paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field

Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
62Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (812) 386-6827
Address: 2477W 50N
Princeton, Indiana 47670
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Clutch2007 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I loved it, first time ever goin to this field. it was amazing the people there are real friendly. the staff is amazing, thanks Pops for working my gun and fixing it. i plan on starting to go there a lot more often and some time in the near future taking the ref course thats offered there.

shop had an excellent selection of items to choose from. Seans team and himself were really great players they got a good future ahead of them. so I wish them good luck.

Food was the best i've had in a long time. sloppy joes beats anyones i've ever had. pricing on the equipment and misc. items was reasonably fair.
Last edited on Monday, September 4th, 2006 at 7:12 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghostinthewood Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Review: I mostly woodsball in a woods two miles outside of Washington so I rarely go to SSS. THe first time was when they had more teams sponsored and had them as refs. The ref that was always with us got bored and left which left the door wide open for a ton of cheaters. Which is what happened. Still had a blast though.

THe second time i was down there my friend dropped off my cocker so they could fix it. They did, we walked the field and left.

I went again today to play with Sean and his team. They kicked our butts but they were a great group of guys so we had a blast. We were soposed to leave around noon but we got home after 6. Guys trading and trying out each others guys, loaning gear, giving each other tips, its was a great day.

The proshop/store they have is always great. Tons of parts, handful of guns for sale(like Seans custom Shocker). Pops is great. Every time I've went hes helped somone out for free. Every time I saw him he was making sure people were havin fun. He even came out after a game to make sure we were doin fine.

The field has a hyperball field and two speedball fields made of spools, crates, and some wood plates. THe air ball fields are inside a shed they made, i didnt go to that though. The Alamo was a base with bunkers all around it as well as some weeds that could be used for ambushes or other sneaky manuevers for either team. Across the way from that is the 'town' with a ton of 3-sided buildings with windows cut out. Thats always interesting because somtimes you forget the windows are there while your playing a wall, or vis versa. Theres a 'courthouse' in the center with about 5 seperate rooms in that. The woods field is across the train tracks. Its alright because even though its rather open(as far as soft cover goes) it has some spools and stuff in it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sinnerstarr Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
warzone
friendly fire
and stuff
Review: this is a great field one of the best... nice people nice fields... just plain and simple a GREAT time... i just dont get what this whole controversy is about over all the fields in the area... dont we all play paintball?... and isnt paintball fun?... it could be worse and we could no tbe playin this sport at all... why can tall the fields get along and just forget about the burdens of teams and whose better and all of that... the local fields need to start up their own league or series where everyone is friends and gets along... cuz it seems to me that everytime someone loses or doesnt get their way the complain and say the field sux... i personally will play anywhere against anyone as long as i am playin... think about it like that layers and enjoy yourselves.... THIS FIELD ROX TRY ALL THE OTHERS AROUND THE AREA
LATER ALL
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

acidcustom Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
have played at no other fields in this area
But I am holiday for 5 weeks from Australia and am touring with my wife and son, and playing ball with my son as we work our way around the States
Directions
to the Field:
easy to find and we do not even know our way around the local area
just follow the web sites directions
Review: Arrived at field and found the Pro-shop right away , nice and cool on these very hot days, watched the video on what to do and Pops filled us in the rest of the field rules.
We went for the upgrade to the Autocockers X 2 as we have both played with these before , the markers where in good condition and came with Dye barrels so they shot where you wanted them too , the one my son had developed a leak from the HPR so it was changed without any hassle this went to the chrono for setting but the LPR was all over the place back to the Pro-shop and it was changed again for an ION . This was Pops grandson's Jacob's back up gun and he said if that didn't work then we will get a brand new one out the box for us to play with , can't get any better than that .

PRICES
We were not charged the full price for the upgrade to the Autocockers , Revos and air bottles and the first 100 balls each , Total cost was $65 for 2 autocockers packages and a box of paint which is a very good price

