paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CQB Tactical Paintball Field / CQB Tactical Paintball Field / CQB Tactical Paintball Field / CQB Tactical Paintball Field

CQB Tactical Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416.895.7408
Address: 163 sterling rd unit 3
toronto, Ontario M6R 2B2
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
gizzmo Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt. Splatter's
Directions
to the Field:
There are plenty of reviews w/ good directions to this place already so why bother? :p
Review: I've only go Paintballing a few times so my review is not going to be all that technical or informative. More of a telling of my experience with CQB.

Prior to coming to CQB my friends and I would usually go to Sgt. Splatter's. I must say, the two are miles apart when it comes to having a quality paintballing experience.

If you want a run-n-gun thrill then Sgt Splatter's is probably better, but considering the sand, frequent gun jams and the mysterious 'fog' around the place, you could probably find a better place elsewhere.

CQB, on the other hand, is almost polar opposite. It requires more strategy and team work but the results are that much more gratifying. It is a close to actual urban warfare as one can get without actually being in it.

The staff there were amazing. Very nice and very helpful. Only the three of us went so the refs joined us to make it a bit more exciting. First couple of games were the typical Attack-Defend style games. I could tell the Refs were getting a little bored playing with us novices, but they kept things up-beat and made the games as enjoyable as possible for us.

I had read about The Terminator game, where one person is the Terminator and can only be killed if shot in a particular location on the body. Everyone else is playing against the Terminator. I had suggested the game to the Refs and they were very willing to try it out. They even showed concern for me when I volunteered to be the Terminator. They were worried that I was going be inundated with paintballs and covered with welts and bruises afterwards.

Everyone loved the game, Refs included. The Refs liked the hunting aspect of the game (as I would go in first and hide). I just liked that even after I was shot I could still keep playing and killing :p. I did get a few more bruises then my usual paintball outings, but like they say: no pain no game. The way we played seemed a bit advantageous to the Terminator, so there are still a few flaws, but hopefully the Refs will keep playing it and refine it further.

At $45/hour it isn't the cheapest, but the quality of my experience made it all worth it. I had opted for the T8 hand gun (extra $20). Which I found to be very useful in tight locations and as a back up to my regular rifle when I was under heavy fire. Highly recommend it to all players.

The Standard Equipment includes:
Rifle
4 cartridges (18 rounds per cartridge)
Tactical Vest
Helmet
Mask and Goggles

With the T8 I got a leg holster, said handgun, and 3 clips of 8+ rounds each.

You may also rent gloves (@ $5), which I should have went for as my hands were hit the most (? I'm confused as well ?)

Many thanks to Alex and Mike for keeping it fun, and thanks to Will for the pop!

To paraphrase the original Terminator:

I'll be back, and I'll bring more friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

elmoses Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City
Directions
to the Field:
From Lakeshore, head north on Parkside Drive until Bloor St East.
Turn Right on Bloor Street and head due east towards Toronto about 0.5 Km.
You will pass under a railway bridge, the very next steet is Perth Street. Turn Right onto Perth Street and follow it around until you reach Sterling Ave. Continue onto Sterling and follow it around until you reach 163 Sterling Ave on your left hand side.
It is a large place with not much signage at this time. Park your car on side closest to building as the other side is a no-parking zone.
Walk along the side of the building until you reach a glass door with a poster in the window. Go inside and down the corridor following the posters.
The main lobby is the one with the red door and C-Q-B on it. If it opens they're open, if not then check the hours of operation.
Review: An excellent field with an entirely milsim strategic tactical style of play. If you want to hone your skills with team mates or whomever, then this is the field to go to. It is all close quarters, with small rooms and doors on most rooms. Windows are able to open and close (not glass). You can kick doors in to clear a room. They allow you to move certain items of shielding to your advantage ie the skids, a tables, etc...(but not the tires). They can change the llighting through out the entire place which makes the use of tac-lights all the more usefull. The field outlay will soon be able to change and move around from play to play so eventually you come to where there was a door that opened inwards may now open outwards or it may be locked. All this and the layout adds to the stresses of the environment.

