paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field / Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field

Silver Spur Splat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
62Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (812) 386-6827
Address: 2477W 50N
Princeton, Indiana 47670
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
John456 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: First of all everyone whines about the net at silver spur. It is fixed and never blows in the wind. Pops is awsome. If your worried about getting cheated , you wont here.I played at one of there Scenairo games. It was a ton of fun. It was a d-day/ww2 recreation.They let of smoke bombs and other Pirotechnics. Had a few different classes, Everything u hope for in a scenario game. The food realy good which suprised me for a paintball field. Great times, 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoballer16 Thursday, March 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played and was sponsered by predetor's creek. ive also played at proving grounds, ben davis, and am now playing at and am sponsered by Treehuggers in sulivan.
Review: the fields here are ok but they need to "PUT UP NETTING" our team got shot every where we moved to.Pops the owner is the best guy to know but his son is a little shady and unreliable with anything. they have good paint and food and awesome prices. the indoor field is ok though. their tournaments and reffing suck we got ripped out of first place and we will NEVER go back there again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

dan19 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 22nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Paradise...not bad, lots of stuck up little kids who think they know everything. Staf have no gun knowledge what-so-ever. Not a bad place to go if you like speedball. Is a little too pricey.
Review: Pros

Pops is probably the biggest pro of SSS. A great guy who knows the guns in and out. The rest of the staff is just as good. Fields are great. Good courses for evey type of party. The town is a must play if you have at lest 10 people. Theres a lot of strategy you can use and teamwork is a must. The Alamo is probably my favorite because of the layout. Lots of good times at that course if your with your friends.

Cons

What cons? IF there is one its that the field is 30 minutes away. You can make it in 15 but i suggest you go the speed limit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

appleguy19 Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None is this area... But a bunch of fields in southern IL.
Review: Ok, well I heard pretty good things about the field, so I was pretty excited. Well I arrived and Me and a couple of my buddies went inside and registered. Pop's was pretty cool, and everyone was really nice. We had to watch a lame instructional video though...So then I got ready and chrono'ed no problems really except the ref checking me was like 10 years old and could barely see the LCD screen on the chrono. Then we went and played the indoor field. It seemed alright, but then we got in there, and it was incredibly tiny! It is probably about 25x50 which is was to small for an airball field IMO. Then we decided that it wasn't very fun so we were going to play on one of the outdoor fields. Well we waited for a ref, but they were all inside the indoor field staying warm (even though there weren't any players in there). So then we just jumped in a game with no ref. And we played, well it took me like 2 games to realize that these people play where gun shots don't count. That is really weird to me. But then the refs they had weren't even working. One guy just carried his gun around talking to other people and walking his trigger. Maybe it was just a bad day, but this field is horribly organized. The fields were also in terrible condition (except the indoor field), for instance on one field (the one closest to the staging area and parking lots) had netting but was not attched to the ground, so on windy days the netting is blowing all over the place and offers little or no protection. So the people there are cool, except the refs don't really do their job. Well maybe its not such a bad field, just very different than what I'm used to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

deranged_maniac Monday, November 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 16th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
splat masters (colorado)
Review: Seeing as how iv only played at splat masters and silver spur , Silver spur is the best field ive been to with many fields their is a good variety so you have a lot of fun and don't get burnt out on one type of field. The staff is generally pretty nice especially when they get to know you. They can also fix your gun and order paintball things for you. if you buy a gun from them you get in free every time you play.Anyway back to the paintball experience theirs usually not a ref but sometimes their is so yea but theirs always quite a few people their which makes several different games and opponents so if your nearby definitely give it a try you wont be disappointed. Silver Spur is a 10 in my book.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SOLID SNACK Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none...but i've heard nothing compares:)
Review: We arrived at about 10:30 and right away we were freaked out/excited...as soon as we all stepped out of our cars we see their brand new indoor field and hear "..3..2..1" followed by the most heavy freaking fire i've ever heard ever...know why? Angels and Egos. Anyway, we made our way to the pro shop and met Pops, he showed us the halarious "professer squeegee" instrucional tape, and sold us some paintballs.

My dad went with us, and he doesnt have a gun so he had to rent one. One problem, someone called and pre-rented FIFTY guns for all these little kids who wanted to play...so all the tippys and piranhas were gone. Dad didnt like the idea of renting a gun for 40 or 30 bucks so Pops rented out a black Angel for dad and only charged him twenty bucks(normally 40)....i love that guy.

My gun had probs and dad got sick of being hit in the head so he gave me his gun later on...first time on an angel...it was a psuedo-sexual experience :).
pricing...
Some people have asked about pricing so heres what i know:
5 dollar entry fee
15 bucks for a rental gun (cheapies like spyders and tippys)
60 bucks for case of evil and about the same for rps
buy paintballs from them and your entry fee is waved
sound good? did i mention this place has a crap load of fields (all of which rock...visit the site) and the refs are freaking awesome, one sold my buddy a dye boomstick for like 50-60...
If you have any doubts...i hate you...go there..it was the best time i've had paintballing...even though my gun malfunctioned on me every five minutes
solid ten...set in stone
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Heatstroke23 Thursday, October 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Newburgh no comparsion what so ever. Silver Spur is the best.
Review: Silver spur Indoor field and outdoor field review