FIELDS
Played on the Speed ball field which was a combination of spools various sizes and these Plastic boxes about 3'x3'x5' high it was a fast field once you got the layout sorted played this one 3 times
Played next on the town field which was fun I was the last one left on my side thought the guy in the hut in front of me was on my team but he was not as I found out after my son back doored me and went on to take the guy in the hut in front and found out it was one of his own team but he was facing the wrong way and was going to shoot him anyway
Last field we played on was the Hyperball field played this 3 times also the locals say there's not enough barricades but the field is just a bit bigger than the rest and it is very playable once you get into it . On the last game it was just my son and 4 of the opposition left a bit one sided only when you don't know my son 3 came at him but not all together bad move 1 came for the head bang that didn't work he was sent walking then 2 tried it the next time he took 1 then the other and then the last player thought he had to be out and just started walking from his bunker bad move my son went to his right asked him to surrender but recieved no answer so just put 1 in his butt , he was not too happy about that as he thought it was all over, was fun to watch 4 on 1 and the under dog won.
The field team was having a practise on Sunday at 7-30am and we were invited to play if we wanted didn't need to be asked twice we were there. Pop gave us paint at team price and we were set up with a Shocker each to play with for NO charge. Had a ball , hard , fast paintball at it's best no surrender rules just in your face balling , this was great

REFS
they were good , they didn't have to do much as everyone was honest and when shot they were out of there straight away, checked paint checks when asked , kept the play flowing,

FACILITES
Good

FOOD
You can't get better anywhere , Peter cooks up the best food on any field , it is fresh and hot and hits the spot.
When we went on the Sunday there was a selection of cerals there for the early birds who came out for the Team practise and any other early birds who came for play at 9am

PRO-SHOP
Sold all the usual stuff plus more , Shawn, Pop's son is a certified air smith so he can fix any gun which is good as this keeps the customers happy when problems ocurr and that can spoil your day of play

PAINT
We were shooting the STINGER it is fresh the next day from PMI and it shot straight and was consistent and broke on impact everytime .

CONCLUSION
If you want a good days balling and are in the Tri-State area pay Silver Spur a visit you won't be disappointed
Prices are good and cheap
And last but not least Pop's, Shawn, Jacob and the guys thanx for a great time we will be in contact soon . You guys ROCK

Here's a thought for all you guys who think PAINT is Expensive at $70-$90 USD as in Australia the Rec players have to pay $150 USD for a box if they buy the whole box and it is $230 USD if he buys it by the pod , and the paint is not fresh it is at least 8 weeks old if lucky as it has spent 6 weeks on a ship and then it spends time in customs and then time at the supplier to the fields so it could be between 8-12 weeks before the player gets it

enjoy your Paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sheik Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painball Paradise- Not nearly as much field space, and the food is expensive.
Review: This Field is probably the best i have played on yet. There are 7 fields including the

Indoor airball.
One Hyperball
2 Speedball
One Fortress/Alamo/Bunker Assault
One Town
One Woodball Area
One Indoor Airball

The Indoor Airball is extremely intense due to the small size of this field, however, it gives advanced players a chance to test their skills in close courters, and allows the begginers to gain experience in close couter pball combat.

The First Speedball course is the most often one used basically because it is closer to the benches and "assembly area" (if you will). It is a spacious (estimate) 70 yards x 40 yards, but also very intense if you have many players on each team (5 vs. 5 or higher is best). It consists of wooden barricades that are varies in height, but the tallest is probably around 6' 5". Most of these barricades are around 3' 6" in height (they are the most common that you will see). These barricades offer defensability and strategic placement, they are often enough to where you don't have to cross completely open ground to reach the nearest barricade. Mesh Netting surrounds all sides of this field except the side facing the second Speeball Field (which is completely adjacent).

The second Speedball field is around the same size as the first. This, in my opinion is the better of the 2 Speedball courses. It consists of plastic drainage pipe barricades that are around 4' high. In the Middle of the field is a barricade similar to a "Car Wash", but is Tower-like, and has four corners that are made by the extension of the tower's base (from an overhead view, it looks somwhat like this + , you can get into the small corners of the plus sign). The Barricade are strategically placed so that a battle plan can be effective (things like flanking, camping, counter-attacks, defense, offense, and barrage) *note* all courses have grass planted in sand for their flooring (except The Woodsball course)**

The Hyperball course is about a fifty yard square filled with plastic and wooden barricades, this allows for a lengthy game on a small course despite the skill of the players, it offers equal advantages to both teams, and it only allows easy field advancement when there is only one man left on a team (you cannot really move unless you are feeling lucky, very fast, or if you have been hiding the whole match, and the opposing team does not know where you are and aren't expecting anyone to be moving out of that area).