This field is 100% semi-auto, absolutely no 3-round burst, full auto, or speedball technology. (They are not saying they think the technology is bad, in fact its quite amazing), however it takes away from the purpose of the field whick is primarily tactics and working together as a team.

Below is direct from the site of pricing. Recommend calling the field for further information.

Basic Tactical Kit including unlimited paint
(includes tactical helmet, vest and milsig elite)
$45 for 1 hour$80 for 2 hour rentalUnlimited play and paint after 2 hour rental - $40.00


OPTIONAL EQUIPMENT (click to view option):
T8 $20.00 per hour with unlimited paint and CO2
CQB short barrel for Milsig $10.00
Red Dot sight for milsig $5.00
Tactical Flashlight $5.00
Tactical Knee Pads $5.00
Gloves $5.00
Gloves and Knee pads combo only $8.00
Surplus shirt with turtle neck insert $5

PAINTBALL PRICES:
Gun Owners walk in fee $20
$15.00 per 135 balls
$160.00 per case of V1 for gun owners
$35 bring your own paint from 12pm - 4pm all air fills included.

They are currently opening a pro-shop which is designed primarily towards the Mil-Sig weapon.

The Mil-Sig is the weapon used for rental and the T8 is the sidearm for rental. They are both magazine fed, changing the game even more. The field is still very new and developing with many new ideas to be used later on such as ambient noise.

I highly recommend this field especially to professionals in the field of law enforcment and military. Also to those who want something different in a field.

I gave it a 9 seeing as there is no 9.?
9.7 is my actual rating


Last edited on Sunday, March 15th, 2009 at 8:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frost98 Saturday, March 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sargeant Splatters:
- Horrible playing surface... sand???
- Markers were hit / miss due to sand occasionally getting in
- Pricing was high (pay for rental, pay for "upgrade" on marker, pay like crazy for balls)
Paintball Nation
- Floor was dirty and very slippery
- Prices were moderate
- Awesome proshop
- Easy to find
Paintball City
- Field was mediocre... felt tiny even though square footage wasn't too small
- Prices were moderate
- Great location (can't miss it on the 401)
Directions
to the Field:
This field is located in a wee bit of an odd spot but here are some basic instructions:

1- Get to Bloor and Dundas and head east from there
2- Turn right onto Perth Avenue (it is the next right after Bloor and Dundas)
3- Follow Perth around a left turn bend to a stop sign
4- Turn right on stop sign onto Sterling and head down the Sterling
5- Sterling will bend right (south)
6 - CQB Paintball is on your left across from a factory
Review: I found this field through PBReview.com so props to PBReview for hosting it.

NOTE: When I went to the field, they were only open for a month so keep that in mind.

Markers:
CQB is highly unique in the sense that they use fairly expensive Mil Sim markers by Mil-Sig Industries. These markers are M-16 look alikes and are magazine fed and come with a front grip. Markers seemed to be in great shape though keep in mind when I visited they were only open for a month. Either way, I experienced only one jam and one leaky tank - both of which were addressed as soon as I brought it up. None of the failures were due to negligence but simply because a tank didn't seal up because it didn't sit perfectly on the o-ring etc. Just want to be very clear that the staff were helpful and didn't treat me like an idiot when I had a problem (unlike Splatters).

Score: 9.5/10 (no such thing as perfect but this is as close as it gets!)

Safety:
Fairly standard. All markers come with a barrel cover and staff will always ask you to keep your mags out of your gun and the barrel cover on the gun the moment you step out of the field. Helmets and masks were provided and they were not cheap $2 masks that smell like an old shoe. Again, the gear was fairly new but it felt good and solid. I didn't have trouble with fog but my buddies did - not CQB's fault though. Just needs a new coating. The cool part are the vests you get. Most other fields have the option of renting a really questionable coverall but here you get a military-esque vest to wear as part of standard equipment. The vest holds 3-4 mags and offers quite a bit of padding when you do get hit.