I played the indoor paintball VIPs weekend at silver spur, it was great. The field setup was superb, the bunker placements are perfect. This is the best setup, I have ever played. It plays out fast and furious, which is great for avid speedballers and tournament players. It was almost like an ancient roman arena, the way it sounded; with the yelling and balls hitting bunkers. The best dang Field, I have ever played. It ranks up there with the last Halloween scenario game. In fact that it was better. The field itself could be played in many ways not just fast, but in most cases it will be that way. The staff at silver spur rocks the house. They are some of the coolest and most helpful people you will ever meet in the game of paintball. This field truly puts Silver Spur on the paintball map, and makes them the best field in the state. The two speed ball fields are great for the players, who like the fast action packed games. The first field which used to be my favorite, was the wooden speedball course. Itís a great field for players who like to do run troughs. The other speedball field is made out of plastic stacked crates and wooden spools. This is a good field for my dad, when we do 1 on 1, because itís easier for him to disappear on me, on this field. If you know my dad, you will understand.
The hyperball field is so cool, its more for the run and gun type player. This is a very good field if youíre looking for a quick game, and in your face paintball action.
The fort course is great fun and is good for all level of players newbieís to seasoned players like me. Itís usually a more slow played, heart pounding tactical action, which equals some really great fun.
The town is the biggest field at silver spur beside the woods. The town is one of the best fields, I have played on. Its great fun and good times in the town. I am not going to even mention the length of the field, because my depth perception sucks. But hereís the story. Itís made out of wood and aluminum bunkers complete with a court house in the middle. The court house is a death trap, with 4 rooms and no windows. So it can become a big slaughterhouse. Trust me, I know form experience.
I have only played the wood during the scenario games, and it can get a little hair rising form time to time, If you like the tactical side of paintball this is the field for you.
I live in Newburgh and Silver Spur is Way better than that ompa lumpa field I live by.
If you are looking for a good time, and great fun, go to Silver Spur.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbmedic Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I just wanted to let everyone know that Silver Spur Splat now has an Indoor SupAir field. We played on it today as a trial run and if you want a fast paced speedball game, this is the place to be. The crew has worked very hard to get this to where it is now. It is a very fun field. Also, the field will be hosting a 3 man tournament on this new field starting in November. It is going to be a season consisting of dates in November-March. Winner gets 3 Dark Intimidators. There are also great prizes for second and third too.
Everyone that loves speedball and is looking for a great place to play during the winter should come over and check this out. The crew that works there is awesome too. Hope to see you all out there soon.
PBMEDIC
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Automag_Daddy Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paradise Paintball - See Review to Compare....
Review: I am a 41 year old Dad who started playing paintball with my son 6 years ago. My son and I first time playing was at silver spur, we had went with people from my work to try it out and see how much fun it might be. I have to say after playing for 6 years and getting the opportunity to watch my son grow to love the game as much as I do.

We have always played at Silver spur, we are located about 45 minutes from Silver Spur in Newburgh, Indiana. This last year I learned a valuable lesson in trying a paintball Field right in my own back yard. The fields were nice, the competition weak but the field has just started up. The whole time I was there I had always felt there was something missing in the experience.

My profession takes me deep into the business world, I travel the world and have seen many places and experienced many cultures. I understand business practices and also understand what it takes to run a successful business. When opening a new business there are certain key elements in how you gain the trust of your clients and you treat everyone with respect. There are also many keys to growing a business and many different ways. Itís not always about making as much money as you can. Itís about building relationships that last for many years and knowing how to build your business on word of mouth.

I could write about how great the fields are at silver spur, and also how skillful the staff is in safety, gun repair and a quality food service, but I want to single out the owner of the establishment.

He is known as Popís, I have taken my son to silver spur for many years, and I watch my son interact with Pops and know that my son respects him and trust him as a mentor and also a successful business owner.

I have also watched Popís work on a young kids marker and the kids just sweating bullets wondering how much it will cost and Popís would open the gun make a few adjustments not using any new parts and put a smile on this kids face when Pops hands him his marker and says ď GO PlayĒ .

People in business today need to learn a few things about growing relationships and setting a good example of fair play and honesty.

I want to say thanks to Popís and his staff for making my family welcome and also building that trusting relationship. We bring new people to silver spur every chance we get. I encourage all fathers to bond with there sons and take up a hobby and maybe if your lucky you will find a place like Silver spur to play.

AWESOME Fields Ė GREAT STAFF Ė THE Indoor Field ďROCKSĒ - We got to play on it today for the first time and it was just unreal. If you enjoy speed ball this will give you all you can handle. We played 6 games today and they didnít last more then 30-45 seconds. The rush is out of the world. I was forced to be at the top of my game.

Dad Of Heat Stroke
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfreak556 Thursday, July 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
warzone paintball
paintball paradise
Review: This is a great field. Won't ever host an NPPL super 7 event but its a helluva lot better then any other fields around it espiacially paradise.
First Every thing there is at a great price $65 for a case of Evils I don't know of a field any where that can beat that. The proshop there is great Sean Can fix almost every marker out there compare that to paradise if your marker breaks there your screwed.
There is always a lot of people there from all different experience levels so even a noobe can find a game and not hav to worry bout getting hit. At paradise I feel Like god the only people that go there is a bunch of Junior high kids that can't play worth crap and some old Guys 45+ I have never been hit at paradise and I have played there twice.
SSS hass their own cheif don't know his name but his food sure is good.
They have 5 different fields speedball, hyperball, woodsball, Town,and my favorite the fort. The fort at silver spur is like a freakin Castle next to the one at paradise.
The only badthings about SSS is the refs they suck . The woodsball field ain't worth playing at since it pretty much is some woods and a trailer.
Overall 9/10
Last edited on Thursday, July 14th, 2005 at 11:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media