The Fortess (as it is affectionately called by many people with whom i have talked with) is a long rolling hill that is around 160 yards by 70 yards. One team begins at the bottom of the hill, and their objective is to either eliminate the team in the bunker, or to take the bunker and use it aginst the other team. The other team begins in a bunker that is about 10 yards by 15 yards in size, with a doorway in the front, to windows facing front, and two doorways on the sides, and one doorway in the back. This bunker team's objective is to repel the team assaulting them. In front of the bunker is a trench-like barricade that gives a player minimal cover, but allows them to fire easily without having to stand up or raise their elevation to shoot (you can "go prone") . Behind the bunker is a stack of tractor tires that are used as a last resort, or a very good flanking assaulter. From the Assaulting teams starting position, a mass of wooden circles, and concrete tubing allows much cover for each player. The only difficulty is that a small piece of brush (trees) is on the field's right side allows some players to cheat and flank their opponents. (this brush is not part of the course)

The Town is basically a long gradual hill that has a plethera of builings made out of wood and some sheet metal. These buildings have no roof, but have windows. The amount of windows ranges from 0-3. In the Middle of the hill, there is a bunker with four rooms, to enter the bunker, there are two doors which expose you greatly while entering. The rooms in the bunker don not have windows, and provide very usage. Mostly a place to move to if you are in some big trouble. Like the Fortress, it has woods on one side that are not part of the field that some players may use to cheat and flank their opponents.

The Woodball Area is by far the largest course it is (my estimation) 300 yards by 200 yards. Half of the field is very tall grass in which you may crawl to "legally" flank your opponents. The other half is actual woods, inside, there are wooden circles that are nailed to trees to create barricades. A small creek divides the Wooded part of the Area, and a lower marsh-like part is on the right side. this marsh has small mounds of dirt that snipers can get behind to safely pick off their targets. The field has a strange collection consisting of a camper, an old car, 2 large wooden spools, and other various garbage. This is on the field, but is away from all the action. The only problem is that there is a roped off area on the right side of the field that leads to a deeper creek, and if you bypass these ropes, you will be out of bounds, and can "illegaly" flank you opponent.

The Staff there is very good. They most definately know what they are doing, and the prices on everything is extremely reasonable.

The refs however, are very rarely present for games, and all but one of the refs (i think) is hired. There are only 3, and two are Pops' family members who do not always participate in their reffing duties.

The safety is average, since the refs aren't always present, but if you have never visited, then you are required to watch a video that explains the Rules for all the courses.

The food is very good as far as a concession stand may go, but its prices are great, and the food is decent, and that is all that matters. Also, many many drinks are available (water, cokes of various kinds, and gatorades).

I definately recommend this to any skill level player.
9.5 all the way
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris_imp Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
never been to paintball paradise in Newburgh. i have heard that it's not very good though. they DO have an Xball field so they can't be all bad.
Review: PRICES

pops, being the cool man that he is, has a field fee of five dollars. It's an additional 5 dollars for all day air. both of those are very cheap prices.

for paint, he only buys RPS paint. He usually has Rampage for 45 a case, Premiums for 55 a case, and Evils for 65 a case.

he has a decent pro shop with reasonable prices.

i have personally seen and experienced pops' generosity. he gives out things for free more often than he charges for them. i have gotten several free screws and a free ball detent from him.

FOOD

DE-FRICKIN-LICIOUS


FIELDS

the airball course is insane. it's so narrow it forces extremely agressive play. the games usually do not last longer than a minute.

the other courses have been improved. he fixed the cracks in the wooden bunkers and the alamo.

the nets have also been fixed.

SAFETY

one of my very few complaints is that there are often very few refs.



CONCLUSION

pops definitely got it right. if you live in or near princeton, go to it. i drive there from evansville all the time (about an hour) and it is well worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ThePainter07 Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Sliver Spur is one of the best places to go to play paintball. The people there are great to play with. The hours on the field are great and if its closing time and you are still playing Pops will let you play for a little longer. Pops is a down to earth guy. I talked to him for hours. Sean is awesome too. I talk to him for hours too. Plus he's certified paintball gun repair man. The refs are great too. I cant wait til I go back again.

Thanks Pops and Sean for a great time i hope to talk you again.

