but it was. The field shares a driveway with someone's house. There is trash everywhere, and basically everything from the picnic tables to the pro shop is old and messed up. I wasn't expecting a country club, but clearly the owner is not putting even a minimum effort into making it look nice. The 'pro shop' is basically a semi-abandoned trailer home, and does not sell anything but paint. The only nice thing is the fill station.

I got there right at 10, when they open, but for some reason we didn't start playing until about 12:30. I felt like a jackass just sitting there for 2.5 hours. After we got started, though, we played until I was ready to quit.

All that aside, there were some great people to play with--everyone was a good sport and the games were fun. There was a lot of good cover in the woods, with natural dirt mounds, ridges and trees. There are a lot of smaller trees and brush that make you think strategically before shooting. It is a big field! Most of the buildings were usable as designed.

This was a fun place to play, and the people were really friendly. Safety was enforced. I did see some small post holes in some areas, for no apparent reason, which are pretty dangerous, but people did use barrel plugs, and kept their masks on. I will be back soon--it's right around the corner from my house. If they had 5 guys working for one full day the place could be cleaned up and looking sharp, except maybe for the 'pro shop.' All in all I recommend it. Despite its appearance it is really fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dunno, I'm from Florida. I came up just for one scenario.
Directions
to the Field:
I was lost so many times....
The sign that says "TriggerTyme" is covered with bushes and small, so good luck.
Review: This place is huge. It's 80-something acres, which is frankly kind of silly, the way they have it set up. There are two insertion points, and they are both at the very south end of the field. As a result, nearly all of the combat takes place in the southern 1/4 of the field. The only real reason to head north is to accomplish objectives or try to walk the tape line (we tried this once and it took us over 45 minutes). It's probably a good thing that most of the action takes place in the south, because the northern half of the field is fairly barren of anything. Few small bunkers, only a couple buildings and lots of large, sweeping hills.

The bunkers and towns and villages in the south are pretty cool though. The bases are fairly easily defend able if done correctly. There's even an "island". It's a fairly intricate multilevel town with a small stream going around it that acts like a moat. This area has by far the best cover on the entire field, which isn't saying much. Soft cover here is still fairly sparse compared to a place like Wayne's World or even the forest surrounding the field.

The main reason why I don't like this field is that there is absolutely no sneak attacks. There is little to no ground cover over 95% of the place, with marginally dense but small trees. There is not enough cover to conceal any attack force larger than a single small child. The majority of the trees are than 8" in diameter, and provide little cover individually, but stacked up over distance of 100 feet, they are impossible to shoot through. Almost any attacking force is easily visible far before the are within engagement range, making battles fairly tedious and predictable. Battles on this field tend to waste a lot of paint. At $70 a case for Empire Engage, which is not horrible paint in how it marks, but could use some improvement on the flight characteristics, the cost of playing more than an afternoon here runs up pretty quick..

The staff was pretty helpful. My buddy broke a fill nipple, and they were real nice about trying to help. However, they didn't have the part in the pro shop. They didn't have much of anything in there, actually. And you can only rent LP HPA tanks, cuz it's all they have. So if you have a Tippmann or other HP marker and your tank fails, you're up a creek.

I would say that the reffing was excellent, but that can't be attrubuted to TriggerTyme. Lumpis, the self proclaimed Ultimate Referee from Wayne's World brought his crew up for the officiating duties, seeing as the scenario I was there for was presented by Wayne Dollack. Anyone who's been to a Wayne's tournament will know who I'm talking about.... "YES LUMPIS!!"

I do have to say one really good thing about TriggerTyme, though. They have the best smelling Port-o-Johns I've ever been in. No joke.

All in all, I wasn't too pleased with the tournament, and I doubt I'll be retuning anytime in the foreseeable future. And it's not just the 11-12 hour drive from Miami that's stopping me either.
Last edited on Monday, July 30th, 2007 at 12:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media