Score: 9.5/10

Prices:
$45 for standard 1 hour rental. Okay, I know that isn't exactly the cheapest (possibly one of the higher rates in the GTA) but keep in mind they are giving you a $600+ gun, vest, 4 mags, helmet and mask. All of which are not the bottom-of-the-barrel crap you get at a certain Sarge's place. If you rent their markers, paint is unlimited which drops all the "hidden" costs that other fields pop out at you. If you BYOG, then I think they sell you paint by the box (I saw a previous group get two boxes - dunno prices). Staff and umps are top notch folks who are willing to educate and teach but in general just make sure you have a great time. Will, whom I assume is the owner of the place, is really bent on making sure everyone enjoys it. Thumbs up to workers Mike and Alex who played with us and were great fun to shoot at and shoot with. In the end, you get what you pay for and in my mind, a little bit more even.

Score: 9.5/10

Field:
Initially when I saw the camera view of the field from inside the lounge area, I thought it looked small but trust me this isn't tiny. There are SO MANY potential hideouts, nooks and crannies but the best part was the INDOOR combat. You actually have sliding window covers, doors that close, windows, catwalks across and multiple avenues for rushing a sniper. No one is truly safe. When we played, we started with daylight still helping to light up the field but the best part was when the night rolled in and we kept the lighting to a minimum. It was such a thrill to go hunting in the dark. Very well built field. This is definitely NOT a run-n-gun field. I barely used more than one mag (roughly 18 rounds?) per round but the fact we had a small group probably affected that. Pointless spray and pray will not get you anywhere since there is plenty of cover. Like the name, there is a tactical element to the field and it must be understood to truly have the best time here.

Score: 9.5/10

Proshop:
Didn't ask but I think they do sell the Mil-Sig markers there. Cannot rate but if the same guys who are the umps are the staff for the proshop, I'm damned sure you'd be treated well.

Score: N/A

Refs:
AWESOME folks. Mike and Alex were fun and always accomodating even though there were only 3 of us playing, they always tried to make it fun for us including helping us develop a new game we called "Terminator". Long story short, I hope Alex develops it further and makes it a mainstay. It's our gift back to them for such a fun time. They will toss up games, try to find something for you and your group so you won't be dissappointed.

Also, I lost a engineering ring when I was there. Guess I must've pulled it off when I removed my rental gloves - they understood how important it was to me when I called back to see if they could find it. Hopefully they do!

Score: 10 (I know there is not perfect but I really must emphasize on how much they made it fun)

OVERALL (not average): 9.7/10 - I seriously don't know if I can go back to another paintball place now... the thrill you get is so different and so much better. Hope you guys stay frosty and stay awesome!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Powerhousehonda Wednesday, February 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at srgt.Splaters, and there is no compareson. Srgt.Splaters is not a tactical paintball field it is more for free runners, anything goes type of field, where CQB is tactical, you have to use what you have to play and survive and still remains fun at the same time.
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.c-q-b.ca/contact.html

all the info you need, plus a map.
Review: CQB is made for the paintballers who love to mix up different types of scenario`s. We have played everything from hostage rescue to elimination. CQB is one of the best set-up paintball fields ive been to. Camera`s monitor what`s goin on at all times to ensure no one cheats and to make sure everyone is safe.

The service alone at CQB is a reason to come play. The main reason my friends and i keep coming back to CQB is the great service and the determination of Will and his team to make sure that everyone is having a great time and that everyone is happy.

I recommend CQB to anyone wanting to try something new and play in a high quality paintball field for a very good price. I will continue to play at CQB and so will my friends. Cant wait to go back this sunday :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

radek Monday, February 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SGT's Splatters
Review: Excellent indoor field if you've outgrown shooting 12 year olds @ the rest of the GTA's fields. Very tactically oriented, lots of atmosphere enchancers (light dimmers all over field, strobes to disorient etc...) Close Quaters Ball says it all, check out the website, you'll love it too.