ThePainter07
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball26 Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Treehuggers <--- Awsome field
Paradice
And Some Other Ones
Review: Today I went to Silver Spur for a day of practice and It was a great day to go Paintballing the fields were all already to be played on and there was ppl there to play. Sean and his son went in to the woods with some woodballers and set off some explosives which was awsome to see!!! This Field is the best field that i have ever been to and i will be coming back to this field for ever there isnt anything wrong with this field at all the Paintball ppl are down to earth!!!!! Pops is the Coolest owner that i have ever saw in my life he talks to the ppl like he as known them for a long time. And actually gets to known the paintballers that come to play there. Unlike all the other fields besides TREEHUGGERS....ALL and ALL Pops is one cool owner and one great guy to talk to...!!!
Sean and his son are really kool to talk to there is always something funny going on at this field but thats why i like coming here all the time!!!!

The service at Silver Spur is the best around here unlike Paradice were it takes about a good 20mins to get any help around that place!!!........:(
The Reffs at Silver Spur are awsome to they actually get in the game and watch to see if anyone gets hit or whipes.......(once again unlike paradice were there reffs dont do anything to cheaters or anyone PERIOD)

But Pops and Sean are doing a AMAZING JOB with there field and i cant wait intil they make some new fields to play on!!!

THANKS POPS AND SEAN
For maken my paintball life GREAT!!!!!

Paintball26
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bpatt01 Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
How many fields in the area? Lets just say i have played at over 30 PB parks across the nation...and a few in Canada.
Directions
to the Field:
go to google, type in silver spur splat paintball, wait for the page to load, click on the link, wait again for the page to load, click on the contact us icon, wait for the page to load, write down the phone number, grab the phone, dial the number, wait for someone to say "PAINTBALL" then ask for directions like i did...lol!!
Review: in my opinion sean and pops have a great thing going...i can remember when sean and his family and friends came to the field i worked at close to 9 yrs ago and was just starting out...he and everyone with him were great people very attentive to the rules and sport as i remember...even the lil guy running around the field not caring that he didn't have a marker he was just having fun...let me tell you from then until now sean and pops have earned the right to be called (in my opinion) the finest field in the tri state area...the prices are reasonable (as reasonable as PB prices can be...right? LoL) pops doesn't try to rip anyone off when it comes to his merchandise like other fields try to do...just the other day a kid brought his birthday party in to play and pops heard it was the kids birthday and without hesitation he just tossed him a few hundred rounds...you should have saw the kids face it was great...lol...(this doesn't mean go on your b-day for free swag!) anyway...there are about 7 different fields to choose from the mild to the wild...i like the speed-ball or hyper ball courses best but you can go to any of them...woods, town, fort, indoor, outdoor, you name it pops and sean have it...i will be fair tho the reffing needs a little work as far as rule enforcement...but lets face it...the refs are a bit younger and they will get better with experience...if you want your marker worked on sean in the pro shop is the guy to go see...he will work tirelessly on fixing your problem...he hasn't yet stopped trying to help me with my angel in getting it "up to speed" lol...thanks sean!! ok enough with my babbling...if you really want to get the most bang for your buck, and you don't mind being around some truly awesome people, AND you like killer freshly made FOOD...yes, i said FOOD..then you really need to stop by SSS because it really is the best place in the tri state to play the worlds fastest growing Xtreme sport!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Heatstroke 2-3 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Newburgh no comparsion what so ever
Directions
to the Field:
Just call Pops he knows the way better then I do.
Review: The D-day scenario game was the best scenario game, I have played in awhile. I was asked to be the German general and let me tell you I had a blast. We held the allies on the beach for about an hour and then things got ugly. Allied paratroopers saved the day against the evil Nazi regime. So the Game was historical accurate in a sense. The Man who puts these together Jeff is a great guy. He put a lot of time and effort into making this as accurate as possible and I commend him on this. Being a history minor I can tell you it was pretty accurate. I had tons of fun being the General and just going out and firefighting it up with the rest of my team. The Scenario defiantly is on of the best Jeff has ever put on it was while thought out and ran.
The people who keep silver spur going are Pops and Sean you could not know any more honest people in the paintball business then these two men. They are both great at what they do and they will defiantly all ways have my business. In my opinion if pops would put on a clinic how to run a paintball field he would make a fortune. Pops really knows what he is doing when it comes to business, and customer service.
The field there is great; they have a fort, town, two speedball fields, hyperball, and an indoor field. They also have a woods but I stay away form it since I am a speedball guy. They also have really good food from there cook, he also a really cool guy. My favorite though would have to be the indoor though because it is almost like ultimate arena paintball on TV. Itís fast paced in your face action. I really like this field and I choose to drive all the way to Princeton 35min away instead of a 3 min drive to the Newburgh paintball field. I give SSS 100 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media