We usually go woodsball (literally) since its the only way to have a game thats trully your own. But this place definately fits the bill for the winter woodsball blues
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

echerub Sunday, January 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: CQB is an excellent limited-paint scenario field. The field is interesting, challenging, flexible, and clean. Living up to its name and intent, CQB is a great environment for CQB/FIBUA style of play.

If you've ever been to an indoor scenario field where everything is so slick and gunky with old paint that you don't want to touch anything, you'll appreciate just how clean CQB really is. In fact, I'd say the other indoor indoor scenario fields I've been to have a post-apocalyptic Mad Max look and feel to them because they're so dingy. CQB, by comparison, makes you feel like you're really in a contemporary urban environment. It's not clean like a kitchen, but it's just about like a real city environment. The challenge for the field will be whether they can keep it clean like this over time, but my hunch is that Will and his staff have the pride in their field to keep it nice!

Speaking of which, Will, Mark and the rest of the folks at CQB are top-notch. Friendly, helpful, and hospitable. Got a question? Just ask. Need help? Just ask. No attitude, no smugness, just folks who want to make sure you have a good time.

The field and many of the owners are geared towards MilSim equipment, but you can use any equipment you happen to have or prefer. Just remember that you're walking on the field with 135 balls max!

If you're looking for a fun, well-designed, well-maintained indoor field for limited-paint games where the staff and players emphasize teamwork, CQB is a field well worth your while to check out!
Last edited on Sunday, January 25th, 2009 at 8:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheElite Wednesday, January 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There aren't a whole lot of fields that are close to this one, but I supposed the closest ones would be Eastie Boyz, Paintball Nation, Paintball City, Area51, and Sgt. Splatters
Review: This is one of the most unique places to play. The environment can change drastically because of the different lighting options that it has. It can go from a dusky night, to a bright sunny day in seconds because of the way everything is wired up. They also provide a unique experience in offering trained staff to run scenario games. The games range from assassinations, sniper hunts, hostage rescues, and etc. Typically, a lot of the things that go on during the game are very similar to a lot of games like Call of Duty, Ghost Recon, and Rainbow Six.

The focus here, is purely on tactics and strategy. Each player is only allowed to carry a maximum of 135 paintballs on them during each scenario. It probides a realistic milsim mission and everything from start to finish creates that experience.

They just updated the pricing so i think it's a pretty good deal. Owners are $20 entry, $15/135 paintballs, or $160 for a case of V1. Renters are $45/hour which includes a MilSig Elite marker, Tactical Vest, Eye Force Tactical mask/helmet, and unlimited paint for that time. The two-hour rental price is $80 for the above, and if you want to stay after the two-hours its another $40. You can play 12 hours of paintball there for $120 and all rental costs include unlimited paint.

Overall, the experience is like none other. There were times on the field where my team was actually pressed and we felt the stress and pressure of having to make a quick decision. It's definately a lot more fun than playing the regular games such as capture the flag, elimination, and etc.

The loung area is great and the armory is sweet. The entire rental kit is stored in a locker, and when you get your gear, you give them the stuff you want to have locked up. When you return your rental gear, you get your stuff back. This way it's safe and its guaranteed that no one goes rummaging through your stuff. Your stuff is locked in an area where only the staff can go.

They've also wired up 9 cameras in different parts of the field, and in the lounge you get a live view of what's happening in the scenario. Pretty sweet considering this is probably the first place to do this. It makes watching games quite fun and exciting as you never know what's going to happen on the field.

I also heard that this place will be offering training services to the military and police forces. That's a good sign that this place will be offering more than your typical paintball experience
Last edited on Wednesday, January 7th, 2009 at 9:35 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media